We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Ucel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Ucel Hotel
Ranked #84 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

This place is connected to a water slide park which is free of charge if you are staying overnight. Food, entertainment, and service are good. The prices are reasonable. This is a good place for children 5+. I paid 90 lira per night with breakfast and dinner. Drinks extra
Only drawback, you have to jump on a minibus to get to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank istanbuljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    29
    28
    7
    17
See reviews for
98
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Stayed at the Grand Ucel during the school holiday week at end of May/June with my wife and 4 teenagers. We discovered the hotel August 2009 when we visited the adjoining waterpark to escape the intense heat of Olu Deniz.
We were pleasantly suprised to discover that although less than 10 minutes away from Olu Deniz, because Ovacik is much higher up, we found the weather much more comfortable and slightly fresher.
We met the owner Rhiannon who gave us a tour of the hotel and we immediately noticed now much more space there was than the Asena Beach in Olu Deniz where we were staying. It just seemed a lot more spread out and the pool area was not overcrowded like where we were staying.
We decided to book the holiday Jan 2010 direct with the owner and we got free entry to the waterpark and free airconditioning in our rooms. We booked our own flights and Rhiannon arranged for a taxi transfer to and from the hotel which worked really well and we arrived at the Hotel 45 minutes after leaving Dalaman Airport.
The hotel is situated about a 20 minute walk or 5 mins on the dolmus from Hisaronu which is a very lively resort full of bars, restaurants and shops also above Olu Deniz which is about 5 mins further down another steep hill.
It was a pleasant walk down to Hisonaru each night - I would strongly recommend the Friar Tuck restaurant which is one of the first restaurants that you will walk past on the way to Hisaronu, but we were always glad to return to the peace and tranquility of Grand Ucel at the end of the night.
The hotel - family run with friendly and efficient staff . The rooms are typically turkish ie on the small side but the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were modern with a very good shower. The maids were very attentive and kept our rooms immaculate.
The pool area was really nice and there were more than enough sunbeds. There was never a need get up early to reserve a sunbed which I had to do last year at the Asena Beach. We had 3 rooms all over looking each other with a very pleasant garden and mountain view and we did not suffer any noise problems.
The breakfast was typically turkish - ham, cheese, salami,olives, with a few cereals, boiled eggs, fried potatoes, fresh bread, jams, tea, coffee and fruitjuice - nothing special but very adequate. We never tried the evening meal because we like to eat out. Every meal we had was good and we would recommend that you try Friar Tucks in Ovacik - very reasonably priced family run restaurant and Toscana in Olu Deniz, which is a very busy Italian/ Mexican restaurant - booking advisable.
It was very easy to get about between Fetiyhe, Ovacik, Hisonaru and Olu Deniz either by the Dolmus or as in our case by taxi ( because they can take 6 people on most taxis with 2 rear facing seats.
We really enjoyed this holiday which worked for us as a family. It would be very easy to comment on small faults. As far as we were concerned, the owner ( Rhiannon's husband Polat ) was very visible and constantly enquiring whether we were enjoying our holiday and any minor niggles were instantly sorted out.
Well done Grand Ucel and thank you for a great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheppybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

Having stayed at The Grand Ucel in August 2006 we were happy to come back in 2007. During our first visit we had our teenage daughter with us and found we were very popular, noting was too much trouble and we were catered for 100%.
Went back in 2007 - without said daughter. OMG what a difference. Staff on reception, miserable, unpleasent and unhelpful. Owners and staff whom we had spent time with the previous year could barely take the time out to say good morning. One member of staff "Etan" was particulary rude. Food was diabolical and public areas could have been cleaner. The only person who was anything like decent was a waiter called "Vulcan" and the poor bloke looked so fed up.
The waterpark isn't all its cracked up to be, 4 maybe 5 slides, kids were getting bored really quickly. Half the balls were missing from the pool table and there was glass and vomit in the childrens pool. I notifed the staff that the pool was unsuitable for use and no one did a thing about it. Not even when a toddler cut his foot.
We work hard to pay for our holidays and this place isn't the cheapest. 4 star - no way, basic basic basic. We look that area of Turkey but wouldn't go back to the Grand Ucel.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bettyboo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

I stated at the Grand Ucel hotel in August last year for 2 weeks. The rooms were lovely and very clean and also cleaned every day. The staff were very helpful and polite. We went self catering but went to the pool snack bar each day for lunch and the food was really nice and great value for money serving everything from a quick snack to meals. the pool was beautiful with a cave that you could swin in, to have some shade from the sun, which is great for children, there is also a cave around the pool area where you can relax out of the sun. The water park was great and we had alot of fun there, there are slides for children of all ages. There was plenty of bed around the pool, we were arriving at the pool arounf 10.30 and never had trouble getting sunbeds. The only downside was the location as its was out of the way of all the night life but directly across the road there is a dolmus that takes you straight in to hisaranu or olu deniz which was really cheap and only takes 5 mins. would deffinatley go back.... Best holiday in a long time!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

I have been to Turkey many times since the early 1990's.

I know the owners of both the Grand Ucel Hotel and the Salhan Apart Inn so can verify that the owner can be fine if all is well but uncooperative and unhelpful if any complaints or issues are raised. Its better to call his wife or brother Polat who are more approachable.

The risk of mosquito bites is high, I'm not sure why that is (even my partner who never gets bitten was riddled with them when he last stayed there).

This Hotel is not in Olu Deniz which is a dolmus ride away. Both establishments are on a busy road but there is good access to public transport taking you into Oludeniz or Fethiye.

We always eat in Fethiye or Calis as the food and service is much better.

The aqua park is OK but not to standards in other countries. There are no lockers so if you are just visiting take minimal valuables with you. They stop running the water half an hour before the aqua park is closed so go in plenty of time before it closes.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Munbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

Grand Ucel is NOT and never will be a 4 star hotel. I have been going to Turkey since 1995 and this hotel cannot hide behind the fact that 'its Turkey and its basic' because this hotel simply should and could be better for the money.

Rooms - dated with broken air con and broken fridge. Hardest beds in the world and constant noise from the road outside.

Staff - Turkish lads are nice fellas and work hard.. although try and short change you so watch out. Hotel owner is an arrogant man who gets offended and aggressive if you tell him anything is wrong.

Pool - Nice atmosphere.. shame about the prices they 'try' and rip you off with.

Seriously, i have been going to Turkey for many years and have NEVER found reason to complain.. but don't stay at the Ucel... there are many hotels that treat you better and are better quality and value for money..

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HendraCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south england
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

Apologies for a false fact that was included in my previous review. I mentioned that the trips were organised at the front desk, which was incorrect. They were actually booked with a company called pioneer travel. I hope this mistake has caused no inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samt1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
2.3 mi away
Manaspark Hotel Oludeniz
Manaspark Hotel Oludeniz
#26 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#5 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Oludeniz
Hotel Oludeniz
#70 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leytur Hotel
Leytur Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Ucel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Ucel Hotel

Property: The Grand Ucel Hotel
Address: Ataturk Caddesi-Ovacik, Oludeniz 483700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Ucel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Ucel Hotel is situated in a pine covered valley about 600m above OluDeniz beach & the famous and beautiful ‘Blue Lagoon’ featured in all Turkish brochures. It benefits from the beauty & tranquility of the area, surrounded by mountains and yet only minutes from the beach. The plateau remains cooler during the hot summer months, giving a welcome relief from the heat. Perfect for couples, families and people of all ages, there is something on offer for all ages from the thrills of paragliding, watersports and funfair rides to amazing beaches with room for all at any time of the year and even walking and birdwatching treats at the quieter ends of the season.The local harbour & historic market town of Fethiye, with amazing shopping, bars, nightclubs and restaurants as well as Roman Amphitheatres, Lycian Rock Tombs and Byzantine castle is also on the doorstep.The hotel has been run by the TAHANCI family since 1988 and we have developed a very good relationship with our guests,The staff are always friendly, welcoming and willing to help in any way to make your stay as wonderful as possible. We also have the advantage of many years experience of dealing with guests from England and many other European countries, and have an in-depth knowledge of the area we live in. We are there to help you enjoy your holiday the best way we can -whether that involves relaxing by the pool and in the bar, or, making the most of the activities and trips available in the area. Our staff generally speak very good English and there will always be someone there who can answer your queries - just ask at reception and they will find the person that can best help you whatever your situation. On this site we have included some information about the hotel, local area and activities available during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel, and wish you a happy holiday in advance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Ucel Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing