We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
51
22
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
22
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apartments are clean next year within walking distance fantastic holiday holiday makers other guests miranda engin
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Stayed here 3 yrs ago and had a fab holiday hence why we booked again. But how a place can go downhill so fast....Had to move room the first day as it was filthy & then had to wait on the room , needless to say it was clean....but unfortunately worse was to come. The sunbeds & mattresses were broken & dirty , the weeds were growing everywhere, the bins that were dotted between the sunlounger were never emptied, there were glasses lying under one of the sunloungers for a week , the pool hadn't been cleaned in goodness knows how long, everything needs either a good clean or replaced.The rooms need cleaned and redecorated, you can see where people have swatted mossies or fly's all over the walls !!! There's hardly any utensils either and what there is , is again , needing a good clean. And as for the fridge,it was warm not cold but felt there was no point in reporting it as nothing was getting done anyway as we'd reported the patio door for not locking,not long after we arrived. 3 yrs ago they had a manager in, Ali , and he was a lovely guy , nothing was too much & the whole place was spotless now the owners , Miranda & Engin , run it themselves....obviously they must have other stuff to do because it certainly isn't looking after their hotel !!!! All in all, they are losing customers because nearly every one we spoke to said they wouldn't be back, shame really because it could be a really lovely place if only the owners could be bothered to spend some time, money & effort on it !!

Stayed: September 2015
2  Thank madmates2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Start_Apartments, Manager at Start Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We would like to explain that we part own and manage the complex. As you can appreciate where apartments are privately owned we are unable to implement changes. We will always provide recommendations due to feedback we receive but have no control on this being actioned. That said, we will always ensure that any faults or issues raised with us are addressed immediately to the best of our ability.
With regards, to the feedback regarding the pool and gardens, we can confirm that the broken sunbeds and mattresses will be replaced over the winter. Concerns over the garden have now been raised with the relevant people.
As a small family run complex we will invest every year but as we hope you can appreciate money is limited and we try to prioritize.
We hope our response has addressed your concerns and we would love for you to visit us again and see how your feedback has helped to improve our guest's experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

the apartment we stayed in was very basic and very tired. the whole apartment needed a complete gutting and re decorating all through. we arrived to the bannister falling off the wall, mother recently had stroke!! (repaired immediately), toaster broke, kettle worked when it felt like it, no tin opener, when asked behind bar, they stated kitchen one was broken. when we moved furniture it was absolutely filthy and we could not believe that we had lived there for fourteen days without noticing under the sofas. the table and chairs outside were just unusable, a plywood table that was peeling due to being outside and the chairs were not the type of chair you could sit on comfortablely, a plastic chair would have been better. the grass leading into the apartment upon arrival was 12" high. the weather was very poor the second week and being caged in we began to notice these things. we tried to get a bacon sandwich at 11.00 a.m. one morning and were told "sorry no bread" and again they run out of ice!!!!! both again, were rectified immediately but should we have to tell the staff of such important items. never seen the pool cleaned in 14 days, brown rim all round upon leaving. we booked this apartment as we had a fantastic meal there last year, unfortunately chef moved on recruited a young cook and the menu went down to snack meals, we did had one meal which was swimming in grease, so we did not eat there again which was something we wanted to do as having young children we did not want to go out every night, but we had to. Wi-fi virtually non existant (may have been due to weather though) but we were aware that another apartment arrived to no electricity and they were experiencing problems. i totally agree with previous comment upon arriving someone met us, asked for no documentation, we could have been anyone. there was no entertainment all through our holiday and were very disappointed to say the least with these apartments and facilities and would therefore certainly not return there or recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 953diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Start_Apartments, Manager at Start Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We would like to explain that we part own and manage the complex. As you can appreciate where apartments are privately owned we are unable to implement changes. We will always provide recommendations due to feedback we receive but have no control on this being actioned. That said, we will always ensure that any faults or issues raised with us are addressed immediately to the best of our ability.
With regards to your feedback regarding kitchen utensils etc. As soon as the issue with the toaster and kettle was raised with us these were immediately replaced. With regards to the tin opener and bar food issues, we believe this was a miscommunication with some of our Turkish speaking staff but please rest assured this has been addressed with staff training. Again, feedback has been given to the cleaner, so thank you for letting us know because without being made aware of issues it is impossible for us to correct them.
The feedback you have provided regarding the chef leaving, we completely take on board. Unfortunately our chef left near the end of the season and it has been impossible for us to recruit a replacement. Hence why we have made the decision to change the menu to bar snacks. That said if one of our guests want an evening meal, Engın (who is a trained chef) ıs more than happy to cook for them.
The Wıfı and electric issues were indeed due to bad weather and were completely out of our control.
Your comments regarding documentation have also been taken on board and we are looking at ways for this to be improved.
As a small family run complex we will invest every year but as we hope you can appreciate money is limited and we try to prioritize.
We hope our response has addressed your concerns and we would love for you to visit us again and see how your feedback has helped to improve our guest’s experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

ON arrival at the apartments at 3 in the afternoon. After a long day of travelling. we were showed to our room. No question of who we were any proof of the booking . Felt as though we could have been anyone coming in looking for a room . Went down to pool bar for something to eat as we were all hungry . Only to be told food not served till 5:30 . Nothing like hello how are you . Do you"s need any help with anything like air con.So we all went up the hill to get something to eat . The room are really basic in block C . Towels renewed every 3 to 4 days . That be ok if we had somewhere to wash them . But is disgusting your using the same towels for days . Bedroom . The bed sheets are the best exfoliating sheets you can get . Had to buy beach towels to cover bed so we could sleep on it . LIVING AREA . . Don,t know last time the floor was cleaned as your feet were black when walking about as this showed when you walked into the shower with the trail of dirt on the ground when the floor was wet as the water went everywhere when getting washed as the shower curtain wasn't up to much . The dryer for your clothes on the balcony was rusted and the seats on the other balcony were broken. POOL AREA. never seen so many sunbeds crammed together and the matt's for the beds what looked like covered in black mould . don't know last time the matt's were cleaned . The drain round the pool was covered in green algae and the grids covering the drains were dirty . and for the continuous playing of the same CD everyday really got on your nerves . Miranda seen her at the pool some days think she struggled to even say hello . as for engin my friend was introduced to him in a pub and he said he'd speak to us in the morning but never to be seen . Free pool table .Ha think it came out the ark . Only good thing was the young boy at the bar always happy and cheery . As for the older man looked as though he didn't want to be there . on day of departure MIRANDA sat in her office and never had the decency to sat cheerio .Obviously not one of her regulars .As for the glowing reviews on here these are the clique who return every year and except the living standards they have . As this is no little paradise . All in all room 204 needs a good clean and revamped as whoever owns this room doesn't really care on what people are looking for in a holiday . glad the holiday is over as we certainly wont be back .

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Start_Apartments, Manager at Start Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We would like to explain that we part own and manage the complex. As you can appreciate where apartments are privately owned we are unable to implement changes. We will always provide recommendations due to feedback we receive but have no control on this being actioned. That said, we will always ensure that any faults or issues raised with us are addressed immediately to the best of our ability.
We are sorry to hear that the reception you received upon your arrival was less than adequate and we can assure you this has been addressed and staff training will be undertaken. Miranda organizes the cleaning rota and rooms are cleaned every 2-3 days, which includes bed and towel changes. We would hope that our guests would feel comfortable enough to let us know if this is not the case, so that we can discuss with our cleaners.
Please rest assured that all the other issues you have raised regarding cleaning have been discussed with our cleaners.
We are sorry that you felt we (Miranda and Engın) were not the perfect hosts, this is not feedback we have received before and our hosting skills are something we are extremely proud of. Unfortunately though sometimes we are busy helping other guests but this would never stop us helping guests with issues or they have when approached.
As a small family run complex we will invest every year but as we hope you can appreciate money is limited and we try to prioritize.
We hope our response has addressed your concerns and we would love for you to visit us again and see how your feedback has helped to improve our guest’s experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

On arrival to the apartments at 3 in the afternoon . After a long day . We were showed to our rooms . No questions of who we were any proof of the booking . Felt as though we could have been anyone coming off the street looking for a room . Went down to pool bar thinking we could get something to eat only to be told no food served till 5 thirty . So had to walk up the hill to get something to eat . You'd think they'd at least have welcomed us and asked how we were or how the flight was and if we needed anything like air con but nothing .. . The room are really basic in block c. . Towels renewed every 3/4 days which is disgusting . Bed sheets are the best exfoliating sheets you could get . Bought 2 beach towels to sleep on top off . Living area floor don't think it's ever been cleaned as your feet were black when you were walking about as this showed when walking out of the shower with the small towel on the floor it was absolutely filthy . And as for the shower you'd either get roasted or frozen with the mixer tap .the dryer for your clothes was all rusted on the balcony . And for the pool area I've never seen so many sun beds crammed together and the Matt's for the sun beds absolutely covered in what looked like black mould . Dont know the last time they were cleaned . Round the swimming pool the drain was covered in Algae and the grids were black . . They say free pool table . No wonder think it's came out the ark . And as for the continuous playing of the same CD that would get on your nerves everyday .Miranda and engin. Who are they never seen them for days . And only for my friend to be introduced to engin in a pub . Who said he'd see us the next day but never to be seen. All in all this place needs a good clean and revamped as for people who say little paradise . They must need their eyes checked . As they obviously write the good reviews on here . And must be a little clique when giving glowing reports . And when on the day of leaving Miranda Sat in her office and never had the decency to come out and say cherrio . . Obviously not one of her regulars who go every yr . The only good thing was the young boy at the bar always cheery and always helpful . As for the older man . Looked liked he wished he wasn't there .

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
6  Thank 42andy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

This is our second year at Start Apartments. Great location, quiet with only a 5 minute walk into town. Staff are fantastic, rooms are clean, always a sun bed available near the pool so no having to get up ridiculously early. Met up with many people who go every year so a great meeting place. Would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews