We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unless you plan to spend big at the pool bar, stay away!”
Review of Leytur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leytur Hotel
Ranked #2 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Writing this review from the hotel to try and get rid of some pent up frustration in not being able to get a good night's sleep.

Emailed Leyla ahead of our arrival letting her know that this was a special occasion for my partner and I and requested a double bed (rather than twin beds). Got a reply back the same day saying "It's OK".

Arrived to find that it wasn't in fact "ok" - we were shown to a room with 2 singles beds. Asked Leyla to move us to a room with a double bed and immediately noticed a change in her demeanor. It appeared that we'd become trouble makers! She went on about how the hotel was fully booked and not to ask her requests like this.

Tried to make the most of the situation by pushing the two single beds together. Woke up the next morning with pins and needles in my arm and a sore back.

Tried to figure out why I was so stiff when I saw what I hadn't noticed before going to bed - one of the beds was lower than the other by about 10cms!! Both beds were the same make so we pulled back the sheets to find that one of the beds was brand new while the other was so old that it was broken and sagging the whole right side of the bed.

Complained to Leyla but again was told that with the hotel full what did we expect her to do? She told us that in the recent renovation that about 20 (out of 60 rooms) had been given new beds. Not sure if this was meant to appease us that we both didn't get broken beds. Was brought a replacement bed from out under the building that had apparently been earmarked to be destroyed. This was a little better - we only had to make do with a huge bottom sag.

In the morning we queued up behind another couple who were also trying to sort out a problem they had with the hotel. We told Leyla that this situation with the bed still wasn't up to scratch. The bare minimum you expect from a hotel is a good night's sleep and I was still waking up a couple of times every night uncomfortable. She said she'd have the maid put some blankets on top of the mattress to even up the heights of the beds. We pointed out that people were leaving the hotel that day and why couldn't she move one of their new mattresses into our room. Her response: It wouldn't be fair to the new people arriving today to have to sleep on our defective mattress. The implication was that it was perfectly fine for us though to keep sleeping on the mattress!! In compromise she said that some more people would be leaving on Friday and our mattress would be swapped out.

It's now Friday night (we arrived on Monday) and guess what? We're still stuck with the same sagging bed looking forward to the prospect of another night of poor sleep.

In summary, I cannot see the point of having spent so much on renovating the place (and it does look nice) when only 1/3 of the beds were replaced. Why gamble on a good night's sleep with such poor odds as that. We feel that our complaints have been brushed aside by Leyla as we didn't spend enough money at the pool - and why would you want to with such inflated prices.

The pros: Nice swimming pool; good location (but to be fair, any hotel on the road running from Fethiye to Olu Deniz has the same transport benefits as the dolmus, local bus, will stop anywhere you signal).
The cons: belligerent management, old/defective beds

Have taken some photos of the bed to remind us why when we return to Turkey we wont be coming back to the Leytur.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete_and_Ness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2010

We have just returned from our stay at the Leytur Hotel and would like to say that we were very disapointed (after reading all the glowing reviews on tripadvisor) with our stay. This was due entirely to the poor attitute of the staff - the maids and the gardener were lovely and always had a smile and made you feel welcome. The rest of the staff in paticular the owner just ignored us for the majority of our stay. This was due to the fact that we like to go out of the hotel and explore and eat at different places - this seems to not please the staff at this hotel and you are then not made welcome. I saw the owner stood with her regulars and was asking them to put reviews on this site whilst stood next to them. On a positive note the rooms/pool are clean but would be alot better if you had a fridge in your room and you did not feel like you were being spyed on all of the time in case you brought in your own water for your room!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank froggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

what a fab hotel, surroundings, and staff, made a great holiday!!!
the hotel and cleanliness was spot on, staff and management were friendly and couldnt do more for you.
would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harpsy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

When we arrived at the hotel everything seemed OK. The setting didn't look that nice (a lot of litter around the area outside of the hotel and the hotel itself is situated very close to the main road so you hear a lot of traffic whilst by the pool) but the hotel seemed clean enough though.

The room was OK, although the air conditioning (which cost an extra £25 a week) was rubbish. It lacked any real power and the unit took ages to cool the room down. Also as all the electrics in the room require your door key to be inserted into a slot, you can not run the air con whilst out of the room so the room was always boiling hot when we got back. It would then take at least an hour for the air con to take effect.

Also, a room safe cost an extra £10 for a week. However on the positive, the room was clean and recently refurbished.

After just a few hours by the pool it became obvious that this hotel is run by the staff FOR the staff. The young bartenders had little or no consideration for the guests and continually played loud music all day long (from 9am onwards) despite the manageress asking them several times to turn it down. They would chop and change the music every five minutes and managed to make it a pretty unpleasant place to spend the day. Most people around the pool were either reading and/or listening to their iPods so it seemed strange that they insisted on playing the music so loud. I was NOT the only person that week to complain about the music.

One evening my girlfriend and I were the only people by the pool and we asked the barman to turn the music down as it was so loud. He became very aggressive telling me that he had to play music for his customers (we were the ONLY customers there!!) and refused to turn it down.

The music would go on well into the night and as our room was directly above the bar it was impossible to sleep until after midnight (even with the windows closed). I imagine all the rooms facing the pool area would have had the same problem.

After complaining twice to the manageress about the music she simply said that there was nothing she could do and she suggested we be moved to an alternative hotel! She was also extremely curt and didn't seem to fussed that we were not enjoying our stay.

The hotel staff were incredibly rude and would often walk around and push guests into the pool or flip their lilos over. I saw one woman have to shout three times very sternly at one hotel worker who was trying to push her in the pool. It was quite clear she just wanted to be left alone.

The service at the bar was a joke. Young girls get served first and others are ignored as the bar staff desperately try to impress the girls. Twice we were overcharged when we came to pay our bill so if you run a tab here make sure you keep track of what you have. As previous people have pointed out if you do not spend a lot of money at the bar you will be a low priority guest. It got to the stage where my girlfriend and I would have to debate who was going to go to the bar as we both felt so uncomfortable ordering anything from the staff.

Another example of how rude the staff are ..... One evening at 7pm (still very hot weather at that time) I, along with 3 other guests were told (very sternly) to get out of the pool because they wanted to chlorinate the water. I sat by the pool for over an hour and during that time they did not chlorinate the water. What was the point in asking us to get out?!

The hotel has a ridiculous policy of not allowing guests to bring food and drink into the hotel .Hardly surprising as a bottle of water at the hotel bar costs FIVE TIMES what it cost in the nearest town. The range of snacks served by the hotel was poor in choice and quality so it was very frustrating that they had this policy. The manageress would watch from her office as guests entered the hotel to make sure they did not bring in any food or drink.

The breakfast was OK. Typical Turkish breakfast but all of the fresh fruit (watermelon, cucumber tomato) was left out cut up and uncovered so was always covered with flies. We had nothing more than bread and butter with a coffee for breakfast.

After five days we had not had our towels changed and when I asked the manageress for new towels rather than oblige she challenged me by saying we had not been in the hotel for five days so this could not be true. When I pointed out our arrival date she turned round to the room boy and muttered something to him in Turkish before walking off. No apology was offered. Half an hour later some towels were brought to our room.

One day we came back from the pool to find that our bedding had been stripped down and not replaced. By this stage I really could not be bothered to speak with the manageress so we spent the night without bedding.

Worst of all, the bin that is used to place dirty toilet paper in (Turkey's sanitation system can not handle toilet paper) was not emptied daily.

This hotel could be OK. However the staff need to be brought into line and realise that it is NOT their holiday. A little more consideration for guests would go a long way. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and am completely flummoxed by the high number of positive reviews on here. The hotel put a downer on the whole holiday and I honestly would not go back here even if I was paid to. In fact, the highlight of this holiday is knowing that I never ever have to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JeremyCPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Arrived at the hotel early hours of the morning and was greeted by a friendly and helpful member of staff, who welcomed us and made sure we settled in to our room.
The hotel had everything we needed for a relaxing and entertaining holiday. The owners and there staff could not have done more for us, they were warm, friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
The swimming pool was a good size and kept exceptionally clean, and the gardens around the hotel were very well kept by a gardener who never seemed to sleep,
The entertainment was light, easy and fun for all, i especially enjoyed the Turkish night where i showed the belly dancer a thing or two.
Although we did not eat at the hotel every night, the food was very nice and reasonably priced, catering for all tastes, breakfast had everything from watermelon to a cooked breakfast.
The room was cozy with a balcony veiw of the mountains, it was spotless on arrival and cleaned every day, with the cleaner leaving a scattering of freshly picked petals on our bed and made an elegent display with the towels.
The hotel was well located for local amenities such as local shops, restaurants, bars and of course the beach. It was not far from the bus stop which gave us easy access to Fethiye, Hisaronu and Olu deniz..
For any one wanting to experience a taste of Turkey should definately book this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigboyTurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Have just returned from the Leytur in Ovacik, and as I used trip advisor for my research thought I would feed back, and try not to repeat too much of what has previously been written.
My biggest reservation about this hotel was the location and whether it is isolated. It is in a quiet location – but that’s not necessarily a bad thing especially when you want to chill by the pool. The local Dolmus service is so good it really is easy to get about and the drivers will stop anywhere you ask, as you are in between Olu Deniz and Fethiye journeys in either direction are quick and cheap. Hisaronu is 5 minutes away on the Dolmus – it’s ok to walk there as it’s down hill – but walking back is seriously hard work in hot weather so for 1.75 I say stick to the Dolmus. When we were there they ran until about 1am – although we did get stranded in Fethiye one night so take care. If you want to stay out and party until 5am then you can grab a taxi back – and despite the price on the board as with everything if you barter hard enough then from the taxi rank in the centre of Hisaronu to the hotel you can pay as little as 10TYL.
The hotel itself is very aesthetically pleasing – our room was a good size with plenty of storage, and the shower cubicles were the biggest I have seen in the Med type resorts for a long time – be it budget or 5 star accommodation. As for the pool area and gardens they are so well tended to it is a real pleasure to be there.
The maids are great – always happy and smiling and they work so hard, Leyla was very friendly – not in your face 24/7 but happy to chat if you wanted to, the bar staff were a friendly bunch, although ones service was sporadic at times and you could feel as though you were invisible. Serdar’s is the main man with the smooth moves – you can tell he really loves his Turkish dancing and music, it just pulls you in. For us the only let down was the breakfast – I know it’s usual for a Turkish breakfast to consist of bread, cheese, meats etc: but even some muesli or ceral would add a whole new dimension.
We had a great holiday not just because the accommodation was so pleasing but the area has lots to offer if you can pull yourself away from the pool, we have even looked at availability for next year already – well it’s the best way to get over the post holiday blues .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola-carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We have just spent 7 nights at the Leytur Hotel and we had a great time. It was out first trip to Turkey, and we will most certainly return.

We found the location very handy, as you can just jump on the bus and visit the surrounding areas, such as Fethiye, Olu Deniz, hisaronu, Kayaköy (Our favorite place).

The bus service is great value for money and very reliable.

The staff our friendly, and made us feel very welcome. The entertainment was great fun and the food was good too.

We recommend this hotel to couples and families.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siany011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
3.4 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
493 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#14 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#6 of 102 in Oludeniz
639 reviews
3.3 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leytur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leytur Hotel

Address: Ovacik, Oludeniz, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oludeniz
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
#13 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: £11 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leytur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Leytur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leytur Hotel Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing