We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly unique and downright beautiful........”
Review of Oyster Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oyster Residences
Ranked #39 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Reviewed 11 July 2008

We have just returned from a delightful 1 week stay in this beautiful hotel and have booked to go back again in early September! We didn't want to leave.

Gunsenin (the owner, who lives on-site) has created an oasis of calm and tranquility where you can instantly relax and unwind. She has decorated the interior and exterior areas of this hotel with flair and taste and everywhere you look there is something beautiful for your eyes to rest on...the garden and grounds are beautifully tended with Hibiscus and Bougainvillea and the tallest sunflowers I have ever seen! The outside areas are dressed with linen drapes with small gems attached to catch the sun, lanterns hanging from the trees, hammocks, day beds and other areas piled high with cushions and covers.
Plenty of shade for those hours between 12-3 (apart from us brits who refuse to stay in the shade!)

The interior of the hotel is lovely. We stayed in room 208 and it really does have the wow factor. When you walk through the door and see the size of the room and the beautiful bed with its purple mossie net, you can't help but go 'wow!' the bathroom is special, with 2 big basins and acres of space for those holiday toiletries. There is a full size bath (v unusual in Turkey) with a jet shower to refresh you from all angles.

We spent the first day lounging by the pool and felt instantly relaxed. It usually takes 2 or 3 days for us to unwind, but not here! The peace and tranquility had an instant effect on us.

After sunset, the hotel is illuminated by lamps and lanterns nestled around the garden. Very romantic! The staff at the Oyster are very attentive and Gunsenin has trained them well in the art of customer service. Not only that, they are very good at decorating the tops of the linen covered tables with flowers and leaves every evening!
The restaurant is excellent and has an very good choice available throughout the day and evening as well as 'specials' that change daily. We ate throughout Oludeniz and the Oyster is defo one of the best. The chocolate cake is to die for!

I can see from previous reviews that many people are disturbed by the night time noise at the Oyster. There is a large bar right next door and another not too far away on the other side. So, there is no escaping the fact that when these places are trying to entice and entertain their customers, music is a vital part of the attraction. It can get loud and it can go on quite late, but be prepared for it and you shouldn't be too affected by it. Ear plugs and Kalms (or alcohol) are the answer! No-one wants to get stressed out on their holiday.
We decided early on to go with the flow and rest up during the day and go to eat and drink quite late in the evening. Isn't that what people do on holiday!??

Oludeniz is NOT a peaceful, quiet resort. It never has been and it never will be. There are many excellent bars along the beach and even ON the beach. Its a typical holiday resort, not over developed, quiet and sleepy during the day but alive and kicking at night.
The most annoying noise was the sound of people complaining about the noise! Do your research before you go on holiday people......
Don't come here if you want to go to bed early and read a book!

Our only gripe was the fact that people reserved day beds, loungers and hammocks with their paperbacks or magazines and then didn't appear until later in the day.
We hope that Gunsenin and her staff bring in a 'do not reserve the sunbeds' rule as it is really not necessary or acceptable to do this in such a small hotel.

We went on a boat trip with a local company (not mentioning any names) and this was the most disappointing part of our holiday. A massive boat crammed full of people with music blaring out the whole duration of the 7 hours. Don't get me wrong, I love a bit of Vanilla Ice and Bob Marley but it kinda spoils the mood as you cruise around the beautiful Turquoise Coast. Couldn't wait to get off. Next time we'll bet the Dolmus into Fethiye and jump on a traditional Gulet for a relaxing cruise and visit more diverse and interesting places during the trip.

We went paragliding! As you lay in the pool or gardens at the Oyster, you can't help but notice the para-gliders as they glide back down to earth and land just outside your hotel on the promenade. The more you see it the more you think it must be safe. So, off we went! The drive up the mountain is more scary than jumping off of it. The views after you've taken off are spectacular and you can see why its called the Turquoise Coast. A great experience with Easy Riders and we'll definitely be doing it again when we go back.

Go to the Oyster, ttry your best to chill out and experience the best that Turkish hospitality and design has to offer.

Photos coming soon.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stormylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2008

Despite having seen lots of fabulous photos of the Oyster Residence before we arrived we were even more impressed by the real thing! It is simply a beautiful place to stay with great attention to detail everywhere you look, from the stunning garden and pool area to the intimate chill out areas that are scattered around the grounds. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful despite working ridiculously long hours - I swear they never sleep. The only down sides were having to get up at 8am to get a sun lounger by the pool, seeing everyone else insisted on reserving one from dawn but didn't actually show up until lunchtime. We were expecting there to be lots of noise at night from the surrounding bars/clubs and this was something that we heard other guests complaining about, but I have to say we really didn't notice or mind it and once the air conditioning's gentle whir was going you could barely hear it. However this is a lively resort and Oyster is between two of the busiest bars so if you want peace and quiet at night as well as during the day then you should probably go somewhere else. We stayed at the hotel on a B&B basis and although the food there was good there are also plenty of other restaurants in the area to try, which are great and cheaper.
Overall our stay at Oyster was excellent and we were very pleased with the value for money. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as a great place to stay in Turkey.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank Honeyblonde17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

wonderfull looking hotel!!!really bad location for this hotel!!inbetween two bars/clubs that open till about four!!!not very classy unless you like a foam party!!!
the standard of hotel is good but for 28 rooms there is only about 14 sunloungers around the pool and to be honest this hotel is not cheap to stay in so u want to enjoy the surroundings of the hotel!!we spoke to some quests who did not get to enjoy the pool area and had to use the cat litter beach!!!this is not a sandy beach at olu deniz!!!
myself and my husband stayed in this hotel for a night as a treat two years ago and always said we would go back for two weeks but we were very dissapionted at the quality!the food has really gone downhill and anybody seems to be allowed in to pool area!!people eating lunch are allowed in swimming!!now this hotel advertises itself as a no children but if people having lunch have children well they are running round hotel grounds!!to be fair they were not in the pool!!
well all in all not a very positive to this hotel!!we booked with soverign luxury holidays and really they should be reviewing this hotel for there portfolio!!yes they do say it is a lively resort with late night bars but come on!!!!
think very carefully about choosing this hotel if u want to sleep on your holiday!!the noise issues do not get ressolved!!i the help bar next door is just one massive party for all the people who work in the area once there bars have closed thts where they seem to go!!the owner of the hotel owns the grounds that the help bar is on and she is there nearly every night so complaining to her is not of any use!!!! go somewhere ele on holiday!!this resort has been completly ruined by neo lights and kareokie bars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank susankennedybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2008

Just got back from the Oyster residence and I can't wait to get some sleep!

Having read the previous reviews before booking, I took a gamble, as the more recent reviews seemed to say that the noise from the adjoining bars was no too bad and generally finished around 1am.

This is most definately not the case.

We were lucky if the racket from the Help bar finished before 4am. We are both in our 30's and enjoy a few beers as much as anyone, but this was ridiculous. Our remonstrations with the staff provided no answers to the noise problem and I would strongly advise you to consider an alternative hotel, unless you are looking for somewhere that you can sleep in the day and stay out all night.

I guess it would suit the 18 to 30 crowd.

It's a shame to be honest as the rooms are of a good standard and the pool area in the day is very nice.

If they could sort out the noise we would return, as Olu Deniz is a lovely resort.

Regarding ealier reviews about cockroaches, we did see a large one running across our bathroom, but to be honest this is to be expected in foreign climates. Just remember to wear your slippers when going to the loo in the night, assuming you aren't already awake with the noise.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank eastretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2008

just got home from the loveliest hotel i have ever encountered,it would be impossible to give it a star rating as it is more like staying at a rich friends villa (one that has great taste and lives on the seafront of a lovely resort) if you can get a room,treat yourself!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cosmobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

Stayed in this wonderful hotel from 12th May 2008 for seven nights and we are now desperate to go back! This fantastic oasis is small, stylish and a complete paradise to relax in. The rooms were extremely well appointed with bathrobes and slippers as an extra personal touch. We had a double room with a view of the garden and pool. The power shower/jet system in the bathroom was great and the double sinks were a really nice touch. Everything was clean and spotless. The pool area was a wonderful oasis to relax in. Shady trees, sunloungers, hammocks and day-beds - absolute heaven. The attentive service from the staff ensured I wanted for nothing, and I fell victim to the freshly baked chocolate cake and tea in the afternoons! The restaurant provides some of the best food in the resort and we were more than happy to eat their a few times during our holiday. Breakfast was more than adequate - there is the buffet you can help yourself to or you can order hot items such as omelettes and scrambled egg. The inside of the restaurant has a bar area which is cosy and friendly, and because this is a small hotel, it's really easy to mingle with other guests - we met and chatted to some lovely people who were staying there at the same time, and were not suprised when some of them told us they had stayed there before. I can't fault the staff - they were superb and very attentive, and they went out of their way to make sure you were enjoying your stay. Another great touch is that on your last day you can keep your room until you are picked up to go to the airport. No need to check out and then sweat all day in your travel clothes before leaving. This hotel was a perfect 'home from home'.

Ok, let's talk about the noise issue as mentioned in previous reviews. When you take into account the location of this hotel - i.e, in the middle of the resort on the beachfront, then you do need to expect some noise. As we had done our research and made a note of what other folk had said about the noise, we turned up fully armed with foam ear plugs. From what we could gather, the noise really only comes from the 'Help Bar' which is next door to the hotel. This appears to be the only place that plays loud music, and we think it lasted until about 1am. This could be due to the low season in May so it might last longer during high season. I can assure you though, that we had no problems sleeping as the ear plugs worked a treat. After a couple of nights, I actually didn't bother with the plugs as you kind of got used to it being a 'background' noise. So yes, there is noise, it's not that bad, but definitley DO take ear plugs as a precaution.

It was a great holiday. Oludeniz is a small resort with plenty to do and see and the hotel was the icing on the cake. We are defintely going back to Oyster Residences and next time we will try to get one of the rooms on the ground floor as they all have a little private garden terrace.

We booked through Sovereign. No complaints about the journey and our rep - Claire - was helpful and knowledgable.

Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Moggets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

The hotel room was very good with our own verandah onto the pool area. We cannot speak more highly of the staff; they were always attentive and friendly. The food in the restraunt was some of the best within the local area and this was a comment made by others also. The breakfast, though simple, was very good compared to other hotels and the staff would prepare something special for you upon request.
At night there was some loud noise from local bars, but this stopped at about 1am. We had read the other comments from guests before we left so armed ourselves with ear-plugs. We had no problems with noise when we used them. The rooms are airconditioned, spacious, clean, very well designed and make you feel like you are staying somewhere special (which you are).
The photgraphs we saw previously on other websites don't do the hotel or the surrounding areas justice.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank UkAndylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.0 mi away
Jade Residence
Jade Residence
#21 of 102 in Oludeniz
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ecclesia Boutique Hotel
Ecclesia Boutique Hotel
#43 of 102 in Oludeniz
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beyaz Yunus Hotel
Beyaz Yunus Hotel
#1 of 102 in Oludeniz
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mozaik Boutique Hotel Rooms & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#15 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Residences

Address: Oludeniz Mahallesi, Belcekiz Mevki, 224 Sok. No: 1, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Oludeniz
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
#19 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
#30 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: £57 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a traditional Fethiye stone house surrounded by olive trees, Oyster Residences provides air conditioned rooms with balconies and free Wi-Fi. It features an outdoor pool and grounds with lounge beds. A minibar and a TV are in each room at Oyster Residences. All rooms come with private modern bathrooms and are decorated in pastel colors. Some rooms include a private furnished terrace. A range of dishes are served at Oyster's restaurant. Guests can eat outside on the terrace or relax with a drink lounge. Massage treatments are offered and guests can enjoy reading the hotel's private library. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oyster Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Residence Oludeniz Hotel Oludeniz
Oyster Residence Hotel Oludeniz
Oludeniz Oyster Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing