We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit to Turkey”
Review of Mavruka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mavruka Hotel
Ranked #65 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First time visit to Turkey”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I had a lovely 11 night holiday at the Mavruka Hotel in September. The facilities are really clean and tidy with a lovely swimming pool (our room maid was excellent), incuding air con. We were on B&B board so we only had breakfast at the hotel which is basic but enough to start the day off - don't go half board as there are loads of very good restaurants in town at great prices. The hotel is situated 2 minutes walk from "The Strip" where there are loads of restaurants and bars, but you don't get any late night noise at the hotel despite being so close. It's only 5 minutes walk to the town beach where there are more seafront bars and restaurants and the Blue Lagoon is about a 20 minute walk away. The local bus and Dolmus stop is only just over 5 minutes walk away with easy and cheap access to Ovacik, Hisaronu and Fethiye. I'd recommend the Mavruka Hotel and would like to think that I can visit again. Thanks to Mehmet and his English partner Angela and to Rhammy too who despite looking miserable has a very dry sense of humour if you have a chat with him - they all worked tirelessly to look after everyone. The actual hotel manager is a bit of a miserable sod and he was the only one who acted ignorantly, but he didn't spoil our holiday! The Terrace bar is good to have a drink (and watch sport on the TV) - just watch out for the mozzies. Silly hotel policy about not bringing your own bottled water on to the premises. This and the ignorant hotel manager are my reason for only giving 4 out of 5 instead of the full 5.

Room Tip: As for one in the 200's as this is actually on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    190
    87
    36
    30
See reviews for
174
272
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Unlike some we found the room noisy but were, I suspect allocated the Travel republic 'specials' which had no aspect whatsoever.Our neighbours in 201 had the same experience and the noise from the Terrace Bar and adjacent Hotels necessitated keeping the window shut , which also kept the mosquitoes out.
The room and shower etc was spotless and towels wer renewed daily and we gave the cleaner a generous tip on leaving.
However, the attitude of the Hotel was one of grab and grab and we were glad to take other reviewers advice and go B and B only.
The breakfast was basic to say the least and when we arrived to be asked as to whether we would like a safe key, ( extra cost) and the fridge to be turned on ( extra cost ), we quickly assessed as to what this Hotel was about. Car parking by the way is ALSO charged daily.
The bizzarre bit about this is that you were not allowed into the Hotel with any food from outside and that included the water so what was the b****dy point of having a fridge, although one of the other guests had to have this on, so as to keep his insulin stable. No reduction or allowance was given whatsoever.
We arrived late and basically there was nothing available, we asked, other than to go onto the main drag and we fortunately stumbled upon Josephs , who were polite, fast and resonable and the food was of good quality. ( I have put in a seperate review for this premises) . The attitude was one of take it or leave it and if you want something we will charge!!
The breakfast was hovered over by a gentleman who had eyes like pi***oles in the snow and an attitude which was brilliantly summed up later on, by him openly helping himself to a guest suntan lotion, when they had gone back to their room, and completely ignoring the fact that one of the gardeners had just fallen off a ladder whilst pruning an Olive tree. I had brought this to his attention but might as well had not bothered. He just smirked.
On departure, the helpful attitude to the non arrival of the booked and confirmed bus, from reception was to go and get some money and pay for a Taxi.
Okay it was near the end of the season and whilst some staff were clearly getting jaded this behaviour is in my view unacceptable.
I will finish with a report I made to the Bar staff about about a lump of broken glass I found by the otherwise immaculate pool side, who instead of thanking me just chucked in the bin thinking it was funny. There had been a breakage the day before apparently according to one of the other guests.
It is not that close to the beach , but closer than some and about 10 mins away to be objective and down a poorly lit side street.

Room Tip: Don't book with Travel republic and then you might get a decent room and definitely do not go ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed in hotel as a group of 5. The experience was amazing roght next to but just off the main strip. So not far to walk 1-2 mins but away from the noise at night. Staff in hotel were great really made an effort to make the group feel welcomed. And had organised Turkish night which was also amazing. Rooms are clean, breakfast cold do with more variety but on the whole a really nice hotel in an amazon location with beautiful views.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just returned from one week at the Mavruka Hotel in Oludeniz on B&B board, as written before there is no need for more as the amount of very, very good places to eat is all around this village and hotel. You are never far from shops or bars and restaurants but on saying that, it is not over bearing. We found everyone staying at this hotel to be friendly and relaxed which also can be said of the entire area. Most of the staff are lovely and smile except the older guy in the food area, would be nice to see him smile sometimes. I know it is near the end of the season but guests are his business. Mehmet and Angela in the bar area are nice and will suggest things for you to see or do if you ask. Most reception staff were good too one tall young lad in the evenings especially, always had a laugh with you if he understood but always a nice smile too, exception was one tall very sternish looking man who hardly ever spoke or cracked a smile. The rooms were of a good size and clean, the maids are very nice and keep the place spotless. Towels replaced every other day. Do not expect a plug in the bathroom basin, we requested one on the day we arrived but never saw one (A person who we spoke to later not staying at this hotel said that most hotels do not have plugs, no problem,toilet paper rolled up and stuffed in plughole did the job)! Hot water was not too forth coming first but when they turned on the boiler it was fine. Do check all charges when you check in so you are aware of what you are expected to pay extra for as it was nearing the end of season we were not charged any extras other than the bar bill. (which was not over the top). Would we go back, "Yes" has to be the answer.

Room Tip: We had 409 which was on same level as reception but far enough away from any noise. the balcony fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just returned from two weeks in OluDeniz with friends B&B basis.

We only do B&B as there are plenty of great places to eat in the village.

This is our third stay here at the Mavruka.

Not a lot has changed in the two years gap since last there, Mehmet and Angela at the terrace bar will look after you well, the rooms are cleaned daily fresh linen and towels every other day.

The rooms are of a good size and well maintained shower always good pressure and plenty hot water.

Only criticism is the £3.00 per day to use the fridge, they frown upon taking even your own water into the hotel, and be aware if you want to pay your room charges by CARD they charge 5% on top.

We attended the Turkish night recommend if you stay that you do this.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatronSilver_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield uk
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hotel is nice,rooms kept clean by hardworking friendly maids.who actually smile when spoken to .My maid room 118 a treasure .
Now for bad side .breakfast awful by any standard.soggy tasteless cornflakes and what was supposed to be coco pops.dry bread .fruit juice is powdered water .had 1 breakfast then the rest of 2 weeks went to cousins bar excellent breakfasts and meals throughout the day.
Back to Mavrucka well I read all reports on the staff Mehmet was supposed to be very friendly "I think not" pushy and miserable UNLESS you favored him by constant drinking and eating in the hotel.He wore a T shirt one day which I told him summed him up GRUMPY!! .Angela yes very nice the elderly guy nearly cracked his face attempting a smile.The Eagle owner who also owns the Tower hotel is as I remembered him when we stayed in the Tower IGNORANT would we stay again .Yes only if the staff changed their attitude .or changed the staff.1 young lad who worked the bar and reception always smiled and said hello ,but I noticed Mehmet bossing him around all day ,poor show Mehmet..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katpurr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday and it was superb. The hotel is spotless the maids clean daily and the staff are always cleaning the pool and restaurant area. The bar staff were fantastic friendly and polite, as were the staff in reception. Breakfast is basic Tukish breakfast which was fine. ALL hotels in Olu Deniz have a no food and drink from outside to be taken in so no problem with this. I am fed up with reading negative comments about the staff you could not get a better bunch, maybe these people posting these comments should dig deeper into their pockets and pay more or look at their behaviour & manners ?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.1 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#11 of 103 in Oludeniz
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ecclesia Boutique Hotel
Ecclesia Boutique Hotel
#58 of 103 in Oludeniz
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Star Hotel
Blue Star Hotel
#48 of 103 in Oludeniz
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oyster Residences
Oyster Residences
#39 of 103 in Oludeniz
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mavi Belce
Mavi Belce
#71 of 103 in Oludeniz
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jade Residence
Jade Residence
#32 of 103 in Oludeniz
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavruka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavruka Hotel

Property: Mavruka Hotel
Address: 228. Sok. No:4, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mavruka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mavruka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavruka Hotel Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing