We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cactus Mirage Family Club
Nearby Hotels
4reasons hotel+bistro(Yalikavak)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandima 37 Suites Hotel(Yalikavak)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cactus Fleur(Yalikavak)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Palmalife Bodrum Resort & Spa(Yalikavak)(Great Value!)
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kivanc Suites Yalikavak(Yalikavak)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mer-Can Story Apart Hotel(Yalikavak)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windmill Otel(Yalikavak)
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Highlight Hotel(Yalikavak)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
180
233
118
38
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
233
118
38
36
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2009

well I'll start by saying that me and my boyfriend took ages to find a hotel- and chose this one because it had no bad reviews. We had a pretty rough start - before we were due to go- our holiday company went bust, however it was booked with Thomas Cook and so eventually we sorted everything out and managed to get there.

i think its important to let everybody know exactly how it went.
The flight was roughly 3 1/2 hours to Bodrum airport. (it can be up to 4 hours). we got on to a coach (told it would be a 45 minute transfer) however it lasted much longer- as we stopped at around 3 hotels, then we had to get on to feeder coaches ( smaller buses as the big coach was not able to get to the hotel on the roads we were due to go down) and so by the time we got to the hotel it was considerably later than we antisipated.

The hotel is classed as being in the Bodrum area- however I would advise that you study a map, you will see it is not exactly in the Bodrum resort. from the hotel- you need to get a Dolmus (small bus) to Yalikavak, then another bus from there to Bodrum resort- can take around 30- 45 minutes. we did this to go the the Bodrum castle- it wasnt too bad a journey as long as you know the names of places you are headed. PLEASE NOTE: there are NO CASH POINTS near the hotel- you would need to get a bus from the hotel to Yalikavak (20 mins).
IF you book excursions- please double check times as Thomas cook did make a few muck ups with our friends and coach times!

The hotel is very clean- you will see staff cleaning various areas constantly. there are roughly 80 steps fromt the top of the hotel to the pool/restuant area. NO RAMPS- for those who may be in wheels chairs etc. the steps are managable if you are able bodied. there are steps down to the 'beach' too.
The pool was by FAR the cleanest pool i have been in- on holiday. we did go at the start of the season- so that may be why- but it was clean- I normally hate pools.
The 'beach' is not a Sand beach- it is sand and pebbles- man made. and a tiny pier that also has sun beds. The sea is shallow enough to go in- getting deeper as you go in at a fairly steady level-= no nasty dips. howvever- there are patches of sea weed.
the hotel is set in a cove- so its either very windy or not at all. but if its hot- you are glad of the breeze.
you can use the Pedlo and Kayaks for free. you pay quite high prices for other water sports. e.g. £35 for jet ski pp. £10 each for rings etc.
The hotel quotes everything in EURO's- but they will convert it to Turkish LIRA and Sterling for you. You can change money at reception.

You can eat all day- no matter what time we woke up- there was something to eat, and we literally did eat all day. it will depend on your taste in food as to what you like. they have lots of salads, olives, dips, sauces, pasta, soup, some meats and will have a few hot dishes. the food was sometimes colder than i liked- but they have microwave to heat food up. i was very happy with the food. (all inclusive)- if you are vegan or vegetarian- you maybe limmited.

There are staff around to talk to you- they are the entertainment staff at night. if you are used to massive shows - dont expect much. The shows were simple acts and jokes. they are ok for one or two nights- but no more for us. there are no clubs near by- however the staff at he hotel organise for you to get there- we didnt go so i could not comment on the night life/organisation.

There were alot of french and some german people. and me and my boyfriend and another two young girls were the only young people there- if you want to RELAX- this is a good place to go. some people were surprised we chose this hotel as there were older people/families there, however we all still really enjoyed it.

took as many photos as we could so you can see the setting. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dee028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Well what can I say ???????

We were originally booked to go to Stoupa with XL, so needed an alternative. Having been to Yalikavak many years ago, thought we'd see how it had changed.

Firstly the Club Mirage is NOT in Yalikavak, it's a good 20 minute walk into the resort, and it's not an easy stroll!!! However the local dolmus stops right outside the hotel and is very cheap, we usually taxied back for convenience and that was about £5.

As we visited late in the season the hotel was not even half full, so there was never a problem with queues for food or drink, the downside of this was that the food was a litle bland, hence our trips into Yalikavac to dine at the numerous restaurants. The staff were friendly and effective, and the maid service was extremely good.

Would I return...not sure: the 'beach' was lovely, the pool area good, but maybe when fully occupied it would be a little 'congested'.

One final note, having read other reviews, we asked on arrival if we could keep our room until midnight, owing to 1.40am pickup, we asked on 4 separate occassions before finally reception agreed and charged us approx £45. Had we not been able to keep the room, the whole holiday would have been ruined by the 12 hours waiting for pick up, with no shower facilities and no chance of a quick nap. This is something that Mirage are going to have to address......................

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BazzaCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

This hotel really exceeded our expectations for the money we paid. It is set in beautiful grounds with low rise buildings, leading down to the beach. The hotel does have a lot of steps and would not be suitable for guests with mobility difficulites as it is set on a hillside.
The pool is lovely and was never crowded when we were there. The beach area is fairly small, but is set in a lovely cove and has pretty views out into the bay.
The food was adequate, but mainly Turkish style and sometimes not a lot of choice.
Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank jenniferlou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

the hotel was clean and very nice ,food was ok but not to everyones taste ,,,the location is quite remote and out in the sticks ,,but transport to get around is quite available ,,,,,,,,,,,,be warned if you dont like step this place aint for you ,,,,,also if your english speaking only your going to be left out alot ,,,,,,,,,oh and if you think your going to be able to keep your room on last day if your flights late think again you got no chance if your english as we found out ,,,,,,,seams to be a deal struck with the holiday reps and this hotel that all the english will be sold last day cruises ,,,,,,,,,,,,as we found out after we asked to keep our room and told we couldnt that german and french people had been allowed to ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,be warned if you do take the last day cruise youll be put in a shed of a hotel in bodrum centre and then find the cruise and the hotel dont provide the all inclusive youve paid for ,,,,,,,,,,and also watch out for the exchange rate scams if you come to turkey bring euros as everything seams to be priced in them,,,,,,,,,eat well before going to the airport home and take drinks with you ,,,,,,its very very very exspencive in the airport tray of chips will cost five poundsas an example ,,,,,,,,we went 20 sept 2008

Thank thomashilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

The Cactus Mirage Family Club Hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere, set in a beautiful bay with a small man-made beach, free sunbeds and shades and also at the swimming pool, the level above the beach. The view is lovely. Beach towels are not provided as part of the booking package.
There are some motorised water sports which are payable locally including jetski and banana rides but they did not spoil the peacefulness of this setting. They were not frequently used (maybe because this was nearing the end of the season) but somehow the noise was absorbed by the rock formations around the bay. Guests were of mixed nationalities which we liked. Mainly French, then Russian, Polish, Germans, a few Belgians and a few British. The food was above average for a 3* hotel. After the main breakfast time, a late breakfast facility was available next to the pool area, not as extensive, but a good facility to have if you are a late riser. The same applied for lunch. Late lunch through the entire afternoon was available in the area near the pool serving Spagetti Bolognese, Burgers, Chips, a few salads, and sometimes grilled chicken pieces. The main lunch menu in the main restaurant was more of a cuisine but the late lunch was useful if you wanted to go out in the morning to explore and arrive back to the hotel mid-afternoon feeling a little hungry. Tea and cakes/biscuits were served around 5.00p.m. The Bodrum Peninsula is a lovely area although a little spoilt by the over-building of holiday villas and many left unfinished. It is however a beautiful area and far less commercialised and built up than the Antalya/Camuyva/Kemer area we visited earlier this year. The Peninsula is made up of many small bays most of which are accessible by local dolmus with a fare of YTL2 - 3.5 for most journeys. The dolmus stops outside the hotel gate and runs approx. every 15 minutes into the main small town of Yalikavak. It takes approx. 5 minutes and can be walked in approx. 30 minutes. The return walk would probably take longer as it is mostly up-hill. From the bus station in Yalikavak you can take other dolmus to Bodrum, Turgetreis, Turkbuku etc. and most journeys are approx. 30 minutes. We visited all of these and the dolmus journeys give a good view of the areas along the coastal bays as you pass them. Above the bays there are areas of flatter land, which is very rural with cows tied up in fields on a rope, chickens running around and also goats. We love this kind of location rather than large built up areas with hotels blasting loud music all day long. This is a more peaceful location, although we cannot speak for peak summer. Cactus Mirage had music playing around the pool for for Aqua Gym and around teatime but it wasn't bad and too loud. The entertainment was not great and the 3 boys running it seemed to spend most of their time with any single girls they could find. That was entertainment in itself. There were evening shows involving these boys and we understood plenty of audience participation. Not our cup of tea, but the French seemed to love it. There were also appearances of magicians, belly dancers etc. on some evenings. We preferred to visit Yalikavak marina where there was a small market area and places to eat or drink and sit. The same dolmus from the hotel takes you to the mosque (the stop before the bus station) and the marina/market area is to the right. The restaurant staff were very good as was the chef and sweets chef. No tummy bugs and everywhere was clean. It was possible to eat at the sister hotel a few minutes walk away called Cactus Mirage Beach without further charge by arrangement in advance with reception. Reception staff were great too. Rooms were not huge but enough. The first room we were allocated had a mild sewage smell but we were given another room without any problems. It was a bit off putting on first arrival, however, it was not a problem throughout. Toilet paper is not recommended to be used in any of the bathrooms and public toilets and bins are provided. We were told this could cause problems. None have a sea view (maybe some have slight partial views) as they are built in rows of two storey tiers with balcony or small terrace in front of each other but with lovely garden areas separating each tier. There are some wooden benches and garden swings scattered throughout the gardens. Safety deposit boxes are at an extra charge YTL16.50 for 1 week. We booked through Thomas Cook and discovered that we were not booked into our room for the last almost 14 hours of our stay. We had a night flight and departed the hotel at 01.40hrs and had officially to vacate our room the day before by midday. For the priviledge of keeping our room until we departed we paid an extra YTL99 (approx. £45) directly to the hotel. We have taken a complaint up with Thomas Cook and await their response. There is another similar comment on Tripadvisor so please ask Thomas Cook or any other operator you travel with as to when you are expected to vacate your room. There was a young couple who travelled on our flight and they had to spend all these hours without a room as they had not budgeted or could afford to pay the extra money. As it rained after dinner and into the early hours it's not a comfortable place if you have no room and the only place of indoor shelter is reception with a few cane sofas and chairs and a small indoor bar area. There are several steps from the pool and beach level going up to reception. Maybe as many as 60 or more. So not good for anyone with walking difficulties. There were several families with small children so the steps didn't put them off. The beach is good for small children as they can play in the sand and the bay starts shallow with mostly still water. No heavy waves. There's not much else however for small children except a small play area and the steps could be quite dangerous. Finally the weather was changeable which my husband says is not normal for weather in Turkey at this time of year. We had a few rain showers at night and on our last day in the daytime. It was still hot enough to sunbath and walk around in shorts and TShirts in between the showers. All in all we loved the hotel and area and will return. THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF AT CACTUS MIRAGE AND TO ALL OF YOU WHO POSTED COMMENTS ON TRIPADVISOR TO HELP US CHOSE THIS LOCATION.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosefamilyMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews