We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to being great...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SENTIDO Lykia Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We've just returned from a week at this hotel and generally it was really good but with a few things that just let it down a bit. Let's get the bad bits out of the way first...

The noise from next door. From around 8pm every evening, the peace was shattered (especially if you're having dinner on the terrace) as ridiculously loud thumping music spilled though from the family hotel's evening entertainment. It really spoiled the atmosphere and the serenity and there was no escape.

Similarly, on most nights in the adult hotel, there was musical entertainment at the pool bar. We were sold the holiday on the premise that there was no entertainment (that's what we wanted - peace and quiet) and were really disappointed to have to put up with this on most nights (we had one evening of respite). To make it worse, it's the same acts appearing for several nights...with the same sets...and same songs. It was embarrassing and cheesy but the old folk seemed to enjoy it. The main problem was that there was no alternative bar to go to in the evening to escape either within the hotel (there WERE other bars but none of them were open at night) or outwith the hotel as it's quite isolated so you would have to get taxis into OluDeniz (which looked worse than even the family side of the hotel - all neon signs and full English breakfasts). We ended up having to just go to our balcony having persuaded the pool bar manager to let us take our glasses of wine away with us.

During the day, if you were on the side of the adult hotel that's closest to the family hotel, you could clearly hear kids screaming too, so if you want peace, stick to the opposite side of the adult hotel. It's large enough to be able to get far away from the tantrums and mayhem of children

Yes, the adults-only part and the family part are separate and it's meant to be the case that the guests from the adults side are allowed to use the facilities on the family side but not vice versa. However, there's nothing stopping people from the family side coming across to the adults side (which we saw them do regularly) - just a wee sign saying 'over 16s only'. There are no wristbands or anything like that so no way of telling which hotel people are staying in.

Overall, we were lucky that the place was relatively quiet as it wasn't high season meaning there was always space round the pool(s) and on the beach and while mealtimes were busy, there was no real queueing time. I think it would be pretty unbearable in high season when the place is full. Don't take it for granted that you'll be able to use all the facilities - for example, there are a large number of tennis courts but they were all fully booked by a large group of (rather obnoxious and braying- especially at mealtimes or at the pool bar in the evenings) people on a tennis holiday. Apparently next week they're also all booked up by a Russian group on a tennis holiday too. One of the fellow guests we spoke too happened to be a tennis coach at home so she quite fancied a game or two at the hotel but couldn't get a court.

The majority of the staff were absolutely brilliant - so efficient and helpful (particularly the cheeky chappy Hamil at pool bar). The reception staff were sometimes not very smiley and because we didn't want to do it immediately on arrival (we had been at the airport for 5am and didn't get to the hotel until 4.30pm so we just wanted to get to our rooms), we weren't given a tour/instructions/maps/timetables etc like everyone else was. When we asked for timetables, we discovered that some of the listings weren't up to date (said snack time finished at 5.30 but actually finished at 5pm) and we generally just found our own way around the hotel by going exploring.

The hotel itself is really nice following the recent refurbishment - the rooms are lovely, everywhere is nice and clean, the grounds and gardens are very well kept. Little touches are so handy like there's no need for an adapter plug as they have a UK plug socket at the dressing table. Also, they provide separate shampoo and conditioner (as well as body lotion, shower gel, soap, cotton buds and pads, shoe horn, sewing kit, shoe polish, robes and slippers). There's also no need to take beach towels as they're provided too.

There's a great choice of food in the buffet restaurant (so much so that we didn't bother trying the A La Carte restaurants) and the manager Yamer and his staff clearly worked very hard to keep everything ticking over. There was a bit of an issue with wasps on the terrace but that's not exactly the staff's fault!

The area around the hotel couldn't be more beautiful - the views of the mountains and the crystal blue waters are stunning. We did the trip around to the Blue Lagoon. The Lagoon itself was a little disappointing with loud people all around (not helped by the echoey cliffs), cigarette butts on the beach (which is stoney so take shoes you can enter the water with as it's sore under foot) which you don't expect when you pay L7 pp to enter then L7 per lounger and L7 per umbrella but the best part of it is that we took a private speedboat (from the watersports guys at the hotel) there and back which was great fun and only 5 euros more than taking the shuttle with everyone else (shuttle= E15 per person, shuttle = E50 return).

We did a couple of excursions (through the Rep at the hotel rather than the cheaper versions booked in town - primarily to save the hassle of taxis to town etc). The Hidden Treasures one was great and our guide, a really smart local guy called Morat, was so knowledgeable and friendly. To begin with we all though it had been a mistake to book it and it'd be hideous (a day on a packed bus, starting at a carpet factory!) but we couldn't have been more wrong - it was excellent value for money (£35 each then they reduced the price and gave us £10 refund each) but the Rep who sold it was quite vague to the point that they said we'd be back around 5 or 6pm but we didn't return until after 9pm. We also did the Fethiye by Night trip - at only £6 per person it's much cheaper than getting a cab there and back but the trade off is that they make you go to three shops ( an optician, a sweet shop and a gold shop - where you get given the hard sell)before letting you loose and it was just really awkward and we spent most of the time standing outside.

Overall, we were very happy with our relaxing week here and loved this beautiful area of Turkey. If they could just iron out the evening noise / entertainment / alternative areas in the evening at the hotel, it'd be perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lassycomehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Went to Commodore Elite, Side, Turkey 2 years ago and was very impressed and couldn't help but compare there with Sentido Lykia near Oludeniz. Both are spa hotels, all inclusive and adults only. The Sentido has been refurbished and mostly this was well done, but there were areas which they hadn't touched. Overall the standard was very good and the rooms were lovely but not as good as the Commodore.
The food was to a high standard but definitely not as good as the Commodore where the staff were always clearing up and re-setting tables as soon as guests left. The staff at Sentido were not as diligent and the food was good but a bit boring at times and many of the dishes did not have cards telling you what they were. I did ask once but the girl could not speak English and my Turkish is certainly not a delight.
There is no proper beach at Sentido where there is at Commodore which has a nice restaurant and beach bar as well.
The spa was better at the Commodore and there was a lovely patisserie which also supplied coffees and ice-cream throughout the day.
So the Commodore is ahead at the moment, but where the Sentido scores best is there was so much more to do there. All sorts of activities at the sister hotel next door which the Sentido guests were allowed to use. There was also a small water park which seemed popular.
The Sentido boasted about 9 pools, some of which were secluded and so peaceful and the grounds were huge and well kept.
There were plenty of shops in the sister hotel which was handy. There are several restaurants but if you wanted to use these, you had to pay extra. This included an Italian restaurant but we found out that if you went when it opened at 3pm it was free.
There was a large outdoor restaurant at the sister hotel the New Marina restaurant which had a far bigger selection of food than the Sentido but it was very busy and noisy.
If you have no children and like things more peaceful you could book the sister hotel which is cheaper, but spend all your time at the Sentido.
One strong point in favour of Sentido is that they have a singer who performs 3 times a week. He is called Emre and is amazing. Worth going to see wherever he performs. We tried to get him to come to the UK and go on Britains Got Talent which he says he might do.
Final point, the bus to the Sentido takes 2 hours as it is the last hotel to reach which may be something to consider if you have kids and are using the sister hotel.
Would probably prefer to try somewhere else in future.

Room Tip: Surprisingly there are very few rooms with a pool view as most of the corridors were on the pool sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEDOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Stayed with 2 friends and we each had sole use of twin room. Room was huge and spotlessly clean. Comfortable bed. Rain shower. Lots of storage space and mirrors. Decent size balcony. Tea and coffee making facilities. Well stocked fridge. Food was delicious and there was plenty of choice. Excellent selection of alcoholic and soft drinks. Good size indoor pool and several outdoor ones. Private beach with bar and lifeguard. Staff very helpful and friendly. The "village" (family part of hotel) had shops and other facilities such as tennis courts and golf. There were lots of activities if you wanted them and plenty of quiet areas if you didn't! Beautiful setting with well maintained grounds. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pine forest are peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christinaBergerac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel is really awesome!Everything is perfect.The employers , the visitors, the location,the nature,the mini-zoo...It's not countable.During the day , they will help you about everything as soon as possible.You can find 5-6 swimming pool in the hotel and , in every pool there was a lifeguard.
Try that!You cannot be repentant!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chegfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Sentido Lykia Resort on a 5 day vacation the first week of May (14). The resort facilities, grounds, staff and accommodation was superb and deserving of the 5 star rating.

Summary: (For those looking for quick words)
Rooms are spectacular, clean, large beds, great views and plenty of storage. Your room will have cold drinks in the small refrigerator, robes and slippers waiting for you when you arrive. Resort is ALL inclusive meaning you can eat at any of the main restaurants (there are 3) and all of the bars (there are 6) for free. They also offer 4 other restaurant's for those looking for a specialty food or different experience (Japanese, Italian, Traditional Turkish and more).

You need to know that there are two sides to this resort a family side and a couples/singles side (16 or older). There are a lot of children and families on the family side so if you are looking to avoid that kind of environment make sure you book the correct side of the resort.

Detailed Review Below:
Arrival - Transportation from the airport will take about an hour and twenty minutes plan accordingly. Our transportation was included in the package we purchased and was ready when we landed, worked great. Upon arrival to that hotel you will be greeted with fruit a drink or a snack. The staff are very polite and respectful, most speak a number of languages but almost everyone spoke English.

The Room - Our room was large, had a very large bed with a sitting area (couch, chair and table) and terrace (2 chairs and small table). The decor was very tropical and very well done. Everything appeared to be recently renovated and was done with great detail. Robes, slippers, cold drinks in a small refrigerator and a hot water pot allowed for just about any beverage need to be met. Almost every room has a great view. It may be of the water, the pool or the grounds but any view we saw was beautiful.

The room had a good size TV with channels in a number of languages (we did not use it much), high speed internet (12 Mbps down, 14 Mbps up) that worked very well in the room and in almost all of the common areas. The bed even had a light underneath it that created a very interesting ambiance, just another one of the little details that show you they went the extra step here.

Facilities - They have all of the bells and whistles here, small gym, sauna, spa, indoor pool, outdoor pools (5 or so), Ping-Pong tables, sun chairs, sun shades, personal beach huts, secluded hammocks, great restaurants, a number of bars (10 or so). Organized activities each night of the week, with healthy options such as group runs, Zumba and the like to disco nights and karaoke. Everything was extremely clean and well cared for by the staff that are everywhere making sure everything is running just right.

--- Bars - All of the bars have a list of main drinks that they make but you can order off of the menu if you are willing to explain what you want. I often ordered a screwdriver and just had to tell them how much OJ and vodka to add. I will also say that most of the drinks on the menu were not very good and will be very strong (you have been warned). The margarita was horrible and I couldn't drink it. You can also get bottles of water and soda at any bar as well, you just need to ask for a whole bottle.

Activities - The resort offers a number of activities, some are included and some are at an additional cost. They offer parasailing, water sports, scuba diving, boat trips to the islands or sightseeing, spa services, shows, dancing, sports, workout lessons, climbing wall and night club.

We attended a few shows in the amphitheater showing traditional Turkish dance and some theatrical dance as well as a disco night. All were very well organized and very enjoyable.

***Some things will have an additional cost such as spa services and specialty restaurants. They do a very good job making it clear what things are inclusive and which will come at an additional cost.***

Location - You cannot find a better location than this, there are great views from almost everywhere. You can find a spot to relax by yourself or next to one of the main pools or if you prefer you can grab a sun chair on the beach. They even offer a limited number of personal beach huts for some privacy while enjoying the beach. You can visit nearby Oludeniz city for 10 Euro via cab and enjoy a nice little tourist town. They have a number of bars, clubs, restaurants and shopping. It is worth a trip and you can see just about everything in about 2 hours.

If you would like to take a half day or day trip you can visit Fethiye and see the Lycian ruins and some other great sights near the city. The drive takes about 45 mins by cab and will cost 40 Euro for a driver to drop you off and pick you back up at a designated time and location. All day trips cost 75 Euro and will take you to a number of locations around the local area.

The beach is easily accessible from your room, actually you can walk to everything on the resort in under 10 mins and I highly suggest you do, and try to take a different route each time, you never know what you will find down the little paths...

Room Tip: Make sure you book the correct side of the resort. There is a family side and a couples/singles side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thung88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I visited and stayed at Sentido Lykia with work colleagues from the 12th May for 4 nights. Was met on arrival with a welcome cocktail and check in was effortless. We were quickly shown to our rooms and advised snacks had been put on for us even though we arrived in the early hours. We made use of the pool bar which was open until 2am. Cocktails and coffee are recommended! The rooms are spotlessly clean, equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, free mini bar, slippers and bathrobes. The free wifi also worked in my room and all over the resort. Buffet restaurant was lovely with amazing views if sat outside. We ate a fair bit at the buffet by the beach which was amazing. Use of the Liberty Lykia facilities completed the stay, wonderful facilities here for kids of all ages, waterpark on site would keep the kids busy for days! The infinity adult only pool on the Liberty side was the highlight. Spectacular views and still all inclusive at the bars. Overall an amazing resort, 3km from the famous Olu Deniz lagoon and beach. Could not fault in anyway!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This Hotel has superb rooms, is situated in six star surroundings and has staff which alternate between being excellent and way below par for a Hotel of this nature. Most external staff at the bars and some in the Restaurants are in the former category. Room servicing staff let themselves down and the Hotel in that when the teabags are used they were not replaced nor was the milk in the fridge in the entire week were there. This may seem petty but it wrankles that this small set of items were consistently overlooked.
We arrived late (22.00 7/5/14 ) at the Hotel due to self interested passengers failing to notify the Travel Reps that they had taken taxis to their destinations leaving the rest of us in a hot coach waiting at the Dalaman Airport for over an hour before we then set off ( Not the Reps or Hotel's fault just selfishness on those people's part ).
At the front reception desk of the Sentido the staff appearred only interested in dealing with arrivals expediently and ushering us to our rooms.
No personal interest in anyone's wellbeing in that no enquries were made by them as to whether we needed refreshments or where they be obtained given the late hour, No maps provided regarding the layout of the Hotel on arrival or during our stay.
We were staying in the part of the Hotel for adults only which has been refurbished to a high standard as are the rooms and I have no complaints regarding this.
The following night we arrived for a meal in the restaurants to find them all overrun with people leaving us with nowhere to sit for a meal for 40 minutes, eventually conversing with a member of staff it transpired that the influx was due to a tennis tournament at the hotel that THE MANAGEMENT knew was taking place on this date, but had not made adequate provision for an increase in staff ( a total of nine on duty ) those of us who had paid for the privilege of 5 stars all inclusive were certainly not getting what was paid for this night.
I would stress that the staff did a sterling job in getting us seated eventually and this major problem was not of their making but reflects again on Management not doing theirs.
The food in the restaurants was always well presented but not well identified, it could do with being hotter and not tepid which for the most part it was, as it is self service this presents a problem for those who are of a timid disposition as most of the staff have little or no understanding of english.
My pet hate...........SMOKING in the external dining areas which effectively closed them to us and that of enjoying the external views when having a meal, given that non smokers are the majority nowadays this too should be dealt with but is not.
.
We had been advised by the Holiday Rep that the room could be kept over until 14.00 hrs on our day of departure by speaking to the reception desk staff, this we did on the day and were flatly informed that the room had to be vacated by 12.00 hrs as it was to be cleaned, ( Amazing that the room maid had NEVER cleaned up during our stay before 14.30 each day.
No alternative was offered other than to clean up we had to use the showers behind the indoor pool which is all very well if you have no inhibitions but presents a major problem when you find it is a communal area ( If you paid extra amazingly a room could be found ).

Front Reception desk is an important first and last point of contact at any Hotel and can either make or break your impression of the location, in this case they made a poor job of doing so, thankfully many members of the outside and restaurant staff made up for their ( Front desk ) shortcomings

I cannot afford this Hotel a full Five star rating for the reasons I have pointed out but I did enjoy my stay here due to the location and members of staff who we achieved a rapport with and them with us.

Would I return to Turkey ? I am moved to say that I would not.as there are Hotels which are up to the same standard in terms of location and decor but provide a far better person to person service overall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
1.6 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#14 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,588 reviews
1.5 mi away
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Beyaz Yunus Hotel
Beyaz Yunus Hotel
#5 of 102 in Oludeniz
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
2,079 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Mozaik Boutique Hotel Rooms & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Lykia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Lykia Resort & Spa

Address: Kidrak Mevkii, 2-A, Oludeniz 48330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range: £126 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Lykia Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by pine forests, Sentido Lykia Resort & Spa has a seafront location. The property offers a 750-metre-long sand and pebble beach, 19 swimming pools, a 3-hole golf course, and spa facilities. The spacious rooms of Sentido Lykia Resort & Spa offer sea, pool or garden views. All rooms include satellite TV, air conditioning, minibar and free Wi-Fi. There is also a balcony in each room. Sentido Lykia Resort & Spa has 9 restaurants serving selected dishes from international cuisine. You can enjoy Italian and Far East cuisine, or seafood at the a la carte restaurants. There are also 10 bars, 2 cafes and a wine house on site. You can enjoy the outdoor, indoor, heated or adult-only pools. The spa centre offers hammams and a range of massages. Water sports facilities and a fitness centre are also available. Oludeniz Beach is 3 km from the property. Dalaman Airport is 71 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your SENTIDO Lykia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing