We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Big Disappointment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orka Sunlife Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orka Sunlife Hotel
Ranked #19 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Big Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Let’s start with the good
Sunshine all the way, food was good, fresh and plenty of it. People we met were really lovely.

Not so good

When we booked there were no warnings about the stairs in the hotel, we were in Uranus ! ( No laughing now), which is the third block, or 4th floor in the outside lift. The outside lift or apx 140+ stairs are the only thing that services this block. With the outside lift at best intermittent or stuck between floors often complete with passengers and no air con, you were faced with a long steep climb, more suited to a mountain goat than you average holiday maker.
Once we arrived at out suit we were pleasantly surprised with the modern décor, less pleased with our leaking Jacuzzi, they did fix it, went to use it later in our stay only to discover it did not work, only slightly more disturbing was the electrical supply for the thing hanging from a few wires sticking out of the wall and the junction box resting on the water pipes. As electricity and water do not mix, decided from a safety perspective to give the romantic Jacuzzi bath a miss. On the plus side the air-con in the room worked well but was very noisy.

Our minibar was not replenished daily neither were our Tea and Coffee station items, 2 sachets of coffee and no cream, often none of each. Our bed linen was not changed, and clean towels were only provided the night before we left.

A family of 5 who had booked 2 rooms were placed in a double room with a double sofa bed, all the rooms are open plan in design so not suitable for a group of this size. Another couple we have befriended had no toilet tissues for separate days during their stay

Outside
The pool was nice but there was no lifeguard on duty and one of party left the pool using the steps, which promptly came off in their hands, they were only secured by a single bolt, these steps remained at the edge of the pool for the week and were still there when we left.
Evening entertainment is not good, well very poor actually.
Al la Carte dining area is open and located beside the 24 hour lobby bar and behind the reception area, it is not special or romantic in any way and certainly not worth paying 12 Euro to sit at and eat.
If I were the management team I would relocate the Al La Carte area to the Milkyway bar, it has beautiful views over the mountains and Olu Deniz. In order for this to work they would need to scrap the evening entertainment, but to be honest that would not be a bad thing, only and improvement in my view.

Overall Rating 3.5

This place is definitely not 5* the rooms look good but it takes more than looks to obtain 5*,

it is about service, safety, cleanliness, all the things that were missing from this.

I would not return nor would I recommend, without some sort of evidence that all of the aforementioned things having been rectified and had remained that way consistently for a whole season. I booked with Thomas Cook and feel let down by them as well, they are responsible for the rating.

Room Tip: Ask for lower level rooms the outdoor lift was at best broken, when it was working it was breaking d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, please accept our apologies for the late reply. Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we have been took the necessary actions. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    296
    134
    47
    13
See reviews for
572
416
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kelvedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed 2nd week of June in a side seaview room for two,put in Uranas block which is the top one room 3403.Glad we paid extra as some of the rooms as mentioned were viewing stairwells but our,s had a fantastic mountain and sea view.We had no trouble storing case,s under the vanity shelf and had 11 hangers in wardrobe but took extra and left them.Aircon , fridge and safe all free and worked very well.Shower had hot water at all times and was good size and powerfull enough.The stairs wernt an issue but took the lift up occasionally and only saw it broken twice during stay.The restaurant always had tables free, we liked to sit outside all meals and never had a problem. The waiter Sinan is a diamond and always smiled, we knew him 6 years ago from the Mavruka.The food choice is some of the best I have encountered and we have been to Turkey many times.The pool area is spotless and he pool was a good size,pool games if you wanted or just relaxed, the slides were fun too and I noticed supervised.Bars are comfortable and drinks fairly good quality to.All staff are happy and want to help if they can.Would recommend taking taxi or dolmus to Oludeniz or Hisarano as the hill is very steep either way.All in all a very nice hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Book a side sea view room for view,s and tranquilty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davejetski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, please accept our apologies for the late reply. Thank you very much for your kind comments about your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many of our services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just returned from a week in the lovely Orka sunlife. Checked in with no problems, bright & airy reception, staff very pleasant. The porter who took our luggage to our room was lovely, very helpful, He took us to our room first & and then followed a short time later with our cases.

Room was a twin room, very clean & modern, not sure the furniture will stand the test of time but at the moment its great... we had asked for a double but the beds where easily pushed together...the maid then made them up for us as a double. The room was an adequate size for the two of us, although we did store the cases on the balcony as there was nowhere to put them in the room. Two large wardrobes but not many hangers! Bathroom was great, a very powerful shower & always plenty of hot water. View from the balcony was worth the extra we had paid for it & we had the sun on it all day. We weren't over looked at all.
Maids came to our room around 10am every day...Fresh bedding 3 times in the week & clean towels every day.
Food at the hotel is of an excellent standard...I am very fussy & I always found something to eat. Plenty of options on an evening, few less during the day but there is always the snack bar to choose from as well. The issue with service at the restaurant didn't really bother us until the last day when the hotel was a bit busier.
Drinks were of a high standard. Once the waiters get to know what you drink, you need never move from your chair...service in the milky way bar was excellent.
Entertainment....The guys work really hard...but it is lacking I'm afraid...It was improving in the week we were there....I wouldn't let it put you off. Look out for the guy who sings there a couple of times a week...he's fab!
The pool is lovely, very cool but just what you need when the sun is so hot. The music around the pool is not a real issue as far as I'm concerned, they played a really mix of music and some days we wanted the volume turned up! There was always plenty of beds at the pool, the hotel was not at full occupancy though and I feel when it is beds may become a bit of an issue...

The staff at the hotel are great, very hard working & like to get to know you. Please don't let negative reviews spoil what should be an exciting time...You would of paid a lot of money for this holiday...relax & go and make your own mind up...Your holiday is what you make of it...Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, please accept our apologies for the late reply. Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Orka Sunlife Hotel Resort & SPA and taking your time to share your comments regarding your visit. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed our facilities and services.

Once again our sincere thanks for you visit and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Tor Walmsley
Well.... we were rather apprehensive before our holiday to the Orka Sunlife after reading various comments , however...we have just got back from a week and we had an excellent time.. the hotel was beautiful, clean and had amazing views.. the food was really lovely, plenty of choice and really nicely cooked... The Ents team - Burak, Erhan, Mesih, Oxana made us all feel special in particular our young son who enjoyed himself so much with the kids leaders he didn't miss his x box once !!! and yes this is something ! and they put so much effort into the activities ie aqua gym, pool games and evening entertainment.... our only criticism was that we weren't there for 2 weeks... our group was aged between 11yrs up to 80yrs and we were ALL happy...My indian head massage in the hotel spa was just wonderful... Thanks to everyone who went out of their way to make our first holiday in Turkey one to remember for all the right reasons..... with that in mind, if you have already booked then please look forward to it..... It's worth it... also we took our rep up on the advice to go to Dalyan on a tour for the last day and it was brilliant .. so if you have a late flight we would recommend it....Thanks again and we will be back xxxx

Room Tip: If you can afford to then upgrade to a suit, they are just beautiful . If you are elderly or out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torsiwalmshog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Front Office Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed for 1 week with my husband and two teenage and adult children in two superior rooms with seaside views. The hotel had everything you would wish for on all inclusive holidays. Stunning views, excellent food, friendly staff, stylish rooms. We really enjoyed Turkish bath which was advertised for a much higher price but we paid just £12 each. The only downside: slippery slippery slippery! I slipped even before I had a glass of wine and ended up with a not very attractive bruise on my elbow but it couldn't spoil our overall wonderful holidays!

Room Tip: Room with the sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jurate002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Front Office Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Hi - have recently returned from Orka Sunlife, must say my opinion is rather mixed. Firstly must say the pool area and atmosphere are great, lots of planned activities throughout the day but no pressure to join in, music played is a little repetitive and I found a bit loud at times especially if it was a track they liked they seemed to crank up the volume so much it was like a club!! Hotel first impression seems good but closer inspection its a bit of a bodge build and built on a tight budget.
Our room which we booked was superior with sea view but the view was awful, we looked onto a wall, we have a better view at home and wasnt settling for this on holiday. We were moved to a standard room but the view was great so we stuck with that. The superior room is worth the extra money the fixtures and fittings are better, the standard room was extremely small with no storage space no dressing table or chair which the superior had. The bathroom is very basic just a mirror stuck on the wall no concealed lighting as in the superior. The shower leaked through the window into the bedroom where is wasnt sealed properly. We had no tea/coffee in the room just a few fruit teas and they were never stocked up. I must say if you like a cup of tea in the morning bring your own PG tips there is NO english tea at this hotel! the blinds in the bedroom do not do the job they let so much light (even moonlight) into your room its too light to sleep that well. Aircon good rooms lovely and cool.
Food I could not fault plenty of choice both breakfast lunch and dinner. Did think the restaurant was very casual and not very 4 star I heard others say it was canteen like and i cannot disagree with them. We ate at the Italian which was nice but kind of an afterthought stuck in the corner of the bar area, these are usually separate dining rooms, but its Turkish/Italian shared on different nights. Difficult to get a table in the main restaurant some evenings and a glass of wine with your meal even harder. They all work hard but there is not enough waiters to clear and serve drinks. We were on a high floor with not too many stairs but felt sorry for the people on the top of the complex as the horizontal lift did not work at all for the whole of our holiday, there was a vehicle laid on by the hotel for people who could not manage the stairs, but one woman was told to come back later as they were busy, she quite rightly lost her temper! Location is not good the views are great but its difficult to walk out anywhere, Hisoronu is the closest but the road you walk along is dodgy best get a taxi. Would I go back? No - the room quality is very poor already showing wear and tear and our room was just too small no storage for the cases we left them out on the balcony one night but we had a shower of rain and 2 wet cases! After such a long build they have not got it right, the majority of rooms have a terrible outlook onto stairs and lifts not very private, ours was sea view but still very overlooked such a shame. Wanted to give it a try but not what we expected. Will not be returning - sorry Orka.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cliffwoodgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, please accept our apologies for the late reply. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we have been took the necessary actions. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks from June 1 st stayed in a standard room with my husband room was big enough for the two of us wouldn't want a third person sharing. shower was fantastic hot water whenever you had a shower.kettle and hairdryer in room also a mini fridge which water was replaced free air condition which was set perfect no need to alter it.cleaning of the rooms was good sometimes didn't get cleaned to 4 pm .we was at the very top lift was a pain people did get stuck in there but was never in there for too long I think there was 193 steps I know sad I counted them didn't mind walking down them but going up there was a struggle just make sure you don't forget anything so you have to go back up!! Pool area was spotless and never had trouble getting a sunbed I can recommend the spa it was brilliant look out for special deals food was the best I've ever had in all inclusive we could always find a table but you could wait a long while to get drinks hubby went and got them on a few occasions.all the bar staff are fantastic especially in the lobby bar and galaxy bar didn't go to entrainment of an evening found a reggae and calypso bar in town which was great.overall we had a fantastic time and I would recommend this hotel please sort the lift out .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarastev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Front Office Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
1.3 mi away
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#12 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
2.7 mi away
SENTIDO Lykia Resort & Spa
SENTIDO Lykia Resort & Spa
#2 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manaspark Hotel Oludeniz
Manaspark Hotel Oludeniz
#26 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Oyster Residences
Oyster Residences
#21 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orka Sunlife Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orka Sunlife Hotel

Property: Orka Sunlife Hotel
Address: Guzgulu Mevkii 7/4, Oludeniz, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Orka Sunlife Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the charming Blue Lagoon, Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa has been built in a densely green area without damaging the environment. Here, youwill enjoy all the comforts of a Resort Hotel. The facility is composed of a main building that houses the reception, the lobby and the meeting rooms; 4blocks with a total of 195 rooms; and 7 special triplex villas.With the Ultra All-Inclusive service at Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa, you will have an unforgettable holiday. Our kitchens cater to all tastes, and there is noend to fun when each day is packed with activities and each night with shows. Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa will be your vacation home with its spaciousand natural surroundings, luxury, comfort and its splendid view of the Blue Lagoon.Just 2.5 km away from the Blue Lagoon, one of the best beaches in the world, Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa offers scheduled shuttle services to the beacheveryday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Orka Sunlife Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing