We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this hotel - but some people just love to complain!”
Review of Oyster Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oyster Residences
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Reviewed 5 November 2008

We loved this hotel!!

Olu Deniz wasn't what we hoped - too many tacky shops, Full English breakfasts and premier league football in bars for our taste. The only place we found proper Turkish food was in the hotel - so we were relieved it was so good.

The hotel itself is a haven of tranquillity - yes even with the music next door at night. I can honestly say that we were aware of it but the bed was so comfy it didn't disturb us a bit - we slept like logs every night.

Our main source of entertainment was sitting by the pool drinking apple tea - and watching one or two other guests who only wanted to moan or complain about insignificant things and made us ashamed to be Scottish!

We'd love to pick up this hotel and put it somewhere more chic - it deserves better surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skyewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2008

Stayed at hotel during middle of October 08 - Lovely hotel - staff and owner very friendly. Went on boat trip organised by owner of hotel it was a wonderful day out. Rooms nice - but a bit on the dark side - bath was a bit high to get in and out of but ok - not for anyone with limited mobility. Location of hotel was perfect till about 11 at night when the bar next door cranked up the volume. A fellow guest gave me some ear plugs - managed to sleep through it most nights. Local restaurants were excellent - the Sultan Ahmed and the Lemon Tree being top of the list. Food and drink was more expensive than we thaught - roughly £10 for a couple of cocktails - two of those and the noise just fades away.
Resort was starting to close down at this time of year but still plenty of places to eat and drink. Would recomend a trip to the local markets just to experience the wonderful variety of fruit,veg and spices - very colourful. All in all a good holiday once you get used to the night life so come prepared to stay up all night or bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tired48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

Terrific hotel but dragged down by the noise coming from the adjoining bar, HELP, from 2300 to 0300 every night.
No extras, eg, free afternoon cup of tea or tea makers in the rooms.
Breakfasts okay, but fresh orange juice was provided at an extra charge.
Food in hotel good but expensive, even compared with the other restaurants around.
Pool area terrific, although people are still reserving sunbeds, and I must admit so did I.
Rooms are very good and kept spotlessly clean. The staff are very good and always there if you want something. Towels are changed daily and bedlinen three times when we were there.
Bath and showers difficult to get in, especially if you have hip or knee problems.
Without the bar next door, which we understand could be owned by the Oyster, I would not hesitate to give it an Excellent rating, however the noise at night drags it down to an Okay rating.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank CavalierCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

We have just returned from a week at the oyster for our honeymoon. we arrived at some ungodly hour and shown to our room where we crashed for a few hours then on waking headed for the pool area which was really lovely,clean and quiet and plenty of sun loungers/hammocks/beds/cushions, we then had to change rooms (xl's fault!)and we got a lovely garden terrace room which was perfect with lovely bathroom(2 wash basins) with excellent shower/steam thingy,lots of wardrobe dressing space,bath robes,slippers,large white fluffy towels,cool marble floor and general lovliness.
We spent a lot of our time around the pool/terrace area watching the paragliders above trying not too get burnt as it was still v.hot!
I arranged a turkish bath through reception which was easily done and someone came to collect me and drop me off afterwards(tukish bath recommended preferably at the end of the day!)
There was a well stocked bookshelf with and magazines for the residents to use -i managed to read 4 books in 7 days.So if you forget your books it doesnt matter there is stuff for all tastes.
The bar next door can be noisy but it really didnt bother us we stayed in 116
We ate at the hotel but unfortunately the food was dissapointing I ordered Turkish paella-thinking it would be similar to spanish paella-but no it was rice with a strange sauce and tiny bits of fish, hubby had bbq which he said was crap.
The food at Help next door was very good also excellent pizza at La Mara short walk up road,We also ate at Jade on our last night -although pricey the fish was beautiful and perfectly cooked.
The turks seem to put sauce on everyhing tis wierd,cocktails are good at Help although at 5 quid a pop theyre not cheap- dont need many tho are quite strong!
Well done for reading this far!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathhornsby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Oyster Residence. The hotel is a really special place to stay, it's very pretty, with a smallish pool but as there are only 24 rooms here it's just the right size. A very peaceful place to be during the day considering it is right on the beach, but at night the Help Bar to the left of the hotel and the Buzz Bar to the right of the hotel come alive with very loud music, saying that though we were in room 108 and the noise did not bother us at all. we were advised to take ear plugs which we did, i used mine but my partner did not need to.

One night at 2am our night porter Hamdi who we nicknamed Bambi , rang the police to complain that the music was still going on and that it was too loud and within 20 mins it had stopped all together. It did not put us off our stay here at all and we would certainly stay here again.

Our room was nicely decorated, a lovely bathroom with a great shower.

The owner has a brilliant eye for detail, everything is so pretty and so clean.

A lot of people walking past the hotel on the promenade stopped to look in to the hotel grounds and were surprised at how nice it was.

The menu at the hotel was very nice although we did not eat here as it seemed a little over priced.

Olu Deniz is by no means a cheap holiday , food, drink, in fact everything is quite expensive.

The beach was not quite as nice as we were expecting it to be, it was quite untidy with litter everywhere, however the Blue Lagoon is spotless and is very quiet, as there are signs everywhere saying 'no loud talking' & 'no shouting' & 'no loud music' etc.

Would definitely go back the the Oyster Residence, the staff Hamdi, Mohamid & Mustafa are great people.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

I have never known a hotel that can generate such different reviews from those who love it to those who hate it! This is a nice hotel on the beach front that is quiet during the day but turns into a nightmare at night. It is certainly not suitable for anyone who has mobility problems. A nightmare shower cubicle to climb into everyday, with no handles to hold onto. There are lots of steps and wet stones to walk about on around the gardens when the watering is done each day.
The Help Bar next door starts its music at around 11pm every night and goes on until 3 or 4am and it is loud. We have just returned from a 14 night holiday exhausted through lack of sleep. Olu Deniz is a busy, tacky resort with a stoney beach and expensive restaurants. It reminds me of Spain in the 70's at its worst! On average we paid around £40 - £50 a night for dinner. A milkshake in the hotel is 10 lira around £5!
I can only think that if you are happy to sit up all night drinking the night away and falling into bed then you wouldn't notice the noise but that is not how we personally enjoy spending our time.
I think if you haven't done much travelling then Olu Deniz might seem attractive but if you have been further a field you will be disappointed.
The only redeeming feature of this hotel is the staff. I cannot recommend Hamdi, Mohamed, Mustafa and Ishmael more highly for helping us to survive the ordeal. If it hadn't been for XCEL going bust I would have been home sooner. BEWARE! Our travel agent has submitted a review to the trade website Gazateer to warn other travellers.
We were put into the Honeymoon suite on the last day for late check out. What a joke. I would have cried if I had arrived to find myself in this room for two weeks on honeymoon. It is an attic room with skylights no proper windows and coomb ceilings. Neither of us could stand up straight without banging our heads!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CCLEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

I arrived at the hotel in the beginning part of june with my work colleagues.
We were greeted by the hotel owner who was really enthusiastic and welcoming.
The hotel is located immediatley on the beach front with small bars shops and restaurants around.
Even though there is a bar located right next door to the hotel no noise is heard at all!
Go to the bar its a great nights entertainment.
The hotel rooms were decorated all different with contemporary designs and well thought out.
The property is small and intimate and ideal for couples or friends who want to be located in an ideal heaven for their holiday!!

Really would recommend to anyone, you will not be disapointed one bit!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bbbubblehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
2 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
4.6 mi away
Seaview Faralya Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Beyaz Yunus Hotel
Beyaz Yunus Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ocakkoy Holiday Village
Ocakkoy Holiday Village
#82 of 102 in Oludeniz
109 reviews
0 mi away
Jade Residence
Jade Residence
#25 of 102 in Oludeniz
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#12 of 102 in Oludeniz
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Residences

Address: Oludeniz Mahallesi, Belcekiz Mevki, 224 Sok. No: 1, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Oludeniz
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
#18 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: £55 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a traditional Fethiye stone house surrounded by olive trees, Oyster Residences provides air conditioned rooms with balconies and free Wi-Fi. It features an outdoor pool and grounds with lounge beds. A minibar and a TV are in each room at Oyster Residences. All rooms come with private modern bathrooms and are decorated in pastel colors. Some rooms include a private furnished terrace. A range of dishes are served at Oyster's restaurant. Guests can eat outside on the terrace or relax with a drink lounge. Massage treatments are offered and guests can enjoy reading the hotel's private library. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Oyster Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Residence Oludeniz Hotel Oludeniz
Oyster Residence Hotel Oludeniz
Oludeniz Oyster Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing