We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never go back to this hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oludeniz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gunes Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #22 of 54 Oludeniz B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2013

arrived at the gunes at 12.30 am on the 31st of july booked in at reception after giving passports in got told there was aproblem with our room and it would not be ready untill the next day.they put us in a room witha double bed and a bathroom.not very good start.but things got a lot worse.the next day asked reception about our room they said would be ready at 4,o,clock.so we waited till then.eventually at about 5,o clock.they said our room was ready.they showed us too our room which was on the top floor in the attic.i confronted staff.and said i requested ground floor as i have 2 children.they replied oh sorry this is only room we have for you.so we moved our suitcases up 4 flights of stairs upto our room.room was ok but no shower curtain or cubicle,so when we had a shower the floor got soaked and it was very slippy.asked about shower curtain.they said sorrywe dont have any..so not very accomondating at all.we booked this holiday with travel republic after reading reviews on their website and this one.as we have two young children we wanted a hotel with things too do for the kids on the photos of the gines it has water slides and says on travel republic website it has crazy golf, pool ,table tennis, table football.which is complete lies.all tha it has is a pool table and a swimming pool thats it nothing else.we asked the owners where was all these things advertised for kids .ther never gave me an answer.their was a crazy golf course but by the looks of it .it has not been used for many of years.also it staed it was 1.6km from hisaranou.no way more like 3 miles.we booke self catering.but the cooker never worked in the room ,but they did replace it but evey time you plugged anything in ie kettle,i phone hairdryer ,cooker.sparks came out the sockets and tripped out all the electric.this happened most of our holiday.we complained.they sent a waiter upto our room with an electric screwdriver and he said oh yes high voltage in daytime only use a sockets at night.hat aloud of rubbish.owners just did not care .very very.dissapointed how my family and i was treated and to top it off our room was only cleaned twice in 2 weeks and toewls where changed twice aswell.we even had too ask for clean towel the last day so we could get a shower before laving this hell hole of a hotel

Room Tip: stay away from the gunes like the plague, all lies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jonathon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

been going to turkey about 15 years and found the gunes three years ago and we have stayed there ever since, its a little gem the owners are great and cannot do enough for you its clean,. quiet and very friendly. we feel very relaxed and safe and would not stay anywhere else. if you do want some night life hisaronu is just a short dolmus ride which you can catch about 100 yds away.
thanks to baris and all the family,we always have a great time

dave and kaz wyatt

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KazzaandDave-lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

First time in Turkey never really fancied it,went on recommendation from family member it was great,staff helpful and very friendly,food was lovely we ate in a lot especialy second week (too hot to go far).Our apt.was spacious and clean air con two showers cleaned regularly by friendly staff
out and about lovely area to wander nice bars and restaurants.
would deffinately go back

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davemadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We traveled here as a family, 2 adults 3 children. In july 2013, From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for us.we will be booking directly with the hotel for next year :-). The rooms are basic, but who wants to spend time in their when you've got the gorgeous views, amazing pool and the sun?? The rooms were cleaned on a very regular basis, fresh bedding & towels almost daily, the cleaners were lovely & polite. The food at the bar is lovely & very cheap, never had a bad dish served. We stayed in apartment 6 and never had an issue with the hot water or power of the water.we had the most fantastic night at the Turkish night, the food was amazing and the belly dancer, was lovely got everybody up dancing, men women & children. I cannot recommend this hotel enough to families, everybody was friendly all the guests were fab and we all got to know everybody really well and all the children got along lovely. The staff are a great credit to the hotel, as well as the family who own/run it. Oktay, zaff and everybody else we will see you next year. Laura, Barry, Megan, Lois & Reece.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loz-Baz-3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have been coming to the Gunes Hotel in Ovacik since the hotel opened. I come twice a year and my stay in a couple of weeks will take my visits to over 30 times.I consider the family who own the hotel as my second family. Nothing is too much for them. I love them all. Try it you won't be disappointed. You will also want to keep coming back.

Room Tip: Beautiful view from the rear of the hotel. The scenic view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank iris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Gunes (pronounced, 'Goonesh' which means, sun) is perfectly described because that is what you get when you are there. It is a typical family run hotel which seems popular with families. The family that own the hotel really could not be more helpful if they tried and will do anything to accommodate you if they can.

The Turks are friendly people and have a very similar sense of humour to the British. They and their country have much going for them but they will never become the world's plumbers as it is simply something that they have no understanding of. The Gunes Hotel's plumbing is a prime example. The water pressure on the shower was abysmal and the temperature could change from hot to cold in a fraction of a second.....or worse still, from pleasantly warm to scolding hot.....DO NOT LEAVE YOUNG CHILDREN UNATTENDED IN THE SHOWER.

My one real criticism of the Gunes Hotel was the incessant dance music playing around the pool from mid-morning until nightfall......bang! bang! bang! The music seemed to be chosen by the teenage members of staff, whilst half of the guests were in the 40-60 age group. I mentioned it to a few and they all seemed to agree that it was irritating at the very least. It certainly stopped me spending more time around the pool.....and more money in the hotel.

The food is reasonable and the prices are generally lower than the local bars and restaurants. Would I go there again......probably not, but that isn't to say that you shouldn't give it a go. After all, the plumbing is probably no worse than anywhere else in Turkey and if you like dance music then you have nothing to worry about. the hotel is in a good position for the dolmush and its OK as a base.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our first trip to Turkey and we had a fantastic time at this family run hotel. We had an apartment which had 2 rooms and 2 toilets / shower rooms.
Everyone was very welcoming and the popularity of the hotel is evident in the number of returning guests we spoke to.
The hotel is excellently placed with ease of access to Fethiye, Hisoronu and Oludeniz via the regular dolmus.
We took advantage of the numerous excursions on offer locally - boat trip, horse riding and the excellant jeep safari.
We also took advantage of the great restaurants nearby and in Hisoronu, though we also ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellant.
The pool is simple but very clean and my kids spent a lot of time in it!
The service offered by the staff was fantastic. We had booked via an agent and when our departure transfer didn't turn up Baris (manager) sorted it all out for us (if you book direct with the hotel they organise the transfer)

Room Tip: A/C is available as an extra though we didn't need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
1.2 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pine Valley
Hotel Pine Valley
#1 of 7 in Hisaronu
1,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gorkem Hotel
Gorkem Hotel
#11 of 54 in Oludeniz
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Liberty Hotels Lykia
Liberty Hotels Lykia
#17 of 102 in Oludeniz
2,577 reviews
3.0 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#14 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,588 reviews
3.0 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunes Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunes Hotel & Apartments

Address: Ovacik Mah., Oludeniz 22200, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Oludeniz
Price Range: £15 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guneş Hotel is in Ovacık, halfway between the beautiful beach at Olüdeniz and the bustling harbour and market town of Fethiye. And 400 meters up so we're away from the stifling heat and enjoy a cooling summer breeze. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing