We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,967)
Filter reviews
1,967 results
Traveller rating
1,254
424
192
64
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,254
424
192
64
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuranus blockgalaxy barorka sun lifeslow liftwater slidesthomas cookturkeyresort and spaside sea viewanimation teamturkish bathbar staffmilky waypool gamesdvd playerhour barstorage space
Filter
Updating list...
1,289 - 1,294 of 1,967 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

all staff are polite and the entertainment staff, are lovely although people may say they are annoying they are only trying to please everyone and make them enjoy themselves! messi is always so happy and energetic always wanting people smiling!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue5564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Front Office Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Just returned from a week here on 22nd July, well what a lovely hotel this was, I must say that all the staff here are very friendly and helpful, the Thomas cook reps were also very nice and bubbly, we stayed in the Uranus block which was situated at the very top of all those steps you see in the pictures, wow what a lot of steps there were, 250 we counted as we climbed up and down them each day, a word of warning do not forget anything from your room, otherwise you will be picking straws as to who goes back to fetch !!! There was a lift from the bottom to the top with air conditioning, the lifts takes around 2.1/2minutes to get to the top, sometimes it was quicker to walk but sometimes it was worth the wait !! We saw the lift get stuck on 3 occasions, however the staff are pretty quick to resolve it, any how after all the all inclusive food and drink that's included, you should be running up and burning off the extra calories ! Every cloud ! The rooms however are very modern and the beds were comfortable, unfortuantely no black out blinds so it was quite bright early in the morning, no problem to my husband though he sleeps through anything, all lovely, The restaurant food was absolutely lovely, no complaints there, there was lots of choice and was all delicious, the all inclusive was 24hours so drinks in the lobby bar were always available, mainly British people were here and all in really good spirits, we met some lovely people, the hotel is situated between olu deniz and hisaranu, which both were accessible, for me preferable by taxi as always a big hill to climb, around 12 lira to hisaranu and 20 lira to olu deniz, you could also catch a dolmus which was only 2.75 lira each, both resorts where fab we had a meal in hisaranu which was lovely and only cost around £20 each, for starters, main and drinks, the hotel also offers a complimentary bus service to Nicholas beach, were you pay for sun beds at 15 lira for 2 and parasol, which is only just over a fiver, lunch on the beach is also very reasonable, and it was a lovely beach, when walking into the sea it was bath like temperatures, overall a very lovely holiday and hotel, I would consider going back even though there are so many steps..... You won't be disappointed ...

Room Tip: Over looking the sea rooms are lovely and maybe not to high up
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brats_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Front Office Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Overall a very nice hotel. Don't be conned by Thomas Cook. we paid £40.00 extra when we booked for a double bed with a side sea view. Thomas Cook got us there 10 hours late so was exhausted when we arrived. Got a twin bed with a view of the lift and the opposite buildings stairwell. Took it up with the rep who got us a different room. Double bed,could just about see the sea but so small. Having missed our first night we still had to pay £25.00 for a late check out and move rooms again.
The hotel was getting very busy as we left and the staff were beginning to struggle in the restaurant. The furniture was nice but wont last long because everyone is allowed in, in wet swimwear at lunch time.
Food was excellent and rooms were kept very clean. Staff were very friendly and enjoyed a chat. No problems with the lifts. Pool kept very well. Sunbeds could become a problem. Entertainment poor so nights a bit boring unless you venture out.
Overall a nice place to chill out and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swinmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Dear Guest,

First of all, please accept our apologies for the late reply. Thank you very much for your kind comments about your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many of our services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Paradise in Olu Deniz

My family and I stayed at the Orka from 10th - 24th July 2013, we are a couple in our 30's and have a 10 yr old son.

The rooms
We stayed in a standard room in the Saturn Block, our view was spectacular and overlooked the Bagadag mountains. The rooms are spacious, baring in mind your in a hotel, not an apartment. The furnishings are modern and high quality. The bed was so comfortable with luxurious pillows and quilts. The air con is fab, we had ours at 18, so it was really cool when returning in from the heat. The bathroom is gorgeous, it has a quirky shower which when you open the blind, you can look into the bedroom. We had a stocked mini bar, consisting of beer, soft drinks and water - water is replenished on a daily basis. Free safety deposit box in the room, which is bonus. Also lots of other little touches, such as needles and cotton, slippers, shoe horns, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel etc. I'm glad I took my own hair dryer, as the one in the room was like someone blowing on you. The maid service is daily, however on a couple of occasions we had to turn the maid away, as it was too late in the afternoon i.e. 5pm when we were having a siesta - but that was no real issue, she still left us with fresh towels.

The food & drink
I can honestly say I've never experienced such good food at an all inclusive hotel and after working in the travel industry for many years, I've been to some amazing hotels . Each night there is a different theme, i.e. Turkish, Mexican, Chinese etc. The deserts are unbelievable - there is over 40 different deserts at every sitting - you could easily put on two stone on if your staying a fortnight. If you're anything like me, I usually get bored with the food after a week - but what really makes this hotel special is the snack bar, as you can always revert to burgers, pizza, chips, nuggets etc, and the 'to die for' waffles!

We celebrated our wedding anniversary during the first week, so decided to go to the Italian (fri & sat nights 10euro per person), it was fantastic, really authentic Italian food, we had jumbo king prawns, fillet steak and tiramisu - it was proper high end Resturant quality and you could have champagne (included). The week after we went to the Indian with a group of friends we'd met and again couldn't fault it, popadoms with all the dips, chicken tikka for starters, lamb bhuna (lamb was melt in your mouth) and for the finale, fried Ice cream, which was amazing! The a'la carte is a real treat' as its really nice to be fully waited on - I'd highly recommend it for both nights!

The drinks are fab, if your cocktail isn't on the menu, ask the best barman Bilau at the milky bar (the upstairs bar on the viewing platform) & he'll make you something up - baileys cocktails are delicious! My hubby usually drinks Jack Daniels, which isn't on the AI, but they have bourbon which he said was good. The Strawberry Daiquiris are amazing, like alcohol slush-puppy. The sparkling wine (they call it champagne) was really nice as was the rose, with ice!

Ice cream is gorgeous too, served from 3-5pm daily.

Word of warning: at the main buffet, if you leave the table unattended your plate will be cleared, sometimes the service is too efficient and it can be a game of cat and mouse.

Entertainment, Slides & Pool
The pool is beautiful, it's massive and so you never feel that there are too many people and you can't have a good swim. It has a fantastic atmosphere around the day, lots going on - such as waterpolo for kids & another for adults, aqua aerobics etc.

The animation team are ok, the one they call messi is so annoying and the guests were getting really cross with him towards the end, as he thinks he's being entertaining by pouring water on people whilst sunbathing or taking peoples possessions and wearing them, but in fact nobody thought it was funny, so they need to tell him to stop it! Jimmy is great, he's an asset to the hotel and became a good friend by the time we left, he's fab with the kids too! If the animation team are going to continue to do shows in the evening, they need to have professional training as their shows were abysmal - they tried, but failed terribly - sometimes verging on offensive! The shows they bring in however, such as the break dancers were great, as well as the live musician on the viewing platform.

The disco is only open weds & thursdays, it needs to be open every night! my suggestion is that it should be open till 12 for under 18's i.e. no alcohol (as we seen young girls of 16 really drunk and making complete fools out of themselves, unbeknown to their parents - then it should open for adults.

There isn't much to do for teenagers, whilst their someone suggested a games room, which I thought was a fantastic idea.

The slides are awesome, hours of fun can be had for all of the family.

The Spa & Beauty Salon
We had a Turkish bath for £20 each, it was great. Have it as soon as you arrive though as it exfoliates your skin and you wouldn't want to lose any of the tan you've worked so hard to get. There's a hair and beauty salon offering a wide range of treatment and you can get them for great prices, i.e. eyelash extensions £15, shellac £6, blow dry £6 etc.

Location & Trips & Beach
The hotel is nestled in the mountains with the most spectacular views of olu deniz, it's 20 lira (about £6) in a taxi, the resort is beautiful with lots of nice restaurants and bars along the front.

You can get anyone of the boat trips for £10-£12 from the main beach, which is well worth doing (don't book through thomas cook, its £30) but a serious word of warning, on one of the stops they take you to a waterfall - DO NOT GO - you pay a couple of quid each and it's around a half an hour walk there and then back again in the blistering heat on a dirt track, bearing in mind you only get 50 minutes at the stop, the boats will leave you and you will be forced to sleep in a tent for the night until they come back the next day!

Hisonaru market is on a Monday and is definitely worth a visit, the traders love English money and there is some serious bartering to be done, I got a mulberry bag and two purses and a channel bag all for £40 - down from £120! You can walk to hisonaru from the hotel, there is a huge hill to climb out of the hotel, but once your up that turn left (instinct would say right) but its a short cut across a dirt track and you'll be there in 8-10 minutes, or its £3 - £4 in a taxi.

Before leaving the UK I couldn't wait to go to the blue lagoon, we took advantage of the free shuttle bus from the hotel to the private St Nicholas beach, we had been warned but we wanted to see it for ourselves. The lagoon is a good 20minute walk from the main beach, the shuttle bus takes you straight in and it's 7lira per person straight the way. The heat is stifling and the sand is like walking on hot coals, combined with the rubber sunbeds it's just unbearable. It is not a sea, it's more like a lake and the water is stagnant as there is no waves removing the dirt. It was a really big disappointment & I wouldn't recommend it. We didn't make it past a couple of hours and we returned to the gorgeous Orka pool for free ice cream and great drinks!

In summary, we would 100% recommend the Orka Sunlife, we had an amazing time. The hotel has a few teething problems which is expected as its a brand new hotel in its first season. The hotel is continually improving and I wouldn't be surprised if the hotel is ranked as the best hotel in olu deniz in a couple of years time. Your holiday is what you make it and combined with the Orka's enthusiasm to achieve high standards - it made it superb for us! Thank you Orka, it's been emotional!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the mountains or sea ( not stairs)
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mrsjoallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Front Office Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Just returned from orka. Had a really fantastic time. We were really concerned after we had booked with all the bad things some people were saying but we really shouldn't have worried. Of course no hotel can be everything to everyone and some people will find something so here is my few little ones...... the stairs! we were in the top block and i did have a tumble coming down them one morning after the maids had cleaned them and they were still wet. I told them at reception and the next morning stairs were dried by another maid following behind the mopping one.The lovely bottle of wine and fruit basket delivered to our room that night as an apology was appreciated.The evening entertainment could have been a bit better but we met some really lovely people and made our own fun.I can imagine that the rooms could be a little small for more than 2 people but you can always upgrade.So thats really it for niggles. The Hotel is very clean, welcoming and relaxing. The wonderful staff are helpful and friendly. The food is amazing and varied. The drinks and cocktails were lush.The water slides and pools are great fun and clean, plenty of sun beds and parasols. The bedrooms are clean and the beds are very comfy.I have loved our holiday at the Orka and would recommend it. Would I go back there ??? Definately. Enjoy if you have booked

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Front Office Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews