We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely holiday in hisaronu.”
Review of Saray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saray Hotel
Ranked #9 of 55 Oludeniz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
boscastle
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another lovely holiday in hisaronu.”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Good hotel, quiet location yet only a very short walk to the main strip. Most of the staff were friendly especially Mustafa and what I read about Churchill searching you did not happen to us. The rooms are lovely and clean so could not fault, pool area was lovely and clean and what food we had was great. I would definitely go back again and as they say "When in Rome
you do as the Romans do"

Room Tip: We stayed in room 506 which was atthe back of the hotel so nice and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharzBoscastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    96
    49
    17
    17
See reviews for
106
110
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

After reading the negative reviews about this hotel we tried to ignore them and thought maybe customer's were being a little snobby and we are not the type of family to be picky. However....
we arrived at the Saray in the early hours of the morning for a two week break. The staff at the reception desk were miserable and hardly spoke a word to us and demanded us to give our passport details straight away at 3.30am after a long journey there. Churchill then took us to our room, we were not allowed to carry our own bags even though we were tired and just wanted to get to our rooms, so this took another 20mins. He then stood there for another 15 minutes trying to sort the TV out at 4am in the morning!

Throughout the two weeks of our holiday we didn't get a smile off any of the staff except for the cleaners. They only spoke to people who would buy food from the hotel every day (which is robbery). At the shop you can get a bottle of water for 0.25TL and the hotel charges 2-4TL. People said they had their bags searched for bringing stuff into the hotel, we didn't have this problem but walking through the hotel you felt like a prisoner as you are constantly being watched and inspected.

As for James, a staff member, I have never met anyone so rude and arrogant in my entire life. I really do not understand why this man is in the hospitality business as he has no people skills, apart from his "favourites". The only time he acknowledged us was to give us a bit of paper explaining the hotel was having a Turkish night and he said "maybe you come" (even then, no smile!). As you could have guessed, we didn't waste our money here.

There is a mini fridge in the room which is stocked up when you take something out of it and then what you use is charged on a bill which you pay at the end of the holiday. One of our family members purposely didn't take anything from the fridge, as it was a rip off but was STILL charged for two items she hadn't taken. James, Mr miserable, did not apologise and made her pay for the items!

When we checked out of the room me and my partner had accidently left our jackets in the wardrobe of our room. I asked for the key so I could go and get them (the cleaners were looking shifty and watching when I asked this). We went to the room and the jackets weren't there. My boyfriend had a feeling and happened to look in the cupboard and the corridor, which they were hidden in. When I went down to hand the key in, I didn't give them the satisfaction to say I'd found where they had hidden then and just handed the key back. The cleaners then said, very confused, "you found your jacket?", I just replied yes. They then started talking to each other in Turkish and looking very confused. We were going to give the cleaners a tip because they seemed the friendliess people there but Im glad we didn't now. You would presume if they had found anything in our room they would hand it into reception (plus they knew we were staying in that room as they said hello every morning) instead of helping themselves to people's belongings!!

I have never had a bad experience on holiday and we really are not a fussy family but it really is a shame because this is a nice hotel, clean and in a fantastic location but the staff need to consider the way they treat people. I will never recommend this place to anyone!

If you go out of the main enterance, turn left then left again there is a bar called "cengiz bar" it does look like a shack and at sight doesn't look very appealing. However, the guy who runs it is fantastic and everyone that goes does return. He is down to earth and people revisit just to see him every year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Great location,clean and comfortable rooms.Staff were great, nothing was too much trouble.
Only negative is the breakfast is very basic,need more choice. Rooms are on the small side,with more storage needed.Would not hesitate on returning in the future.Stayed for 11 nights in peak season,no problem getting a sunbed,pool area was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkeyfan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Was apprehensive after reading previous reviews, but sooo glad we give it a go. We been holidaying in hisaronu for the past 4 yrs although this was 1st time at saray found it ticked all boxes for a great family holiday. Pool area was clean and tidy with plenty of beds. Staff worked hard morning till night. Its an excellent base to all local amenities, approx 5min walk to town centre although the hotel is far enough away from the hustle an bustle. With regards to being searched this only happens if u treat the hotel as if your on a self catering basis. If your looking for a good base, clean rooms and pool and a decent bar area this hotel will meet your requirements.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billievinniebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

had a lovely holiday in the saray, met some very nice people, rooms although quite basic were of a very high standard, food lovely , breakfast is basic but nice and refreshing, due to being pre surgery for my leg I didn't wander to far, but did go up to the main street which is lively and exciting at night, it is also closed off to traffic at night and you can wander to your hearts content without worrying about traffic, a must is the wonderfully array of ice cream flavours, superb, hadn't been for over 2o years so was amazed at the changes, what doesn't change however is the genuinely kind people who wave and greet you as you pass, girls wait till you get there to have your nails done as it is much much cheaper than home, look out for the famous brand names, bargains can be had but beware you get what you pay for, look out for the little shop next to the doctors surgery that sell the very famous beat boxes, at £20 with the micro sd card they are a must.
anyway love to jake, james , mustaffa and Churchill, lovely bunch of guys,
didn't do much pool activities, but it is spotless and a good size, and not forgetting the lovely aray of fruit trees that surround the property too, please be wary of bar prices, they do seem a tad expensive, especially the bottles of orange and if you have kids it does mount up. and lastly I am coming back next year but am going to another hotel, but will pencil in a wee trip to visit the boys again. happy holidays.

Room Tip: if you have any disabilities please request a lower level room, I struggled at the end of the day wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have been to this resort many times and love it. My first time at this hotel which was very nice and clean. Staff most helpful (mustafa and churchill) in particular.Breakfast (7.30 to 9.30) was basic but buffet so dig in, slightly irritated that come 9.30 on the dot all cleared away so do not be late if hungry lol. I did have other meals at hotel and they could do with doing larger portion sizes for the money they charging, so I did start to go into resort for food. The hotel did put on entertainment some nights like a turkish night. Great location for bars etc. Must do trips inc yaka park and saklikent gorge, secret garden, and if you into the ancient history ephesus and pamukele which is a tiring weekend trip but sooooo worth it £50 ish p.p take extra money for lunches 16 lira but it all you can eat and money for swimming in the thermal pool 32 lira. Booked with Tiny acropolis fantastic weekend.If you go on a boat trip from Oludeniz book with Salih on cherry tree boat, he the man.I have always got more lira for my money in resort than getting it in the uk, this year was 285 to 290 :-) Good food this holiday was from delboys (fish chips) the ivy (baked aubergine) This country is just stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesKen58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Ive just returned from a 2 week hotel at the saray & I can honesty say what a fab hotel. the location is fab near to all bars, shops etc so not much walking distance. The food served in hotel was great especially the jacket potatoes, drinks not much different from resort just a lira or 2 dearer but in that heat do you really want to be going up to town in the daytime just for a drink. Churchill who as had a slating on here was fab he was friendly and helpful and we never had a problem with him or any of the other staff if anything we had a right laugh with them. I f you treat people how you want to be treated you wont have any problems with the Turkish people who will go any lengths to be friendly and helpful to guests. People who has complained about having their bags searched is the people who took the piss by bringing in their own food like pizzas etc into the hotel and eating them by the pool! would to go into a place like asdas who serve food themselves with a MC Donald and eat it on their premises no you wouldn't so the same should go for a hotel. These people are the ones who give this hotel bad reviews about staying there so in my opinion they brought trouble on by themselves by being rude to the Turkish people who work very hard and long hours for a pittance of pay. We met some fab people and we all sat together around the pool so lack of sunbeds was never a problem but some guests did take the mick by putting towels on the beds early and then not even bothering to use the beds all day because they went out of the hotel. The hotel rooms was lovely and clean the maids cleaned every day we had a room for two people and there was plenty of room in it and we also saw the family rooms which had two rooms that was huge for a family of four. We have been coming to hisaronu for the last 4 years and we normally stay in an all inclusive hotel but we will definitely be coming back to the saray next year. If you want good value for what you pay to stay in this hotel then you will be happy if not then a 3 star hotel is not for you and you should pay a lot more for a 4 or 5 star hotel instead because in hisaronu they are away from the lively resort and up in the mountains.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kimgwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
0.2 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Tolay Hotel
Tolay Hotel
#54 of 102 in Oludeniz
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
#12 of 102 in Oludeniz
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Flora Palm Resort
Flora Palm Resort
#17 of 103 in Fethiye
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Telmessos Hotel
Telmessos Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hisaronu
1,005 reviews
1.9 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#16 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saray Hotel

Property: Saray Hotel
Address: Hisaronu Mah. Stad Cad. No: 20, Oludeniz 48304, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello our hotel name is Saray Hotel we are not anymore Saray Hotel&Apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays so you can book your Saray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saray Hotel And Apartments
Saray Hotel Apartments
Saray Hotel Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing