We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional”
Review of Dorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorian Hotel
Ranked #93 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My friend and I revisited the Dorian this year, it is a basic hotel, clean but not spotless, the shower screen next to the bathroom sink was dirty when we arrived, spattered with the previous tenants soap scum, toothpaste etc and still hadn't been touched when we left, we had no pillows (1.30am) not ideal, and had to ask and phone several times before we got them or the coat hangers we requested. The pool area is hosed down unenthusiastically most nights but never cleaned properly, stubborn stains and dirt remain indefinitely, melted chocolate etc. The food was ok but the restaurant staff just stand around chatting to each other rather than watching for things running out, mostly in the morning, if the milk, bread, cups or cereal ran out you had to ask for more, they should be on this you shouldn't have to ask and then stand waiting. The bar staff were a bit hit and miss depending on their mood, two of them actually came to blows one evening. The thing that upset me the most though was the penned up animals at the back, a sheep and her lamb, 4 goats and about 14 rabbits in a stinking pen about 12ft by 12ft, needless to say we will not be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaycee14a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for Dorian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

OK so it's not luxurious and by spending a little bit of time and money this little hotel could be much improved but I think it is great value for money. I spent a week here last October with my sister and father.

The rooms are basic but they are cleaned every day with fresh towels and a lovely display on the bed from the cleaning ladies. Bathroom is again basic but everything functioned.

For breakfast there was an adequate selection- fruit, cereals, yoghurt, cooked items and bread.
We didn't usually return to the hotel for lunch- the beach is about a 10 minute walk away but if you take a day trip or go to the lagoon you will want to eat out. There is a supermarket on the way down to the beach where you can buy delicious sandwiches, fruit etc. and the prices are very reasonable considering it's a resort. Dinner was delicious! I am a vegetarian and so is my sister so I can't comment on the meat or most of the hot dishes as I stuck to the salads and mezze but the selection is great. Probably 20 different kinds of salads and stuffed vegetables etc. Lots to choose from. Drinks are also included at the bar, you can have any soft drink or local wine, beer or spirits. The local beer and wine was very drinkable so no problems there.

The area around the pool is very loud at night and if you're planning on sleeping early you will have problems. Our room was overlooking the bar and it was impossible to sleep whilst the music was on but it's usually all over by midnight so why not go down and join in!

The resort itself was fab in October. We went the first week and the weather was still gorgeous but it's right at the end of the season. Day trips are all massively reduced and you can haggle hard on things for sale in the shops. There's a little mini-bus that goes from the resort into Fethiye if you want to see a bit of 'real Turkey'. It's only about 30 minutes away. The beach in Olu Deniz is stony but absolutely stunning and not busy at all in October. The nearby lagoon is absolutely gorgeous and definitely worth paying the entrance fee- stock up on food before you go though because once you're in the prices are extortionate!

We had a lovely week. If you are expecting luxury you need to tripple your budget. If you want clean simple good value Dorian is for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bricabrackitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

stayed at the dorian from the 20th to the 27th may. we read the reviews before we went and it didn't look good. (must stop doing this) stopped in room 116 the food was good always something to eat not al carte, but no need to go hungry just look into the kitchen windows to see its all freshly made they don't stop preparing and cooking all day fresh ommeletes or fried eggs and pancakes cooked at breakfast, fresh pizzas cooked at lunch and there`s always something cooked in front of you at dinner, the rooms were always cleaned with clean towels every day had 2 single beds in our room so pushed them together the next day the maids changed the sheets for doubles and did the towels in love hearts with rose and flower petals on the bed, could do with a bit more wardrobe space though and better seating on the small balcony. the bar area was a bit grotty to start with so was around the pool but after a couple of days it started getting cleaned more often with new bins put in place all round the hotel. the bar lads did there best but they work from 10am till 2 am. if most people tidied up after themselves a bit more and didn`t leave every thing in a mess makes it easier to keep clean. this goes for round the pool and in the restaurant. I could nit pick at a few things but I wont ok its not a 5 star hotel so don't expect a 5 star service, if you don't like foreign food go to Skegness or Benidorm, all in all you get what you pay for a cheap all inclusive break this place was ideal. would we go back YES, and are planning on going back for 10 days in september

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dillan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Can I start by saying that when we booked The Dorian through teletext holidays it was advertised as a 4* hotel with 3 pools, entertainment day and night and it's own Turkish Bath and spa. None of the above is true. It is actually rated 3*, currently doesn't provide any sort of entertainment day or night due to not currently having an entertainments manager and has two pools and two baby paddling pools, both of which were very nice. Also its worth knowing that their Turkish bath/spa is currently closed and only open during peak season starting June, which was a tad disappointing.
We arrived gone midnight on a sunday, shattered, hot and thirsty and just a bit nervous as one is arriving in a strange place in the pitch black. The two guys on reception spoke no English at all and seemed a little put out that we'd bothered their chat.
We were shown to our room (see tips about rooms below). The guy had no idea what time breakfast was but gave us an itinary for the hotel...which was all in turkish! helpful!
After a night of no sleep for reasons as mentioned below we got moved to a second room (see tips about rooms below).
We were forced into being down at reception at 10 to meet with the Holiday rep (they phoned our room twice REALLY early) who tried to sell us the usual trips and offers. We did the turkish bath, the moonlight cruise and the 12 island boat tour. Because we booked three trips, they had an offer on where we got the moonlight cruise for 5TL! bargain. I'd say the turkish bath was great, but be prepared to be massaged by anyone, male or female. You just wear your swimwear. The massage is VERY firm, bordering on painful as it involves a lot of reflexology and a little physio! we actually loved it but its not for the faint hearted! I think we paid 18TL for the turkish bath which is a bargain and we actually had it done at the Montebello which is the hotel behind the Dorian, its stunning, you wont want to leave it! lol
The 12 island tour lasts for most of the day and is on the boat called the Candianda! The crew are very funny and keep you entertained and there is the usual element of up selling by trying to get you to buy Professional photos etc. There were three island stops all in all where you can swim if you like, the rest of the islands we sailed by. Lunch is either breaded chicken or fresh grilled fish with salad. You pay for your drinks (careful here, they're not cheap and its how they make the money).
The moonlight cruise was actually on the same boat with the same crew and mostly the same food, chicken or fish! but the sides are buffet style. The sunset wash stunning and definitely worth seeing, you can get some great snaps! atmosphere good, music to get you up and dancing with the standard universal cheese like YMCA! There was entertainment in the form of fire eating and walking on broken glass etc. all in all very good. We also went to Paradise Beach (the Blue Lagoon), it is stunning! There is a free shuttle bus than leaves the hotel at 10 and 11 and returns at 4.30 and 5.30. Its definitely worth a visit; shallow warm lagoon waters and a lovely small sandy beach with comfortable loungers. The loungers and sun umbrellas are 7TL each to rent for the day. Once again be careful of the drinks and food as they whack up the prices. I recommend taking your own food and drink.
Back to the hotel. The food is on the whole very good and i can honestly say we weren't hungry once! It is largely Turkish cuisine (surprise surprise!) which we liked. Breakfast is a bit lacking but theres plenty of freshly baked bread for toast, cereals, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, salami sausage, beans and a variety of meats and cheeses. There is always something being cooked hot on the griddle too which is a bit hit or miss depending on who's cooking it; pancakes, fried eggs, omlettes, eggy bread etc. Lunch and dinner were a different affair; masses of choice both in salads, hot foods and desserts and once again something hot on the griddle/BBQ, different choice each night with a few staples. We really enjoyed the food! All the fruit juices are from concentrate and theres also tea or coffee and fresh water from the machine.
From the bar we stuck to the local beer which was always cold and lovely, we heard bad things about the wine so avoided; no cocktails included :(
The bar staff at the main bar were rude and had to be practically dragged away from their texting or talking with their mates at the bar to pour you a drink. The bar and the back pool wasn't even manned for one day and the guests were resorting to ducking under the bar and helping themselves to the all inclusive drinks. The hotel manager spends most of his time propped up at the bar drinking and not doing much else.
The gardens are beautifully tended and full of gorgeous flowers and trees which are watered every evening. The pool areas are hosed down at the end of everyday and were always very clean.
The gardeners and girls that clean the rooms work so hard and are truly let down buy the lazy, grubby, front of house and reception staff who are rude and abrupt and seem to know nothing about the goings on of the hotel.
In short, no we definitely wouldn't stay here again and would not recommend to a friend even though the location is ideal being so close to the front strip and beach. The Dorian has so much potential, its a real shame its going to the dogs.

Room Tip: Room 341 AVOID! door doesn't even shut let alone lock. Shower only suitable if you're 5ft 5...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Have just stayed at the Dorian hotel for 10 days all inclusive and thoroughly enjoyed it .We arrived at about midnight and were shown to a spacious room in which everything worked . We did not try the aircon as the weather did not require it . There was a balcony overlooking the main pool all in all satisfactory . The grounds were well tended with many variates of fruit veg and various flowering plants . The loquats were just finishing there season but still very tasty and as always lots of mulberry's..
There menus were extensive enough to satisfy various tastes , olives ,yogurt ,cheeses , lots of different salads , corn flakes , baked beans , chips ,fish , chicken , turkey ( not the one outside ,we checked ) kebab , eggs in different styles . No pork (i wonder why )
The swimming pools were of a good size and the areas kept clean , very pleasant .
We found the staff helpful although we didn't need them a lot . The bar staff were overworked and the glasses /plastics were not sparkling ,the area surrounding the bar was kept clean and the drinks flowed well .
most of the guests were from the uk ( Glasgow , Wigan and Bristol tribes and some were well tattooed ) with a sprinkling of eastern Europe and Russian .
For our first trip into 3 star all inclusive very enjoyable .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonaldC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We have been going to the Dorian for a number of years, and always got what we expected from a budget hotel. Last year the job of Entertainments manager was given to a 23 year old, who had worked at the Dorian for a while as a barman. He tried his very best in his new role, but sadly due to inexperience but didnt realise exactly what the job entailed, struggled to keep things going. Prior to this the Dorian had an Entertainments Manager/ Manager/ Security....known as Sonic to most people.....just about everything he did in the hotel!!!and at times maybe too much but sadly had an argument with the owner, and left!! That was the demise of the Dorian!!!!!
Instead of Having daytime activities , evening Entertainment and a vast range of music to suit all tastes, the Dorian was left with NO ENTERTAINMENT at all!!! day or night!!!!
It got to the point where I was plugging in my iphone to the sound system, so at least we had music at night!!! but that was only allowed from 11pm to middnight I and many other guests tried to reason with the BOSS!!! but all he kept saying was Entertainment is coming!!!! but it never did!!!!
We noticed that the floors tables, and bar area were not washed!!! and yes the paper cups were recycled!!!!! As for the food, well we thought it was a very good variation!!
All in All a very disappointing visit.....

Room Tip: rooms facing the swimming pool and DJ stand will tend to be noisier, so ask to be put in a room on...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

rooms substandered doors hanging off hinges handles missing draws wont open shower leaking badly food cold and awful owners dogs running around barking dog in restaurant peed up chair bar area filthy as were the tables two muppets behind bar were ignorant as pigs music playing full blast until half one in the morning noise of people shouting and fighting till 3 in the morning rooms not cleaned very often same with towels and bedding was told by local bar and shop owners that the dorian is the worst hotel we could have picked in the area if weather turned bad the only proper seating area is in reception which only had room for 8 people book this hotel at your peril.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jack p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.3 mi away
Akdeniz Beach Hotel
Akdeniz Beach Hotel
#51 of 102 in Oludeniz
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marcan Resort Hotel
Marcan Resort Hotel
#43 of 102 in Oludeniz
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oludeniz
Hotel Oludeniz
#67 of 102 in Oludeniz
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Katre Oludeniz
Hotel Katre Oludeniz
#66 of 102 in Oludeniz
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#28 of 102 in Oludeniz
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorian Hotel

Address: Belcekiz Mevkii, Oludeniz, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range: £47 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorian Hotel Oludeniz
Mavi Akdeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing