We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and that's about it”
Review of Karbel Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Karbel Sun Hotel
Ranked #49 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Reviewing this a bit late, but as a long time reader of TA, decided i should start contributing.
This hotel was very reasonably priced, but i think the quality of the hotel reflects this. Rooms are very basic, our shower plug was blocked the whole time..i dread to think who's hair was down there. Our hair dryer didn't work for more than minute before fusing. The location was very good however, at to the top of the strip. Close enough to the activity that you felt safe walking at night, but just that bit out the way that you didn't hear any external noise at night. Breakfast was disappointing.

The very young girl who cleaned our room was lovely..although she didn't speak English, when she knocked. I smiled and mimed 5 minutes. We saw her around maybe twice more and on our second to last day she left a rose in a glass of water by the mirror. So sweet! Nida at reception was also nice, spoke a bit with her, and the gardener was pleasant.

The rest of the staff however I was not keen on; the pool staff were rude, and i have to agree with the reviews below that they only make an effort if you eat drink, drink and attend the evening events there. The hotel gives you a charge card for the room, i wasn't aware that it was mandatory to use this at the pool bar, so when i tried to pay for two drinks with cash, they refused to accept it. It was only when another guest pointed that the card could be payed off at the end of each day that i realised to use it. The pool guy could have easily told me this himself, instead he left the drinks behind the bar and served someone else.

This was my second time in Olu deniz, should have returned to our original hotel, Turquoise. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Me & my partner stayed here for one of the last weeks of the season. I appreciate it's been a long season for the staff, but courtesy & manners go a long way. I have stayed here once before - what a difference this time! I am not sure if I will go back again as some of the staff here do not understand about customer service. "No problem" now what's the question is how they should go about things - but some of the staff want to fight you over very trivial matters.... You need to fix this guys or you will lose what was a very good reputation previously!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Suavejarve76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in October second time this year have also stayed here previous years.
hotel grounds are well maintained as are the rooms and are always cleaned well.i have had some lovely meals at the hotel and have enjoyed the BBQ nights which are good with some entertainment thrown in.the staff I couldn't fault even though people have made some negative comments but I found everyone from the reception staff to waiters to the bar staff very helpful and always had a smile and never felt shunned and because I know a little bit of turkish language and culture I can see why some people get a misunderstanding.any how I had a great holiday and will be back if your expecting Caribbean standards go there as its geared up for the U.S market not the European.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
5  Thank Ruskybear2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just returned after a 10 day stay at karbel sun, really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel staff are great, really friendly. The owner was a lovely man who went out of his way to make sure we got the best Turkish bath available. The grounds and rooms were kept immaculate, we even had fresh cut flowers from the grounds put in our rooms which was a lovely gesture.
The hotel is in a great location with only a short walk to the beach. Would stay here again when visiting Turkey again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aanndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Second time here as we had - had such a wonderful time last year.....again we were not disappointed. deluxe rooms lovely, maid wonderful, staff wonderful, reception always a smile too.
we booked privately through the hotel and Ali arranged private taxi's to and from the airport - deffo a plus and worked out about the same price as with holiday company but without the rep and transfer hassle!!

We ate at the Swallow 3 nights in a row as the food and service was amazing and cheap too, we also love the small house the Chicken kebabs are wonderful and they cannot do enough for you.

Skydiving was a must again as was the Lagoon - skydiving was approx. £60 each
A pint of Larger and a Chicken Keebab is about £3.50
Turkish bath - £10
Massage 45 mins approx. £10 - we had two once when we got there and the day before we came home...just to prepare us for back at work
a meal for two about £20
Turkish shave - £5

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are bigger but near the road so earplugs may help if you are a light sleeper also we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Having stayed here several times before, we were really glad to get a last minute booking for the Karbel Sun but sorry to say this small, clean, tidy hotel with its lovely gardens and pool was greatly let down by some of their bar/ restaurant staff. Having read some of the reviews it seems that you only get the friendly side if you are willing to eat, drink and attend the BBQ nights As we decided to only eat lunch at the hotel we were treated to lazy, sullen, pushy and rude behaviour. Often the music played at the bar was inappropriate for a family hotel. Not all the staff were like this Murat, Suat, the maids, gardener and reception were as charming and lovely as always but unless there are changes we will not be back and certainly won't be recommending it .Sorry not for us anymore.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank paul8scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fantastic 2 week stay in karbel sun hotel.Was our first time away with our baby boy of 6months old and we had a fantastic time.The staff at the hotel made us so welcome.everyone loved Ollie and I think Ollie enjoyed all the attention.stayed in one of the deluxe rooms which are a little more spacious than a standard room.Bar staff Taco and Sedar were very friendly and always made an effort to speak to us.fatih one of the waiters is so friendly,again made the effort to make us feel welcome and always made us laugh.Last but not least Ali the manager of the hotel.nothing is any trouble for him he will always go out of his way to give any information or any help should you require it.excellent hotel and I would not stay anywhere else.

Stayed: October 2013
3  Thank lur2k2002turkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.0 mi away
Karbel Hotel
Karbel Hotel
#42 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karbel Beach Hotel
Karbel Beach Hotel
#57 of 102 in Oludeniz
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#28 of 102 in Oludeniz
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belcehan Delux
Belcehan Delux
#46 of 102 in Oludeniz
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mavi Belce
Mavi Belce
#70 of 102 in Oludeniz
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karbel Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karbel Sun Hotel

Address: Belcekiz Mevki Kidrak Yolu Uzeri | Üzeri, Oludeniz, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Oludeniz
#34 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#38 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: £13 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karbel Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Karbel Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karbel Sun Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing