We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & Friendly”
Review of Blue Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Star Hotel
Ranked #47 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2010

The blue star, was in a great location just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and bars restaurants but far enough away to make it quiet(ish) and off the beaten track. Although it wasn't a top class or plush hotel it was more than adequate. The room was comfortable and big enough for our needs although the bathroom was quite small had all you needed. Air con was extra. The position of all the rooms were nice as they all looked over the pool. It was just a nice size hotel too not too large. The staff were just so lovely too, nothing was too much trouble for them. The bar and restaurant were excellent and Rudi the bar tender was a real warm character. The food at the restaurant couldn't be faulted either and breakfast was good too. If we ever go back to OluDeniz I wouldn't hesitate to go back there again. The only downside was that although the bar was in a great location if there were late night drinkers in the noise carried across to the rooms making it on some nights very noisy, but with ear plugs in it wasn't a problem and we did sleep with all the doors and windows open too! The only other thing to watch for is that the water in a morning was sometimes cold but a quick phone call to reception and 2 minutes later it was beautifully hot. Some people have commented about notices about not taking your own drink into the hotel. This is a common theme throughout the whole area whether in hotels or when you go on trips (not just this hotel). if you are discreet and have your own drink just in your room/on your balcony no-one seemed to be bothered at all, just don't take it round the pool area!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuddly53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Blue Star Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

The blue star is a family run hotel,the manager memhet is really great and helpful,the staff are so friendly, they carnt do enough for you,rudi is abit of a nutter though, he works behind the bar and a laugh a minute,the restraunt food is absolutly outstanding,but breakfast was'nt up to much not much of a joice and it was the same sort of food every morning,the rooms are very basic,and the beds are not comfortable at all,i would recommend this hotel though, the pool area is lovely and very clean,my husband and i have stayed there twice now and thinking of going back in october. from julie and tom gregson.keep up the good work

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbird54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We've just returned from a lovely week in Olu Deniz staying at the fabulous Blue Star hotel.
We definately made the right choice, the hotel is in a fantastic location just a minute from the beach and a 20 minute walk to the beautiful blue lagoon. The Bue Star is one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in, The rooms are basic but immaculate with a small balcony overlooking the pool.
All the staff at the Blue Star are friendly and helpful, nothing was ever too much trouble for them and they are a credit to the hotel.
We stayed on a B & B board and the breakfast was fairly basic but there was plenty of it including cereal, toast, bread, cheese, ham, boiled eggs and tea. coffee and juice.
The pool is beautiful, really clean and a perfect temperature for cooling off. There were plenty of sunbeds and never any rush to put your towel on one to save for later.
There is a nice pool bar with a large TV which was in lots of use as they were showing the World Cup matches. Rudi who runs the pool bar is lots of fun and made me an amazing iced coffee everyday. The cold turkish beer is lovely too and very reasonably priced.
We ate in some lovely restaurants and had some amazing Turkish food. Olu Deniz is not that cheap for eating out but it is a lovely place to enjoy a nice evening and there is a lovely bar right on the beach where you can sit on bean bags, have a cold drink and watch the sun go down....perfect!
We also went up to Hisaronu on the Dolmus on a couple of occasions. Its alot busier than Olu Deniz with loads of restaurants and bars. We had a great meal there at the Naked Chef, the mezze was amazing!
We only had 6 days on this holiday and there is so much to do in Olu Deniz..I had a Turkish bath and my boyfriend had a traditional Turkish shave.We also went on the dolmus to Fetiyhe market which is huge. We both did paragliding which was an amazing experience with views to die for. We booked the paragliding through Easyriders for £50 each. They are located right on the beach. The paragliding was great so we booked a sunset cruise with them too. It was a lovely trip and very reasonable but Easyriders totally misled us telling us that the trip from 5pm til 11pm finishing with a fire on a secluded beach and a bit of a party. That was a load of rubbish as we were back in Olu Deniz by 9pm and hadnt done half the things they'd promised. Just make sure if you book a trip you get what you paid for and DONT use Easyriders.
We had a wonderful holiday and met some lovely people at the Blue Star. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definately love to come back.
Many thanks to the Blue Star
Jane and Mark

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I have just returned from a one week holiday bed and breakfast at the blue star hotel with my boyfriend, originally we did not choose this hotel but our provider changed us last min because they had over booked at our chosen hotel, this hotel is is really close to the beach!

the hotel rooms are quite small an and very basic, but very clean! however the maid did not change our towels every day we didnt have clean towels for three days in the beginning of our holiday, but when we saw her we asked for clean ones and almost every day after that she gave us some clean ones. the bathroom is quite small, and has a hair dryer.

The bedroom we received had two single beds that we had to push together, but i think all the rooms come with two singles. it had no iron, the lighting was quite poor in the rooms. the rooms did have air con but you had to pay 4LR a day, we didnt pay because we thought this to be quite expensive, but we did suffer because the rooms got extremely hot at night especially because we had to cover up each night because of the mosquitoes, it was like a sauna! the beds were extremely uncomfortable, we had one flat pillow each, so we would wake every morning with neck pain, and the beds were uncomfortable too, also waking up with back pain.

all hotel rooms are pool facing, so you get the noise from the bar at night, which is really loud, if you want an early night forget it! one night the bar closed at 5am! lots of loud music and drunk people singing.

we didnt sit buy the pool, but the pool is a decent size, and has lots of sun beds, you can order drinks and have them by the pool. the bar area has a pool table and a tv that shows all the matches!

breakfast at the hotel is a traditional turkish breakfast of boiled eggs, bread, watermelon, jams, cheese, olives, and cold meats, sometimes corn flakes tea and coffee although you can order a full English breakfast for an additional cost. lunch is anything from burgers chips omelettes etc and dinner at this hotel is fantastic!! i would highly recommend it!

the hotel staff are very nice and friendly they cant do enough for you to make your stay an enjoyable and comfortable one.

in Olu Deniz there is so much to do, we was only there for one weeks so we didnt get to do everything that we wanted to do. but we did go paragliding (£60) which was fantastic, would highly recommend (just to let you know you dont jump from the mountain, the wind takes you up) we went at sunset it was very beautiful! we also hired a speed boat just the two of us for one day from 10.30am to 4pm for £100 we drove the boat ourselves to the other attractions of olu deniz, we could anchor or boat in the sea and swim to the shore! and we went quad biking(£20). the sun beds on the beach are not free, you have to pay 18LR for two beds and a parasol. olu deniz is quite expensive you have to pay for eveything, i would recommend that if you want to save money go full or half board, and also when booking your excursions book maybe 2 or three things at once with one person and barter the price down! we booked with gravity.

Turkey is beautiful, i would defiantly go back, i dont usually stay at 3* and now i know why i dont book 3*... i would def go back to turkey, it has a special place in my heart now and forever, but next time it would be in a 4* or an apartment / villa

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sun_junky_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

It was my first time to Turkey and just had the best best time at the Blue Star!! The rooms comfortable, and have everything you need. clean comfy and the friendliest people and staff! We made great friends with the Blue Star bar man, RUDI, who really is the USP of the place!! The resort is stunning, lively but not too busy!!The food at the hotel is probably one of the best meals we had!! JUST the most perfect two week holiday!! We are definitely returning soon!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cusla_ribz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

My partner and I, along with our three daughters (12,10 and 8)stayed at the Blue Star Hotel from 22nd May for 16 nights.After reading reveiws here on Trip Advisor we made enquiries with Mehmet the owner and subsequently arranged to stay in the Wooden House on a B&B basis.Mehmet also arranged transfers from and to Dalaman.
Accommodation in the Wooden House consisted of,in our case,three single beds on the ground floor with stairs leading to a double bedded room and modern shower room on the first floor.The House is equipped with fridge,TV(BC 24 NEWS) and very effective air -con units on both floorsand was cleaned daily to a very high standard with plenty of clean towels, even for a family of five. The Hotel grounds are very well maintained and the good sized pool kept meticulously clean and checked daily.
The Hotel has a pleasant bar area where I made myself very comfortable and I must give special praise to the very likeable Rudi and his great sense of fun.He kept our Girls entertained throughout our stay showing endless patience.
The restaurant was also a great hit with our family.Aside from breakfast(which we were more than happy with) we ate there numerous times during our stay whether it be a light lunch or for our evening meal and the food was always excellent.So good in fact that I now have an 8 year old asking for Octupus for dinner! Diners always receive a very warm welcome and superb service from George, Osman and Adnan and their very attentive colleagues.
The location of the Hotel is fantastic, only two minutes from the beach and all bars and restaurants but once back in the hotel grounds felt very peaceful and relaxing.
Overall from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we cannot praise Mehmet and his staff highly enough for for how we were treated, always enquiring if everything was okay and if there was anything we required .All of of us have had a very memorable holiday and for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russellsLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

loved the bluestar great place to stay spotless clean with excellent staff so friendly would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.1 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montebello Deluxe Hotel
Montebello Deluxe Hotel
#55 of 102 in Oludeniz
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mavruka Hotel
Mavruka Hotel
#64 of 102 in Oludeniz
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ecclesia Boutique Hotel
Ecclesia Boutique Hotel
#44 of 102 in Oludeniz
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flying Dutchman Hotel
Flying Dutchman Hotel
#63 of 102 in Oludeniz
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#28 of 102 in Oludeniz
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Star Hotel

Address: Belcegiz Mah. 224. Sok. No:8, Oludeniz, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
#44 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: £38 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Star Oludeniz
Hotel Blue Star

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing