We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel lovely, but bar staff rude”
Review of Orka Sunlife Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orka Sunlife Hotel
Ranked #19 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We are still here. The hotel itself is lovely and clean. The food is fine. The waffles in the hotel amazing!! Our original room was much too small for a family of 4 and our view a joke, but after a chat with reception we were moved to a much better room.
My big problem is the barmen in the pool bar. One in particular is so rude and arrogant. Turkish guests are blatantly favoured and you will be ignored if one cones to the bar. If your children want to be grown up and go and get their own drinks, they will be ignored!.
One of the slides has not worked since we arrived 7 days ago with no explaination and the entertainment not brilliant. Nothing done for the kids and the evening entertainment either dancer or acrobats!!
You must try the Turkish bath, amazing family experience not to be missed.
Have I had a good time, yes. Would I come back, probably not.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind interest shown to Orka Sunlife & Resort.

As the hotel management, we take the positive and the negative comments on our facilities and staff into consideration. It would be highly appreciated if you reported your situations directly to the guest relations department during your stay so that we could take immediate action.

We were pleased to host you here and will be more pleased to host you another time. Should you have any querries, please do not hesitate to keep us informed. Kind Regards.

Front Office Team

info@orkasunlifehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
There are newer reviews for Orka Sunlife Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

This idilick resort is charming situated in a most relaxing area.Surrounded by beautiful mountains and greenery this peaceful location offers the most relaxing holiday.The breathtaking views overlooking the lagoon are stunning.
The hotel is of a very high standard very smart and it is no disappointment when you are taken to your rooms.We stayed in a standard room it was stunning could only imagine how wonderful the higher standard rooms are.
Somehow the managment have completley nailed it with a relaxed atmosphere allowing everyone to enjoy their holiday families couples children and i wish them every sucsess in keeping this standard.Thier policys seem to refuse any nonsense which keeps the holiday a total stress free holiday other hotels could learn alot from this one.
The food is wonderful even the fussiest of eaters would not be dissapointed at any meal times and there is a great variety very non repetitive and the quality is brilliant.Also gourmet restraunts available but we didntvuse there realky was no need to.
Staff are extremley helpful and friendly and i was more than impressed with how efficient the managment staff are always monitoring that everything is running perfectly this in my belief is what you pay for and it more than ensures your holiday is pleasurable and memorable.Very important is the fact that this is the only hotel where no staff have been hinting for tips or telling storys of how poor they are no one anoys you they seem to endluge in your relaxation only.
There is a variety of alcholic drinks including refreshing cocktails which i would highly recommend this hotel and branded drinks somecwhich are chargable but available so if you like smirnof absolut jack daniels etc you can get them.Staff at the 3 bars available are equally as friendly and helpful.
Entertainment both for adults and children in my belief is very well arranged and again thiscall adds the the relaxing stress free aura.
Spa and beauty treatments are on offer and are very reasonable and wonderfully relaxing and refreshing.
Overall this hotel is faultless in my view and i haven't checked it's star rating before writing this but i woukd expect it to have gained all its stars.I will definitely return and hope that they succeed in keeping this as perfect as it is.I can only say my family have never relaxed so much on a holiday.My suggestion to them would be change nothing although the saying goes there is always room for improvement i fail to see what more they could do.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reaganv2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind interest shown to Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa.

We are more than happy to get such comprehensive reviews on our facilities and staff from you. We were pleased to host you here and we would like to have your stay again.

Please let us know if you have any questions and requests. Kind Regards.

Front Office Team

info@orkasunlifehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Fabulous holiday, I really don't see how anyone could have a problem with this place! Food very good and lots of choice to be had.

We tried the fish restaurant which was really nice for a change!

We had a 2 bed roomed family room, which was a perfect size, not much of a view onto fenuncular, but this didn't bother us! Could have done with additional wardrobe space if I'm honest, especially given all the spare room available for one in the main bedroom. There was no damp like has been reported previously. Only downside was there was no bedroom door, which one would expect, especially when it's built for so many people and if you want 2 separate bedrooms, you clearly want a little privacy! It wouldn't take much to add a door! Phone never worked we did mention this to reception daily for the first week, but then gave up asking. Normally this would not have been an issue, but it would have been nice to call our other friends in another block, or reception when we needed to. Beds comfy and linen changed regularly, clean towels daily too. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room, which we didn't use, I did notice however there was not a plug for the kettle! Unless you took the kettle elsewhere in the room to plug in. Tho clearly not an issue to us.

Views are AMAZING, entertainment good and entertainment team very good! Great banter with them all, a great team. The kids loved Ozzy in particular! He also looked after the slides, and it was a pain when people would not wait to go down the slides "one by one" but by the 2nd week Ozzy had squired a loud speaker, and the slides were sectioned off, meaning a much safer environment, and everyone could clearly hear Ozzy and his "one by one" lol

The waiter Hakan who looked after us in the restaurant was excellent throughout our stay, could not have wished for a more attentive person! Drinks and table ready for us every morning, noon and night! A credit to the orka team.

Pools clean, sunbeds not an issue, slides excellent! Indoor pool great too, along with the ice machine to keep the pool cold, which the kids loved getting ice and treating us adults to an unexpected cold treat! Lol

Can't speak for the hairdresser, but as for the girl that does Nails don't bother she is clearly not trained, or is a novice. quoted £20 for my daughter to have acrylic extensions, then charged £30, and they lifted after 4 days! When I complained I was told it was growth and this is normal, until I showed her by flicking one of the nails off in front of her! Anyone who has acrylics will know they should last 2 to 3 weeks! My daughter was so upset having spent nearly all her pocket money on them, she just wanted them taking off in the end! I will not let this issue affect my overall rating however, as I believe they are separate to the hotel.

Ice cream in the afternoon was a treat for the kids, you could also have waffles and chocolate sauce too! Evening buffet was a nice touch too, if a little limited, salad, burgers and Chips! Oh and hot chocolate from the inside bar at night to take to bed yum!

Hisaronu appeared to be better for shopping and nightlife than Oludeniz! Jeep safari where you go tickling fish, to the gorge, rafting and beach was excellent and well worth it for £15 each! Ps take big water pistols, great fun.

In room safe is free, and we did have an issue one day (think we put in the wrong code) and we got it seen to within 15 mins of asking.

Really nice drinks all round even the cocktails were good, both alcoholic and non for the kids and non drinkers - although please beware there was a drink in the non alcoholic section called an 'ice age' as stated in the drinks menu it contains blue curaçao, giving it the blue colour, and this is a liqueur with alcohol in it between 15-30% depending on the brand, so watch how many your kids have, as they like the blue colour, and older kids doesn't take the long to realise they can actually be served alcohol.

All in all a fabulous holiday, and I would return and recommend to others

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank debkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind interest shown to Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa.

We became very happy to learn that you had a marvellous time during your stay. We highly appreciate your frank and comprehensive reviews on our hotel and the staff. It was a privilege for us to accommodate you in our facilities. We would like to see you again in our hotel.

Should you have any querries, please keep in touch with us. Kind regards.

Front Office Team

info@orkasunlifehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Dates of holiday: 11/07 - 25/07

After having booked this holiday more than a year in advance we had been preparing ourselves by reading as many reviews as we possibly could, many of which we eventually came to disagree with. We had read criticisms of the food and of the condition of the hotel, yet were pleasantly surprised upon arrival. Overall, the six of us holidaying found Orka Sunlife to be an especially pleasant hotel with much to offer.

Reception and Check-In: We arrived at the hotel at around half past three in the afternoon and, despite there being another large party checking in at the same time, were able to check in immediately. Our bags were labelled efficiently, and both us and the luggage were given a lift up to the villa in which we were staying. We became quite familiar with the staff at reception during our time at Orka and always found them to be pleasant and friendly. One thing in particular that we found to be helpful was the fact that they were able to produce allergy and dietary information cards that guests were able to use in the restaurant.

Accommodation: There were six of us staying at Orka and we often have to stay in separate rooms due to the large number of us. What appealed to us about the hotel was the fact that it offered a villa for six people, accompanied by its own pool and private pool bar. First impressions of the accommodation were good, the bedrooms were spacious and clean and there was enough space for it not to be too crowded. We found there to be a few minor issues with the villa, for example, there was no ironing board or iron, however they were quick to provide us with one, and some of the finishings looked to have been done a bit hastily. We were, however, more than happy to be staying there. Because there are only six villas you often find that the villa pool is very quiet, many families choose to go down to the larger pool, meaning that it was often just us with the pool to ourselves. Despite the smaller number of people using it, it was still cleaned on a daily basis and filled up frequently. We were also happy with the service given in regards to the pool bar, although we did feel as though it needed cleaning more thoroughly. In addition to this the few barmen that would work it were very friendly, one of which joined in with our dancing to the Macarena on the last day of our holiday. Also to be noted, although there is no drinks menu at the bar, the barmen were more than willing to make cocktails for everybody.
As commented upon by a lot of people, to get to the villas and the accommodation towards to the top of the hotel you would have to walk up 184 steps. We didn't find this to be much of a problem however, as it gave us a method of working off the many delicious desserts we had consumed earlier. Those that needed it were able to use the lift, although this did break down on a number of occasions, however the staff at reception were more than willing to drive you up in a car if this were to happen.

Food and Restaurant: Like many all inclusive hotels, the way in which the food was served was in the style of a buffet, but we didn't have any problems with this. We found the food to be enjoyable and particularly liked the fact that there would be some sort of feature food on certain days that was prepared in front of you. One of our party was a vegetarian, and despite the worries about food before the holiday was able to find something to eat every night. There was a lot of choice in regards to the food served in the evening, with things like Mexican, Chinese and British food often being offered. In addition to this there was an extensive salad bar which we always well stocked. The desserts were equally amazing. At lunch time, in addition to the restaurant being open, there was also a snack bar offering things like pizza, burgers, vegetable fingers and even smiley faces. Breakfast was the same everyday, however there was so much choice that you didn't have to eat the same thing everyday. We found the staff in the main restaurant to be particularly helpful; on day three one of our waiters began to reserve our table and have it ready with our drinks for us. Other food available was the ice cream and waffle bar, open through 3-5, and this was also well served. We also decided to visit the al a carte restaurant on one occasion, we decided it would be nice to be waited upon and that it was worth trying when it was so reasonably priced. We visited the Italian restaurant and were served a six course meal, with them even preparing an entirely separate vegan/vegetarian menu for one member of our group. We were all very impressed with the presentation of the food and thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

Entertainment: There was a lot of entertainment and activities on offer during the day. Things like yoga, water aerobics, zumba and football were available everyday, whilst other activities were also held in the morning around the pool. These included activities such as zorbing and water races. Despite the great number of activities available during the day, we found that they were lacking in evening entertainment. The kids disco took place at nine, and despite being advertised as a half hour event, it was often finished in fifteen to twenty minutes. There would then only be one piece of evening entertainment, varying from excellent to completely cringey that would take between half an hour and 45 minutes. Personally, we felt as though something else could have been done to make the evening more interesting, but we weren't entirely disappointed.

Staff: All of the staff can be commended for the friendliness; the maids would often wish us a good morning on our way to breakfast and Mehmet was always willing to to help at reception.

Despite some things being slightly disappointing, ultimately we were able to ignore them and had an absolutely amazing holiday. We would definitely recommend it for the larger groups or families that often struggle to find accommodation, and would just recommend for both the hotel and surrounding area are amazing. A taxi into Hisaronu cost the equivalent to three pounds and offered a variety of shops, restaurants and bard, whilst the hotel offered a free shuttle to Sugar beach twice a day which I would highly recommend, sunbeds are even free for those who come from Orka.

All in all, a great holiday!

Chloe Jackson, chloe.m.jackson95@gmail.com

Room Tip: Villa seven has the best view available.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank cmj1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind interest shown to Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa.

We highly appreciate your supportive and positive comments on our facilities and staff. It was a pleasure for us to host you here. We want to see you again in our hotel.

Should you have any requests and questions, please let us know. Kind Regards.

Front Office Team

info@orkasunlifehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We travelled to this hotel in august I have to say food was really good and not repetitive at all , rooms are lovely we stopped in room 1110 right on front with an amazing view although first room in Uranus block was terrible view but they moved us no problem which I was really pleased about overall holiday was excellent and would recommend to families with kids especially .

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Finflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind interest interest shown to Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa.

We highly appreciate your reviews on our hotel. We would really want to host you again. We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Should you have anything in mind, please feel free to contact us. Kind regards.

Front Office Team

info@orkasunlifehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Hi guys. I would like to share my experience related to that hotel.
While I was trying to check in a little bit early reception warned me and told me to wait due to strict 'check in' hours. Once it was time they gave me a room and I tried to get in. There were a couple in the room and I got ashamed. I went back to reception and calmly they said sorry u should wait for another room to clean. The first day has been ruined. Then they tried to apologise but it didn't work.
Another issue is that hotel ads says that there are shuttles for beach in 15 to 30 mins. It is a lia. There are 2 in the morning 2 in the afternoon and hotel is really far away from the beach. Oludeniz is amazing but if u are staying in that hotel all u ll see is a half landscape. Hotel has an agreement with a beach but it is basically swamp.
If u wanna spend time with ur children u might enjoy the hotel cuz there are some activities for children. Other than that I strongly recommend not to choose this one and ruin ur holiday.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Splendorkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2014

Dear , Splendorkaya

First of all I would like to say is to apologies for the disapponted your experience ,

I 've shared your comments that have been already forwarded to individual our departments , We do really sorry for all those happened while your holiday ;

We wish you could give us onemore chance for to able to fix and never will happen again

We look forward to welcome you soon again

Sincerely

info@orkasunlifehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the Orka Sunlife for two weeks in May and I have got to say it was the best hotel I have ever been in! The rooms were an excellent size, containing a sofa and flat screen tv! The washroom was also amazing the shower was gorgeous not your normal standard shower.. the rooms were cleaned throughly every day so was always clean and tidy. The food at the Orka was beautiful, a wide range to choose from including fresh fish and chicken.. the deserts were out of this world, I guarantee there is something for everyone. The staff are so friendly and help you out with anything and everything you need. The pool is beautifully lit up and cleaned every night, the hotel overlooks the seanory and it is just perfect to look at! The entertainment is superb and they make sure everyone has a fab time! I would love to go back to the Orka as it was the best holiday ever.. I am considering getting married here as it was just perfect!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DemiWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrkaSunlifeResort, Guest Relations at Orka Sunlife Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

First of alll, we would like to thank you for your kind interest shown to Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa.

We became very happy to know that you had a great time in our facilities during your stay. We really would like to host you again in our hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Should you have any querries, please feel free to contact us. Kind Regards.

Front Office Team

info@orkasunlifehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
1.2 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#15 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,538 reviews
1.3 mi away
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,864 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
SENTIDO Lykia Resort & Spa
SENTIDO Lykia Resort & Spa
#6 of 102 in Oludeniz
877 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manaspark Hotel Oludeniz
Manaspark Hotel Oludeniz
#33 of 102 in Oludeniz
822 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orka Sunlife Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orka Sunlife Hotel

Address: Guzgulu Mevkii No: 7/4, Oludeniz, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range: £57 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Orka Sunlife Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the charming Blue Lagoon, Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa has been built in a densely green area without damaging the environment. Here, youwill enjoy all the comforts of a Resort Hotel. The facility is composed of a main building that houses the reception, the lobby and the meeting rooms; 4blocks with a total of 195 rooms; and 7 special triplex villas.With the Ultra All-Inclusive service at Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa, you will have an unforgettable holiday. Our kitchens cater to all tastes, and there is noend to fun when each day is packed with activities and each night with shows. Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa will be your vacation home with its spaciousand natural surroundings, luxury, comfort and its splendid view of the Blue Lagoon.Just 2.5 km away from the Blue Lagoon, one of the best beaches in the world, Orka Sunlife Resort & Spa offers scheduled shuttle services to the beacheveryday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orka Sunlife Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing