We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask Bayram !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gunes Hotel & Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oludeniz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gunes Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #25 of 50 Oludeniz B&B and Inns
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
742 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
“Ask Bayram !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We chose to stay in Ovacik rather than Hisaronu ( ITS A RHINO) as my mate MADD calls it.
So we chose The GUNES (which means the sun). We arrived about four in the morning ( there's a song there somewhere).Enough with the brackets already.We were greeted by the nightwatch man, shown to the room , large, decent bathroom, on the ground floor near the bar you could tell we were first timers to the hotel! That was fine if desparate jump over the balcony for an Efes!
First breakfast we were greeted by a young lady called Borjou. She as it turned out was a member of one of the two families who run the Hotel. A student soon to be an English teacher. Breakfast was the usual buffet style but they do a cracking full English at a decent price.Borjou informed us that we could get our passports back from her big brother Bayram when he came on duty, no worries, we knew where we were, 30 seconds from the nearest bus stop to either ITS A RHINO or Fethiye. The bar area was more than sufficient and it doubled as the Restaurant. There were a lot of british return visitors so the place was friendly and a fun place to be.
When we met Bayram he was only too helpful and as it turned out really over qualified to run the family Hotel.TWO degrees at university, one in Turkish tourism, not just his local area.
Everywhere we ventured people would ask as usual "where are you staying"? when we replied the Gunes they would reply "ah BAYRAM" yes we know.
We had one problem during our stay, no cold water in our room the shower was well scorchio, so we decided to report it , we went out for a couple of hours and on our return . Wait for it ... We are talking TURKEY here .. It WAS fixed, also we were told what the problem had been by Bayram, excellent service.
So the location of the Gunes is just off ATTATURK caddesi in Ovacik, close to shops, in a quiet secluded road with no traffic noise from the main road.
All in all we had a lovely stay at the Gunes, lovely hosts who were quite happy to sit and have a chat when they were not running around making sure everyone's needs were catered for.

Room Tip: Go up for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOBSTER64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    10
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
26
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

lovely and peaceful lazing by the pool, beautiful mountain views, all the staff are very friendly and helpful, this was our second holiday here and needless to say we are going to become regulars, you have the best of both worlds, all the hustle and bustle of hisoranu, the beautiful beaches of olu deniz and the traditional fethiye all close at hand, and at the end of the day a nice quiet hotel away from the noise to get a good nights sleep, although saying that i did get waylaid most nights into the small hours at the bar, everyone who holidays here gets on with each other, will be back again in september.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ardrossan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

this is a great family run hotel, it is a clean well run hotel perfectly situated to make your holiday as busy or as quiet as you want it to be, we stayed the first 2 weeks in september last year 2011, we did the usual boat trips, jeep safari's etc, the rooms are comfortable and clean, nothing great, but what do you want but somewhere to sleep at night, it has a great pool cleaned everyday and plenty of loungers, a good restaurant and bar, it is set in a quiet street 2 minutes walk to the main road and bus stop with loads of good eating places locally it was our 25th silver anniversary while we were there and Biram the manager made sure we ate in that night and bought us a cake, candles, and a bottle of wine, we loved it, we re-booked as soon as we got home, same 2 weeks this year, we booked this time of year because the school holidays are over and its quiet, this year we lazed around the pool all day and did nothing,just relaxed and topped up the tan, and at night we walked the main road to Hisoranu and picked out many of the great restaurants along the road, although the food at the hotel is as good as anywhere, (try the liver and onions) we had a great apartment on the top floor in the main block, and it suited us perfectly, the guests are a mixture of Brits and Turks, Most of the guests have stayed before and because it is a small hotel everybody talks to each other but the main reason people return is the staff we have stayed all over the world and we have never met nicer people than the staff at this hotel, they cannot do enough for you, so to Biram, and all the staff thanks for a great hoiiday, again, see you next year,

Room Tip: corner rooms are cooler 2 windows, but get an apartment,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronjon407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We went with 41 family and friends for a beach wedding and found the Gunes hotel and adjacent Candlelight motel, run by two cousins offered us outstanding value in a very clean, relaxed and homely hotel in a most convenient location midway between Fethiye and Oludeniz. Free bus service to a local beach in the famous blue lagoon was a welcome surprise. The area is within easy walking distance of numerous restaurants, even though we had a self catering apartment at the Candlelight Motel at a cost of £175 for the week for two of us including a generous breakfast by the pool.
Sabri Duman runs the Candlelight and his cousin Biram Duman runs the adjacent Gunes. Free valuables safe, cheerful staff and great value food in both hotel restaurants. Able to use the pools and facilities in both hotels. Gunes may be better for families with children but those wishing for a quieter time around the pool may prefer the Candlelight, which has many older average age couples who are regulars over the past 17 years.
This was the most amazing holiday we have had in recent years. The hotel even arranged our taxi transfers from Dalaman airport (our delayed charter arrived at at 4.am and sabri was up waiting to welcome us on arrival - unbelievable!). All at about half the cost taxis were charging everyone else. So nice not to be ripped off on holiday. Highly recommended by Tim & Mia Clarke.

Room Tip: No on site dedicated fitness centre but pools excellent with waterpolo net at candlelight. Local spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimandMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

just arrived back from the gunes apartments,it was our first time in turkey and did not know what to expect,(wehad no need to worry)we arrived at approx 11.30 at night the kitchen was closed,straight away the waitress(boja) came over and they opened the kitchen just for us,what a gr8 start, biram and family cant do enough for you,organised boat trips jeep safaris and free trips to billys beach would recommend all.oktay johhnie and boja at the restaurent and bar made the holiday, and our cleaning lady has got to be the happiest cleaning lady i have evr met,aprtments are a bit basic but are very clean we were in the older block which is getting a refurb this winter, pool spotless, plenty of beds not loads of rooms so people get to know each other..thanks all of you for a gr8 holiday..will be back michael, helen, robbie and brad

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_S186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

having booked a villa but it fell through we were taken to this hotel. i was travelling with a disabled person and two other people, we were in a bit of a panic. we were shown two huge apartments each having two bathrooms and were astounded at the size and price. this is paradise set in a small friendly family run hotel in ovacik. they made sure that every need was met for the disabled person and could not of made us feel more welcome. they sorted out a hire car for me at a good rate, they also provide excursions. we went on a boat trip and the help we had with the disabled person was exceptional, they carried his wheelchair on board and made sure he was comfortable throughout the day. we had a fantastic two weeks and at the end we felt we had know the owner and staff for years. the hotel is on a self catering basis and bed and breakfast. they provide al a carte food in the evening which is exceptional. i cannot fault this hotel in any way and will be returning this october and for the rest of my stays in turkey. i have finally found my paradise. (i should keep this one to myself really)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Still here now... Have been here a week so far. Everything you could ask for... Clean, friendly, close to all hotspots e.g fethiye, oludeniz and hisaronu. Definitely would recommend as its value for money and there is a real family vibe. Everyone gets along and you can make friends for life. Only hotel I would come back to again for another visit!!! Thanks to all the staff for the stay so far and may it only get better. Francesqua and family.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
0.8 mi away
Gokcen Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Celay Hotel
Celay Hotel
#1 of 19 in Ovacik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tunacan Hotel
Tunacan Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ovacik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#5 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunes Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunes Hotel & Apartments

Property: Gunes Hotel & Apartments
Address: Ovacik Mah., Oludeniz 22200, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gunes Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guneş Hotel is in Ovacık, halfway between the beautiful beach at Olüdeniz and the bustling harbour and market town of Fethiye. And 400 meters up so we're away from the stifling heat and enjoy a cooling summer breeze. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing