We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful - never go!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherry Chow

Cherry Chow
Ranked #89 of 102 Restaurants in Oludeniz
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awful - never go!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Food was okay - service was absolutely shocking. After having to order twice as they had nothing in at all - on I Friday night - in the middle of August. A very rude rude waiter caused us to walk out of the restaurant, you shouldn't be in hospitality when you don't know how to speak to people!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    6
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My partner and I have been going to Olu Deniz for the last 4 years and decided to give Cherry Chow a try for dinner this Summer.... to be honest wish we had not bothered. This year my family travelled with us and it was their first time to Olu Deniz so I was so dissapointed for them that their first dinner experience was here. We requested a table for 7 and after a few minutes (the restaurant was practically empty) the staff finally managed to drag 2 tables together, which were dirty from the previous guests and which they did not clean at all. The service was poor and the waiter (who appeared to be one of the managers/owner?) hardly spoke a word to us, but grunted instead. He was miserable throughout and really not interested in us at all. The only time he cheered up was nearing the end when we requested the bill and he clearly wanted a tip!

Perhaps we just had a bad experience, but in all the years we have been going to Olu Deniz we have never experienced such grumpiness and bad service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Okay but guy who gets you in is far better than waiter who serves you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Went here a few times during our week holiday. We thought food was generally good but the waiter - not the guy who gets you in off street - was a bit of a let down. He honestly grunted whenever we asked for something and all we did was order drinks and ask for a baby plate! A shame as otherwise very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoffandClare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
130 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“prolonged debate over bill spoiled the night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

we went to Cherry chow as a group of 7 and should have left when we saw the nearby waiter bat a wasp into another diners meal and then fish it out with his fingers and expect her to eat it( the meal not the wasp!).

As it was we stayed and ordered 5 of the set meals ( 3 chicken and 2 steak based with differing prices)and 2 additional kids meals, the food arrived very slowly but was ok and the order seemed right.

The main issue occurred when the bill arrived as they had charged for 5 steak based set meals plus the chicken dishes as additional + kids meals. We tried to explain for almost an hour that they had over charged us and that the chicken dishes were part of the set meals and should have been cheaper than the 5 steak meals charged. The resulting overcharge was 30% of the total bill about 80tl

I wrote down for them a full list of what we had had and calculated the bill for them but at one point the owner came out and it was getting really tense it was only resolved when they called out the chef to confirm what he had cooked!

during this the family behind said they had been significantly under charged and the waiter chased them down the road once they had realised their mistake

It really spoiled the evening as we were made to feel like we were trying to rip off the restaurant and it went on for so long - the restaurant wasn't even busy so they had no excuse for being confused

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cherry chow restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We visited olu deniz for the second time in June 2013 and wanted to add some restaurant reviews to help others choose where to eat. We had previously passed the cherry chow restaurant by thinking it didn't look that good. How wrong we were, the food was very good especially the more simple local things such as the Pide and salads which were really cheap and very satisfying. Joseph the waiter was our favourite and made every trip that much more enjoyable. He really is a lovely man and if you go make sure he lets you have a shot at the 'nail game'. Totally addictive!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mandyc539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cherry Chow also viewed

Oludeniz, Mugla Province
 
Oludeniz, Mugla Province
Oludeniz, Mugla Province
 

Been to Cherry Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing