We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday, would book Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Ucel Hotel
Ranked #98 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the grand ucel from 8th to 22nd June and had the best holiday ever. We been to turkey many times before and stayed in some posh hotel but we wanted a cheap bed & breakfast, so we could eat out at night. I wasn't expecting the hotel to be great after reading some reviews but we loved it. Rooms are basic but are a good size and clean. Fridge was empty so we went to the local supermarket and stocked up on water and drinks. The pools are lovely. 2 pools one for sunbathing and swimming and the aqua park which we got free as staying in the hotel. The aqua park was great the kids n my husband just loved it. Our little boy is 2 and loved the small pool and slides.

The hotel is in an excellent location with the local buses (dolmus) stoping right outside. You can either go to hisoronu or olu deniz. Both places are packed with resturants, bars and shops. Very lively and great atmospheres for couples and families. A good bar in hisoronu is the Fez, good beer and lovely staff. They also do a quiz every Thursday which is fun and it has park on back for kids to play. Good resturants are the Shine for Indian food and the festival for Turkish opposite the fez bar.

You can eat for around £45 for a family of 4 inc drinks. Lots of places do 3 courses for 20lira which is £8 !! And a beer is around 6lira so £2.30. We loved this resort and hotel and are going to go back next year. Don't be but off by people's poor comments on here. This hotel is excellent value for money. It's a 3 star but is clean, in a good location and he staff are lovely. It does have a lot of Turkish families on holiday there. So if u like a typical British hotel then this is prob not for you. But we loved it.. Xxxx

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank globetrottersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

Just got back from our 9 night stay at this hotel. Was a bit apprehensive after reading a couple of reviews but i can safely say we had a great time.The staff were really helpfull, the maid cleaned the rooms daily and clean towels ,the rooms are basic but clean, so dont book if your expecting luxury. The waterpark was great fun for the kids and again staff were very pleasant and kept the park clean and tidy. We had breakfast each morning which had a wide variety, including jacket potatoes one day ?? wifi was free but not very good, when i enquired about air con we got it free as we booked with Travel Republic so that might be worth a look.Really pleased with the hotel and would consider going back again. Exchange rate was much better there than in england so would advise to change your money in turkey, had the most amazing evening in The Hangout which is in oul deniz over looking the beach. The food was reasonably priced and lovely, the view watching the sun go down was breath taking, and they recline the roof and sides so you have the perfect view. Had an amazing time so much to do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spiteriormes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We had high expectations of this hotel and were looking forward to staying there, being in a large group of 13( with 5 children under 6) but before we had even arrived, we were being ripped off by them. We booked a minibus taxi through the hotel and they insisted we pay them and not the driver (we later found the reason to be the difference of 120TL! They quoted us 270TL and the driver said 150. Bad to say the least.

We decided to stay half board and food was adequate. Only tea available is Turkish tea and no hot milk at breakfast. The hot food served at breakfast was not very appetising - a choice of 3 hot dishes- nothing vegetarian. Dinner was also average- lots of choice of cold dishes- salads, sauces, vegetables but very little variety on hot food and again, nothing vegetarian.

We were excited to read 'garden views' and 'deluxe room' on our reservation forms, but in reality, the rooms were very basic, small and not very deluxe at all. No tea/coffee facilities and TV all Turkish except World News.

There seemed to be a Large group of young people staying at the hotel and our room was on the corridor of there's. during our entire first night, all they seemed to do was run up and down the corridor and scream and shout. None of us slept a wink. We complained to reception, who did nothing and didn't really seemed bothered that we were very unhappy.

Only one person at reception spoke and understood English, which was frustrating when trying to communicate.

The children loved the aqua park and this was a lovely area for them to play.

The man working the pool restaurant tried to overcharge my husband by 10TL for Chips and luckily he saw the actual price on the menu and pointed it out to him.

The check out is very early (12pm) and our flight wasn't until the evening. We had no option but to ask for a late check out. We had booked 3 rooms at this hotel and thought that they may take this into consideration, but no, another money making scam. We were charged 60TL for the extra time. Totally ridiculous.

The hotel lies on a main road, which is convenient for public transport and being halfway between Oludeniz and Fethiye was good also. Not much else around that you can walk too though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mala J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Well we have not long been back fom our 3rd time at this hotel and we have already booked for next year! Why? I hear u say! But we really cant find anywhere better, the staff are fntastic and really cant do anymore to help you, the rooms are comfortable (yes even the beds) the pools and slides keep the kids entertained all day, the views stunning, the location fantastic ( dolmus stops right outside the hotel) easy access to all neighbouing resorts ovacik, hisaronu, oludinez, and fethiye and again lost of good times had there! Special mention to Serhet thanks for looking after us each morning with our breakfast and entertainng Nathan. Miss you all already nd cnt waut till next year xxx

Room Tip: All rooms excellent if travelling with children then silver or gold rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alison2118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Great Location, Close to all places to see, family freindly. The kids had a fantastic time with the water slides. the staff were very freindly and helpfull. This was my second time at this hotel and the service level has improved by 100%. would recommend for families.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serdar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We went to visit the Aquapark at the hotel but when we arrived it had brought its closing time forward from that advertised on the website and we would only have 45mins to enjoy. We also had a voucher printed from the website to get reduced entry. However when we arrived we were told that the website was out of date, the price had gone up, hours changed and the voucher no longer valid. To go in they wanted us to pay 30 Lira per person - for 45 mins!

The receptionist apologised that the website was out of date (even though it was still live and we had checked it that morning) and as there was only 45mins left of opening we could go in for free - we explained that we were happy to pay the 'advertised' rate of 10 Lira on the website but she just told us to go in. However when we went in the 'Manager' of the Aquapark said that we had to pay or leave - we tried to explain that the receptionist had let us in but he got very angry, shouted at us and that he didn't care. He would not let us explain that we were happy to pay the advertised rate and about the confusion but instead he got ruder and more aggressive until we left.

Do not go here unless you want to be ripped off and shouted at. Save you Lira for somewhere else where they understand the basics of customer services and updating their website.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EmilyVNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Fantastic hotel, close to all the nearby restaurants, bars, beaches and shops. The rooms were very clean and the pool beautiful. My husband and I went on a couple of great days out and we particularly loved the 4x4 adventure, great fun! It was my husbands 50th birthday when we went and we had one of the best meals I have ever tasted in the nearby ottoman restaurant, just lovely, loverlooking the mountains, the most glorious setting! Olu Deniz lagoon is gorgeous and so is Fethiye harbour and a water taxi over to Calis beach is great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristoph70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
1.1 mi away
RED Hotel
RED Hotel
#84 of 102 in Oludeniz
97 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#7 of 102 in Oludeniz
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Oludeniz
Hotel Oludeniz
#68 of 102 in Oludeniz
176 reviews
2.7 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#30 of 102 in Oludeniz
888 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Greenland
Hotel Greenland
#15 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Ucel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Ucel Hotel

Address: Ataturk Caddesi-Ovacik, Oludeniz 483700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range: £38 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Ucel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Ucel Hotel is situated in a pine covered valley about 600m above OluDeniz beach & the famous and beautiful ‘Blue Lagoon’ featured in all Turkish brochures. It benefits from the beauty & tranquility of the area, surrounded by mountains and yet only minutes from the beach. The plateau remains cooler during the hot summer months, giving a welcome relief from the heat. Perfect for couples, families and people of all ages, there is something on offer for all ages from the thrills of paragliding, watersports and funfair rides to amazing beaches with room for all at any time of the year and even walking and birdwatching treats at the quieter ends of the season.The local harbour & historic market town of Fethiye, with amazing shopping, bars, nightclubs and restaurants as well as Roman Amphitheatres, Lycian Rock Tombs and Byzantine castle is also on the doorstep.The hotel has been run by the TAHANCI family since 1988 and we have developed a very good relationship with our guests,The staff are always friendly, welcoming and willing to help in any way to make your stay as wonderful as possible. We also have the advantage of many years experience of dealing with guests from England and many other European countries, and have an in-depth knowledge of the area we live in. We are there to help you enjoy your holiday the best way we can -whether that involves relaxing by the pool and in the bar, or, making the most of the activities and trips available in the area. Our staff generally speak very good English and there will always be someone there who can answer your queries - just ask at reception and they will find the person that can best help you whatever your situation. On this site we have included some information about the hotel, local area and activities available during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel, and wish you a happy holiday in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Ucel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ucel Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing