We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a quiet, relaxing holiday....do not book this hotel!”
Review of Turquoise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Turquoise Hotel
Ranked #14 of 121 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Turquoise Hotel in Olu Deniz, I was so glad to get home!

The hotel is very basic, it most certainly doesn't deserve a 4* rating...it definitely should be no more than a 3* at most. The rooms are very tired and need a full refurbishment, the bathrooms are archaic and dirty in corners, round taps and grouting etc. The shower screen in our room was pushed up so hard against the sink it had cracked in four places. The bedroom furniture is very basic, the wardrobe is too shallow to allow guests to hang up their clothes in the usual manner...you have to place the hangers in at an angle. There's a small fridge in each room, but only one 1L bottle of water is provided for the room occupants for the whole week! Room balconies are too tiny for guests to sit on so don't even bother trying.

The pool was crowded most of the time, twice a day it was completely taken over by the
Animation Team and their Water Polo or Water Basketball games. These were mostly played by men and often became so competitive they were verging on volatile! Although the pool was cleaned in the morning, it felt dirty whilst swimming. There was green slime around the top of the tiles and the floor around the pool was dangerously slippy. Guests were slipping over all the time. Whilst swimming you could feel peoples hair getting caught in your hands all the time. This really grossed me out! The Animation Team were really pushy and always coming round to try to get you to play....
water polo; water basket ball; bowls; crazy darts; air rifle shooting; play bingo; get up and do the "pool dance"; pool gym; pool limbo!!! It was constant and the noise at times was unbearable! You had to get up at the crack of dawn most days to get a sunbed....the vast majority of which were already taken by 7am. The Guest Relations lady started to make announcements that the hotel would remove towels from any sunbeds that were not in use.....a good idea in theory but sometimes hogging beds is not as clear cut as it seems! We were not able to keep on our room on our last day and had to vacate by 11am . I had managed to secure 3 beds for us so we could at least have somewhere to sit whilst we waited for our airport transfer at 6pm. We had breakfasted and then gone to pack our cases and take them to the Reception area for storage. I came down to the pool area to find the Guest Relations woman attempting to remove our towels, aided and abetted by a Dutch man who wanted our sunbeds for his family. Had I not stopped her, my husband, me and our 6 year old daughter would not have had anywhere to sit for the next 7 hours apart from the bar! I was NOT impressed! We were instructed to use the shower/changing area by the pool to get ourselves ready for our journey home. On entering the changing/shower room I was horrified and utterly disgusted at the state of it. The toilet paper bin was full of filthy toilet paper, crawling with flies and it was smeared with excrement..as were the tiles around it and there was also what looked like human excrement in the shower drain. I did bring this to the attention of one of the Management who just took the bin away. It was usual to find the toilet paper bins in the hotels toilets overflowing and crawling with flies.

Twice during our week stay, guests were made to eat our evening meal outside on the grassed area in the still stifling evening heat, whilst desperately trying to save ourselves and our children from being stung by the swarm of wasps that the food attracted...not to mention the flies that were also crawling all over the buffet! The food was edible but very repetitive....you could see last nights dinner being recycled on the following day's lunch buffet by having huge amounts of yoghurt poured over it!

The restaurant staff were pleasant enough and extremely hard working, but it was frustrating to witness them grovelling and fawning over the owners of the hotel and their family at each and every meal time. Whilst the paying guests were having to fend for themselves at the self service buffet....the owners and family were served like royalty, having everything brought to them and the waiters seemed extremely nervous whenever one of "the family" were in the vicinity. As for the paying guests...the owners barely even acknowledged their existence.

The hotel attracts large group bookings from groups of friends to family groups. It seems these large noisy parties go to stay at the Turquoise with the sole intent on ruining everyone else's holiday whilst drinking as much alcohol as possible and completely ignoring their offspring for the entire stay! There were feral children running around most evenings, shouting and screaming until the early hours. Children were often left unchecked around the pool areas during the day, causing annoyance to other guests and it was left up to other parents to attend these children when they slipped over around the pool areas as their own parents were completely oblivious in the bar!

The hotel also advertises that it provided free WiFi.....I have to laugh at this statement (sorry) There is literally NO wireless connection whatsoever in this hotel. Every evening you would see hoards of guests sitting in Reception trying (mainly in vain) to get enough signal for their phones to update or send/receive messages or emails etc....

I will be looking to pay a little more on my next visit to Olu Deniz and staying in a more upmarket hotel as I most certainly won't be going back to the Turquoise.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sarah256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turqtrip, Yönetici at Turquoise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Dear Kdgibbons,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments following your recent stay with us at Turquoise Hotel. We surely hope that you will visit us once more in the near future.

Best Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,517 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have just come home from a 9 night stay. Had a wonderful time and sad to be back. Food was superb. Fresh, plentiful and catered to every taste. Tried lots that we had not tried before. Snack bar at pool was fairly limited (pizza, chips etc) but food at lunch in resteraunt was wonderful. My husband particularly loved the variety of options at breakfast!
Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Ali, April and Eren (Ronaldo) were really great. Very friendly and encouraged people to have fun without being too pushy. Good structure to each day. Good activities for adults and children. All of the bar staff were very helpful and went out of their way to ensure that all of the guests needs were met.
Management were visual but not overbearing. Always there when required.
Only downside was that the room we were in was pretty basic and in need of a refurb. Balcony was a little small too. Very clean though and our air con unit worked a treat.
All in all we had a wonderful time. Vicky and Andy

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AVBDunf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turqtrip, Yönetici at Turquoise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Vicky and Andy,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments following your recent stay with us at Turquoise Hotel. We are very happy that you have spent a lovely time in our hotel and we surely hope that you will visit us once more in the near future.

Best Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

A friend and I (in our mid 20s) came for a relaxing break in the sun. When we arrived, we found our room to be quite small and the bathroom a bit shabby. There was also a big pool of water under the air con so had to get the maintenance guy in to fix it straight away. If you want to ever go to sleep before midnight, dont stay in the right hand blocks of the hotel. The horrid hotel next door has banging loud music until midnight. We had to ask to be moved in the middle of the night! There was another aircon water pool waiting for us there too...All that considered, the staff moved us without complaint and got a maintenance guy in straight away. The pool is nice but the pool area becomes quite cramped! The food is lovely and traditional with lots of options, even plain stuff for the boring moany british who cant try any foreign cuisine (there were a lot at the hotel, which may hint to the type of people who were also staying there...) The entertainment was cheesy as hell, but the outdoor buffet nights were lovely, despite the wasps! The strip nearby is a bit tacky with loud bars catering to the 'brits abroad' type, but try some of the bars at the beach front, much nicer! Beach nearby is lovely, but fully recommend the seahorse beach which has a free short coach trip to it. So beautiful and relatively quiet by the lagoon and sunbeds are free! All in all, the Hotel wasnt as good as expected but certainly didnt ruin the holiday!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turqtrip, Yönetici at Turquoise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Clare,
Thank you for staying with us at Turquoise hotel. We appreciate your time and your review on Tripadvisor. At our hotel we value our guest"s feedbacks and that helps us to improve our service. Rest asured that your feedback addressed to our executive team and we are working very hard to take immediate precautions to make sure all of our guest are very happy.
We really hope that you visit us in the near future.

Best Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at the Turquoise again in June with family and friends. I'm amazed how it improves each year! The food is tastier than ever before, the entertainment is great, there is plenty for children to do and most of all the staff are the best! Each and every one of them will go out of their way to make sure you have the most enjoyable stay. You definitely wouldn't be disappointed if you choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Pool view with a balcony always the best,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LeeLee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turqtrip, Yönetici at Turquoise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear LeeLee26,
Thank your for your nice feedback and your kind word in your comment. We are pleased to know that you had another excellent stay. We hope you will join Turquoise hotel again for another fantastic holiday.

Best Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

just returned from a 10 night stay at the turquoise hotel ,wishing that I was still there.This hotel is beautiful,in the right location and staff that can not do enough for you.The rooms were cleaned daily and the food was brilliant.This is our second time here and hopefully it will not be our last,so looking forward to returning as soon as we can.The only downfall was that some people thought it was ok to put their towels on the sunbeds then go on day trips this meaning there was not enough beds for the people on site.Loved every minute thank you turquoise and all the staff

Room Tip: we stayed in room 314 by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turqtrip, Yönetici at Turquoise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Julie,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Turquoise Hotel to stay again and for your very thoughtful feedback. We are very glad to read that our service from your arrival till your departure has been pleasant.
Looking forward to welcoming you in your third visit.

Best Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

turquoise is rated 4 star but I downgraded it because of our room the beds were both broken (two singles) seen to much action imo just saying , the tiles in the bathroom were broken and polyfilla used to repair them but were not sanded smooth wardrobes were painted turquoise (ha ha ha )badly must ad saying this the room was cleen and tidy but I must add all the rooms were not like this we were on block 5 the un refurbished side our friends were on block 2 and there rooms were superb made ours look like a total dump the food was excelant bar staff and waiters were very pleasant and all fit as ???? I must add ???? hope they not racist agen fat people tip boxes were everywere
only ever saw 2 cockroaches but mega spiders in the bar toilets huge ??? sunbeds will be a scrap on school hols ill bet?? don't let this review put you off im not having a go we had a realy nice stay just being honest oludenez is a loverly place but transfer was far too long for me to return there

Room Tip: wifi was very poor so im saying no ask for a room in the bloks 1-3 they are the good ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank barry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have just come back from a 2 week stay at the Turquoise and we were joined by our friends for the second week. I will keep it short, sweet and factual!!

Good Points...
1 - Hotel was spotless throughout, the refurbished rooms are very nice lovely bathroom, our round bed was a novelty! (Room 631)
2 - Food was good plenty of choice always fresh and hot (except the salads)
3 - Entertainment, Ali and his team worked hard but not pushy the evening shows were of a good standard.
4 - Guest Relations - Anna was very helpful and always happy to chat
5 - Staff, always friendly and attentive.
6 - Plenty of sunbeds and parasols.
7 - All Inclusive finsihed at midnight.

Not so good points
1 -They need to improve the selection of the All Inclusive drinks, no cocktails or local variations of liquors (Baileys, Archers etc etc) so just Gin, Vodka, Raki, Bacardi and Tuborg with White, Red or Rose wine.
2 -The only water you could get was from the office style coolers which were rarely cool.
3 -The bingo was expensive and if you were lucky enough to win you got a handful of envelopes with the prizes written on them and they generally involved you having to spend more money or irrelevant e.g. a free bottle of wine (you are all inclusive) a boat trip for 1, a sunset cruise for 1, an A la Carte dinner for 1!!
4 - A personal moan this one-----The twin owners of the hotel are regulalrly there with various members of their family and rarely crack their faces or engage with the guests at all, they also have the staff running around serving them food and drinks which is a bit naughty as the guests have to serve themselves, one rule for all in my opinion.
5 - We left today (19th July) and the hotel was getting very busy with families so a lot of children running around, not a problem just a comment.

Would we go back - Yes
Did we enjoy ourselves - Yes
Address the bad pints above and it would be fantastic

Room Tip: I think the top floors of the blocks have all been refurbished Block 6 is furthest away but closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steview555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#12 of 121 in Oludeniz
1,597 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
0 mi away
Alize Hotel
Alize Hotel
#21 of 121 in Oludeniz
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#10 of 121 in Oludeniz
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Hotel

Address: Belcegiz Mevkii, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
#24 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#43 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: £47 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turquoise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Turquoise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Hotel Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing