We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,966)
Filter reviews
1,966 results
Traveller rating
1,254
423
192
64
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,254
423
192
64
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuranus blockgalaxy barorka sun lifeslow liftwater slidesthomas cookturkeyresort and spaside sea viewanimation teamturkish bathbar staffmilky waypool gamesdvd playerhour barstorage space
Filter
Updating list...
1,290 - 1,295 of 1,966 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Overall a very nice hotel. Don't be conned by Thomas Cook. we paid £40.00 extra when we booked for a double bed with a side sea view. Thomas Cook got us there 10 hours late so was exhausted when we arrived. Got a twin bed with a view of the lift and the opposite buildings stairwell. Took it up with the rep who got us a different room. Double bed,could just about see the sea but so small. Having missed our first night we still had to pay £25.00 for a late check out and move rooms again.
The hotel was getting very busy as we left and the staff were beginning to struggle in the restaurant. The furniture was nice but wont last long because everyone is allowed in, in wet swimwear at lunch time.
Food was excellent and rooms were kept very clean. Staff were very friendly and enjoyed a chat. No problems with the lifts. Pool kept very well. Sunbeds could become a problem. Entertainment poor so nights a bit boring unless you venture out.
Overall a nice place to chill out and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swinmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Dear Guest,

First of all, please accept our apologies for the late reply. Thank you very much for your kind comments about your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many of our services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Paradise in Olu Deniz

My family and I stayed at the Orka from 10th - 24th July 2013, we are a couple in our 30's and have a 10 yr old son.

The rooms
We stayed in a standard room in the Saturn Block, our view was spectacular and overlooked the Bagadag mountains. The rooms are spacious, baring in mind your in a hotel, not an apartment. The furnishings are modern and high quality. The bed was so comfortable with luxurious pillows and quilts. The air con is fab, we had ours at 18, so it was really cool when returning in from the heat. The bathroom is gorgeous, it has a quirky shower which when you open the blind, you can look into the bedroom. We had a stocked mini bar, consisting of beer, soft drinks and water - water is replenished on a daily basis. Free safety deposit box in the room, which is bonus. Also lots of other little touches, such as needles and cotton, slippers, shoe horns, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel etc. I'm glad I took my own hair dryer, as the one in the room was like someone blowing on you. The maid service is daily, however on a couple of occasions we had to turn the maid away, as it was too late in the afternoon i.e. 5pm when we were having a siesta - but that was no real issue, she still left us with fresh towels.

The food & drink
I can honestly say I've never experienced such good food at an all inclusive hotel and after working in the travel industry for many years, I've been to some amazing hotels . Each night there is a different theme, i.e. Turkish, Mexican, Chinese etc. The deserts are unbelievable - there is over 40 different deserts at every sitting - you could easily put on two stone on if your staying a fortnight. If you're anything like me, I usually get bored with the food after a week - but what really makes this hotel special is the snack bar, as you can always revert to burgers, pizza, chips, nuggets etc, and the 'to die for' waffles!

We celebrated our wedding anniversary during the first week, so decided to go to the Italian (fri & sat nights 10euro per person), it was fantastic, really authentic Italian food, we had jumbo king prawns, fillet steak and tiramisu - it was proper high end Resturant quality and you could have champagne (included). The week after we went to the Indian with a group of friends we'd met and again couldn't fault it, popadoms with all the dips, chicken tikka for starters, lamb bhuna (lamb was melt in your mouth) and for the finale, fried Ice cream, which was amazing! The a'la carte is a real treat' as its really nice to be fully waited on - I'd highly recommend it for both nights!

The drinks are fab, if your cocktail isn't on the menu, ask the best barman Bilau at the milky bar (the upstairs bar on the viewing platform) & he'll make you something up - baileys cocktails are delicious! My hubby usually drinks Jack Daniels, which isn't on the AI, but they have bourbon which he said was good. The Strawberry Daiquiris are amazing, like alcohol slush-puppy. The sparkling wine (they call it champagne) was really nice as was the rose, with ice!

Ice cream is gorgeous too, served from 3-5pm daily.

Word of warning: at the main buffet, if you leave the table unattended your plate will be cleared, sometimes the service is too efficient and it can be a game of cat and mouse.

Entertainment, Slides & Pool
The pool is beautiful, it's massive and so you never feel that there are too many people and you can't have a good swim. It has a fantastic atmosphere around the day, lots going on - such as waterpolo for kids & another for adults, aqua aerobics etc.

The animation team are ok, the one they call messi is so annoying and the guests were getting really cross with him towards the end, as he thinks he's being entertaining by pouring water on people whilst sunbathing or taking peoples possessions and wearing them, but in fact nobody thought it was funny, so they need to tell him to stop it! Jimmy is great, he's an asset to the hotel and became a good friend by the time we left, he's fab with the kids too! If the animation team are going to continue to do shows in the evening, they need to have professional training as their shows were abysmal - they tried, but failed terribly - sometimes verging on offensive! The shows they bring in however, such as the break dancers were great, as well as the live musician on the viewing platform.

The disco is only open weds & thursdays, it needs to be open every night! my suggestion is that it should be open till 12 for under 18's i.e. no alcohol (as we seen young girls of 16 really drunk and making complete fools out of themselves, unbeknown to their parents - then it should open for adults.

There isn't much to do for teenagers, whilst their someone suggested a games room, which I thought was a fantastic idea.

The slides are awesome, hours of fun can be had for all of the family.

The Spa & Beauty Salon
We had a Turkish bath for £20 each, it was great. Have it as soon as you arrive though as it exfoliates your skin and you wouldn't want to lose any of the tan you've worked so hard to get. There's a hair and beauty salon offering a wide range of treatment and you can get them for great prices, i.e. eyelash extensions £15, shellac £6, blow dry £6 etc.

Location & Trips & Beach
The hotel is nestled in the mountains with the most spectacular views of olu deniz, it's 20 lira (about £6) in a taxi, the resort is beautiful with lots of nice restaurants and bars along the front.

You can get anyone of the boat trips for £10-£12 from the main beach, which is well worth doing (don't book through thomas cook, its £30) but a serious word of warning, on one of the stops they take you to a waterfall - DO NOT GO - you pay a couple of quid each and it's around a half an hour walk there and then back again in the blistering heat on a dirt track, bearing in mind you only get 50 minutes at the stop, the boats will leave you and you will be forced to sleep in a tent for the night until they come back the next day!

Hisonaru market is on a Monday and is definitely worth a visit, the traders love English money and there is some serious bartering to be done, I got a mulberry bag and two purses and a channel bag all for £40 - down from £120! You can walk to hisonaru from the hotel, there is a huge hill to climb out of the hotel, but once your up that turn left (instinct would say right) but its a short cut across a dirt track and you'll be there in 8-10 minutes, or its £3 - £4 in a taxi.

Before leaving the UK I couldn't wait to go to the blue lagoon, we took advantage of the free shuttle bus from the hotel to the private St Nicholas beach, we had been warned but we wanted to see it for ourselves. The lagoon is a good 20minute walk from the main beach, the shuttle bus takes you straight in and it's 7lira per person straight the way. The heat is stifling and the sand is like walking on hot coals, combined with the rubber sunbeds it's just unbearable. It is not a sea, it's more like a lake and the water is stagnant as there is no waves removing the dirt. It was a really big disappointment & I wouldn't recommend it. We didn't make it past a couple of hours and we returned to the gorgeous Orka pool for free ice cream and great drinks!

In summary, we would 100% recommend the Orka Sunlife, we had an amazing time. The hotel has a few teething problems which is expected as its a brand new hotel in its first season. The hotel is continually improving and I wouldn't be surprised if the hotel is ranked as the best hotel in olu deniz in a couple of years time. Your holiday is what you make it and combined with the Orka's enthusiasm to achieve high standards - it made it superb for us! Thank you Orka, it's been emotional!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the mountains or sea ( not stairs)
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mrsjoallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Front Office Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Just returned from orka. Had a really fantastic time. We were really concerned after we had booked with all the bad things some people were saying but we really shouldn't have worried. Of course no hotel can be everything to everyone and some people will find something so here is my few little ones...... the stairs! we were in the top block and i did have a tumble coming down them one morning after the maids had cleaned them and they were still wet. I told them at reception and the next morning stairs were dried by another maid following behind the mopping one.The lovely bottle of wine and fruit basket delivered to our room that night as an apology was appreciated.The evening entertainment could have been a bit better but we met some really lovely people and made our own fun.I can imagine that the rooms could be a little small for more than 2 people but you can always upgrade.So thats really it for niggles. The Hotel is very clean, welcoming and relaxing. The wonderful staff are helpful and friendly. The food is amazing and varied. The drinks and cocktails were lush.The water slides and pools are great fun and clean, plenty of sun beds and parasols. The bedrooms are clean and the beds are very comfy.I have loved our holiday at the Orka and would recommend it. Would I go back there ??? Definately. Enjoy if you have booked

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Front Office Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Although this hotel only opened in May, and is a 'work in progress', it really is very good, probably thanks to a pro-active management team and hard working staff. I had read a fe comments about Reception staff being unhelpful, we did noot find this to be the case , in fact, the complete opposite. The restaurant was very well ran although they could do with a few more staff. The food was to die for, certainly not repetitive, and very well presented. We saw members of staff taking the temperature of food - this may be one of the reasons no-one had a bad stomach while we were there! The lobby bar is open 24hrs with another 2 bars outside. The swimming pool is very big and you can actually walk in 'without slipping'! It was never overcrowded.The pool must be very clean as again no-one had ear infections! There is a separate pool and play area for children right in front of the kids club buliding. There are new animators and led by 'Jimmy' they are working hard to keep the guests entertained with sports, games, shows etc. - not bad for a team of only 4. The spa was good and resonably priced as were the beauty treatments. We tried quite a few. Our room was a standard and although nicely furnished, it was far too small for 3 adults, in fact it would have been quite small for 2. We only used it for sleep and showers as there was so much going on. The beds were very comfortable and the air-con worked well.The stairs are quite daunting but luckily we were on a lower level - I had requested this due to knee problems - and was lucky enough to be accomodated. Taxis are cheap and plentiful - just ask at reception. Lots to see , do and eat. There were rumours of an infinity pool to be built along with more restaurants, then i would imagine they would do some more landscaping as its quite barren in parts. The hotel is not the prettiest to look at - reminded me of corrogated sheeting These are just minor niggles as I would imagine this hotel will be 'out of this world' when totally finished. Well done Orka team.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elleou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review.
We will be very pleased to host you again in Orka Sunlife Resort & SPA

Kind Regards

Front Office Team
info@orkasunlifehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Just back and would definitely recommend this hotel. I,ll b honest and straight to point. Hotel staff friendly and there for all your needs, food fantastic as we were there for 2 wks with our 9yr old daughter and not one of us were fed up with food at any time...so fabulous, spotless hotel, we watched some fantastic shows at hotel and a couple we didn't enjoy but I suppose U can't please everyone all of the time, entertainment staff were friendly and good with the kids too at mini disco, rooms are small but contemporary and clean, not much wardrobe space (our only gripe in the 2wks). There,s lots of stairs but u can wait for a slow lift to take u to your rooms but we actually took advantage of the stairs to work off fab food...well it is built on a hillside! Its such a safe, friendly and gorgeous hotel amd not too big either and im so glad we didn't listen to those trying to put us off as we had a ball! We went into Hisaronu a few nights shopping and for nights out and had a fantastic time...only cost us £4 taxi (12tl). If U have any questions go onto the hotel website and I,ll try to answer as much as I can honestly! Enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon-GWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Front Office Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews