We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balkaya Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas(Ovacik)(Great Value!)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Greenland(Oludeniz)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Han Deluxe Hotel(Oludeniz)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Holiday Resort(Ovacik)(Great Value!)
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites(Oludeniz)(Great Value!)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel(Oludeniz)(Great Value!)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morina Deluxe Hotel(Oludeniz)(Great Value!)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Lagoon(Oludeniz)(Great Value!)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$23
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
100
59
37
22
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
59
37
22
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomnext yearsmall hotelboiled eggsmain buildingsun all dayhome from homewhite winecooked freshmeal timesweek holidayall inclusive drinksbrilliant holidayfriendly hotelplenty of sunbedssolomansuleyman
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Me and my family have been to turkey before and just booked on websites where we have no idea what the hotel is like, we did this again this year and once again success! When we first got there we had no idea what to expect, but as the holiday went on Balkaya hotel has proved to us what a fab place it is. It was so great we stayed there for most of the two weeks! The staff are great and we were treated like royalty with anything we did, the staff were so friendly and we formed a good friendship with most of them, it was very very hard to leave our friends; Hamza, Veysi, Davut, Osman, Handa and Ylmas who makes this hotel great. They all work so hard and give such a positive atmostphere around the place. We are going back next year and would definatly recommend this hotel to anyone. Love Abbie xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turkeylover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

My parents have recently brought a villa on the same estate as the Balkaya, I only booked 3 days as the beds were due to arrive at the villa on my second day. However I didnt want to leave the balkaya and so stayed on at the hotel for the duration of my trip instead of staying at the villa as originally intended. The room was cleaned daily and the staff were excellent. The food was all freshly prepared with a turkish or english choice and you could order food at anytime of the day or night. The hotel owner was really helpful and gave us some really helpful advice concerning the villa and where we could get stuff, they even lent my dad some tools for some DIY work that he needed to do, way beyond the call of duty.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family and would definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calistonbiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I visited the Balkaya Hotel during July and read the reviews prior to visiting (so my expectations were not high to say the least). This Hotel was the pits - everything was a complete sham from start to finish. The place should be closed down.

If you have an early morning arrival then be prepared - No accommodation will be available upon your arrival at the hotel - you have to sleep on the sofa in reception which you share with the staff who were so drunk the previous evening that they never made it home. Dont worry you can share the pool with them as well in the morning when they use it to clean themselves. - The pool is also shared with the dogs who drink out of it and if you are really lucky you wont fall down the overflow gully around the edge of the pool which every morning has sections missing (this is because the staff like to sing loud and dance around the pool area, dislodging the sections, we replaced them four mornings running as we were concerned that a child would trip and fall or worse still break an ankle or leg). They use glass rather than plastic beakers for drinking out of around the pool area but dont worry if a glass gets broken, they just swep it into the borders for anyone to walk on.

When you do eventually get given a room dont be too disappointed - you will have a bed and a wardrobe (maybe if you are really lucky it will have handles on), there is also a tv which wont work, air conditioning which you pay extra for and yippee an en-suite - oooops no its a closet with a handbasin, toilet and shower - all so close that you can complete the three actions without moving an inch.

Food - well be cautious - there were lots of flys and insects over the breakfast and keep you children away from the so called toaster - its a hotplate type griddle that is conveniently placed two feet off the floor - ideal for youngstesr to touch or god forbid fall on, a nightmare - totally irresponsible of the mangement not to realise how dangerous it could be ( but then again I dont suppose they care less). Evening meals were bland and uninteresting - chicken nearly every night - no tea or coffee unless you purchase at the bar and at an additional cost. Soup every day - melon every day and if you dont eat it straight away it becomes warm very quickly - yuck!

Entertainment once a week - barbeque and belly dancers - they will charge you £10.00 per person or you can pay turkish tl (be careful here they will charge you more than the exchange rate at local agencies, even the rate on their own reception was less than what they were charging). Other entertainment is drinking at the pool bar until 6.00am - dont expect to sleep even if you are not down at the bar because the music is so loud you cant have a conversation in you room without having to shout.Drink are expensive, 5tl for an EFES - 3.5tl elsewhere - be careful if you go for the cocktail, buy one get one free, the second is alchol free - they are only interested in you if they are ripping you off. Dont take a tab at the pool bar and always check the tab - you will without doubt be charged for drinks and food you havent had - the staff brag about doing this.

Dont take cream or off white towels for use around the pool area as they will steal them, claiming them as their own and you then have a fight on your hands trying to get them back. I wouldnt mind but their own towels are so thin if you blew your nose on them they would rip, not the sort you would hang on the washing line let alone take on holiday.

One morning it was 8.00 and no sunbeds, pool not cleaned and bar area still covered in used glasses and filled asshtrays - great impression.

We left after the first week, couldnt stand the lack of customer care or the interest that any of the staff were giving, it is just a joke to them - just one big joke.

Have I got anything good to say about this Hotel - ABSOLUTELY NOT!

I can recommend the Gorkham Hotel around the corner, worth paying the little extra for a service and quality a million times better.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 14jun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Three friends and I visited this hotel in July 2010 and were delightfully surprised at the tremendous welcome, the charming lounges, the immaculate swimming pool and the delicious Turkish food served for breakfast and evening dinner. We could also have had English versions if we had wished to do so. Added to this, the Belly ~Dancing~ night was fantastic and the constant friendliness would ensure that even single people visiting this particular hotel would have felt relaxed and at home. The people who run it know just what the British want and provide everything as well as idyllic surrounding scenery of fantastic mountain views. Shall certainly go there again. Bettina Croft, Karen Smith, Lisa Smith and Sam.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank bettina_arundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We arrived about 6am in the morning. Upon arrival the reception area was staffed by a young guy in shorts- yes just shorts and a smile. His English was better than my Turkish so fair play to him. He stated that there was no room for us and we would have to wait. Whilst waiting we noticed a guy asleep on a sofa in the reception area. We were told it was the porter who had had a little too much to drink and was sleeping it off. Nice.
We were eventually shown a family room as a temp. measure. This was OK but very basic. Wakefield Prison has a higher star rating. We asked when we would be moved to our room but they did not know- maybe 9am maybe 2pm. Because we did not want to fall asleep and be disturbed we decided to stay up (we had been awake all night due to the flight etc). Breakfast was shortly served and to be honest i have seen better meals on wheels. The food is below basic and you can have it warm at extra cost if you want. The food was cold on three attempts at the same dish. Even the owner (who was standing next to me in the queue) checked his food and his was also stone cold. They then wanted to microwave it whilst leaving the salad on the plate.

Eventually we were shown a room which was very small and had an en suite with it although this was very small with a combined shower/ sink/ toilet arrangement which meant everything got wet when the shower was on. In fact you could sit on the toilet, shower and brush your teeth all at the same time if you wanted to.

The staff running the bar are OK but the management are 'unique'. It is the first time I have seen a manager in ill fitting shorts and a vest as the standard dress for his job. He actually found it amusing to jump in the pool and state that he was having a wash- the bad thing is I really do think this was how he WAS getting a wash. He is loud and initially very helpful as long as you want to spend money. If your idea of fun is sitting at the bar drinking till 5am listening to his poor jokes and crass antics then you will do well. The basic rule is which ever group shouts the loudest for a type of music or entertainment then that is what will rule. In our unfortunate time there this was in the form of very loud R&B music for 20 hours a day (including explicit swearing in the lyrics whilst children were around). Yes I do mean 20 hours a day- 9am to 5am. A particular group thought they were in heaven with this and made it their business to ensure this music was played all the time. Age groups in the hotel were from young couples to retired couples and families. I have yet to find a retired couple getting on down with their arthritis to P Diddy or who ever is the latest R&B demi god.

The food- was it food? Sweet every day was warm melon slices so I hope you like melon or usually live in a zoo because there is nothing else. The chunks are that big you would think they had a resident hippo to feed.

Starter is soup. One evening my soup was luminous in colour and we just could not make it out at all. To be fair the bread was fresh (ish) so you can survive on this.

The main courses are open cold buffet (the flies love it) and some kind of luke warm/ cold concoction which we played 'I'll name that food in 4' with. Chips were available but interestingly cheese was not. We noticed that a girl had grated cheese on her pasta- ooh cheese we thought. You cannot have cheese as it was especially done for a vegi and you have to be vegi to have the cheese (John Cleese eat your heart out). Eventually we gave up on the food as it was just humiliating to try it and went out most nights. It was that bad even Joseph Stalin would have been ashamed to serve it in a Ghulag prison.
Other interesting options were staying alive or injury free. A hot plate was used as a toaster which was conveniently placed on a table about 2 foot off the ground- just right for a toddler or young child to grab hold of or stick their hands on, wire flexes were taped together or just twisted together, the pool drain around the pool had gaps in just right for breaking your ankles and a large pumping hose ran across the outside dining area which a child tripped over . DON'T take white/ cream towels as they will claim them as theirs. We had ours taken away from the pool area as you cannot use their towels. We then spent 30 minutes pointing out BHS labels but this still took some doing.

On the last day we were there, two engineers came and removed a tank cover from the patio area floor. This was amongst dining tables (which I was using). They removed the pipe (which the boy tripped over) and inserted another pipe to pump the tank out. The pipe was covered in dark sludge -I don't know what it was but it was on the floor and around the dining tables and I was still eating. we decided at that point that the place was not fit for use and started looking for another hotel.

Bar prices are not excessive but more than other hotels and bars. A beer is 5TL where many other hotels and bars are 3.5TL/ 4TL. Watch out for the 'happy hour' where cocktails are 2 for 1. Yes they are but the second one has no alcohol in (they don't tell you that and hope you are that plastered that you do not notice). I asked for WiFI connection- 10TL, Air conditioning 10tL A NIGHT ( thats £30 a week), safety box 5tl a day. If they can make money out of you then they are your friends...... please note that all this can be free if you are a single female group and the manager can show you his speedboat- lucky you.

Eventually we had had enough and found an apartment in the resort at another hotel and stayed there for the last three nights which was peaceful and bliss.

You can read this and say ' sour grapes' which os OK by me. You may be lucky and love being awake till 5am and they play your music very load and you like very poor food and don't mind sharing the pool with the staff's hygiene routine or you may not. If you go and have a good time then get it on here because I would love to know how you did it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iain42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews