We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but Not amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Greenland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Greenland
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk, uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good but Not amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 week in September, me, my husband and my 3 yr old. Rooms were very nice, small but had all u needed. Bathroom & shower were excellent , really modern. Balcony very small.
Staff were nice to our daughter and a couple were friendly but wouldnt say they were amazing like Most people have. Wasps were an issue during the day but nott Hotels fault & they did What they could like burn insence to Keep Them away.
Im afraid the Entertainment was poor, we like hussain and caesar but it was sooo basic ! Karoke, mr &mrs, belly dancer,bingo!
Childrens Disco ok but Not very organised !
Food- many people moaning but we always found something nice to eat. Breakfast was good- pancakes, omletes, english baked beans ! Lunch & dinner there were 4/5 choices for Main course, always soup, salad bar, dips, fresh bread, desserts were usual desserts when u r abroad. Think it should have included ice cream.
Location ok but had to get dolmus at bottom of hill as too far really to Walk anywhere.
I emailed hotel before we arrived and asked for a ground floor room as we had a buggy a small child - they never replied & put us on Top floor room!! I Think a week was enough here . 2 weeks would have become a Bit repeatitve .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skelly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    378
    146
    46
    14
See reviews for
538
581
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I'll keep it brief with the pluses & minuses - on whole a nice hotel and deserved good reviews, but not quite at the exceptional level yet.

Plus points
Setting of hotel grounds - excellant
The wildlife around the grounds
Food varied choice, hot, plenty of salads, deserts plentiful
Rose wine ok
Weather end of september was sunshine & hot everyday
Rooms - very clean, bathroom great walk in shower & ok small rooms but dont go on holiday to spend lots of time in the room
Resport of Hisaranou, Olu Deniz & Fethiye - all good and something for everyone whatever your tastes

Room for improvement
Dont get the rave reviews about customer service - now where near the level of what I have experienced elsewhere in Turkey, staff didnt seem interested (all be it there was the exception of those that did make a real effort)
A bit to far outside of hisaranou - easy & cheap to get to on Dolmus - but we like to have walk into resorts and this was a bit to far out
Wasps - yes I was stung.
Not a great choice of drinks, beer, wine, gin, vodka was about as much as we could establish was on offer.

I would go again, great standards for Turkey, but dont go expecting 5 star experience

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegasdream74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked this hotel after seeing it for a good price for a weeks holiday and then reading Trip Advisor reviews, which are mostly good.
Then reality hit when checking in. The man at reception desk needs customer service training. He mumbles and never smiles. How strange to employ someone like that who is the first person to welcome you! Or not!
Our room on top floor in 300 block, was very small and dark. My husband and I had to dance around each other to move about, and the balcony had two small chairs, stacked, there wasn't room to sit on them together. Whoever designed this hotel must have had small people in mind, like the Thai"s for instance. Bathroom was very good with large walk in shower.
The maids did a very good job and our lady Mahindira was lovely.
The food was quite good Good selection of salads. We enjoyed the hot selection most days. Loved the help yourself to drinks set up at all mealtimes. Red wine was good, so was the tea. Water on tap to fill your bottles at a few drink stations dotted about the hotel. Loved the hot chocolate.!
We used the top quiet pool which was in a lovely setting - but - The Wasps, what a shame, It spoilt, what were supposed to be,relaxing days around the pool. Loads of them buzzing around us. Lots of people were stung.
The top pool was so cold it was hardly used. Why can't it be heated just slightly? . My husband used it only three times and stood under the shower first to acclimatise himself. We saw only three people regularly use it and they were the die hard lap swimmers. You couldn't just hang out in it to cool off. I was disappointed as I've recently learned to swim and was looking forward to it.
We are so pleased we stayed for evening entertainment on our first night as they were Turkish dancers. Absolutely fantastic. After that it went down hill for us. Bingo etc.
There was a terrible thunderstorm our second night and we were without power and water for hours but that couldn't be helped, it was fixed eventually. The days were hot but after storm the evenings got very chilly so it wasn't pleasant to sit around and wait for the "entertainment" so we would go to our room and watch TV .
There were a lot of drinks you had to pay for, even a milkshake. So not fully inclusive.
We visited Olu Deniz and Fethiye by dolmus and enjoyed our trips.
On the whole, we are glad we visited this part of Turkey as Olu Deniz is a lovely area and with a few tweaks this hotel could be as good as some people say it is!!

Room Tip: Prepare to pay more for an upgrade to what would normally be a a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fruticosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year. Was really impressed with the hotel itself and the staff are all amazing people. So much so that we went back this year and on arrival we were welcomed with hugs and big smiles. Nothing is to big an effort for the staff to help you out, or attend to your needs. The only thing that got me a bit annoyed was the ignorance of some other guests to the bar staff. They all do a brilliant job and me and my girlfriend are very good friends with the bar staff and the entertainment team now even just after spending 2 weeks there. Will definitely be going back next year to stay at a hotel were we are always made to feel welcome in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenCarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kippax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Just got back from this hotel. Couldn't understand anyone wanting to return to this hotel unless they enjoy roughing it. It really needs a nice bar and entertainment area. It is jaded and uncomfortable. Wasps rule and if you lie still around the pool they are still a nuisance. Food is mostly basic, edible but not hot enough. The good points are the scenery which is beautiful. Friendly staff who try hard to please, cleaners who smile, speak good English. The dolmus is at the bottom of the road and a fun way to get to Hisaronu and Oludeniz. Loved the area but not this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b8ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My first trip to Turkey couldnt have been better.

Friendly staff, great rooms, good food and not too far from the local towns

Would definitely go back, met some great people and had a good time

Evening entertainment great for the kids, top bar was better for a quiet drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taur033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchdown, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We recently returned from 10 days at The Greenland Hotel,having booked after reading reviews, which were mostly praiseworthy. The Hotel is set at the base of some mountains and the setting is quite stunning. Arriving at midnight, after a uneventful flight and transfer we were greeted by a pleasant female receptionist and escorted to our room by a male member of staff who was not full of the joy's of spring. We had booked a standard room but we were not prepared for what we saw - the room was very small and nothing more than a basement room. The next morning we discovered it was half underground, there was no view, the room was tiny, the bathroom door looked as if it was going to fall off its hinges at any moment and there was a split in one of the door panels. Mildew was also in one corner of the room and wallpaper gone!!. We had asked for a double bed but we had 2 x single beds pushed together - one of us had to clamber over one side of the bed to get to their side as you could not walk around both sides of the bed. This was not a standard room but a sub standard room. The next morning we asked to be moved. The Manager was uncooperative,however we spoke to Laura our Thomas Cook rep who used her negotiating skills (thank you Laura) and we were moved to a room on the 3rd floor. We had a view but the room was still small and we still had the same issue with the bed. We would mention that the Bathroom is fine, they are a nice size and everything worked well. The cleaning ladies also did a fine job.
There are two pools, top and bottom and we used the top pool as it is quieter leaving the bottom pool, which has a slide to those families with kids. Each pool has a pool bar which were fine except for the male staff, who were totally disinterested in casual users of the bar like ourselves. There was one female member of staff at the top bar who was exceptional. She was on duty in the evenings and provided great service, with a smile and a chat and was a thoroughly nice girl.
The restaurant was nicely laid out and all meals (we do not eat lunch) were okay (we love Turkish salads) however there was not a lot of choice of hot food. The sweets were okay but everyday they were the same. The waiters were very good, polite, chatty and efficient.
The Hotel is quite far away from the nearest towns but the dolmus, which you can catch at the end of the road are very easy to use. They take you into Olu deniz., Hirasou (5.50 lira each way for 2 people)& Fetiye (7 lira each way for 2 people).
As previously mentioned wasps were a problem with one lady in particular getting stung twice, but we understand that this is not normally a problem.
We believe that the Hotel is over rated as a 4* and, having stayed at a 5* Hotel earlier this year the Hotel Greenland was nowhere near it. We would rate this Hotel at no more than 3*.

Room Tip: If you are offered a room with a numerical 1 in the middle ie 413, turn it down because that is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
3.4 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
3.6 mi away
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sahra Su Holiday Village & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#5 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
3.5 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greenland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenland

Property: Hotel Greenland
Address: Oludeniz Mah. Sk.3 No: 3, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Oludeniz
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
#18 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#35 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Greenland 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Greenland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenland Hotel Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing