We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far better than the reviews made out”
Review of The Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tower Hotel
Ranked #50 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Far better than the reviews made out”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Tower Hotel is a small but perfectly formed hotel. It is in a quiet area of Olu Deniz, set back from the action, yet only a 5 minute walk to the centre of the town. I went with my sister and we had everything we needed in the hotel.
Yes, the rooms are small, but we only needed to sleep there. Pool: check, Sun Loungers: check, friendly and welcoming staff: check.
We stayed Bed & Breakfast and were there a week (got back yesterday) and the breakfast was really good. They put on a continental spread of bread/toast with butter, jams, meats, cheeses; fresh salad; cereals with dried fruits, and occasionally random sweets i.e. biscuits, brownies. It's obviously not the Ritz but you get what you pay for, and I personally can't eat much when the weather is as hot as it was anyway. It was 27C at 8:30am, 38C in the afternoon, gorgeous!
We went out to eat every evening and there was never any pressure or bad feeling towards us for not staying in, just gentle persuasion to join them for a drink when we came back. And to be honest, Tom, Shay and Ihan (apologise for spelling), working the bar, were so lovely it was hardly a chore!
I really hope to return to Olu Deniz one day and if I do, will definitely stay again at the Tower:)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ghanascouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    171
    59
    20
    27
See reviews for
104
317
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I can not fault this trip. We had a fantastic stay at the Tower hotel. The hotel is exceptionally clean, the rooms are basic & have free air conditioning, the staff are really friendly and can't do enough to help you. The staff really make the hotel.
The hotel has a magnificent view, due to it being at the top of the hill. The hotel is surrounded by mountains. It's peacefull in the day at the hotel, with plenty of sunbeds avalible for a laze around the pool.
At 4PM the cake trolly comes round the pool, with homemade apple pie and fresh cakes. The Apple pie is the best! Served with Turkish coffee or apple tea.
The food in the hotel was good too. We particually enjoyed the Turkish breakfast, which is served by the pool. We were half board. The evening meal consists of a soup of the day, cold starters and a large salad table, followed by two choices of main and then a pudding and fresh fruit. Your evening meal is served on the top terrace, where there is a lovely view.
The hotel has a very friendly dog called Bobby. He wonders round the bar in the evenings.

The beach is only a five minute walk from the hotel. The first part is pebbles, but if you walk further round the beaches are sandy. We found Billy's beach to be the best. (If you call Billy's beach, they will come and collect you by bus, and take you back later. This is only a 2-3 min bus ride or a 15 min walk) You do not have to pay for this beach, where as the Blue Lagoon has a charge. They are both on the same stretch of lagoon)The sea is really clear.

For boat trips/tours Mehmit is the man to see. If you walk out of the hotel and turn left, he is the first tour guide you see (Guide Tours). There is also a lady further down towards town from the same company, but she charges more) Mehmit was fantastic and so helpful. We talked to him every day, he suggested places to visit and guided us, if we didn't know where we were going. We booked a Turkish bath (A must have at the start of your holiday) and a day's boat trip (£8 each, inc BBQ lunch)

We also met the Soap Lady. If you have bad sunburn, visit her for some Carrot Soap. This does wounders! (5TL/£2)

If you like shopping there are some shops in Olu Deniz or you can take a 10 min bus ride to Hizanou. There is also a large market in Fethiye on a Tuesday, which sells lots of fresh fruit and vegetables, plus lots of 'Genuine Fakes'. (Watch what you buy, it is not always what they say it is, especially with the leather).

Sit on the top terrace of the Buzz bar with a cocktail or a smoothy and watch the sun go down over the beach.

All in all we had a fantastic trip, and are looking to go back again. We went for a week, and wish we had booked longer. I can not fault this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORFOLK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Just returned (7 June) from our second stay at the Tower Hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed it again. The facilities are really good, everything very clean. Maid service every day, cleaned through. Plenty of space if you fancy a pool day, especially with Toms cake round at 4pm. The staff were attentive, and the guys in the bar great company. Its a nice bar to come back to for the last drink of the evening. Our room nicely situated so the sun was never full in. Quiet at night - good nights sleep. The grounds are kept really nicely, planted and watered - very pretty. The Turkish breakfast is a great way to start the day, and is never rushed - even if you just scrape in at 10 am!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TOMASNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duffus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Just finishing a two week stay at the Tower Hotel in Oludeniz and what a wonderful place to stay it is. Having read some of the reviews for this hotel saying the staff were rude and the food poor I was slightly aprehensive. However, I have nothing but praise for the place. The staff are all without exception friendly, polite and extremely hard working and make the experience worthwhile. Breakfast is basic but plentiful and is better than other Turkish breakfasts we have had. The evening meal at 15TL is excellent value and although limited in choice there is still plenty to choose from the cold platters. Cooked English breakfasts are available but are not competively priced which is a shame as they are only 5TL down the road at La Mare.
The prices for drinks and snacks as well the prices in their shop are above average for Oludeniz which is a shame as I am sure they must be losing some business that way.
The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable and the maid service is first class. We had a problem with a leaky toilet and the aircon and both were very promptly dealt with.
So, a great place to stay and certainly our best holiday in Turkey so far. We are both looking forward to returning here for another 2 weeks next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickandVicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I absolutly loved my holiday. The hotel was really nice, just out of all the madness of the strip but close enough you can take a walk when you feel like. The rooms were clean, with air conditioning, private balcony, good shower and hairdrier (though with the heat I didn't need to use it) my only slight downside is there was three of us, each with our own bed, but there was only a little leg room between each one, but it was cosy, and for the little time we spent in the room dealable.

The staff are all really friendly, and mostly speak good english, and are brilliant at anticipating your needs. The food was right up my street, basic breakfast of bread, meats/cheeses/salad, cereal etc, coffee and tea, but good enough to set you up for the day, and I really liked the bread, fresh every day. The buffet dinner was brilliant, a wide selection of meze to try, as well as two main hot dishes with rice/chips/veg. I really loved the traditional turkish food, and have since bought a couple of cookbooks to try and recreate it now I am home. The one thing that really stood out for me about the Tower, was cake and coffee time at 4pm. Everyday Tom would come around with a tray of the most delicious cakes you will ever taste, and by the end of our time there, he would come to me first to ask which one I would like, then go around everyone else reserving my prefered cake for me. I really miss cake and coffee time!!

If/when I go back to Turkey, I would definatly consider staying here again, as I loved it so much.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubblerat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Returned home from the Tower yesterday 6/6. We went on a late deal after checking reviews here agreed to give this hotel a go ...... We are absolutely over the moon that we did it was everything and more. Clean 10/10 the maids are exceptional. The staff are avaliable for your every whim. The pool and grounds are kept clean and are beautiful the backdrop of the hotel are mountainous and breathtaking. Oludeniz is great for couples and within easy reach of Fethiye and I sugest a visit to the fish boats and the fresh sea bass one evening as the sun sets itsmagnificent. Enjoy is all thats left to say enjoy.

Room Tip: I am a veggie tell them again when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs-Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

What can I say. I've just returned from the most fabulous holiday ever known.

For the price you pay, the rooms are basic, comfortable and clean. The showers work amazingly, there are fresh towels every day and the maid makes lovely shapes out of the towels on your bed in the mornings which are always a nice suprise to come back to!

We arrived at 4am after a night flight and Ayhan the friendliest and most cheerful of staff took our bags to our room and showed us around. The next morning we ate breakfast - none too shabby bar the drinks. The bread is fresh, the toaster is not as bad as others make out! The jam is lovely and you have basic other foods such as turkish cheeses and salads, olives and cereals. The half board dinner is lovely too .It's not amazing five star food, but it is well cooked, lots of choice and starters, mains and desserts available.

The best thing about the food is you can choose to eat inside or outside on the roof terrace by the bar or by the pool. In the evenings you can watch the sun go down and watch the paragliders jump from the mountains above while you eat your dinner.

The main attraction of this hotle for us was it's privacy and socialising opportunities- the rooms are all in lovely little apartment blocks of 8 rooms in each block, no outside noise from neighbours just the bar sometimes - but we were usually the ones in it making the noise!!! and even then noise was extremely minimal. There are two bars one by the pool and one upstairs which you sit round and chat to all the other hotel guests. This was an awesome set out and we made loads of great friends. The bar staff Ayhan and Tom are THE MOST LOVELY bar staff you will ever meet, always interested in your day, and up for a laugh - getting the karaoke out on request or putting on your favourite songs. Also - if you have a horrendous hangover make sure you ask Ayhan to make you a oregano mint and lemon tea and you'll be back on track in no time.The prices are fair in the hotel, and you pay for your drinks whenever you want by clearing your tab at the reception. The staff in this hotel cannot do enough to make your stay pleasant. They will replace things that are broken, they clear your plates efficiently and offer you more drinks if they see you emptying one. There is also no pressure to buy more drinks and you can just chill by the pool or bar without buying anything and just go on the Wi-Fi or chat with the other guests.

If you are there on a sunday evening make it your top priority to go to the Turkish Night the hotel hosts. If you are B&B it costs 30TL per person (£12.50) and if you are half board you get it half price at 15TL per person! There is a free bottle of wine for each couple so really you get entertainment and food free!! The food is a delicious turkish buffet and BBQ and you are really treated with a huge variety of traditional turkish and contemporary turkish dancing. The highlight of the night is the belly dancer who gets the audience joining in - definitely got the hotel guests socialising and making friends for the rest of the week! The finale is a fire dancer with fire poi who does some AMAZING routines. It is expected in Turkey that you will tip - so take a lot of notes. 5TL is the smallest note denomination and is only about £1.80 if you don't have much spending money.

There is a lovely hotel dog called Bobby who sometimes follows you to town if you go for an evening wander, he's really friendly too.

At about 4pm at the poolside the staff will come round and offer you home made apple pie and cream cakes with a cup of tea or coffee for 8TL - about £3.50 not bad! They are delicious!

For extra snoozing by the pool comfort there are some couches which are lovely to sit in whilst you're on the hotels free Wi-Fi on your laptop. Couches are square decking areas where you sit with your legs out on cushions and at the centre there is a little table for drinks.

The hotel is far enough away from the main strip to be quiet, but it only takes four minutes to walk to the main strip and 5 minutes to the beach. The blue lagoon beach is worth the extra ten minutes walk down the beach, and only costs 4TL for entrance which is about £1.50. Sun loungers for the day are also pretty cheap at only 6TL.

We learnt that in Turkey it is seen as rude to bring food and drink brought away from hotels into the premises and there is a big sign saying this - but if you get a largre rucksack and stow it away no one ever checks! We rented a fridge for £20 for the week and stored lots of grapes, olives and drinks in it without question.

Room Tip: You can request a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank curlystraightwhateve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Karbel Sun
Hotel Karbel Sun
#51 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.1 mi away
smartline Flamingo
smartline Flamingo
#42 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.0 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#29 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon
Blue Lagoon
#41 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
4.7 mi away
Magic Tulip Oludeniz
Magic Tulip Oludeniz
#72 of 102 in Oludeniz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#14 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Hotel

Property: The Tower Hotel
Address: Belcekiz Mah. 236 Sok. No:4, Oludeniz 48375, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel Oludeniz
Oludeniz The Tower Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing