We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curates egg.”
Review of Hotel Meri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Meri
Ranked #68 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Stockport
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Curates egg.”
Reviewed 19 June 2008

The Hotel is on two sites either side of a quiet road. The uphill side is the reception with the majority of the rooms and the breakfast area. Our room was great. Large and clean, with a fantastic view over the Blue Lagoon. The maids are fantastic and when we asked for extra pillows they were there in minutes.

Breakfasts were simple and as expected a buffet. Views great but overall it was quantity over quality.

The lift gives access to the breakfast area but overall you will remember this hotel for endless flights of steps. We counted 137 steps from the bar area to our room. The use of the lift only reduces this by 20 or so.

The hotel is let down badly by the lower site near the lagoon. The bar areas are tired and badly laid out, the lunch area has the look of a 70s school canteen, the food is plentiful but adequate.

The main dinner area is smarter. In a 4 * hotel as this claims to be I would expect to be served dinner. But it is a buffet again. The same buffet as lunch more or less with the main course being served by surly staff. Not up to scratch this! If you want a drink they are served in a seperate building some way away.
Dinner is 8 till 10. Not bad but remember the staff will have all the food cleared away and all the customers off the premises by
10. They are very quick to shift your plate if you put your knife and fork down.

Think 3 * and you won't be as disappointed.

Go for B and B in Olu Deniz and eat in the plentiful eateries down there. Olu Deniz is not to be missed we will be back.

  • Liked — The room and the view. BUT most rooms don't have these.
  • Disliked — The bars and eating areas were jaded. No atmosphere and lack of interaction with other guests.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Buelligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    54
    25
    10
    13
See reviews for
75
52
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

My wife, daughter of 12, and son of 10 went for 2 weeks in August 2007. The situation being only an hour from Dalaman airport,(do not buy water or anything there coming out of customs, it was the only rip off we found all holiday) to the hotel sitting on the lagoon, was simply wonderful. Surrounded by mountains going up to 6,000 feet from which we watched the paragliders wafting down was sublime.
The all inclusive deal works well. It is informal, but not a gourmets delight, but then apart from Istanbul, Turkey is not. The food was well prepared, hygenic and plentiful. The opening salad section was superb, but the main courses seemed ot include a lot of chicken which is hte only negative comment I could make. The desserts on the other hand made up for that. I did see reviews of complaints about the food before we went, but those who did clearly have not travelled far and wide and are anal in attitude.
The situation of the hotel was a 25 minute walk from Olu Deniz, and a short (7 ish miles) from Fethiye which we found once visited (the market at Fethiye being the exceptional must) give no real cause to leave the hotel.
Taking the Anotilian trip on the 'lazy day boat,' although cheaper if you went off the Olu beach boats, was worth the extra. The boat owners prepared supberb food, limit the numbers on the boat, and were very chatty about Turkish life as we moored in deserted clear waters, swam and fished using their rods.
The day trip to the mud baths is great fun, especially for the kids, followed by boat ride down the reeded river where the 'African Queen' film was made.
Back at the hotel ,the staff were accomodating, polite, and honest. On enquiry, this family hotel has retained it's staff for many years which in itself tells a story. The kids got together in their usual clusters, and the staff were fair but firm when the kids pushed the edge too far without a parent being in immediate proximity. Off the narrow sandy beach, the peddle boats and canoes were always available, and the salty sea lagoon provided a gentle slope for safe, almost dead sea style bathing.
The hotel sits on a steep slope at the bottom of the mountain, but a lift takes you up to the top if you need it. The hill side views from the rooms therefore would demand 5 star prices elsewhere.

Fortunately we have had the chance to travel far and wide as well as living abroad, and this is the first time I have volunteered to write a review. It was fantastic value for money.
Go and try it, I hate sharing secrets but this has to be the holiday exception to break the rule.

  • Liked — situation
  • Disliked — small
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank wargravewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield. S. Yorks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

All other reviews miss a most important point. There is not a Lounge at this Hotel. Nowhere to sit and chill out after dinner or during bad weather, all you can do is cram into the Pool Bar and watch TV. You either have to go to your room or hazard a moonlit walk into Olu Deniz.
The rooms at the top of the hill do have views over the lagoon. We were lucky and got one. If you get one at the lower end your views will be of the next step down. Play pop and get a higher up room. The down side is that should the lift break down (it did three times during our stay) the hike up the stairs is a lung buster. As has been described previously, the food is very average and tends to be similar all the time. On the plus side, they make excellent soup. We went at the back end of the season and there was a large German contingent, the usual sun lounge hoggers but not unpleasant. Had to escape to Fethiye or Olu Deniz every day which rather ruins the all inclusive budget, but there is not enough going on to keep you in.
This is not as big a gripe as it sounds. Just be aware of the down sides to the place. So to rectify what seems a grouse it must be said that the location of the Meri is quite lovely as is Olu Deniz. The mountains are spectacular and the surroundings very green. Yes the place is a tourist trap but get on a Dolmus to Fethiye for 3 Lira and see how the other half live.
Would I go again. Not to the Meri, but to the area - yes

  • Liked — View from balcony
  • Disliked — Lack of Hotel facilities
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JJTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

The location of this hotel is by far the best in Olu Deniz. The setting and views are stunning.

You start the day by eating in the breakfast room which is in the hill/mountain and has gorgeous views of the lagoon. Choice is good - cereal, toast, fruit, egg, omlette etc.

Lunch is in a different place, upstairs overlooking the lagoon, but closer! Loads of choice of salads, turkish bread, a few hot dishes and fruit and Turkish deserts.

Dinner is served right next to the beach. It is pretty much the same as lunch. There isn't much choice if you are a veggie, and although the food is good quality, it is not your usual Mexico etc All Inclusive choice. I had no complaints, but by the end we were a little bored of it, so went in to Olu Deniz for our last two nights for dinner.

A tip - the afternoon snacks served at 3.30 - 4.30 are amazing. Fresh pancakes and turksih pizza cooked next to the beach - makes up for the lack of choice!

I would say this hotel is a 3 star, but the setting makes it 4 star.

The rooms were great. Ours was big, and cleaned every day to exceptional standard. Air con great.

The pool is lovely, but being a beach lover, I appreciated the free comfortable sun loungers right next to the clear water. There were plenty of sun loungers there to use.

All the staff were friendly and helpful.

The only issue was the noise from the bar at night near our room. The bass was so loud, we couldn't try and sleep before 12.30am, and were told the hotel was full when we wanted to move. We were right by the pool - room 107.

Summary - location top notch, hotel perfect, food good, but got a little bored, rooms great, beach great, 10 mins walk to town.

I would recommend this hotel to friends, and would stay again if I went back to Olu Deniz.

  • Liked — The mixture of Nationalities and stunning views
  • Disliked — The noise from the bar!!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoTack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

I have just arrived back from a 7 night stay at this hotel and after reading every review on here before I left it is only right that I give my opinion! We had a 3 hour delay on a our flight (a nightmare journey to say the least!) therefore arriving after the 'dinner hours' however the staff and restaurant manager were extremely welcoming and made it their priority to get us all a beer - a much needed drink!! I have to admit the food needs a lot of improvement if the hotel wants to keep its English customers loyal. The variety was somewhat slim consisting of 2 meats - both of which were normally chicken and meatballs and then rice/pasta or chips for hot and a mixture of 'Mediterranean' salads for cold. I have no doubt in my mind that this was all freshly prepared as we saw it with our own eyes but we didn't intend on eating the same for lunch and dinner for the remainder of our holiday! The resort was a ideal 10/15 min walk and offered a huge variety of restaurants with various menus and prices (try the back streets for the cheapest ones), although we spent more than intended this was worth it. Breakfast was ok and they can cook fresh omelette as required although make sure you are down on time as they are very prompt with clearing up - this also applies to lunch and dinner.

The hotel location is definitely the major selling point, right on the lagoon, the water is warm and very calm - ideal for families or those that do not like the rough sea and you even take a pedaloo out for free to explore the lagoon! Our room was actually located at the highest point but the 138 steps (yes I counted!) are certainly worth the walk to experience the view and you even get a little exercise after sleeping on a sun lounger all day! The rooms were basic but offered all we needed, a bed and a shower!

I would definitely recommend this hotel but advise that you budget for at least 2 meals out for a weeks stay!

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mini10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Meri between the 15th and 29th September 2007 having booked with Anatolian Sky holidays. I think the 'pina coladas' review was a bit harsh and I can understand why to a degree but they only stayed one night and really cannot comment honestly.

For us it was a good time to go as the season was winding down with the Hotel closing at the end of October, as does the whole Olu deniz resort.

Temperatures according to the Anatolian Sky rep, Alison, had reached 54 deg c in the preceding months which would have been unbearable, but they were in the high 80's low 90's during our stay which was fine.

The majority of guests were German with some Ukrainians also. The Germans were true to stereotype sunbed-wise, but if you play their game as well you can't really moan. To be honest i'd much rather them than some British people one can encounter, but without sounding too snobby 'they' had Olu Deniz to enjoy which was as tacky as Benidorm and the Costas! Awful - 'Full English breakfast' - 'Big Screen TV' etc.

There were some British people there who seemed to be auditioning for the next Guy ritchie 'mockney' gangster movie at times.

We arrived in the evening having been on the go since 4 am and having endured the awfulness that is air travel today, made worse by the awful 'XL' charter flight, following the 1.5 hour transfer in a hot non air conditioned minibus we arrived at the hotel, a group of about 12, where we were issued with our wristbands and had some instructions shouted at us re meal times etc. I really do think the hotel should invest in some printed details placed in the rooms.

We were issued the key to our room in the 600's, and we were taken up via the charming little funicular, and thank God it worked for the whole 2 weeks. However I was disappointed with the room which was dark and gloomy and this is where I sympathise with the 'Pina Coladas'. We did ask for a move but this did not happen as the hotel was 'fully booked'.

I was also glad not to have one of the rooms close to the pool/beach which would have far too noisy.

We were further disappointed on going to the pool/beach bar for a well deserved cold beer on arrival to find a loud slightly tired and emotional British West ham United fan (wearing the shirt) watching the game with Middlesboro', ("...you know West Ham won the World Cup in '66...." - you get my drift) - thankfully he disappeared after that never to be seen again

That said, people who did have a room with a view said that it was too hot to sit out on, and we became quite pleased as our holiday continued as the room was a cool environment to return to after a long day toiling on a sunbed. The airconditioning was also good.

The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard and all towels replenished on a daily basis.

Plenty of German TV channels, but as usual when on holiday I had CNN and the truly dreadful BBC World as the only english language channels available.

Again it was other guests who spoiled things with their selfish and inconsiderate behaviour, such as banging doors and scraping chairs on balconies etc at all times of the day and night.

The staff were polite and helpful and a big thankyou to the restaurant staff who were there every day from breakfast to dinner, all marshalled and guided by 'Recep' the head waiter and the manager who I called 'the big guy', because he was.

The food was excellent and I don't think anyone could reasonably moan about the choice at all meals unless you were an ardent 'Veggie'.

The hotel's beach is about 2 sunbed lengths wide and in our first week did get a bit crowded, but it was infinitly preferably to the other local beaches, public and private, and there are other pleasant areas to sit and we liked the wooded area with deckchairs near the beach and pool which was a pleasant shaded area in which to sit.

All in all we had a good 2 weeks and did exactly what we set out to do - nothing, and the location was perfect for doing just that.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — gloomy rooms, poor aspect
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2007

i will keep this short and brief, we stayed one night before being transferred to another hotel. the only good thing i can say about it is the location - if you don't mind trekking to the rooms in 40c. poky rooms, rubbish food, served up the same food for dinner and lunch, salads only if you are a vegetarian. can't even be bothered to write any more about it.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — location, small and dark and simple
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank the_pina-coladas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.9 mi away
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,819 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#16 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
458 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manaspark Hotel Oludeniz
Manaspark Hotel Oludeniz
#32 of 102 in Oludeniz
793 reviews
0.6 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#27 of 102 in Oludeniz
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meri

Property: Hotel Meri
Address: Oludeniz Caddesi, No. 48, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meri 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Meri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meri Hotel Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing