We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average break away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barracuda Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Umm Al Quwain
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“An average break away”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of the groupon deal. The deal included tickets to Dreamland park which was next door. Overall it was ok. We didnt have good weather which is highly unusual for April in the UAE so that put a bit of a dampner on things.

I ll start with the pros and move on to the cons. The pros were it was easy to find. The drinks were very cheap by Dubai standards at the bar. Finding the Barracuda off license was easily the highlight of our trip. The restaurants food was passable. I liked the space in the appartments and the balcony and view was good.

The cons: The resort is located by the sea but you cannot go in or walk right beside it as it is fenced off. Swimming is not an option there neither. The pool was full of loud and noisy children. Not the hotels fault but it would be nice to have a separate pool for families. The appartments could have been cleaner. I found lots of grubby marks on the walls and around light switches.

We made our own entertainment which was fine. We ended up cancelling going to Dreamland due to the weather. However, our tickets are valid for up to one year so we will go again.
I would recommend this hotel but only as a cheap break away in order to stock up on some alcohol and chill by the pool (if its warm).

Room Tip: I liked being on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    50
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
47
14
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

As stated by the other reviews, this place has become a bit run down. The service is pretty good. Food is good. Drinks a mall available!!!!!!.
Unfortunately the pool is the primary water body anf not supported by support staff with towels etc.

Ideal place to wind down with a drink. Nothing more to do.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumarnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

we stayed a night here. its proximity to the dreamland water park made it our obvious choice. the beach is okay a bit smelly, the rooms are spacious and well lit. the restaurant offers a good spread for breakfast but be there in time or you may be left with very less options near the closing time

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kss2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This hotel we got on a Groupon deal and honestly, we were not expecting much. We were very pleasantly surprised for a cute resort with excellent customer service. It is the not the most modern resort, nor is it the greatest place to stay in the area, but value for money was excellent with the rooms being very large, well airconditioned and buffet breakfast included. If planning a trip to Dreamland, definately check it out.

Room Tip: Groupon run regular deals for this resort. Can get prices down to 200dhs/night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

As the title suggests, place is good when budget is on priority and beach is not desirable. Close proximity to Dreamland Aqua Park, Motorplex (drag racing and drifting track), and aviation club offers multiple options of leisure activities within the vicinity. In house comprehensive wine store is also a very famous attraction for residents of other emirates escpecially during weekends.
Facility offers sea facing independent chalets and a complex of apartment like rooms around a swimming pool. It also has a restaurant, which also offers the option of in room dining. Food variety is plenty and quite suitable for sub continent taste.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kashif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Looking forward for a short break?
All you need is 500 dirhams (+ 10 dirhams for you and your partner) to relax in a huge studio room at Barracuda Beach Resort for 1 night
Its just next to the liquor store so you can purchase a booze while watching the sea on your veranda .. .
the stay comes along with free breakfast.. not bad.. but if your planning a good escape.., plan and bring your own snacks/food.

just a reminder.., you can only swim on the pool and not on the beach.., loud music and dancing are strictly not allowed

Room Tip: studio room is huge enough for the entire family or group of 3 to 4 friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Me and my husband stayed here 3 times already. Our first time was great experience, succeeding visits were just ok.

Advantage : It is next to liquor shop.
Disadvantage : Not for group, security is very strict

Good: Food
Bad : Beach ( its not a good beach) swim on the pool!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat_ilagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umm Al Quwain
0.0 mi away
Palma Beach Resort & Spa
Palma Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Umm Al Quwain Beach Hotel
Umm Al Quwain Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flamingo by Bin Majid
Flamingo by Bin Majid
#7 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pearl Hotel
Pearl Hotel
#2 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Residence Branch
Hotel Royal Residence Branch
#6 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barracuda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barracuda Beach Resort

Property: Barracuda Beach Resort
Address: Khor Al Baida, Umm Al Quwain 1311, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Umm Al Quwain > Umm Al Quwain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Umm Al Quwain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barracuda Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To Barracuda Beach Resort When the heart, body and mind longs for some real fun-filled moments in a cozy confine, close to nature's bounds, 'Barracuda' is the best bet to treat yourself and your family to a whole new experience at leisure. 'Barracuda', is where one can have a rendezvous with nature by the Arabian Sea. Go ahead to party, or enjoy a game of pool or volleyball, not to mention a cool splash while seeing the sun disappear and also enjoy the kids have loads of fun at the toddler's pool. The 'Dreamland Aqua Park', the 'Al Hamra Mall' and the 'Emirates Motorplex' tracks are all at very close proximity too. So, get, set, started to a large serving of wholesome family fun at the 'Barracuda Beach Resort'. Barracuda Resort is situated on the edge of the lagoon that borders Umm Al Quwain, is about 30 Kms from Ras Al Khaimah, towards the North and about 28 Kms from Ajman, towards the South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barracuda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barracuda Beach Hotel Umm Al Quwain
Barracuda Beach Resort Umm Al Quwain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing