We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, dumpy hotel”
Review of Hotel Meri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Meri
Ranked #69 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great location, dumpy hotel”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location and from a distance it looks nice. It is at the deep end of the lagoon, kind of buried with pine trees. But everything else is pretty bad. Service is poor, room decorations are terrible and bathroom is pretty dingy. Perhpas it is not unusual to get an uninspiring hotel room in Turkey but unlike others this one promises a lot, delivers little. Breakfast was very mediocre.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    53
    23
    9
    13
See reviews for
71
51
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

After what was just about an acceptable week on a gulet with Anatolian Sky they transferred to this hotel for the second week of our holiday which was on an all inclusive basis.

Dingy poorly decorated room, no tea or coffee making facilities, a fridge with no water in it and the noisiest air conditioning ever

The dining rooms were like school canteens, wine was undrinkable and if you wanted cold water you had to go to reception where you were given a bottle of tepid water

After our evening meal there was nowhere to relax except in a small overcrowded smoke filled bar or in the dark on a deckchair on what was once a grassed area but which is now just a large patch of inhospitable soil

Food was definitely below par and very little choice of mail meals

As for the beach it was just a10 foot strip of sand which in no way could be termed a beach

After one night we told our rep to find us another hotel or fly us home, we were relocated to a wonderful hotel in Kal Kan for the rest of our holiday, however this cost us in excess of £500 for food and drink which we had not budgeted for

The Meri Hotel should be avoided like the plague

Room Tip: The only advice we can give is do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JIm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This was the second visit to Hotel Meri with Anatolian Sky. Unfortunately the rooms have have not been touched since our last visit 4 years ago. They really need updating, but are kept clean. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and this needs to be addressed. There is a fridge but no water or anything else provided. The steps are a nuisance especially when heavy cases need to be taken down for return journey.The food was fine and there was something for everyone. The beach is great for little ones and scenery stunning. Staff do work very hard. No childrens activities at all. Doubt we will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jappy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This 4 star "All Inclusive" hotel (Anatolian Sky rated) is built into a hillside and the lagoon views are only accesible for a few of the guests. The rooms were dingy, poorly decorated with below standard facilities, for example the bathroom was 5ft square for a family of up to 5 with shower (very small) sink and toilet and the TV was a 14" that did not work. We had over 70 steps to climb to get to our room from reception so its not for everyone. The food was definatley below standard and my rating would be 2 star with some food being re-served the following day, with only the one restaurant there were no other choices but to eat out. There were no imported drinks to be purchased and the wines were of extremely poor quality. The only saving grace was the view from the beach which was not good enough to overide the hotels other faults.

Room Tip: Give the place a wide berth
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MaureenBBrightonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bursa
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We've stayed with my family in august for one week. I must say that the hotel is a perfect optimum and best in value for money. Servings are very adequate, food are delicious and clearly prepared with enough attention+quality. Hotel personnel is not like as they look like. In fact they are very experienced and when you ask something, they try their best to help. Hotel staff are not very young, this shows that hotel management somehow satisfies them and they are happy about their job. This is apparent from their work. Some days we were finding small nice surprises in the room (you can see in the photo).
The hotel is not a piece of gem and not a high-end luxury, but you can have delicious meals, a nice garden with large shadows, swimming pool if you prefer it, drinks as much as you want, clean dressed and helping staff, more than what you can expect from the amount you pay. There is breakfast (very complete open buffet with excellent view), lunch, dinner, pastry serve and 5 o'clock tea servings every day. Surprisingly no disturbance of mosquitos despite the fact that hotel is in the middle of trees and nature life. Rooms are located on the hill, air conditions were very effective and we hardly needed it. We had a very satisfying holiday and especially for small children, sea is very suitable. I read some critics about the lift. Yes it does not work when there is rain. But howmany days you can face rain at Fethiye during the summer season? I have not seen at all. You'll also have to climb some stairs but I don't think that this is a serious drawback. a couple of stairs is good for your health. For me what better could be expected is sea. The blue lagoon is a closed sea and since there is zero water movement, it is not crystal clear as at the other regions in Fethiye.

Room Tip: If you have problems to climb stairs, make sure you indicate this and ask a suitable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anubis61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I have just returned with my family. The location is great, food okay, entertainment minimal, rooms okay but cramped and overall generally clean. We enjoyed it but beware of the following: 1) there is a local disco that strikes up at 10PM until midnight - we found this VERY loud and certainly not good for a family of 40+ year old parents and two pre teenagers - very bad; 2) the hotel is popular with locals and eastern Europeans and there IS a problem of cigarette smoke at meal times; 3) LOTS of steps to the upper rooms sometimes serviced by a basic lift piloted by a very boored looking bell boy. Definately not for the elderly or infirm; 4) local area very littered; 5) local town full of counterfeit goods - they seem proud to sell this tat; 6) local entertainment very limited - often competing music (Guns and Roses!); 7) tacky English weddings going on as well with even worse best man speeches that intrude into meals. On a positive note there is a nice pool and outside pool tables that kept my boys happy for hours. Great location tempered by the above problems. Would we go back? No. Would I recommend to others? Probably not. This is not a 4* hotel as some brochures claim. Proceed with caution.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank gabby2186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Me (25) and my partner (20) stayed at the hotel meri in early June 11' and were extremely impressed by the resort. Our plan had been to find a resort with a quiet location, nice beach, and somewhere we could generally relax for a week. We weren't disappointed. We are somewhat puzzled by some of the negative reviews on trip advisor and the hotel's seemingly lowly position amongst other hotels in olu deniz. Firstly the hotel is literally built into the mountain, our room overlooked the incredible lagoon below - a spectacular view. Breakfast is served in the hillside restaurant, which again overlooks the lagoon. Lunch and dinner are served downstairs aside of the lagoon. I feel the criticism by some of the standard of food is again harsh. Food is served buffet style but hot dishes are available and are clearly freshly cooked. We found there to be good variety in the food ranging from BBQ chicken to fresh seabass with rice, potato or pasta. At breakfast the chefs will cook scrambled or fried eggs at your request rather than piling it all into a metal tray. Another nice touch was the 'snack time' dishes served between lunch and dinner. The chefs prepare fresh flatbreads in front of you filled with savoury or sweet fillings. As for smoking in the eating areas, as 2 non smokers, we didn't seem to have any occurrence of this. It certainly didn't present any issue for us whilst eating. At no point did we ever find ourselves struggling for a sunlounger - either around the pool or down on the private beech situated on the lagoon. Whether or not it was to do with us staying early in the season, I don't know. The location of this hotel is what makes it a real winner. As a keen swimmer, I found myself in my element setting off across the crystal clear water of the lagoon each morning. The waters are so still, it is like swimming in a very large swimming pool!! Those who are less comfortable attempting a swim accross the lagoon can rent pedalo boats or kayaks to explore the little coves located around the area. The staff at the hotel were all very polite and friendly and willing to help with any request. If there was a negative regarding this hotel (and I'm struggling) it would be that in order to get into the town of olu deniz you either need to take a 25 minute walk or jump in a taxi for 2 minutes (costing aprox 10 lira) but in fairness it is the tranquil, out of the way feel to this hotel that really makes it special so I really am knit picking here! In summary, baring in mind we stayed all inclusive, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel meri and wouldn't hesitate to go back again. As long as it is a quiet, relaxing resort you are looking for, anyone of any age group should enjoy this beautifully located hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lexfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.9 mi away
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#11 of 103 in Oludeniz
429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
#10 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#17 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Orka Sunlife Hotel
Orka Sunlife Hotel
#19 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Horse Beach Club
Sea Horse Beach Club
#20 of 54 in Oludeniz
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meri

Property: Hotel Meri
Address: Oludeniz Caddesi, No. 48, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meri 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meri Hotel Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing