We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Greenland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Greenland
Ranked #13 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a two week all inclusive holiday at the end of July, start of August 2013.

ARRIVAL
-----------
We arrived late at night, after flying from London Gatwick and went with Thomas Cook for the holiday. Upon arrival at the airport we walked over to the pick-up area and were greeted by a Thomas Cook rep you put us straight on a coach that then left a few minutes later. The transfer to the hotel from Dalaman airport didn't feel too long (was roughly 45mins I think, but can't completely remember). We got to see plenty of the surrounding areas and were the first stop for the coaches route.
When we arrived at the hotel, checking in was a very quick and easy process. Paid for use of the safety deposit box in the room. Didn't actually read before going that there was a charge for this, however, the price was only around £1.50 per night or something which didn't seem all that bad. The hotel seemed to prefer British money over Euros, but also accepted Turkish Lira.

ROOM
--------
The room was very clean and tidy. It had twin beds instead of the double bed we were expecting. Apparently in the notes about your stay box when booking the holiday, if you ask for a double bed then Thomas Cook request this when arranging the holiday. The man showing us to the room put the beds together and the maid switched the sheets for a double sheet and double duvet cover the next morning. The room facilities were good, with a powerful shower and clean bathroom, plenty of space for luggage and a few plug sockets to use. It had a small balcony which you could sit out on, however, we preferred just to use it to dry clothes and swimwear.

STAFF
--------
The maid was very friendly and she cleaned our room every morning, changing the bedding and towels as well. One day we came back to the room to find she had left a flower arrangement on the bed as she seemed to like us! The other staff around the hotel were very helpful, friendly and hard working. It seemed to be the same set of staff for the whole duration of our stay.

FOOD AND DRINK
------------------------
There was a reasonably good variety of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The selection was best for lunch and dinner as at breakfast we got used to the stuff they provided fairly quickly. However, as it was hot and there was so much on offer we found we never went hungry and enjoyed the food that we ate. There was a stand each night at the restaurant serving something unique to that day, like doughnuts, pancakes or something. This stand seemed to change each day.
The service for drinks was absolutely excellent. I have heard about many all inclusive hotels were you are often waiting for ages, or there are rules about one drink for each person who comes to the bar. At many you apparently have to tip if you want the bar staff to come to you quickly. However, none of this was the case here. They were very quick and would give you a tray of drinks if you asked for them!

HOTEL
---------
There are two pool areas in the hotel, both of which were nice to sunbathe. We found that you had to get there fairly early if you wanted a pair of sunbeds and an umbrella. There was regularly single sunbeds or sunbeds with no umbrellas. However, by walking around the pool it wasn't too hard to move them around or find an umbrella someone wasn't using. We managed to find them every time we went to the pool. The pools were very nice, with water of the perfect temperature. We found that the top pool was very relaxing and quiet, whereas the bottom pool with the water slide was very loud as that was where all the children went. We mostly stuck to the top pool area. There is a bar next to each pool area to get drinks and snacks all day.

ENTERTAINMENT
-----------------------
There was a variety of evening entertainment, however, this was fairly repetitive and can't comment much more as we didn't really go to most of it. Same with the sports and other activities offered during the day.
The Thomas Cook rep offered a selection of trips that we could go on at extra cost. We went on a few of these and they were absolutely fantastic, especially the boat cruise and scuba diving. This was all arranged at the hotel.

BEACHES
-------------
The hotel offers a free bus shuttle service to the beach. We tried the beach that they suggested, but didn't really enjoy it. There was quite a lot of sediment floating in the water. However, the next time we used the bus and asked to be dropped at the other beach that you had to pay a small amount to enter (4 lira or so, can't remember the exact price but that is only a pound or two.) This beach was absolutely fantastic, with amazing water to swim in and platforms to dive from. Sun beds aren't free at any of the beaches, but aren't too expensive (about 15 lira for the day).

AREA
-------
There is a couple of towns quite close to the town that you can go to for restaurants, shops and clubs. You can either walk for about 40mins or just get a Dolmus. These are effectively minibuses, that stop by the road and charge you a few Lira to go to the destination. They are much cheaper than other transport.

GENERAL
-------------
As you may be able to tell, the area of Turkey this hotel is in prefers British money or Turkish Lira. Apparently the best currency to use changes in different parts of Turkey. The exchange rate for the Euro where we stayed was awful and that was all we took as Euros are preferred in other parts of Turkey. There was a cash point in the town near the hotel that allowed me to withdraw British pounds with no charge. Then a shop to exchange them for Lira that offered a better exchange rate than the hotel. However, the hotel exchange rate was very reasonable for whenever I needed it.

As a whole we absolutely loved the holiday and the hotel. We would definitely consider going again if we were to go to the area. Can't recommend this hotel enough! There are so many bad all inclusive hotels and this is definitely not one of them! 5*

Room Tip: Rooms nearer reception mean less walking to the restaurant. However, this means closer to the bar, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank alord1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    898
    382
    146
    48
    14
See reviews for
556
598
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed in Hotel Greenland for a week in June 2013 as a couple and a mum and son (aged 6). The hotel was clean but basic. We stayed in one of the middle blocks and we found the room to be tiny with not enough space to have two suitcases open at once! We requested a double room but were given a twin but this wasn't too much of an issue. The food was basic but hot and edible. The snack bar throughout the day provided a good alternative to what could be quite a 'samey' buffet. The pools were clean but cold (this was nice in contrast to the searing Turkey heat so more of a compliment than complaint!) The activities were a bit sparse and I feel there could have been much more for children to do. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The atmosphere of the whole hotel was relaxed and friendly. Unfortunately it was quite a long walk to the closest towns which left you stranded in the hotel unless you were happy to pay for a taxi every evening. It was a nice break but not somewhere we would visit again due to the lack of activities and we tend to prefer a beachfront hotel! relatively decent value for money though.

Room Tip: If you have children try to get a family room in the top block near the 'quiet pool', we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dot_JMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Me and a mate stayed here for 7 nights (28th sep to 5th oct), we arrived late at night after a pleasant journey and what felt like a quick transfer to be greeted by Hasan who seemed welcoming, check in was quick and bags were then took to our room by a nice gentlemen. First impressions of the room was clean and cosy with a nice view but a small balcony however this didn't bother us as we wasn't really in the room. The maids did a fantastic job keeping the room clean and we had fresh bedding and towels everyday.

Food and drink
Breakfast and evening meal had a good variety and there was something different everyday, snacks could of been better I fount it quite hard being a vegetarian to find something to eat other then chips.
Plenty of wine supplied for evening meals ,beer was OK, coffee from the machines was nice too, couldn't comment on any other drinks as stuck to the above.

Staff
Bar and waiting staff were excellent ,polite and really hard working as was the DJ, Hasan though was brilliant always mingled with the guests, had a good laugh with him on many occasions.

Entertainment
some nights were better then others often funny to watch especially when he got my mate up for Mrs. Greenland.

While we was there we had a powercut due to bad weather conditions, the hotel extended the all inclusive hours which we made use off to the early hours of the morning with some other guests and staff. Also they offered late check out for free which was a nice gesture of the hotel thank you

Quick tip if you go to the beach we would advise you to make your own way there as we used the free bus from the hotel which took us to a private beach were you had to pay for sunbed hire and drinks, you wasn't allowed to take your own drinks or food.

The only thing is the hotel is a bus ride away from places to visit but it was easy and cheap enough to get around.

All in all fab holiday would recommend this hotel, hope to return next year.

Chantal and Kate (Nottingham)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormiston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

After trawling through review after review and the vast majority being positive we booked Greenland. Big mistake. I will keep this short as there are literally hundreds of reviews on here telling you about the quiet pool, busy pool, dolmus into here / there etc. What I can say in my opinion is that it does not live up to reports. I thought it was shabby, in need of refurbishment and an injection of money. The hotel is basically in two parts, the original lower area, reception,(which is the most understated reception ever been in), restaurant, pool and the newer top area of accommodation, pool, bar. If there was a restaurant at the top pool area and this part was all there was it would be a nice hotel. The hotel is set in a nice location at the foot of mountains but is miles from the beach which we like to have a walk on at anytime of the day. That's not possible here as you have to get a bus Everywhere. By the way the bus from hotel to beach is not run by hotel but owners of beach who want you down there to spend money.
The main points I based my choice of this hotel on were - "bottom bar lively with atmosphere" - wrong! needs refurbished, no atmosphere, I have a better bar in my shed.
"Entertainment great, varied and funny" - wrong! - not varied and not funny, (apart from the acrobats show)
"Location brilliant" - wrong! - not in right location at all, ok if you like bussing it or taxis.
"Rooms great" - wrong! - our first room (51 something) was nothing more than a dungeon, and no you don't go on holiday to sit in your room but, it would be nice to have some sunlight coming in and not need to have lights on in middle of the day, and to see something other than an earth mound. We moved the next day up to block 7 but were charged for the upgrade.
Once your complimentary bottles of water run out - get your own, they are not replaced, same as the toiletries. C'mon Greenland don't be so stingy.
Beds were reserved at the best places around the pool(s).
Other bad points as described previously - WASPS and "cardiac hill"
Top pool area nice but bar needs some work to create some atmosphere, more like a school staff room. The barmaid Derhya was brilliant but she wont be there next season (she didn't eat there as she admitted it was rubbish).
Food - lack of choice for hot food (compared to other hotels we have been in Turkey). repetitive.
All in all although we met some nice people here we wont be back to this hotel but will be back to Turkey. We spoke to people who return here year after year!? Sorry, - broaden you horizons.

Room Tip: Go for block 6 or preferably 7. Don't get a basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KennybOrmiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I really couldnt fault this holiday, the staff made such a big effort with our family, the food was really good the whole hotel was really clean except quite abit of chicken poop about but thats expected with all the chickens they had, me an my daughter loved going to look at what the chickens were up too. We also liked the other pets around the hotel. The entainment was good, i could go on an on. cant wait to go bk there next summer.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinky6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just returned from 10 days at this hotel and we cannot really find fault. We arrived at 7 in the evening after a very long transfer (we booked a fast shuttle which we were guaranteed just over an hour! what a joke the driver hadn't a clue where he was going and only by chance after 2 hours we seen the sign for our hotel and shouted for him to stop) anyway we were checked in straight away and the porter came to take us to our room. We upgraded to a deluxe room which is up quite a steep hill, no good for people with walking difficulties, but it was worth the extra as it was overlooking a swimming pool which was very quiet. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the maid came in every day and left clean towels. Also left us some lovely bed art with flowers. One little fault is the walls are very thin and we did have to listen to our neighbour being quite poorly one night!! Safe deposit box was 45tl not sure about pool towels as we took our own. Wifi was very good in the main bars and it was free. We had a late checkout which you can only book on the morning of departure and cost £20. The food was very good and as I am very picky there was only 1 night where I only ate chips and bread as I didn't fancy anything else. The entertainment isn't up to much we played bingo one night and it lasted over an hour for one game. There was the usual belly dancers etc nothing fantastic. We stayed by the quiet pool through the day so can't comment on day time activities. There are plenty of drink machines all over the hotel to help yourself to and you need the one in reception after you've climbed the hill from the main road. The hotel is situated in between fethiye and hisarano and is only a short dolmus ride which costs about 2 to 3 lira, also checkout olu deniz which has a lovely beach and you can sit and watch the sky divers landing. Overall I cannot fault our experience at this hotel will return hopefully.

Room Tip: Always book an upgrade if your fit to tackle the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had a great holiday at the Greenland Hotel , very enjoyable , Entertainment not great but we had 10 days there and will be having 2 weeks next year so that tells you something . Food was Excellant . We went in August and yes wasps were a pain but once the scented sticks were out that put end to them . Really lovely hotel and staff sooooo friendly ...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceyBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.4 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#7 of 103 in Oludeniz
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sahra Su Holiday Village & Spa
3.6 mi away
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
#10 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,126 reviews
3.4 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#12 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
#24 of 103 in Oludeniz
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greenland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenland

Property: Hotel Greenland
Address: Oludeniz Mah. Sk.3 No: 3, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oludeniz
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
#18 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#35 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Greenland 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Greenland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenland Hotel Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing