We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp beyond Belief!”
Review of Orka Sunlife Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orka Sunlife Hotel
Ranked #18 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Well this is my follow up review after writing on day 1 of our holiday when we had to move rooms due to damp! (Room 3315, don't allow yourselves to be booked into this room!) I did have a reply from the hotel who told me the damp was due to the watering of the grounds, this is rubbish as the damp is not on an outside wall.
Anyway to be fair I absolutely cannot fault the staff, they are wonderful and really attentive and thoughtful. From the massage place with Murat and the 24 hour bar they were all lovely.
If you are taking young or teenage kids to this hotel, don't. There is nothing to do in the evening, unless you like bingo or poorly organised entertainment consisting of quizzes etc. it's great in Olu Deniz but you shouldn't have to go out in a supposed 5 star hotel. I would rate this hotel a 3 heading towards a 4, no higher.
Omer the guy in the jewellers is fabulous and very honest, if you want to buy jewellery go to him, he'll sort you a great deal!
You do not have to change Lira but if you do the rate at the hotel is good however they usually don't have Lira, I just didn't get this!
Our new room was a lot smaller but not recently damp.
The lift to the higher floors is a pain but the steps can be worse, so worth waiting for it. The views from the rooms are poor unless you are lucky enough to get a sea view, there are few of these, you will either look straight out onto the steps and the lift or onto the mountain wall which is newly landscaped do nothing to look at. You will need your blinds shut all day if you are changing etc as people are walking right outside your door. There is no waking up to the sunlight here!
Cleanliness, couldn't fault it, the room maids were fab. Food was hard work after 2 weeks but to be expected I guess.
All in all I love Turkey and will go at least once a year but unfortunately I would never recommend this hotel which is a shame for a brand new build.
Met some great people though, fabulous girls from Bromley!!
Mandy, Herts

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Front Office Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for your valued feedback which we are taking on board and making positive changes.
Last year was our first year and we had some teething problems as all new hotels could have. We sorted them out in winter time and we are ready for 2014 summer.
We will be very pleased to host you in Orka Sunlife Resort & SPA again.
If you have any questions and requests please do not hesitate to contact with us.
Kind Regards

Front Office Team
info@orkasunlifehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel is very well positioned between Hisaronu and Olu Deniz. Hisaronu is a short 15 minute walk through the woods rather than using the main road. The food was very good with a large selection every day. The pool and surrounding facilities were excellent. The only comments I would give to improve the area in order for ease of movement would be: The cable lift needs defaulting to return to the bottom when idle for 1 or 2 minutes. The room was excellent [2303] but needs a little more hangers for storage. The restaurant again was excellent but English Teabags although available in the room were not available in the dining areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the cable car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnJ117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Dear , JohnJ117

We are very happy for that you had enjoyed your holiday and liked the meals section were great ,

Thank you so much your great and warm comments that will be forwarded to relevant departments ,

Will also consider about the mobilities issue that it must be needed to be fix or another alternative would be provided in your next time to visit .

Many thanks again , Looking forward to welcomin you back

Sincerely

info@orkasunlifehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

i have just come back from a 7 night stay at Orka sunlife and had a wonderful time. upon arrival the main reception area and bar were very clean and modern. the staff also provided a sandwich when we checked in as we missed dinner and they knew we would be hungry (this was a nice welcome).

we were amazed by the cleanliness of the room, this was also very modern and spacious, (the maids did a very good job every day to keep it this clean)

we woke in the morning, looked out onto the balcony to find a stunning view on mt babadag, the hotel is in a fabulous location. the pool area also has these fantastic views to enjoy as you relax during the day.

i noticed as i sat in the bar, the pool cleaner spent hours every night looking after the area to keep it spotless.

the bar areas were really nice and all the staff were very friendly.

the entertainment staff were great! they were all such good characters and really made an effort to bond with us, which made our holiday here excellent.

the only fault i have is the food, there was a lot of choice however the standard was very average. also, most of the foods were quite odd, there were no plain foods like steaks or chicken breasts. (if you were to travel with kids i doubt they would want to eat most of the adventurous stuff).


overall an excellent holiday! will definitely be going here again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack_blue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Front Office Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Orka Sunlife Olu Deniz. I d like to begin on a positive note: The hotel itself was excellent & certainly didnt disappoint, however with it being a brand new complex, there were the inevitable teething problems which were a little irritating but nothing really major! i.e. Only 3 hangers in the wardrobe- not practical if you take a week s worth of Maxi dresses! No outside / poolside clock, so you had to take your watch to the pool to keep an eye on the time! Restaurant not large enough if all visitors eating at the same sitting. Table drinks service at mealtimes, a little slow; 9 times out of 10, we were asked if we d like a drink when we d almost finished eating! Practically non-existent entertainment, although this wasnt an issue for us, as lively Hisaronu is a short taxi ride/walk away! All this being said, a member of staff did explain to us that the hotel will look very different next year & the manager & team are planning to remedy all the little faults & are taking on board all customers constructive criticisms. i.e. they are planning a 2nd, Adult only, relax pool, an extended restaurant with more food choices & an outside clock / temperature gauge, and better entertainment! All in all, if these improvements are implemented & the restaurant, waiting staff have a little more customer service training, this hotel would be faultless! It is built on a steep gradient with many steps, but there is an adequate lift. The only issue with this lift is, it seemed to stay idle at level 5 (right at the top). Maybe there should be an added setting to return it to ground level, if it is not called; as most people want to ascend, not descend! Anyway, everything considered, we enjoyed our holiday and will definitely return in the future. We would recommend the Orka Sunlife to 1 and all! P.s, If you have any disabilities, ask to stay in the Jupiter or Neptune blocks, not the Saturn or Uranus blocks.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, but not suitable for people who cant walk very far!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2015

Dear Guest,

First of all, please accept our apologies for the late reply. Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Orka Sunlife Hotel Resort & SPA and taking your time to share your comments regarding your visit. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed our facilities and services.

Once again our sincere thanks for you visit and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My boyfriend and i requested a sea view, at the time of booking ,and paid extra - we were told it would be side sea view. Very disappointed upon arrival (uranus block room 3504) as we could see the roof of the building in front of our block more than anything else. Asked to be moved but apparently nowhere else to go, eventhough people coming and going every day. It took 3 days to replace our broken fridge full of warm water and a few soft drinks /lift "out of order" more often than not, so inconvenient, Shuttle bus to nicholas beach should also drop off at olu deniz beach - far nicer than "hotel beach". Boat trip, booked through hotel rep, not worth £35 per head and facial "thrown in" with turkish bath (not complimentary) was not carried out properly. Kitchen/waiting/entertainment staff and maids work hard. Food was pretty good in the evening, but indian a la carte not really worth the supplementt. Pool a nice size but non-stop music, most of the day, not everyone's cup of tea. Would not return to this hotel and felt,generally, that we paid alot of money only to be disappointed...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lottydog8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Front Office Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for your valued feedback which we are taking on board and making positive changes.
Last year was our first year and we had some teething problems as all new hotels could have. We sorted them out in winter time and we are ready for 2014 summer.
We will be very pleased to host you in Orka Sunlife Resort & SPA again.
If you have any questions and requests please do not hesitate to contact with us.
Kind Regards

Front Office Team
info@orkasunlifehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just got back after staying at the orka with my husband for two weeks from 7 to 21 sept, the hotel doesn't look impressive on arrival, bit plain on the outside but when you enter and walk onto the open walkway it's very impressive, the pool area and galaxy bar is absolutely stunning, especially at night, great views overlooking olu deniz and surrounding mountains. Our room was up the top in Uranus block, which was fine for us, I don't recall the lift not working during the whole of our stay, but we did climb the 183 steps everyday to counteract for our lazy days. The room was plenty big enough for us, although some guests did moan about the size, but to be honest u only need a room to sleep and shower, so if you feel the need to complain your spending too much time in your room. There are a few negatives that let's the hotel own ie. the fixtures in the rooms are not of good quality and things were already looking shabby, but we didn't let such minor things bother us as that would spoil your holiday. The staff were very friendly, especially the reception staff, there was one bar tender in particular around the pool bar that couldn't get the drinks right due to his lack of English, but there was always another person to help out. the waiters were very good although the restaurant was more like a canteen, the food was very good with a good choice but was repeated during our second week, the ale carte was just an area sectioned off on the balcony next to the galaxy bar, there was a constant stream of people walking past, so no privacy if you wanted an intimate meal. The pool area and slides are amazing and kept very clean, plenty of sunbeds, lots of shade if needed. The biggest let down for us was the evening entertainment, fortunately we met some great people and kept ourselves entertained in the lobby bar. The photographer was great, we came away with a beautiful album full of fantastic photos, definitely recommend you take advantage of a professional photographer. We didn't use the spa but all the other guests we spoke to said it was superb. We didn't have any complaints during our stay, beautiful hotel, great location if you dont want to be near the town, otherwise its a £4 taxi ride each way, overall we would recommend the orka sunlife

Room Tip: Top rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2015

Dear Guest,

First of all, please accept our apologies for the late reply. Thank you so much for all your great comments about us. It was a pleasure for us to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Now into our second week I'm very disappointed...had a lovely 1st week but out&about a lot as met up with bro&sister In law so spent very little time round the hotel.Now friends have gone home&we're round the hotel a lot...today went to pool toilet to find all of them clogged up so had to use main toilets&reported problem to reception,but 2 hrs later had the same problem!Reported it again as even the water in wash hand bans scolding....yet again met with a blank look...paid a lot of hard earned money to stay here but find hotel attitude very laid back...also worry about small children using the pool area toilets as think they are a safety hazard

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Front Office Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for your valued feedback which we are taking on board and making positive changes.
Last year was our first year and we had some teething problems as all new hotels could have. We sorted them out in winter time and we are ready for 2014 summer.
We will be very pleased to host you in Orka Sunlife Resort & SPA again.
If you have any questions and requests please do not hesitate to contact with us.
Kind Regards

Front Office Team
info@orkasunlifehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
1.2 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#14 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,590 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mozaik Boutique Hotel Rooms & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
#11 of 102 in Oludeniz
2,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Nicholas Park
St Nicholas Park
#28 of 102 in Oludeniz
724 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orka Sunlife Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orka Sunlife Hotel

Address: Guzgulu Mevkii No: 7/4, Oludeniz, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range: £60 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Orka Sunlife Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the charming Blue Lagoon, Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa has been built in a densely green area without damaging the environment. Here, youwill enjoy all the comforts of a Resort Hotel. The facility is composed of a main building that houses the reception, the lobby and the meeting rooms; 4blocks with a total of 195 rooms; and 7 special triplex villas.With the Ultra All-Inclusive service at Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa, you will have an unforgettable holiday. Our kitchens cater to all tastes, and there is noend to fun when each day is packed with activities and each night with shows. Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa will be your vacation home with its spaciousand natural surroundings, luxury, comfort and its splendid view of the Blue Lagoon.Just 2.5 km away from the Blue Lagoon, one of the best beaches in the world, Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa offers scheduled shuttle services to the beacheveryday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orka Sunlife Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing