We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barracuda beachless resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barracuda Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Umm Al Quwain
Reviewed 18 July 2012

It is not a beach resort as the beach stinks and one cannot relax by the beach. Temperature controls of AC do not work leading to excessive cooling. Beds are broken and not comfortable. No appliances in kitchen. Overall not really a value for money

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manishbindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Barracuda Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

That's right. The beach is invisible.
We had put up in this resort for a night. It was more of a Picnic, Since we a group of 17 people had booked 2 one bedroom suite for a weekend outing.
There's no beach here. Putting that word in their name is just to lure people.
That said, the rooms were in a good condition with everything working fine.
It has got a central swimming pool which provides some relief in an otherwise dull resort. We had gone here in the peak summer we should be avoided at all costs.
The whole night a stink was emanating from the sea side because instead of a beach there is this swamp.
The food we didn't try so can't comment.
It's only worthwhile as a picnic resort during the winter season. Otherwise just give it a miss.

Room Tip: Go for the Cabana's & always ask for a discount.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mufaddal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I booked Barracuda Beach Resort (BBR) for a weekend get away for me and my family (3adult and 1 infant). First impression - Where is the beach?? Honestly the picture on the website is a rendering of what would have been a beach once upon a time. If you are looking for a beach then look for some other property, having said that BBR boasts a huge variety of liquor store (and believe me its big). So you can purchase alcohol without a license and consume the same. Or if you are brave then purchase and bring it to your emirate and use the Emirates road. The reception and check in was quick, and we drove to our rooms. We had booked for a Deluxe suite (Two bedroom) for our stay. All the rooms over look the pool and that's a big drawback. There is no timing on the usage of pool neither is any life guard on duty. So you will have people having drinks and making noise throughout the night.
The rooms were decent and bathroom amenities very basic. They could do with getting better bathroom fixtures than whats available now. House keeping is very slow. So better check your room as soon as you check in and call for what every you require (maintenance, hair dryer, etc). TV channels are limited and there is a Ethernet cable dangling along side the wall. I did not use it so not sure if it works.
The property has only one restaurant (Aquarius), with limited selection on the menu or the buffet. The whole restaurant is a smoking area. Room service is available upon request and the menu is pretty much similar to the one in the restaurant.
The swimming pool is basic and has 2 baby pools, which I later figured out were the Jacuzzi (which did not function). And yes the swimming pool is not temperature controlled. There are enough pool/deck chairs so you don't have to fight for one. Do remember to bring your own towels from the room as same not provided in the pool area. There is no pool bar, so take a walk to the BBR liquor shop and get your self some drinks to enjoy by the pool.
The Dreamland aqua park is adjacent to the property and you can purchase the tickets from the reception well in advance (100dhs. pp) to beat the queue at the entrance.
Having said that the hotel staff are courteous and attentive.
Question: Will I go back to BBR or choose them again for a getaway.
Answer: I might but would like to try some place else.
But overall I would recommend it to people who like to be by themselves.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adviseguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

my friends and i booked for a weekend stay at the barracuda beach resort. sad to say we cancelled our booking and left the resort very displeased. the receptionist who refused to give out his name was very rude to our group. he shouted at my friend when told of his poor customer service skills and unapologetic for his bad behavior. the room was also very disappointing as complimentary toiletries like towels were not even available.the beach front was not even impressive and the pool was so small that if a group of people would swim at the same time, it could get pretty crowded. barracuda is a sorry excuse for a "beach resort".

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamyla407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We went for a weekend at the Barracuda resort using the cobone deal. I thought if cobone is selling this deal, the resort should be good. But surprisingly, it was not up to the mark. We went there in Feb end and the swimming pool was toooooo cold. It is not temperature controlled pool. And also the jaccuzi was there but the motor was not working, so it was used like a kids pool !!.

I think they should remove Beach word from their name as the Beach is of no use. It is smelly and black.

There was no proper play area for the kids also.

Only upside of the resort is that it had good food.

Not recommended for non-drinking families....

Room Tip: Choose pool side view.....
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed in this resort in Feb 2012, we had taken our swim suits along but couldn't enter the swimming pool cos the water was still too cold in mid afternoon. though the rent is high for a small city like Umm al Qwuain, we got a good half price deal through cobone.

We booked a Deluxe suite, and were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. not only it was spacious and well furnished with a slim TV, big cabinets, a small refrigerator and a big table and sofa but also an extra bed.

The back side of the suite opened to a tiled area which further led to the swimming pool and had a great view of the sea. and very big area in the back to barbeque also.

I would recommend it to big groups with children. as there is not much for entertainment. though i enjoyed the dinner as well as breakfast buffet. the variety was good from different types of cuisines.

Room Tip: dont go for the chalets as they are away from the pool, the suites are better.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianSightSeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel in October, 2011, in one of the single bedroom cottages. The bedroom was big, by UAE standards, so was the sitting area, which had a dining table and kitchen counter as well. We had rented the cottage for a barbeque with friends. The cottage had a shaded tiled area just outside the sitting area, and the area extending towards the beach had a patch of green grass, so the kids could play there. There were one and a half bathrooms, convenient for families. The facilties in the room were very basic, but value for money. There was a small fridge with freezer, so we could store the stuff for the barbeque. The wardrobe and the chest of drawers also came in handy.
Go to the resort only if want to have a low cost get together with friends, it doesnt have too many facilties for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nidhi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umm Al Quwain hotels
0.0 mi away
Bin Majid Flamingo
Bin Majid Flamingo
#4 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Umm Al Quwain Beach Hotel
Umm Al Quwain Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palma Beach Resort & Spa
Palma Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pearl Hotel
Pearl Hotel
#2 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Residence Branch
Hotel Royal Residence Branch
#6 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Residence UAQ
Hotel Royal Residence UAQ
#5 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barracuda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barracuda Beach Resort

Address: Khor Al Baida, Umm Al Quwain 1311, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Umm Al Quwain > Umm Al Quwain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Umm Al Quwain
Price Range: £55 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barracuda Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To Barracuda Beach Resort When the heart, body and mind longs for some real fun-filled moments in a cozy confine, close to nature's bounds, 'Barracuda' is the best bet to treat yourself and your family to a whole new experience at leisure. 'Barracuda', is where one can have a rendezvous with nature by the Arabian Sea. Go ahead to party, or enjoy a game of pool or volleyball, not to mention a cool splash while seeing the sun disappear and also enjoy the kids have loads of fun at the toddler's pool. The 'Dreamland Aqua Park', the 'Al Hamra Mall' and the 'Emirates Motorplex' tracks are all at very close proximity too. So, get, set, started to a large serving of wholesome family fun at the 'Barracuda Beach Resort'. Barracuda Resort is situated on the edge of the lagoon that borders Umm Al Quwain, is about 30 Kms from Ras Al Khaimah, towards the North and about 28 Kms from Ajman, towards the South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barracuda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barracuda Beach Hotel Umm Al Quwain
Barracuda Beach Resort Umm Al Quwain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing