We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stolen mobile phone”
Review of Dorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorian Hotel
Ranked #95 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stolen mobile phone”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel around 12pm we were taken straight to our room which was basic but nice. No wardrobe so had to live out of our suitcases. The room was Very clean however had one broken window which despite mentioning to reception staff did not get dealt with. The shower was also cold 5/7 days there!!! Food was really nice lots to choose from however sometimes the restaurant was far too busy and everyone was almost fighting for the food!! Drinks were okay, bar staff were friendly. Pools were nice and clean with plenty of sun beds. We had a Turkish bath which was amazing would really recommend. On our third or fourth day we went into a our room to find a telly had been put in there, then on the second to last day we went in our room to find a wardrobe!!! (We had obviously been given a room which wasn't finished yet!!!) not practical but laughed it off. On the last day we payed for late checkout! Went back to the room around 2pm to find the maids making our bed (which we didn't actually need doing as we were going that day) they were acing very shifty and unusual, my boyfriend then couldn't find his phone which he had left on the bed (yes not the cleverest thing to do but we had no previous concerns) after looking for the phone for 20 minutes one of the maids began crying and shouting at us in Turkish (very bizarre) we went to management who did very little to help and ended up just walking off!! It was bizarre how all other valuables were still in the room despite my boyfriends phone. We think it was either stolen or broken due to the maids reaction. I would be really careful with your valuables always use the safe etc as the maids cannot be trusted!! The last day let the hotel down, I would advise staying ssomewhere else if you can. Something very strange and unusual about the staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucycharlesworth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    174
    131
    108
    114
See reviews for
177
244
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

diane from liverpool you get wot you pay for clean rooms nice staff we havent had any problems over the last 2 years food is basic but its like many hotels in turkey but wot is the best this year is omar onwer of turkish baths hes fantastic had many turkish baths over the years but none as good as omar is well worth a visit if your going to olu deniz dont go else where but the dorian for all your pamper needs good prices to evan my patner david had a turkish bath and medical massage

Room Tip: top floor for best veiw room 233 is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Dorian is just far enough away from the bars at night and close enough to the beach and stores during the day.

We arrived at the Dorian Hotel in the early hours of 13 June 2014 to be told that our rooms weren't ready but they'd made arrangements for us to stay at another hotel down the road and that they would cover the cost of the taxi to and from. On our second arrival later that morning we were again told that our rooms weren't ready. We were shown to the restaurant so we could at least have breakfast. We finally got into our rooms at approximately 11am and although we'd had such a long wait we were pleasantly surprised with the room. Twin beds, a sofa, fridge, air-con, poolside / restaurant view and bathroom all of which were spotlessly clean. Our room was cleaned everyday and supplied with fresh towels and linen.

There are four mealtimes throughout the day from 7.30am until 9pm. There is no shortage of food and the variety was more than we expected. I'm a very fussy eater but found no problems eating here. The restaurant staff work extremely hard and we had fun teaching Elgin and Ali a few words of English and vice versa.

There are 2 pools, we only used the one by the restaurant and on some days found there would only be the four of us there for the whole day. The area around the pool was always clean, staff would collect any empty cups and change the ashtrays.

The pool bar is okay, the all inclusive drinks list is very limited but a drink is a drink. The only entertainment is a DJ who plays a mixture of music which is okay and once you've had a couple of shots of Raki you'll dance to anything. The bar shuts at 11pm so at least you know that you're not going to be kept up all night.

Whether you decide to stay at the Dorian or not I can highly recommend you partake in having a Turkish Bath, massage and facial here. It is the most fabulous experience I have ever had and if heaven was on earth it would be located in the basement of the Dorian Hotel.

We went on 2 excursions..the first was a 6 island boat trip that started at 11am visiting 6 islands (the clue is in the title). This was a brilliant fun packed day out, from jumping off the boat into the sea to clapping along to the Turkish national anthem. The second was a trip to Dalyan for a mud bath, river boat cruise to see the tombs and on to Turtle Beach to see the turtles. This is a long day starting at 8am pick up. By the time we'd picked everyone else up it was 11am by the time we got to the mud bath. This was amazing and we did our best impressions of a nile crocodile sliding around in the mud. The river boat cruise is very long but at the end of it we got to see a couple of turtles which are brought up to the surface by the fishermen with food. There is a buffet lunch which was not what we were expecting, but very welcomed. We didn't get back to the hotel until 6.30pm.

I'm a firm believer that manners cost nothing and that if you're polite to the people around you then they too will be polite to you. A smile and a good morning sets you up for the day. The staff are hard working, polite and always smiling.

If you want a relaxing holiday with a good book during the day and a drink and a dance during the evening then I would recommend a stay at The Dorian Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mrsrisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My boyfriend and I booked to stay at the Dorian in Olu Deniz for a week and booked through Jet2. I am 21 and my boyfriend is 23.

When we arrived at the hotel we got our rooms straight away however a group behind us got transferred to another hotel for the night as there rooms weren't ready, spoke with a few people in the hotel that it's happened to and after 6-7 hours of travelling I really couldn't be bothered to travel more, so just a little warning in that respect.

When we got to our room, it was immaculate, clean and had a lovely view of the mountains and sea front There was air conditioning which was a life saver during the hot days and you could leave it on for several hours so your room would be nice and cool for returning to the hotel.

We paid for all inclusive and expected the bar to be open (as it was advertised) from 10 am -12pm with a wide selection of drinks. This was not the case, as me and my boyfriend are quite big drinkers we expected a variety of choice. Basically, all you could drink was lager, white or red wine, vodka or gin and then you have your teas and coffees, water and soft drinks. This doesn't provide a wide range of options for people who like different drinks, so it was extremely disappointing that all i could drink whilst i was there was white wine and vodka.

The bar is disgusting and it stinks. Every time I went near it I gagged, it smelt like stale beer and obviously hadn't had a full clean for a long time. I wouldn't be bothered as much if there was seating away from the bar but there wasn't. Also due to the tables and bar area being not wiped down enough there was copious amounts of wasps all day until the night time, on the tables and the soft drink dispenser. There was hardly any entertainment, a Michael Jackson tribute who did the moonwalk to one song and that was it. The other was a belly dancing performer and she was brilliant. Any other entertainment included the bar staff taking their tops off and dancing around...

The food was also disappointing, they usually had rice and chips, some kind of soup, a chicken or fish dish and then a red meat dish (which was basically meatballs everyday). All the food tasted the same... there wasn't a lot of variety. I can't say I enjoyed it. However, there was a massive range at the salad bar and all seemed fresh and tasty.

The location is very good, it's only a couple of minutes away from the main strip which includes shops, bars and restaurants. The views of the mountains are spectacular.

Some of the staff I found to be rude, others not so much. The cleaning staff for the rooms were fantastic.

Would not stay again in this hotel, but would visit Olu Deniz again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky878rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Arrived 30th May for 2 weeks and the highlight of our stay was the privately run Turkish Baths situated below reception. It's run by Omar and its the best we've had and great value. As for the Hotel, its just average. Rooms clean but the ones around the bar pool can be noisey. Food - well certainly don't expect Marco Pierre White cookery but you won't go hungry (we ate out several times). The drinks were always generous and the spirits were full strength. Some bits of untidiness with the pool bar having a ''stale milk smell'' which was off putting. Mixed clientele with about 45% British. We wouldn't go again but we don't regret the experience since it was the cheapest all inclusive in the area. Its 2* Plus not 3* . Next time we will pay the extra.
Rob & Ang

Room Tip: Room numbers in the 500's are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

its the 3 rd time we have stayed at the dorian but its gone down hill we paid for a better room and did not get 1 i was told at least we had a room the hotel was over crowded and very dirty i will never go back very i only gave it a 1 for location now the hotel should be a 1 star

Room Tip: find a another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cath564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oludeniz hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I arrived at the dorian on the 9th of June . I was dreading it after reading reviews on here . Arrived late at night approx 1.00 am shown to my room which was spotless ! Small but clean and freshly decorated with fridge and air con . There was no noise from bar ! There was plenty of food not really to my taste but some thing for everyone . Staff were friendly as were other guests . The bar area smells if sick as stated in other reviews but was cleaned every day plenty of sun loungers . The hotel has recently changed owners and they have obviously given staff a kick up the backside. Would I stay here again then probably yes . It's three star all inc you get what you pay for . Some friends were given a room in basement asked tone moved and were . I was in room 903 and couldn't fault it . In fact id probably go back again !!! The all inclusive is 10 -10 and you pay for drinks after that . Oludeniz is beautiful , the main strip is tacky but beautiful beach and lots of lovely restaurants , I would particularly recommend the bistro and swallows for food .

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.3 mi away
Akdeniz Beach Hotel
Akdeniz Beach Hotel
#55 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marcan Resort Hotel
Marcan Resort Hotel
#33 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Katre Oludeniz
Hotel Katre Oludeniz
#66 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Montebello Resort
Montebello Resort
#27 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
smartline Flamingo
smartline Flamingo
#42 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#14 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorian Hotel

Property: Dorian Hotel
Address: Belcekiz Mevkii, Oludeniz, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorian Hotel Oludeniz
Mavi Akdeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing