We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOLIDAY”
Review of Balkaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balkaya Hotel
Ranked #83 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Reviewed 12 August 2010

After reading the numerous negative reviews before arriving at the Balkaya I was not expecting a great deal.... how wrong I could have been - we had a great holiday and our 11 year old said it was the best hotel he had stayed in.

I can't understand why, given the reasonable costs for the hotel, some people moan incessantly. You get what you pay for and you didn't pay for a 5* hotel.

The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful; Rooms were cleaned daily by the 2 lovely cleaners and towels and linen changed regularly. Our family room was a duplex with loads of space for the 4 of us and excellent views of the mountains.

The hotel has a great pool area where most of the activity takes place - ideally situated between the 2 hotel buildings. Surrounding the pool is the bar, pool table and table football (both free of charge). We stayed bed and breakfast only but did eat from the a la carte menu on a couple of occasions - food was good and reasonably priced.

Air conditioning and safe deposit box carry a small daily fee but this is usually the case in 3* hotels and is not unreasonable. For 2 weeks stay this only totalled an additional £90.

A weekly BBQ with Turkish entertainment was good fun for £10 per person and Saturday evenings had free entertainment and Turkish dancing.

The hotel is situated just off the main Fethiye-Oludeniz road and Hisaronu is an easy 10-15 minute walk. The Dolmus buses go past every few minutes.

We met loads of lovely people from across the UK and would love to go back to the Balkaya.

Suggestions for possible visitors:
Don't rack up a bill - pay for things as you go and then you can avoid any disputes;
Take ear plugs - there are cockeralls and dogs in the area and these may disrupt your sleep - (not the hotel puppy Linda - who is kept in a pen around the front of the hotel and was not a disruption at all);
Take imodium - there were a few outbreaks while we were away but nothing too drastic
Airconditioning - a must - temperatures were around 40 degrees +
Exchanging money - great rates in Hisaronu - we got 2.32 to the £

Thank you everyone for such a great holiday and hopefully see you soon.

Michelle, David, Faith and Sam

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleandGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2010

just got back from this hotel had a great time we met lots of lovely people, (ryan & debbie ) and not forgetin (carpet man) lol. the staff were all great our room was huge we had a family room.the food was very nice the english breakfast was great for 6 tl, b,b,q nite was brilliant all you can eat for £10. the bar closed when the last person left e.g .ryan & debbie.lol.over all great value for money beautifull views of mountains lovely sunsets from balcony,5 mins on bus to hisaronu or walk in 15 mins.don't be put off by any bad reviews this hotel is great.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

General

My daughters and I had a fantastic holiday at this hotel! Last year we stayed in a similar star hotel near by but the Balkaya beat it by miles in many areas. The accommodation ranges from basic to luxury in the mezzanines suites and as long as you realise that you get what you pay for there should be little room for complaint. We were very comfortable in our room and were looked after by the house keeping staff.

Food

We ate at the hotel almost everynight and thoroughly enjoyed the range of food it was always well cooked, plenty of it and varied. The waiters; Veysi and Yilmaz were the best!and made us feel like royalty. Twice we went to other restaurants but were very disappointed with the food and the service. For all the staff nothing was too much trouble at any time of day.

Bar and Entertainment

There was a variety of shows throughout the week such as BBQ, traditional folk dance, belly dancing and fire dancing which we all joined in with. The bar staff Hamza and Handa always had a smile and worked very hard and long hours. They play a good variety of music to suit all tastes throughout the day and night and there are quiet times too.

Location

For us the location wasn't a problem as it was a short walk to the main road where there are shops restaurants and the local bus. The hotel is happy to arrange a taxi service to anywhere.

Pool

We visited a couple other hotels but the Balkaya pool is one of the biggest and cleanest around. The setting of the hotel surrounded by trees and the mountains as a back drop makes it feel like an oasis. The staff were helpful in moving sunbeads around and will find a spare one if you ask. The beanbags are really comfy to!

Overall

I believe the secret to enjoying any holiday is to get to know the people in the hotel a little be realistic about what you've paid for and if you have a problem with anything in the hotel ask for help in a polite way, i found the owners very helpful and keen for guests to really enjoy their stay at their hotel.

Complaints

i have read other people's comments about the food the dogs the birds the chickens, the music, the staffs clothing, the rooms, and just about everything and i believe these people would complain about any hotel anywhere they go.

We will definitley be returning to this hotel next year, and will tell all our friends about it too!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joboho22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We have just come back from Turkey after staying at the Balkaya hotel.
What I have learned from my experiences with the Balkaya is to take some of the negative comments from this site with a very big pinch of salt. Some of these travelers wouldn't be satisfied unless they were stopping in a 5* hotel, even then they'd probably find something to moan about. You only paid 30 odd quid for the week for it (get over it) and what did you expect.

We arrived at the hotel at around 18:30 to be welcomed from some of the staff who helped us in with the luggage (and little Sam bless him).
Our room was split over two floors and had a pool view. Our room had two bathrooms which came in handy over the week (but thats another story).

That night we found our way up the dirt track to the main road of Fethiye where there are a number of very good restaurants (Rockpool Rocks). After that we made our way to the hotel bar which is located next to the pool. Again the staff were great, although I did rip my shorts on one of the bar stools. The music wasn't too load, infact the music was great (lots of 80's stuff as I'm an old git). At the pool area there is a free pool table and table football. The kids loved this.

The next day we have breakfast at the hotel (we was on B&B). The breakfast is a traditional Turkish breakfast of eggs, bread, cereals, ham, cheese (rubber), water melon and olives. As someone else mentioned, the toaster was what we say unique. It was a bit of health and safety risk but only if your not watching your kids, and they will only touch it once.
If you do miss your breakfast due to staying in bed too long, then the pool side bar makes a great full English breakfast at just under 3 quid. It's a whole 1L cheaper than the Turkish breakfast, so why they don't offer a full english to everyone is beyond me. But as I said, the Turkish breakfast is great.

On Tuesday nights they have a BBQ with traditional Turkish dancers and a belly dancer. What more could you ask for, she took my top off then proceeded to waggle her boobs at me. It's a good night and is worth hanging around for.

The pool area is really nice. The main pool is very clean and is of a nice size. There aren't many sun beds, but I never found it a problem. Attack the problem the German way and get up early. They also have a little kids pool too.

On a night time the bar was a bit too noisy, but they did turn down the music at around 12am or so. This did keep us up a bit on the first night, but then so did Mr Cockerel and his friends next door, then also the wailing from the Minaret at 5am. But I loved this as it was so different to my normal nights away in Holiday Inn's.
I soon rectified the noise issue by learning how to shut the balcony door properly. Never had an issue with noise after this.

The staff were great and really nice. My suit case was knackered and the staff helped me with my problem by lobbing the case over a hedge. Then Veysi took me in his car to get a case. He even haggled for it for me. He was a real gem.

Overall we had a brilliant time and would love to go back. We made some great friends whilst we was there and the atmosphere was great.
The hotel was clean and safe.

**Notes to the Balkaya**

Lower your bar prices a little to compete with the main town. Better to have a full bar than a half empty one.
Get rid of your hanger on's. You know what I mean.

**Notes to customers**

Don't rack up a bar bill. Pay as you go.
Make sure you get a receipt for your safe and Air con.

PS. Have I beat Davids novel ?

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank KevShazfromRowleyReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I stayed at the balkaya hotel mid july with my husband and my small daughter and i was a little wary of going to this hotel as i had read many a bad review,but i needn't have worried we had a lovely family room overlooking the front of the hotel (room 107) and the mountain scenery was stunning. The room was cleaned and the towels were changed daily and the staff are great. Suliman and David (the owners) were so friendly and welcoming and veysi (the manger) was fantastic, they all took time out from their busy schedules to come and join in the fun in the pool with all the guests. Veysi is absolutley crazy he was always joking around and having a laugh with the guests. The other staff in the hotel are very friendly and can't do enough for you. The turkish food we had for breakfast and evening meal was very nice.In my opinion i am certain we would not have recieved the high standard of service we got from the staff and the management at the balkaya anywehere else. We enjoyed staying at this hotel so much that we are going back in may along with other guests we met there and i am sure we will have the same amazing holiday we did in july..can't wait to get back !!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JEWELSxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Well, for the first 3 days we hated it. Everyone was telling us we should ask to be moved right away because we wouldn't like it, but when everyone had gone, we were allowed to form our own opinions and that's when we started to enjoy our holiday.

Solomon and David (brothers) own the Hotel and Veysi (crazy boy) is the Manager who will do anything and everything to make sure you enjoy your time there.

Our room was fantastic, 2 floors, 2 toilets ( 1 with shower), tv (with english film channel), nice table and 4 chairs, great balcony view and plenty of space.

The food was ok for what we paid, after all, you are in Turkey so you're gonna get Turkish food. English food is available and is very good quality, but we were half board so stuck to the Turkish menu offered. We paid for English food for our little girl and she loved it.

The staff are so friendly, they'll doa nything to help..........you only have to ask. David and Solomon sometimes join you in the pool if they aren't too busy (they do have a business to run) but Veysi is around most of the time and tries to join in the fun..........if there's no fun going on, then he starts some. Be sure to listen for him shouting "BBQ for a tenner" on Tuesdays.....great value and you can eat as much as you want.

The cleaners do a great job, a bit slow cos of their age and the heat, but what does it matter, it's always finished by the time you're done at the pool.

We have stayed in 4/5 star hotels before and not made many friends. We think that's because they're maybe a little snobby (no offence intended), but at the Balkaya, eveyone was so down to earth...........we have made so many new friends that we're gonna keep in touch with now we're back in the UK. We've even arranged to meet 2 of the families again next Easter at the Balkaya and we've only been home 2 days (hope everybody turns up).

If you're going to try the Balkaya, go with an open mind, remember how much you're actually paying for the hotel and go with the intention of having a fantastic holliday and you can't go wrong. There are some things in life you cannot put a price on and the friends and people we met at the Balkaya is 1 of them.

We want to thank Solomon and David and all the staff for maing our holliday so good, but we want to thank Veysi for making our holliday 1 we will never forget. We will be going back to the Balkaya and hope evertying and eveyone is the same.

1 last word guys, if you do go, make Angela (the Irish lady who practically lives there) buy you some Cheddar cheese, and also please feed Garfield, the local cat, who visits the hotel every morning and evening. Have a great holliday guys, we certainly did...........see ya there next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidfromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Me and my family have been to turkey before and just booked on websites where we have no idea what the hotel is like, we did this again this year and once again success! When we first got there we had no idea what to expect, but as the holiday went on Balkaya hotel has proved to us what a fab place it is. It was so great we stayed there for most of the two weeks! The staff are great and we were treated like royalty with anything we did, the staff were so friendly and we formed a good friendship with most of them, it was very very hard to leave our friends; Hamza, Veysi, Davut, Osman, Handa and Ylmas who makes this hotel great. They all work so hard and give such a positive atmostphere around the place. We are going back next year and would definatly recommend this hotel to anyone. Love Abbie xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turkeylover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
1.1 mi away
Telmessos Hotel
Telmessos Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hisaronu
981 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pink Palace
Pink Palace
#61 of 102 in Oludeniz
603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
1.2 mi away
Flora Palm Resort
Flora Palm Resort
#16 of 102 in Fethiye
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balkaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balkaya Hotel

Address: Birinci Cami Arkasi Ovacik, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range: £25 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balkaya Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balkaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balkaya Hotel Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing