We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came as guests but left feeling like family..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Ucel Hotel
Ranked #98 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Reviewed 15 October 2013

What a fantastic atmosphere!

This hotel is all about family and fun.. The staff treated us and our kids as they would their own loved ones. The kids got lots of complimentary treats and, a year on, still haven't forgotten their many new uncles..

Great weekly entertainment that is appropriate for ALL age groups in-spite of the time of day..

The rooms are basic but clean and it's well worth signing on for the ALL INCLUSIVE or HALF BOARD dining option as there's very few options that are as good.

A great plus for families is the attached WATERPARK! My husband, in particular, loved this.

The hotel is set in Ovacik/Hisoranou but only a very cheap and quick bus ride away from the main tourist areas of Olu Deniz and Fetiye Bay..

Worthwhile sites include Patara Beach, Kaya Koy (Ghost Town) and the mountain retreat of Yaka Park Restaurant, only minutes from the TLOS RUINS.. Don't be tempted to try the newer copy cats.. Make the drive straight to the top of the mountain and turn LEFT. The real Yaka Park is an outdoor venue.

Also recommended is the Dalyan boat trip to Turtle Bay.. Amazing ruins and wildlife on offer. If you get the chance, definitely try the freshly caught/grilled BLUE CRAB on offer from local villagers scouring the waters.. :)

Room Tip: Ask to change your room if you're unhappy.. They are VERY accommodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarraDarabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

I couldn't fault the hotel for anything. We stayed 14 nights in silver room, which although only basic, they had everything required for an enjoyable holiday. Room very large for 2 adults and 2 kids (13 & 10), rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels.

Staff both in hotel and water park were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. Hotel pool was great and connecting Water Park was brilliant for Kids and Adults.

We chose Bed & Breakfast, which is probably the best board basis. Breakfast was very basic, cereal, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, Turkish meats, fresh salad & fruit, fresh bread, toast, nuttella, jam etc and very nice coffee, tea or fruit juices. It wasn`t English, but it served a purpose and filled an hole. But Full English breakfast 1 minute walk away was only £3.

Meals of a night in Hisonaru and Oli Deniz were incredible and cheap. Top quality produce and cooking at really good prices. Turkish Ivy & Castello`s really good in Hisonaru and Harry`s Bar in Oli Deniz outstanding, but all restaraunts we ate in were great.

Overall great hotel, great base and great holiday. Booked again for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ste1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just returned from 12 night holiday to the Grand Ucel. It was a nice hotel, lovely swimming pool and the water park was quite good too. We have been to Turkey 6 times and we prefer to stay in Olu Deniz. The room was nice and big.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calshort40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Well what can I say. I usually only review a place if it is either really good or very disappointing. Unfortunately this review is the latter.
I wasn’t sure what to expect from this hotel as the reviews are mixed - I certainly wasn’t expecting the Ritz but the room we were given was more like a hostel lodging for backpackers.
We booked a family room as my daughter is 8 and likes her own space. The rooms themselves were big but also cold, bare and soulless. The mini fridge was a full sized fridge just wacked in the twin room. The tea & coffee making facilities consisted of an old plastic kettle on top of said fridge and 2 dirty looking cups. No furniture matched and what was there was old, broken and the paint peeling. The bathroom was dark & dingy and the shower could barely contain my skinny daughter so lord help you if you are bigger than an 8 yr old. A crappy old TV circa 1985 was protruding from the wall in the main bedroom, jutting out like an eye-sore and an accident waiting to happen.
All this aside, it is nothing compared to the beds & pillows which were like rocks and a light blanket so scratchy it may well have been made out of hay (with not even a sheet provided to avoid the itch). I'm not overtly fussy when it comes to such things, I camp at festivals and have travelled in Asia - however I do expect a decent nights sleep from a 3 star hotel describing themselves as 'Grand'. In addition to this, we were in a room at the front of the hotel - which is fine - unless of course said hotel is located by a mosque and you are not used to the 5am prayer calls. Whilst I appreciate Turkey is a Muslim country, I have brought this point up because if, like me, you go on holiday for a bit of R&R (even with the kids) you might struggle with this daily wake up call.
Needless to say by the next morning I had made the decision to see what other rooms the hotel had to offer or ship out which was not ideal in high season. The Manager and his very sweet wife were able to offer an upgrade to a Deluxe room which was at the back of the hotel and much nicer inside; however it meant that we were now all in one room together and the beds were the same throughout the hotel, therefore rock solid. It actually came to a point where I took the mattress off of a put-me-up bed left in the corridor for my daughter and I used an old duvet (with no cover on) to sleep on in an attempt to cushion my aching body. The mosque calls were marginally quieter at this part of the hotel however still disturbed my sleep - then again, I guess being a mother makes you a light sleeper.
My final negative comment, like everyone else, is the breakfasts. I don’t expect a full English to be served and appreciate it is a Turkish hotel with a mainly Turkish clientele; however what was on offer was below standard. Cut up pieces of strange hot-dog pieces swimming in grease, questionable fluorescent pink circles trying to imitate meat but looking more like a radiation experiment gone horribly wrong and cheese so anaemic I needed a blood transfusion just looking at it. To be fair, they did have an omelette chef twice in the 10days we were there, unfortunately it’s sods law that we had excursions booked for both days and had to set off early.
Onto the positive comments now … the pool is good and the water park is a great distraction for the kids if they get bored of pool hanging. The staff at both the waterpark and the hotel are lovely and work so hard, especially the bar staff who seem to work round the clock but are always happy. The location is decent enough and the dolmus (local buses) are a cheap and effective way of getting around the local area.
Oludeniz and Fethiye were our favourite places to go. Fethiye has more of Moroccan / souk feel to it. If you go you must try the restaurant Mozaik Bahce. Just go into the fish market and ask one of the guys there they will be able to tell you where it is as it’s a little gem. We also went to the oldest Turkish bath in the area there and it was lovely. If you are there it is worth taking a walk to the marina and booking a day trip directly with the guys down there. We opted for a 12 island cruise on a small boat (some of them are packed) with a wonderful BBQ lunch on board. Highly recommended.
Oludeniz is the beach area and has some lovely rooftop restaurants, perfect for sun-downers. Jade was a firm favourite of ours serving the best fillet steak. They also have big white lounging sofa’s and a huge aquarium tank. It is also a boutique hotel downstairs which looks truly magical - I was gutted that I didn’t book to stay here! Buzz, a couple of doors down, was also a great sunset spot and the food looked lovely.
Hisaronu is the party strip where the teenagers flock. Kind of Malia meets Tenerife. Lots of neon lights, tattoo parlours and all you can eat Chinese and Indian. Personally not my scene but good if you have older kids.
Overall, despite the lack of sleep and the need for a deep tissue massage upon our return, it was a good holiday. Turkey is a very economic location compared to other destinations as it is not in the EU. Would I return again? Probably not. But it was worth a visit.

Room Tip: Do not book a family room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veryhungrycatapillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the grand UCEL in late August this year and the write up said the hotel had just been refurbed and was a 3* so we thought after a refurb it would be almost a new hotel to stay at. We got that wrong it is quite a scruffy hotel the finishes are not up to western standards and being a builder they stood out to me, that being said after our initial impression of oh no this isn't very nice we settled in and had a great holiday the pool area is fine the location is great as you are in the middle of fethiye,hisaranou and oludeniz and we would highly recommend turkey and we will definitely be back, our first trip has been fantastic the weather is unbelievable and the people are so nice and they adore children.i would like to add the breakfast here is a joke it is salad everyday watermelon and some weird cheese and processed meat not what we are used to and generally don't have it in two weeks it hasn't changed once and the last few day there has been two weddings which completely take over the pool and restaurant area, they shunt all the sun beds up onto a raised deck of about 1.5 meters which is crap for me with two children under 5 and you are also about a 20-30 meter walk away from the pool which again isn't ideal we can't sit on our beds a by poolside within reach of the kids I found this unacceptable and will not be back as my child safety is second to a poxy wedding

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samsam802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Grand Ucel, 16 of us in all, and every last one of us loved this hotel immensely and are already planning a return.

To begin with we booked directly with the hotel, namely Rhiannon, who was a pleasure to deal with and dealt with any questions or problems promptly.

When we landed at Dalaman, our transfer was waiting, as arranged by Rhiannon when booking; and took us to the hotel. When we arrived in the early hours we were all very excited as first impressions were very grand indeed, as was meeting the big man (Polat) for the first time who was very welcoming. We were checked into our rooms, with the help of plenty of friendly staff and managed to squeeze in a quick drink before bed - which the staff were only too pleased to serve.

I cannot say enough about having the Aqua Park so close, especially when trying to keep kids entertained; I also have to mention Tanju (Curly) and the other guys on the aqua park who were brill with the kids, even playing with them after the park had shut!

The guys on the bar, Enes and Sal, are more than just staff but we now consider them our “cousins” :) and would welcome them at our homes anytime…I would also recommend taking part in the Guests v Staff football game too, they get very annoyed at losing to drunken, overweight and unfit Englishmen, ha-ha!! The guys in the restaurant (Kerim, Azad, Burat, Mumu) may only speak a little English but we could still understand how the Turkish sulk, haha. All top guys! Lol

All in all, this place is fantastic, the location and especially the staff are the best I’ve ever experienced in 7 visits to various areas in Turkey. The location enables you to experience different types of holidays too, i.e. quieter (Ovacik), beach front (Olu Deniz), party time (Hisaronu), harbour (Fetiyhe).

In conclusion, we would recommend a stay to anyone and would like to thank everyone at Grand Ucel for a fantastic 2 weeks!

Room Tip: Whilst we didn't really eat at the hotel, we can't comment; however, nearby we can definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Hotel was 80% Turkish guests during our stay in early July with the rest being mainly Scandinavian with a few English/Scottish families.
The hotel's food was buffet and ok, but not a single concession to UK tastes/diet - not even milk put out for the tea made with rubbish yellow label tea bags. Worse, the breakfast buffet was absolutely identical every single day we were there - the only thing that seemed to change was how they sliced the watermelon! The buffet is comprehensive, and does have sliced bread and a toaster, boiled eggs etc, but very little fruit, very few cereals(with UHT milk),and loads of olives, herbs, Turkish cheeses, Turkish spam(can't really call it ham)/luncheonmeat, etc.
Only 1 member of the hotel staff spoke any useable English - he was the day receptionist and was exceptionally helpful. Having said that, the owner floated about quite often and his English is good, but he's not obviously the owner although you eventually work out who he is if you're observant.
Our standard double was ridiculously small once the 3rd bed for our 7yr old was inserted, and the balcony was pointless. But everything worked and was in an ok state of repair, although the bathroom extractor was very very noisy. The rooms are basic and perfectly acceptable, but a million miles from luxurious. They're probably on the slope down towards needing a re-furb, but not tired enough to really disappoint anyone other than an inveterate snob.
The rooms didn't have blackout curtains, but some cream coloured viscose drapes which meant you may as well be sleeping on a sun bed once 4.30am has arrived - it is like daylight in the rooms.
The worst part of the hotel, though, was the noise from music: not only do they play Turkish music(I don't think I heard more than 30mins of English music the whole fortnight we were there)very very loudly around the pool all day long - to the point you really cannot hear yourself think, or even talk if you are too close to the speakers by the pool bar. In addition, the music plays very loud until very late at night - and if there's a wedding or other function you can forget any thought of sleep until about 3am, as happened on the 1st night we were there.
The pool is excellent - plenty of loungers with cushions. The waterpark is excellent - plenty of loungers without cushions.
The hotel is a 30 minute walk from Hisaronou - and the road down there is covered with restaurants and bars, as well as all manner of shops selling everything you're likely to need. turn right out of the hotel and 100m away is an Aldi-type supermarket selling most stuff you might want to buy at a fraction of the price of the other street vendors and rip-off merchants. If you want English food - especially an English breakfast - you will be spoiled for choice. If you want anything sophisticated you will be utterly disappointed. The local buses cost approx. 2TL/person for the trip to Hisaronou and about 4TL to Fethiye.
Lastly, unless Black Tower and Blue Nun are your thing avoid Turkish white wine.

Room Tip: For noise reasons choose a room that faces away from the pool/garden area - and avoid the front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ralphblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
1.1 mi away
RED Hotel
RED Hotel
#84 of 102 in Oludeniz
97 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Oludeniz
Hotel Oludeniz
#67 of 102 in Oludeniz
176 reviews
2.7 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#30 of 102 in Oludeniz
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Greenland
Hotel Greenland
#15 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,658 reviews
2.5 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#63 of 102 in Oludeniz
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Ucel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Ucel Hotel

Address: Ataturk Caddesi-Ovacik, Oludeniz 483700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range: £37 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Ucel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Ucel Hotel is situated in a pine covered valley about 600m above OluDeniz beach & the famous and beautiful ‘Blue Lagoon’ featured in all Turkish brochures. It benefits from the beauty & tranquility of the area, surrounded by mountains and yet only minutes from the beach. The plateau remains cooler during the hot summer months, giving a welcome relief from the heat. Perfect for couples, families and people of all ages, there is something on offer for all ages from the thrills of paragliding, watersports and funfair rides to amazing beaches with room for all at any time of the year and even walking and birdwatching treats at the quieter ends of the season.The local harbour & historic market town of Fethiye, with amazing shopping, bars, nightclubs and restaurants as well as Roman Amphitheatres, Lycian Rock Tombs and Byzantine castle is also on the doorstep.The hotel has been run by the TAHANCI family since 1988 and we have developed a very good relationship with our guests,The staff are always friendly, welcoming and willing to help in any way to make your stay as wonderful as possible. We also have the advantage of many years experience of dealing with guests from England and many other European countries, and have an in-depth knowledge of the area we live in. We are there to help you enjoy your holiday the best way we can -whether that involves relaxing by the pool and in the bar, or, making the most of the activities and trips available in the area. Our staff generally speak very good English and there will always be someone there who can answer your queries - just ask at reception and they will find the person that can best help you whatever your situation. On this site we have included some information about the hotel, local area and activities available during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel, and wish you a happy holiday in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Ucel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ucel Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing