We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable holiday, but a few problems too!”
Review of Saray Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oludeniz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saray Hotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Oludeniz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We were at the Saray at the same time as the previous reviewer and did have a problem with some of the same things.
We arrived at 3am on Sunday 19th August and were booked in quite quickly, the guy on reception was not very friendly but we were tired and did'nt let it bother us. As we passed the pool on the way to our room my husband noticed that there were towels on every sunbed.
Our room was nice, quite small but clean and very nice bathrooms, it was clean and perfectly adequate for what we needed.
In the morning we went down to breakfast and all the sunbeds were covered with towels as the night before. Some other people were complaining to Michael and we also asked how we were supposed to get one, his answer was, it is not my problem! It did get quite heated but he was not bothered and had no interest in sorting things out. I spoke to the Rep who said she had spoken to him several times about this problem and he ignored her. However we stuck it out and after a couple of days she managed to get him to put a sign up telling people to remove towels at night. This did help a lot and we got a sunbed on the days we spent at the pool.
The other staff were not bad but certainly not as good as we have had in previous visits to Hisaronu. I was stopped one night returning to the hotel and had a bottle of juice in a bag, Churchill asked us to go round the side so his boss would not see it! I would not have given it too him had he asked though.
We had no problems with the cleanliness of the hotel and our room was cleaned and the towels replaced regularly. The cleaners were polite and always said Good Morning to us.
However I do agree that if that was someones first visit to Turkey it would have been a bad reflection of the Turkish people, we have always found them to be friendly and very helpful and we have been going for 14 years and will continue to holiday in Hisaronu.
It's a shame about Michael as this is a nice hotel in a good location, he needs some lessons in customer service and manners and how to treat people. I feel that the other staff take their lead from Michael and when he was not there they were better with people.
I feel you have to make the best of a situation and we did'nt let anything spoil our holiday but you go to relax and it did put a damper on the first 2 days.
We are not sure if we would return to the Saray next year due to Michael, we like to get on with the staff, but will have to see if there is any improvement in his manner.
Don't rule this hotel out just don't expect the same service as some hotels and stand up for yourselves if you have any problems with the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nickycDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Saray Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

You get what you pay for good location clean basic breakfast and clean pool basic clean rooms and tv but only 2 channels not in Turkish stayed 5 times and what more can I say Michael well just !?!!! One can hope he grows up but that's doubtful if u need a cheap base center located you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HughieNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

my family has just returned from the Saray 'prison' after a two week sentence . After just 72 hours we officially complained to the rep and requested to move, as helpful as she was she managed to find vacancies at another hotel. The difference was just £200 which we was happy to pay, then we were told there was a £337 cancellation charge payable to the 'prison' . On hearing this we requested to come home, again this would cost us £337 cancellation ! So, we relunctanlty opted to stay. THAT WAS A MAJOR MISTAKE .
The prison is situated in a good location and that`s it . It`s dirty, the staff are rude and ignorant. Maid service is rubbish, customer service is rubbish , the pool and surrounding area is filthy.
There is a little man called Churchill who sits in a kiosk at the entrance to the 'prison' , he watches 'convicts' leaving and entering , he stops anyone carrying bags and asks to search them , in fact one day in particular he chased a young family up the main strip on his moped, cut them off and demanded to go through their bags in the street !
The star of the 'prison' is a horrible little person called Michael , rude,arrogant,ignorant,offensive,unhelpful,abusive,aggresive natured,nasty are his good qualities. If this was our first trip to Turkey, then Michael alone would have put us off Turks for life ! Never in my 41 years have I come across anyone like this horrible little man. Initially, we treat him like any other Turk, expecting him to be as friendly as any other we have met in the last 12 years holidaying in Hisaronu , how wrong we were !
We asked him after just 2 days in 'prison' how to aquire a sunbed, he told us, if we wanted sunbeds we had to put towels on during the night, the following day while we were outside discussing this with our rep(who was fantasic) Michael approached me in a very aggresive manner and began an arguement, if it hadn`t of been for our rep been there I would of smacked him for his clear arrogance. He took pleasure in insulting the elderly by calling them coffin dodgers, thought it was funny swearing at the young including children, I was majorly upset to get called something which I cant put on here in front of our 13 year old daughter . He is absolutely disgusting ! After he found out we had complained about him personally(along with 15 other complaining families), he grunted when we walked passed, hurled abuse at our family out on the main strip, and on one evening even chose to taunt us on his motorbike circling us in the street hurling abuse. He was busy telling other 'convicts' he couldn`t understand why people booked into this 'hotel' because it was rubbish, they were his own words. Telling people that the lovely young rep was self harming after she had an accident in her apartment cutting her hand on some broken glass, and not to book trips with her because she was a rip off !!! Oh, and when he found out she was ill , took pleasure in punching her in the ribs .... HE IS UTTERLY DISGUSTING . Anyone thinking of booking to go to The Saray, I would seriously rather stick pins in my eyes than go back there , as for Michael, he wouldn`t last 30 seconds in this country unless he lived in the monkey enclosure at Chester zoo .
One good point about the Saray ..... the flight home !

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Haresign507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

just come back from a week in turkey staying at this hotel with my friends family. the hotel was basic but very clean and the bathrooms are really nice. the pool was clean and all the staff were friendly and chatty. we were warned that there had been complaints the week prior to us staying there but we never had any problems with michael or any of the other staff.
the breakfast we got was traditional turkish breakfast..something surely to be expected if your staying in turkey? so may not suit some people but you can buy english breakfast aswell.
we had already seen in the holiday catalogue that air conditioning was avaliable but for an extra charge but as the hotel is higher in the mountains we found that it was much cooler in the evenings and actually, we didnt need it. however the charge to use the safe in the room was a bit pricey.
it has a very good location being about 100m from the main strip of restaurants, shops and bars, and where you can get buses to the beach and surrounding areas. very good value for money, would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 789123f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

just returned from a two week stay at the saray,been here 8 times now & not had a bad holiday yet,they have just refurbished all the rooms the bathrooms look lovely they have made a really nice job of them,all the staff are great especially MICHEAL, he makes you laugh day & night with he"s witty comments, ( that means not every body is a cofin dodger ) he means no harm he just wants t make you laugh,! well we can"t wait to go again next year, p.s.micheal MUGS HA HA HA !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelekarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Had an amazing holiday, Michael was a star would go back there just to see him, he made the hotel atmosphere amazing, the rep was a total misery and had a bad attitude towards the staff that worked there, some people need to get a sense ov humour, and it was full ov coffin dodgers lol x

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Falsey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Just returned from a two week stay, to start with our rooms were not ready due to hotel letting previous family's pay them to stay on longer for later cheque out, we were 7 of us were put in a 1 bed studio apartment for 3 hours after traveling all day all we wanted do was unpack and go out!!! Begrudgingly hotel gave us free aircon but only on one room for 2 weeks after much debate and arguing.
Pool was shut for a whole day due to being "blocked filter" never looked clean we all picked up stomach bugs and rashes. In 2 weeks I only noticed once any one clean the pool and only after I was out of service, loads of cigarette butts which lay there for days.
Michael chief dogs body constantly was rude and vulgar with our children present, showed no remorse and remarked his self how bad the hotel is, one of his nicer comments was my friends parents were coffin doggers!
They check people's bags to see if any one brings in any Pop or other items then take them away.
The breakfast is so bad you would not feed it to a dog, no English unless you pay. No tea or cold milk, low quality food.
Could go on an on basically don't go here 4 stars is a joke mabee 2 star on a good day!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H19ney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
0.2 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Tolay Hotel
Tolay Hotel
#51 of 102 in Oludeniz
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oludeniz
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Telmessos Hotel
Telmessos Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hisaronu
1,058 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flora Palm Resort
Flora Palm Resort
#19 of 102 in Fethiye
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hisar Holiday Club
Hisar Holiday Club
#41 of 102 in Oludeniz
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saray Hotel

Address: Hisaronu Mah. Stad Cad. No: 20, Oludeniz 48304, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Oludeniz
Price Range: £48 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello our hotel name is Saray Hotel we are not anymore Saray Hotel&Apartments ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saray Hotel And Apartments
Saray Hotel Apartments
Saray Hotel Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing