We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever. Faulty Towers”
Review of Dorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorian Hotel
Ranked #94 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is the pits. The staff are rude, arrogant , and have no concern for the holiday guests. The young boy who worked in the bar told several people to [--] off. He had the music on so loud no one could sleep. He was dancing on the bar and kicking glasses of the bar so they smashed to the floor. There was no variety in the menu as the food was the same everyday. Breakfast you could have eggs,eggs, eggs or eggs. The bar has loads of empty bottles of spirit and we was told the only drink available was beer, wine, gin or vodka. When asking for a milkshake we was told we had to pay extra. We'll we was under the impression this was an all inclusive holiday. When complaining to the Rep, he went to speak to the managers wife who just raised her hands in the air and said, I don't care. We ate out most of the time. We had no entertainment all the while we were there. I would advise anyone to steer clear of this hotel. The actual hotel is lovely but the staff and management are awful. The only decent staff there was the chamber maids who are contracted in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thirstykirsty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Dorian from the 7th til 14th sept...first impressions were not very good. Walked into reception to 3 lazy young staff members who did not even get up to greet us. All we got was a few sneers as they spoke amongst each other in turkish. This put me and my partner of right away and we began to think what sort of place we had come to. After standing around wondering when we were going to be shown to our room, somebody finally came to collect our cases. The room was ok, very basic..a few fixtures broken but that didn't bother us as all we wanted was somewhere that was clean and for sleeping. The maids were very pleasant and always greeted us as we left the room. There are two pools at the Dorian. We tended to stay around the larger main pool, this pool area was mainly occupied by the polish and Russians. We never had a problem with them. Ali who ran this pool bar was lovely. Always very pleasant and went out of his way to get to know you. The other two staff well they could be very rude and only spoke to you when they felt like it and got you and drink when they felt like it. My mother in law drinks vodka and coke when in turkey and they ran out of coke on our first day and told us if we want coke then go to the shop and buy it. Warm excuse me but we paid for all inclusive service so that's what we expect.Food usual turkish all inclusive...glad we were only there for a week as it was starting to get very repetitive. All in all the hotel needs a few improvements, abit tatty in places, could do with a few more staff on hand in cleaning the restaurant and around the pool areas. Would not return to this hotel but as they say you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerryh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Nice hotel, rooms very clean, cleaned every day, no problems. Food was ok, nothing to rave about. Bar area very disappointing. At night it was very dull, did not entice you to stay there. The bar staff were horrendous, rude, way to familiar, not at all professional. The stairs from pool area to dining room were very dirty. Loved the resort, would never go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHARLIEO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Dorian hotel is a lovely hotel its the ignorant arragant staff that let it down really is ther bits of kids that work behind the bar so rude prob workin for next to nothing food was ok lots of people wer complaing of the staff how rude and they blast rave music out u can see people walking out ther are plenty of nice hotels better and cheaper with lovely staff

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed for 2 wks in August the location is fab but this place is totally let down by its staff the hotel itself roomwize was veru clean the cleaners work very hard the food was very good just repetitive but thats to be expected struggled to eat at times tho cos the dining area wasnt clean very offputting had no probs at all with our room but basically the place is run by a bunch of kids not professional at all dont wear uniforms and get drunk every single night music blasting awful place would never stay here again pay a bit extra and stay somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hannahq111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

just returned from the dorian the hotel itself is ok as a base to stay food ok theres something for every 1you wont starve but its cheap to eat out if you book this hotel and are on a budget thats when you get a bit stuck i met a couple who were on a budget and they couldnt wait to get home,the 2 boys and i meen boys running the bar are the worst ive ever seen especilly the skinny 1 flat lager thats if you could get a drink they only have vodka and raki nothing else if the management want to improve they need to get rid of those 2 the other 1 is a girl very helpfull and good behind the bar,the rooms are basic we had 207 and the cleaner was very good 10 out 10 making the room look nice,ive been to oludinez twice now and im going back next year but wont be staying at the dorrian my advise is pay a little extra and stay some place else,at the end of the day its your holiday and you want to enjoy it so stear claer of the dorrian.

Room Tip: as far away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was our second time in Olu Deniz last year staying at Club Sun City which was more expensive for a week (we had 10 days at the Dorian and this was £500 cheaper than a week at Sun City). The standard of the food is good and you can always get something, but it is so cheap to eat out in some fantastic restaurants (Harry's and Captain Hook's are particularly good). It is a hotel with lots of potential but just needs to be managed better. Alex who was one of the bar staff was an excellent ambassador for the hotel and had a great rapport with all holiday makers regardless of age and nationality.

The reception staff are useless, and dont seem particularly experienced. If I was in charge I wouid find someone similar to Alex to put on front of house. It would help if they had some basic English so they could understand and respond to questions, queries or issues.

Rooms are small and basic, the cleaning staff do an amazing job and our room was cleaned daily and to a high standard. They do not have enough staff in general and the waiting staff and reception staff are often the same people. The only staff who wore a uniform were the cleaners, oh and if you get a problem the cleaners sort if out for you much more efficiently than reception.

People who had returned to the hotel commented that it had declined since their last stay.
If it was my hotel I would:-
- lose the animals in the petting zoo, this area smells especially if you are in the rooms close by.
-invest in customer service training for existing staff
- replace some of the dodgy sun beds and parasols
- give the bar and pool area by the restaurant a real deep cleanse
- Make the waiting staff wear a uniform so that they can be identified
- Give Alex, the cleaners and the Catering team a pat on the back for a job well done
- Increase the staffing levels as corners are cut due to lack of resource despite the staff working long hours and working hard.

there is a courtesy bus to the blue lagoon twice a day and this is beautiful, you have to pay for beach beds and food and drink but its very reasonable and they do proper home made chips.

when I read the reviews I was dreading our arrival, however, remember that this is a budget hotel and is good value for money despite some niggles. We had a brilliant time and will definately go back to Olu Deniz again, probably wouldnt stay at the Dorian again but that is because we prefer somewhere a little quieter.

If you have booked dont panic you will have a fabulous time, just make sure you get out and about as Olu Deniz the resort is really to good to miss.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.3 mi away
Akdeniz Beach Hotel
Akdeniz Beach Hotel
#50 of 102 in Oludeniz
519 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
2.4 mi away
Sahra Su Holiday Village & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#12 of 102 in Oludeniz
495 reviews
2.9 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#6 of 102 in Oludeniz
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#14 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorian Hotel

Address: Belcekiz Mevkii, Oludeniz, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range: £38 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorian Hotel Oludeniz
Mavi Akdeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing