We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by its cover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Ucel Hotel
Ranked #93 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
South England
1 review
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
Reviewed 12 August 2009

When we first pulled up outside the hotel at close to midnight, it looked like a five star . The people on reception were really friendly, and there was a dim light around the swimming pool, making it look warm and inviting. Then, we rounded a corner, into a white walled corridor with cracks here and there, but we kept a brave face having persuaded ourselves that the room would be just as nice as the front of the hotel. when we neared the end of the corridor, one of the staff opened the door to our room. It wasn't as nice as the front of the hotel. It wasn't dank and dingy, but it had the same white walls and cracks, and the drawers were hanging out of the 'kitchen' cabinet. The beds were really quite hard, and the blankets were like sleeping under an old bathroom rug. Outside, they play music until 10 to midnight, which is ok, unless you were trying to sleep in mine and my sisters room, which was similiar to opening all of the doors and windows, with the amount of sound coming in. It was a nicer sound level in the double room though. On Turkish night, it was like standing next to the speaker in our room, and there is only so much of that music which a single sane person can take. All in all though, we got used to this, and the rest of the holiday was really quite enjoyable, including the two trips which we took part in, Dalyan and Ethesus and pamakule, which are organised at the front desk. I know this review is just for the hotel, but there are a few retaurants to be recomended. For freindliness, Jimmy's, which can be found opposite the hotel, and shades, in hissaronu, which is found on a right turn past midas touch, just before the place where the road is closed at night. All in all the hotel was pretty basic, but the swimming pool and aqua could be fantastic at times. And it all seemed to become very homely after a while.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    30
    30
    7
    25
See reviews for
108
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We have justed returned from a wonderful holiday at the Grand Ucel. We stayed in one of the apartments with breakfast in the hotel. The breakfast was a truly Turkish affair however children did have the option of some well known British cereals. The hotel pool was spotless and the acqua park provided our daughter with hours of fun.Our rooms were cleaned daily with plenty of fresh clean towels and sheets .The staff were all helpful and friendly .We would definitely go back.
One word of warning - The hotel is not actually in Oludeniz , it is situated in Ovacik near Hisaronu. A short bus trip will take you down to the beautiful lagoon of Oludeniz in 15 minutes and the buses run every ten minutes.Ovacik is surrounded by mountains which means it is cooler at night and often during the day there is a slight breeze which is welcome in the searing Turkish heat. Well worth a visit if you want a relaxing holiday in a quieter area with enough to keep the kids occupied.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyScottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

Christmaseve 2008, cold and almost dark. After a long, difficult journey (including a snowstorm) by car through Anatolia (Turkey) I finally found the hotel. Our internetbooking (three weeks before) was confirmed by them. Yes, confirmed! The door was closed, no lights burning, nobody there. From the inside it showed the same coldness and darkness as outside. They decided to close the place during the X-mas season without letting us know. It took us a few extra hours and extra money to find an alternative If this is the way the Grand Ucel approaches their guests they should be taken out of bussiness. My advise: avoid this hotel and book somewhere else. The name: Small Ucel Hotel is even not good enough for them. Peter Quint, the Netherlands.

Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank peterquint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oludeniz hotels

london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Grand Ucel.The hotel itself was very nice.The rooms we stayed in were nicely decorated and extremely clean. The cleaning ladies came daily, did a great job and were very helpful and friendly. The pool area was lovely and the aqua park got busy as it was open to the general public. But it was the first holiday that we went on that we never had any problems getting sunbeds.
We went out to eat everynight as we didnt find the hotel the most enjoyable place to dine in. The first night we had the buffet and found that everyone rushed to get there food as if there wasnt enough for everyone. Instead of relaxing and enjoying a meal, it was a race. Then the waiters had only one thing on their agenda,to collect your plates and clear the tables. I ordered from the A la Carte menu for my son before the buffet started but despite numerous requests,his food didnt arrive until until all the buffet was finished and cleared away.We had a similiar experience on Turkish night so we ate out for the remainder of the holiday, which was more relaxing and the waiters always ensured that you were looked after.
I reccommend the boat trip organized by the hotel. Unlike other boats which were over crowded, this boat was just for the hotel and served a lovely lunch. Take goggles with you as it was great fun swimming with the fish.
We also enjoyed horse riding booked thro Hamish McTurk.We has a beautiful ride to ghost village, in total 2 1/2 hours on the horse.Wear long trousers if you intend to do this .
The only thing that annoyed me about the hotel was that everyday when we bought ice creams, the girl always never bother give me small change. On the 3rd occassion in a row, I asked for the rest of my change which i thought was a cheek for them to keep it. The same day, the pool bar who were very busy,didnt give my children their change. When I complained to the manager, he seemed unimpressed with me for asking for my money. After that, I always made sure that I bought things with the exact money. But just before I got my taxi to the airport, I bought icecreams and guess what? Its such a shame that they do this as the norm.
Overall, it was a lovely hotel,beautiful pools/aqua park and very clean. It would be even nicer if the waiters could concentrate on the guests as well as clearing dishes.

  • Liked — aqua park and cleanliness
  • Disliked — staff need to chill out
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2008

We (my mum myself and my two chıldren aged 12 and 8) had booked 2 weeks at the Grand Ucel ın one of their luxury apartments. We were really dısappointed on arrıval as there was nothıng luxury about the apartment at all. Infact ıt was very basıc. We dıdnt fınd the room clean eıther and had to clean the kıtchen area before usıng ıt. There was also a lack of utensıls and although ıt specıfıed ıt was aır condıtıoned only the bedroom was. The towels were changed every other day and the room was supposedly cleaned every other day as well although ıt wasn't obvıous. Our sheets were changed on day 6 whıch I thought was appallıng.

The pool area was clean and nıce but not all sun loungers had mattresses so thıs was hard on your back. The kıds loved the aquapark but watch out for the aqua bar as we always paıd cash but on our hotel bıll there had been 3 charges for food we already paıd for!

Needless to say we stayed just one week and found another hotel to stay ın for week 2 of our holıday. I couldn't recommend the Grand Ucel but the area ıtself ıs great. The Turkısh people are lovely but agaın I dıdn't fınd the staff at the Grand Ucel partıcularly frıendly and consıderıng ıt ıs a famıly run hotel I was surprısed that they dıdn't try and resolve ur problems even though they knew we were levıng early due to the accommodatıon. There are defınately much better hotels to stay ın at the same prıce.

  • Liked — Nothıng
  • Disliked — Standard of rooms and lack of cleanlıness
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JanCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2008

Been back in England for 5 days now and we really miss the Grand Ucel.
Had a look at other properties in Ovacik but for genuine warmth and attentiveness, this place is tops!

Very clean, fantastic pool area and great rooms - unlike some that you can't swing a cat in.

Already re-booked for next June.

Our advice would be to change most of your english money when you arrive in Turkey as the exchange rate is better. Hisaronu has some good eating places. The Ottoman Grill and Mama Mia's have a great atmosphere.

The hotel staff will be very helpful is arranging good trips to choose from.

Happy travelling!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cheshirecat4447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

Me and my husband and 2 teenage daughters have just returned home from staying at The Grand Ucel Hotel in Ovacik, Turkey. We had the best holiday that we have ever had ! The complex is very clean as are the hotel rooms which have maid service every day. The pool is lovely to relax by or there is a water park for the more adventurous, although this gets busy as non residents can use it. Breakfast is a traditional Turkish one (inc in room price) or you can order full English at an extra charge. All the staff are very friendly and welcoming and cannot do enough for you. The majority of them speak excellent English. They are very willing to teach you a few Turkish phrases as well as talk about their country and the customs etc. This was our first time to Turkey and the hotel was recommended to us by friends who are on their 3rd visit to Grand Ucel this year. Our first reaction was disappointment - not because of the hotel - but of its location. The hotel is on a road and it is a good 30 minutes walk to the main town of Hisaronu. We have previously stayed at more picturesque areas than this. However, once we'd got used to this, we soon settled in and in a way, the hotel IS well located because it is not right in the middle of all the nightlife etc. If you do not want to walk, there is a Dolmus (mini bus) service which runs past the hotel every 5 minutes to the town of Hisaronu and only takes a few minutes or you can go the other direction and take a 20 minute bus ride into the town of Fethiye - a lovely harbour town. The bus also takes you to the famous Olu Deniz blue lagoon beaches, only 5 minutes on the bus from Hisaronu. There are many trips that you can go on whilst staying in the area and we booked through Explora - we were advised that they were the best ones to book through. We went Paragliding, horse riding, a day boat trip, a sunset boat trip and a day trip to the Saklikent gorge and the ancient city of Tlos. All the trips are very good value for money. We also visited the village of Kaya where you can see the 'ghost village'. Beaches we visited - Calis beach (Fethiye), Belcekiz beach (Olu Deniz), Sugar beach (Olu Deniz) and Olu Deniz National Park beach, which is owned by the National Trust and there is a charge to enter. This was our favourite beach. Most of the beaches are pebble or shingle. In the evenings we went into Hisaronu. There is a massive amount of restaurants and bars to choose from although it is not too commercialised. Our favourite restaurants were 'El Nino's', 'Festival', 'Shine' and 'Pand'. Steer clear of 'The Lemon Tree' and 'La Mediteranean' - terrible food and service. There is a variety of shops all selling the same things really - turkish delight, clothes, turkish delight, pottery, turkish delight, jewellery, turkish delight....you get the picture ! The waiters in the restaurants are very friendly and flirtatious - but in a nice way! and they enjoy chatting to you. The only hassle you get is when walking past the restaurants and they try to get you to eat there. Just be firm and say 'No Thankyou' or in Turkish - 'Hiyer tessakurrlar '!! (forgive the spelling!). Steer clear of the markets unless you want even more hassle and in some cases downright rudeness and want to buy fake goods etc. Also, watch out for being 'taken in' by shop owners who ask you into their shop for tea and a rest from the heat etc - they have an ulterior motive...We did this and had a wonderful experience in Fethiye with a young Turkish man who was very chatty and friendly and before we knew it, we'd spent 48 YTL on spices !!! We stayed at The Grand Ucel for 2 weeks and combining the quietness of the hotel with a few trips out, we had a truly wonderful holiday. We will recommend it to all our friends and family and anyone who will listen ! Just bear in mind the location and if you don't mind that, you'll love it ! One last thing, if you are flying from Dalaman airport, take your own drinks and snacks etc because the food and drink in there is EXTORTIONATE ! 8 YTL for a coffee, 25 YTL for a KFC !!! Thankyou to Polat, Rhiannon and all the staff for a wonderful holiday !!!

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the complex / rooms
  • Disliked — the location of the hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizsherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
0.3 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Hotel Greenland
Hotel Greenland
#15 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,568 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Oludeniz
Hotel Oludeniz
#69 of 102 in Oludeniz
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#7 of 102 in Oludeniz
548 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
#12 of 102 in Oludeniz
599 reviews
2.3 mi away
Manaspark Hotel Oludeniz
Manaspark Hotel Oludeniz
#32 of 102 in Oludeniz
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Ucel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Ucel Hotel

Property: The Grand Ucel Hotel
Address: Ataturk Caddesi-Ovacik, Oludeniz 483700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Ucel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Ucel Hotel is situated in a pine covered valley about 600m above OluDeniz beach & the famous and beautiful ‘Blue Lagoon’ featured in all Turkish brochures. It benefits from the beauty & tranquility of the area, surrounded by mountains and yet only minutes from the beach. The plateau remains cooler during the hot summer months, giving a welcome relief from the heat. Perfect for couples, families and people of all ages, there is something on offer for all ages from the thrills of paragliding, watersports and funfair rides to amazing beaches with room for all at any time of the year and even walking and birdwatching treats at the quieter ends of the season.The local harbour & historic market town of Fethiye, with amazing shopping, bars, nightclubs and restaurants as well as Roman Amphitheatres, Lycian Rock Tombs and Byzantine castle is also on the doorstep.The hotel has been run by the TAHANCI family since 1988 and we have developed a very good relationship with our guests,The staff are always friendly, welcoming and willing to help in any way to make your stay as wonderful as possible. We also have the advantage of many years experience of dealing with guests from England and many other European countries, and have an in-depth knowledge of the area we live in. We are there to help you enjoy your holiday the best way we can -whether that involves relaxing by the pool and in the bar, or, making the most of the activities and trips available in the area. Our staff generally speak very good English and there will always be someone there who can answer your queries - just ask at reception and they will find the person that can best help you whatever your situation. On this site we have included some information about the hotel, local area and activities available during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel, and wish you a happy holiday in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Ucel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ucel Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing