We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need”
Review of Hotel Greenland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Greenland
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for ten nights during late july, can not place any faults on this at all. The hotel staff were brilliant, bar staff were very friendly, the cleaners were friendly and Joseph and the Dj were friendly too. The rooms are cleaned everyday, food choice is different everyday, drinks are fine, hotel is gleaming and entertainment is short but fun. Would reccomend a deluxe room for such a cheap upgrade price as these rooms are lovely, modern and spacious, I would also recommend a pamper package from joseph who works at the hotel (very well priced at around £25-£30). Easy four star facilities, easy five star service. Will return one day. Shuttle buses take you into Hisaronau for under 70p each way, taking five minutes, 30 minute walk. Hilly location with amazing views.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callum A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

I recently visited Hotel Greenland at the beginning of July 2013 for 11 nights with my boyfriend. This was our first holiday together, and we absolutely loved it.

We arrived at 3am, so we didn't see much of the hotel but had a really quick check in and got shown to our room. The room was quite small, however it didn't bother us because this is where we sleep. It was very clean, and cleaned everyday.. one thing this hotel could invest in are bigger towels! The bed sheets were quite rough and thin, so leaving the air-con on over night meant that we woke up cold, however we found thicker blankets in our wardrobe and used them as they were more comfortable. Our air-con did leak one night, and we told reception as we made our way to breakfast and on our return to clean our teeth the maintenance guy was there and had already fixed it!

Our first morning we were very surprised at how amazing the hotel was, as looking at the pictures shown on First Choice we did not expect what we got! The hotel had a lovely layout, a lovely atmosphere and all the staff were very friendly and welcoming, keen to know when you arrived and if you'd visited Turkey before. The food was excellent, I am quite a fussy eater and this hotel had a huge selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner so I could pick the things I would eat. The snack service was basic but if you got a little peckish it was fine.

The night time entertainment wasn't fantastic, but you don't really go there for that. The hotel display the entertainment on a board by the pool, for that night, so you can decide in the morning if you want to make other plans to go to town.

We spent our time around the pool nearest the main reception, as we enjoyed the liveliness, the music and the slide! I would say that the music was quite loud during the day, although we did sunbathe right next to the speakers so that could be the reason! We didn't spend all of our days at the poolside because we would have got bored, so we did excursions booked with Pioneer which is located in Hisaronu as they had affordable prices for us.

During our holiday we went into Hisaronu, to shop and eat on 2 nights of our 11) using the Dolmas bus service at the bottom of the hill the hotel was on. This was so easy to use and cost so little so there was no point spending silly rates on taxi's unless you planned to stay out late.

I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone, and in fact we met people during our stay who had previously been. I had a fantastic holiday here and I could possible return next year, however it is nice to try different holiday destinations but I think I will return one day. But remember, your holiday is what you make it.

Room Tip: We were in block 4 nearest the quieter pool, and you can hear the music sitting on the balcony howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from a weeks holiday at this lovely hotel. We had a relaxing, enjoyable week. The service, food, cleanliness, rooms, pool areas and staff are excellent. Although our room was abit small this was not an issue, it was cleaned daily, and very modern. The grounds in the hotel are stunning, the hammock area is perfect for getting out of the sun and relaxing, it's lovely to see the tortoises walking around.
We didn't get involved with the entertainment as preferred to sunbathe and enjoy a few drinks at the top bar in the evening, but the entertainment team work hard and put on good shows for all ages. The towns are a bus ride away, we went into Hisaronu which is lovely, lots of shops and bars and you don't get hassled like you do in Sharm al Sheikh. We will definitely return to this hotel. We had a fantastic week with our family here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda7612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A bit late writing this, but better late than never.....It was our first time at this hotel, and can honestly say we will be definitely be returning !! Can't fault it, very friendly, very clean, and stunning scenery. The food was varied and delicious, the cream cakes especially actually tasted of something unlike some holidays we've on. The waiters we're very efficient and polite. The entertainment team we're fabulous, especially Sezer, he was there during the day running various activities and on an evening chatting with everyone and doing his 'Gangham Style', I will never tire of this, he was brill !! The evening entertainment was fabulous the best we've ever experienced, there was something on every evening.....I don't think we we're in bed before 1am most nights, not that it was noisy either, our room was in block 3, and although the music was on very late we couldn't hear it. There are 2 pools, the top pool is very quiet, so if you want a quiet relaxing holiday with nobody asking you to join in activities, this will suit, if you prefer a bit of noise, making friends and joining in the activities, this happens at the bottom pool, personally we preferred the bottom pool, lots more fun!! The hotel is also ideally situated between quite a large town and the harbour, easily accessed by local bus service very cheaply, so if you fancy getting out and about the option is there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean41000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel. It is about an hours run on a bus from Dalaman Airport. It is located on top of the hill out of Fethiye on the road towards Olu Deniz in Ovacik.

Check-In, Smooth and simple and whisked up straight to our room to start our holiday.

Room, We were in 439. It was a lovely clean room in block 4. The room itself wasn't very big but served it's purpose as we did not spend much time in it. The bed was really comfy (had the best nights sleep that we have ever had in a hotel). The room was kept nipping clean by the lovely maids who work damn hard and always greeted you with a smile and a hello. There is a small charge for the safe in the room and a deposit of 10lira can be paid to use the hotels pool towels which can then be changed on a daily basis, saving yourself some weight in the suitcase.

Food and Drink, This is an all inclusive hotel. Yes the food is not gourmet style but at every meal there was plenty to choose from and you certainly would not starve and is excellent. In between there is also snacks if you are feeling peckish!! The drinks are mostly local and the lager beer (Perge) goes down a treat!! (Always 5 o'clock somewhere!!) The wines are very drinkable too and in the main restaurant you can help yourself out of the fridge. By what we gather, Turkish import duties are very expensive, so makes 'premium imported' drinks a little expensive, but saying that, the local drinks are very good.

Staff, The staff are the hotels success!! We are very anti social on holiday and the staff can tell by their guests who want to be involved in activities and who don't. We spent most of our time at the top pool and bar just being totally lazy. We didn't see any of the entertainment in the evening except quiz night as we spent most evenings back up at the top bar watching the sun go down and playing cards. By what we gather Hassan and the entertainment team always put on a good show down at the main bar. Two members of staff who stood out for us were Serkan in the bottom bar and Derya at the top. Both like everyone at the hotel work their socks off to provide their guests a fantastic holiday. Thank you. Another character at the hotel is Jusuf! He usually is at the bottom pool and sells Turkish bath experiences. I am not the most easy person to deal with, but he won me over and am so glad he did. We bought 'pamper' Turkish bath experiences and glad we did!! We bought it on our first day as recommended so you don't lose your tan! If you are travelling to the Greenland, please consider his offers as it is FANTASTIC!! You are whisked away to the Nicholas Park Hotel on the other side of Hisaronu and back again all in the price. Jusuf then always took the trouble afterwards to speak every day and makes time for all his guests and does not pressure anyone at all. Also at the hotel there are many 'residents'!! There are chickens clucking around with the tortoise's and the famous 'Bella' the dog who has her own Facebook page. She is a lovely dog and we reckon the most pampered pooch in Turkey!! If you need a wake up call, Bella will oblige.

Location, The hotel as I said is in Ovacik, just off the main road between Fethiye and Olu Deniz. It is on a hill and anyone with mobility problems might struggle. (Mugla region is very mountainous!!) Then saying that, the staff will whisk you around in the golf cart if needed which Is going all day long. The hotel is close to the main road but when you are there it is very peaceful especially in the evening. The most you could hear was the entertainment and the local Mosques with their calling for prayers which are amazing sounds. All the local towns are served by local Dolmus buses just down the road and are as cheap as chips! All have 'air con' and are very frequent. There is no timetables as such, but run most of the day until about midnight. There are also taxis just outside the hotel which are about the same prices as the UK.

Overall, If you are looking for a 'all inclusive' hotel in this area of Turkey, you will not go far wrong with the Greenland hotel. You can always find fault in something but I can honestly say, here we didn't. We both very much hope the Greenland does not become a victim of it's own success and if it keeps doing what it is doing at the moment then we are both sure that the hotel will provide many memorable holidays for many families. For the price we paid we can only use one word, FANTASTIC!!!!

Room Tip: Blocks 3-7 are more away from the entertainment! but not a lot to choose from them all and does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lala_Tink2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My partner (55) and I (44) have just got back from an amazing holiday at the Greenland Hotel, all the good things that people have said are true, plenty of good food and drink (apart from the beer in the main bar but it was fine in the pool bars). Free aircon, fridge and flat screen TV which had plenty of English speaking channels. safe, £1.50 per day.
Standard room was perfectly adequate for our needs as there was only two of us but would have definitely upgraded if we had children with us, room had lots of character with the wooden furniture. Balcony was on the small side but perfectly adequate. No tea and coffee facilities in standar room which the larger rooms do have. Rooms were cleaned every day.
Beach towels could be obtained from reception, appx £5 deposit
Most of the guests were British and people were not rushing to the pool to get a bed in the morning which makes a nice change :).
We used the top pool as it was quieter, we were also dreading the hill to the top but it wasn’t too bad and it wasn’t that long a walk.
It has been mentioned that blocks 1 and 2 were noisy as they were closest to the main pool with the day and evening entertainment, our room was about as close as you could get in block 2 but we did not find it noisy at all.
Staff were great, couldn’t do enough for you and another bonus was that there were tip boxes dotted around so you weren’t hassled for tips during your stay it is entirely up to you if you want to tip or not.
If you like animals this is definitely the hotel for you, a hotel dog, kittens, tortoise, pigeons (in coupe) and chickens (roaming free)
We kept our room until 6pm because we weren’t leaving until late which cost £20.

THINGS TO DO
The Dolmus buses could be caught on the main road at the bottom of the hill, they came every 3 minutes or so and it was only £2 each to go to Hisarönü, appx £3 to Fethiye, the hotel is in between both towns. Drivers were great, if you tell them were you are getting off they will remember to stop for you.
We visited the market in Fethiye on the Tuesday, it is huge, never seen so much fruit and veg ever, after the bus drops you off there is an undercover walkway to the main market, when you get to the end don’t go into the fruit and veg part as it is HUGE and there is nothing else there apart from fruit and veg, keep walking straight to get to the main market, wish we had known that at the time.
We went on two trips which we booked at one of the agents in Hisarönü, the Oludeniz both picked up and droped off at the hotel and lunch was also included in both and it was a lot cheaper that going with First Choice, the Boat trip was £7 each
The second trip was the Jeep Safari which was £12 each it was certainly different, we bought pump action water pistols when we set off and the whole day was about getting wet and staying cool and squirting everybody you could in the convoy of jeeps in the party, even pensioners were joining in. Shop around the agents, they will all give you brochures as you pass them, compare the prices before booking as they do vary.
In my opinion, if you feel disappointed staying at The Greenland you expect too much, it is one of the best all inc hotels we have ever stayed in and we have paid a lot more to stay in less adequate hotels, we would definitely book the hotel again. War and Peace over, if you are going to The Greenland I am sure you will enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mistee2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Jus got bk from a 10 night stay in hotel Greenland. Had a fabulous holiday would definitely recommend. Staff are very friendly and always willing to help. Room was cleaned every day and maids were also very friendly. Would recommend going for a Turkish bath with Joseph at the hotel, there were 6 adults and a 4yr old and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. It cost £35 (85 lira) and it was money well spent. Food was of good quality got a bit repetitive towards the end of the holiday but we expect that at any all inclusive. Would recommend a trip to hisaranou and Olu Deniz. Overall we had an amazing time and are already thinking about returning next yr :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
3.4 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#14 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,589 reviews
3.4 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
#11 of 102 in Oludeniz
2,079 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#7 of 102 in Oludeniz
638 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mozaik Boutique Hotel Rooms & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greenland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenland

Address: Oludeniz Mah. Sk.3 No: 3, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Oludeniz
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
#17 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#34 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: £37 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Greenland 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Greenland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenland Hotel Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing