We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly,family orientated, good food water park if you want it or family swimming pool with shallow end and sectioned off pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Ucel Hotel
Ranked #83 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Bridgend
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly,family orientated, good food water park if you want it or family swimming pool with shallow end and sectioned off pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Was not supposed to come here but glad I did. Was here one day and upgraded from half board to all inclusive. Excellent Turkish night last Thursday. Been on some trips out but quite happy to stay here even when my husband has gone scuba diving.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    30
    28
    7
    17
See reviews for
99
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

we have just come back from holiday and i have to say it was the best ever..t.he rgand ucel is the most cleanest hotel i have stayed in...there was 16 of us that went and none of us could fault it...the staff were awesome..they couldnt do enough for us and were always on hand if we needed them...we all had a good rapport with the staff...even when we left they were there to send us off..maybe wanted to see the back of us as we were a large noisy group lol...would recommend this hotel to any-one...we are getting ready to book up for next year

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed here at the end of May beginning of June and had a fantastic time. All of the staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough for you. The grounds, pool and outside area are kept very clean and the team of staff all work very hard. The water park was ideal for the children and yes it could get slippery but no more than what you would expect if you put a lot of water on any floor, just keep telling your children to walk! The maid service every day was lovely, clean towels daily and they always made the extra effort to leave you a nice suprise. The rooms are clean but maybe a little tired but nothing I would complain about. We had an excellent holiday and will definately be staying at the Grand Ucel again. Thank you to Polat, Ertan, Harrun, Dennis Serhat, cook and all the others that made our holiday so special.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at the Grand Ucel for a week along with approximately 80 other people to celebrate a very good friends 50th birthday. My friend has an apartment nearby, but was having her party at this hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome by the staff and management. Our room was basic, but clean and tidy with a very comfortable bed, I suffer with back problems but sleep very well.

There is a aqua park for residents to use and a very nice pool. The hotel also has a pool table and table tennis table. Breakfast was also included in the price we paid, basic but nice enough if you didn't want to venture out.

Only downside for me was the area is very hilly and I struggled a bit
when walking outside, but the hotel staff were happy to arrange transport or we jumped on one of the frequent and very reasonable priced buses that run by the front of the hotel every couple of minutes.

On the whole we had a fantastic time staying at this hotel and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TAshkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This was our fourth time at this hotel and loved it again.
We have previously stayed here with our 2 older teenagers who did not come with us this time only the three youngest kids came again, we have seven kids.
We have travelled around the world with our children and only started going to Turkey 3 years ago when our youngest girl Jasmine was only a baby and now we love it there, its a great place for families and there is loads to do and see if you want to.
Eating out is really good and great value as we only go on a BB basis there are loads of resteraunts and bars within 10 to 15 mins walking which is nice to do when you have spent a day lazing by the fab pool with loads of sunbeds. We dont have a favourite as most are really good but try JIMMYS across the road from the reception foods really good and the Turkish meat ball dishes are probably the best around, also try the Salhan Hotel just down the road the food is good there as well as its owned and run by the same family as the Grand Ucel.
The exchange rate was really good this year so was great value for money where ever we went.
The water park is great for the kids and well staffed the only thing to warn the kids about is to walk carefully as the floors get very slippery around the water park but still great fun for all.
The staff and the owners of the property are all really nice and help full and cant do enough for you.
There was some entertainment on this year but not every night which were Turkish nights but were good value as you have pay if your on BB as there is food included ,we enjoyed it.
We have gotten to know the owners and they remember us soon as we arrive by name my little girl was even invited to there little boy Omars first birthday party which was really nice and she had a great time and a massive slice of cake.
The bar area goes quiet at night but this is relaxing and makes it easy to get served and plenty of choice of where to sit.
We have always met plenty of nice families each time weve been and stayed in touch with some, and the kids have always made friends including this time.
We have stayed here in both May / June and August / September the summer is a lot busier at the hotel which caters for the Turkish people as well so can get pretty busy but they are really friendly and pleasant most stay on a full board basis so its pretty busy in the evenings but soon goes quiet after around 10.30 local time.
May / June School holiday is a really great time to go and the weather is really good as well but its not as busy everywhere so really nice and cheaper as well.
We book direct with the hotel owners one of which lives in Manchester and we contact her direct, Rhiannon, and do our own flights they also do your transfer which is a private minibus and cheaper as well.
We are already looking for flights for next May / June to go back this time with some of the other family.
We have not had one bad experience in our last 4 times at this hotel its brilliant and friendly and kids just love it.
Tony and Amanda Meehan, Thomas, Nathan and Jasmine.

Room Tip: Gold rooms are really nice, Silver family rooms are basic but spacious look of the draw really as to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We have just come back from staying at The Grand Ucel Hotel. We had a lovely time although there were a couple of things that could have been better. The breakfast in the morning was definitely "geared up" for the Turkish people. This consisted of cold meats, cheese, eggs etc. There was cereals, melon and fresh bread, but after two weeks of melon and bread it did get a bit tedious. During the second week when there were more Turkish than English, additional fruit was provided. There was a big problem with flies and it did put you off a little - a few fly nets over the food would stop this. Also there was next to no entertainment the first week, but then more was laid on the second week. This could have been to mark the end of Ramadam.
The rooms were really clean and spacious, we had a bath and a shower and a minibar and hairdryer are included. There was a kettle with cups and saucers but you do need to take your own tea and coffee.
The pool was extremely clean and there were plenty of sunbeds, We never had a problem getting a bed which was a relief from previous holidays having to get up at 6.30. The waterpark was brilliant for the kids although the only thing to look out for was the slippy marble. The food and drink was expensive as the poolside bar, but there was a good selection on the menu.
There are loads of restaurants nearby, our favourite was Friar Tucks which had televisions a pool table and internet access. Opposite is a chinese/indian restaurant which is co-owned with the manager from Friar Tucks. The food was lovely and not too expensive. Another nice restaurant was The Kings Arms, further up the road.
Hisanarou is a short bus ride away and there you will find loads of shops, bars and restaurants and also a small fair.
We booked a boat trip (6 island tour) which only cost £5.00. pp. They picked us up from our hotel and dropped us back after and it also included a lovely lunch. This was booked through Pioneer Travel in Hisanarou. We also had a Turkish Bath for half price when booking this trip.
The beach is shingle and I would definately recommend beach shoes as it can be very painful to walk on.
My children want to go back next year as they had such a good time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Grand Ucel, this is our second visit to Ovacik, the first time we stayed in the YEL (more like HELL)!! and we spent most of our time here and decided to stay at the hotel this year> what a good decision this was.
The hotel rooms are massive, we stayed in a gold family room which is 2 ajoining rooms one with a double bed and the other with 2 singles, loads of wardrobe space and small bedside tables with cupboards, 2 bathrooms with showers which was excellent for us with a family of 4 with 2 kids aged 11 and 13, they had their own space and so did we which was great. Our room overlooked the waterpark which only opens at 10am so we had a lie in every day, the pool to the hotel was just down the pathway from our room too, a couple of days we went round the waterpark to sunbathe and the rest we stayed round the hotel pool and the kids just went to the waterpark on their own, this is an ideal place to stay as you have the choice of the hotel pool or the waterpark or both! we never found a problem getting sunbeds whatever time we got to the poolside so there was no rushing to get up and be like a german!
The staff at both the waterpark and the hotel we couldnt fault so friendly and always smilling. They would go out of the way to help whenever they could.
The airconditioning is excellent too in the rooms and easy to work. The rooms have a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer in the bathroom which for a change was good too.
The food for breakfast was a general continental breakfast, breads meats salads cereal(loads of dif types) condiments jams/honey/yoghurts, juices and water tea and coffee enough to fill you up for lunch. The water park has a great cafe with plenty of choice pizza burger sandwiches anything really and they would make you somat not on the menu if they could. Drinks beer or soft drinks available too (loads of choice) and they would take it wherever you wanted it if you didnt want to eat at the tables. Really the staff there were fab!
The pools were crystal clear day after day.
We promise we are not the owners of the hotel, it was just that good and deserves this review hence we have just booked again for next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison2118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
1.1 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sahra Su Holiday Village & Spa
2.8 mi away
Hotel Oludeniz
Hotel Oludeniz
#69 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#5 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
3.0 mi away
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Ucel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Ucel Hotel

Property: The Grand Ucel Hotel
Address: Ataturk Caddesi-Ovacik, Oludeniz 483700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Ucel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Ucel Hotel is situated in a pine covered valley about 600m above OluDeniz beach & the famous and beautiful ‘Blue Lagoon’ featured in all Turkish brochures. It benefits from the beauty & tranquility of the area, surrounded by mountains and yet only minutes from the beach. The plateau remains cooler during the hot summer months, giving a welcome relief from the heat. Perfect for couples, families and people of all ages, there is something on offer for all ages from the thrills of paragliding, watersports and funfair rides to amazing beaches with room for all at any time of the year and even walking and birdwatching treats at the quieter ends of the season.The local harbour & historic market town of Fethiye, with amazing shopping, bars, nightclubs and restaurants as well as Roman Amphitheatres, Lycian Rock Tombs and Byzantine castle is also on the doorstep.The hotel has been run by the TAHANCI family since 1988 and we have developed a very good relationship with our guests,The staff are always friendly, welcoming and willing to help in any way to make your stay as wonderful as possible. We also have the advantage of many years experience of dealing with guests from England and many other European countries, and have an in-depth knowledge of the area we live in. We are there to help you enjoy your holiday the best way we can -whether that involves relaxing by the pool and in the bar, or, making the most of the activities and trips available in the area. Our staff generally speak very good English and there will always be someone there who can answer your queries - just ask at reception and they will find the person that can best help you whatever your situation. On this site we have included some information about the hotel, local area and activities available during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel, and wish you a happy holiday in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Ucel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ucel Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing