We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flamingo by Bin Majid
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Umm Al Quwain
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OK for a night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Saw a write up in a local adventure magazine about the crab night, sounded good so booked for a night at this hotel.
On arrival reception good, took ID cards but no payment or card swipe, pay up on leaving.
Resort is about 12(?) years old and in need of a major revamp, certainly showing its age.
Brochure says it has the best beach in the area, but it is small and not that good, beware of strong tidal current.
Staff friendly and reasonably well presented, service not too bad.
Highlight was the crab evening, they take you out at night on a boat across the lagoon until you reach shallow water (about 0.5m) all hope over with spears and underwater lights to catch crabs, fairly easy and once the basket is full back to the resort for a crab meal.
Noted many Indians and Russians staying there, we were the only Europeans.
To sum up probably OK for a weekend for families with young children?

Room Tip: All rooms seem to face the pool area, buildings are only 2 stories high so probably all the same. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seadog40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    42
    45
    8
    38
See reviews for
63
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dubai
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We are couple with our infant checked in on 28th August and checked out on 30th of august we were thinking of staying bit longer if the resort service was up to our expectation.
First of all when we entered in the room I was surpriced to see the bath room was so filthy, used shampoo tubes around, rusted showers, no pressure in showers, no cap for the wash basin (basin hole is open be careful you may loose your ring, or any belingings if you are washing it or keeping near by).
Even though they knew I am having infant and required to make lactogen milk every hour there was no kettle in the room when I called the front office for one they said they will not provide instead of that they asked me to order hot water which cost 5dhs each ltr. Thanks to them for chargin me for only one kettle of water when I recieved 4 kettles.
Swimming pool deapth is 7ft but no life guard available there was a big crowd of people for swimming in the evening from 6 to 9 including kids and adults. finally we saw life guard coming up from somewheare after all guest left to their rooms !!!!
this is really a serious thing the resort management has to look into this matter.
food was okay but not hot.
no spa was available and fitness centre.
empty tube of shampoo bittle was still laying in the floow from the day we checked in till the day we checked out even after room boys clean our bath room !!! it was not clean.
they also forget to take awa the dirty bath mat and gave us the new one !! I dont know whether this service is given only in ramadhan period or through out the year. if it is thorugh out the year then am really pity for the poor guest who comes to stay from over seas !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jos j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Umm Al Quwain hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have stayed here many times with the family.

Its not a luxury resort, its a little like a Hi De Hi holiday camp.

The rooms are spacious, 2 double beds, AC, small fridge, bathroom and its clean and tidy.

For the price you cant beat it.

The pool and outdoor areas are dated and could do with a face lift.

Not somewhere i would go for more than a day or 2.

Go crab hunting at night and eat your catch.

Kids really enjoy it here.

Room Tip: DOnt expect super luxury it is not that and dont go around local holiday times its mega busy. Bar pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Resort appears to be run down, no bath plugs, or basin plugs. Shower fitting hardly sprayed any water as it was also coming out the tap. Cockroach running around in the room. Shower fitting and tap old and dirty looking. TV very basic, no channels for children and all except for BBC news where in local language. Went during summer and Ramadan, but no umbrellas or shade provided around pool areas. Had to wait over 30 min for towels after asking for them. When we eventually got towels we requested an umbrella, which was brought out, but when we decided to go for a quick swim in the sea and came back, umbrella was gone again. Quality of furniture around the pool was poor and basic. Our stay included a night crab hunting experience. Info on where we had to wait was very poor. But the crab hunting experience was the highlight of the stay and that doesn't say much, although we had expected something different. Our caught crabs were to be served to us for dinner, and we were expecting nicely prepared crab with some sort of seasoning, but they came still half dirty with seaweed and only dumped in boiling water before serving, therefore very plain and boring. No real waiting service was received during dinner. Next morning, went through for breakfast, and no tables were laid. No attempt was made either by the waiting staff to set a table for us. We had to collect our own cutlery and everything down to the tea and coffee was on a self service basis. We basically ate breakfast, went to the beach for a last swim and checked out as there was no entertainment or other method of keep ourselves busy and with no shade provided around the pool, we were not going to stay coped up in the room. As for the beach, the water was not every clean, it appeared to be littered with grass and other items. The beach also borders an active harbour. The gardens around the pool were not manicured, the lawns were long, and later the afternoon after our check in did they cut the grass... not sure if this was related to the influx of visitors. Our sleep was also constantly interrupted by wild cats that live on the resort fighting. We came to know of the resort through a deal that was being run on the Cobone website, but would really not go back again or recommend this to anyone. It was one of the worst hotels we've stayed at, and we've been to more rustic places in Sri Lanka that didn't even come across this bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DubaiSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Flamingo Beach resort is located at the far end of Umm Al Quwain (UAQ). We, a family of four, with two kids (boys), visited this resort in the middle of summer, temperatures touching 40 degrees Celsius during the day & humidity in excess of 50%.
The rooms are spacious & clean. Bathroom is big & clean. The bed, towels & linen were clean, however we had to follow up a bit to get towels in the room.
The pool is big & well kept (but is outdoors, with no umbrellas/ shade by the pool). There is a small pool for the kids, which was colder. The pool side volleyball court & bar are cool. The beach is very small, and there are sea weeds throughout, the water is dirty, need to be careful while in the waters. Fishing facilities are provided, which many enjoyed.
There are sight seeing boat trips (till 4 p.m.) and crab hunting tours, but very costly (Dh 190 or 52 USD per head as told to us).
The staff were cordial, esp. the people near the pool & garden. The check-in was fast & check out was super fast (we checked out on a weekday, school summer vacations have already started here). The breakfast seemed average. Breakfast is not served in the room, however the room brochure says otherwise. The restaurant staff was a bit hesitant to offer us A' la carte breakfast.
This place is quite remote & there is nothing much you can do in UAQ (can watch Flamingos during winter). However, there's a KFC, McDonalds & Carrefour Express just a 5 minutes drive away. And a Lulu too. Internet is chargeable (Dh 20 per hour) in the lobby only.
So, if you just want to get a bit remote, grab a couple of beers, swim or just chill for a day, this could do it.
Will return in winter to check out the Flamingos.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool & the sea, however rooms nearest to the beach are the farthest from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjeev_das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

A last minute spur of the moment decision to go there. Its ok better than average but not very good, however it was clean. Good menu choice with Indian, Italian, Chinese Fayre. We had 3 main courses, 2 beers and a large bottle of water for AED 135 which is excellent really, and the butter chicken was very nice. Pool is ok, beach is quite pleasant, very quiet there too. We didn't venture out on the crab hunting but some people there were doing it. Breakfast was simple, but they did do eggs to order which is a nice touch that some 5 star hotels wont even to. If you want to get away from it all for a no frills holiday, its ideal. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimboDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I went there with my boyfriend and it was a nice experience. We booked a room for one night and our package included crab hunting which was the most interesting experience of the trip. We didn't expect anything luxirious and it was so. When we went the hotel was not busy at all, most of the people come just for crub hunting without staying, so the next day it looked like we were all alone in the hotel. The food is very simple but worth for the price and served in huge portions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elpis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umm Al Quwain
1.5 mi away
Palma Beach Resort & Spa
Palma Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
3.5 mi away
Umm Al Quwain Beach Hotel
Umm Al Quwain Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
11.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Bin Majid Beach Resort
Bin Majid Beach Resort
#10 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
14.6 mi away
Acacia by Bin Majid Hotels & Resort
Acacia by Bin Majid Hotels & Res...
#13 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
23.8 mi away
Beach Hotel by Bin Majid Hotels & Resort
Beach Hotel by Bin Majid Hotels ...
#12 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo by Bin Majid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo by Bin Majid

Property: Flamingo by Bin Majid
Address: Al Goub St | Port Area, Umm Al Quwain 1129, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Flamingo Beach Resort by Bin Majid Hotels & Resorts)
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Umm Al Quwain > Umm Al Quwain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Umm Al Quwain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo by Bin Majid 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tropical garden in Umm AlQuwain, Flamingo by Bin Majid offers views of the mangrove islands, a private beach area, an outdoor pool. Umm AlQuwain Museum is a 10-minute walk away. All rooms at Flamingo by Bin Majid face the pool, the lagoon and the mangrove islands beyond. Some have a seating area with a sofa and each is air-conditioned. Guests can enjoy many water activities such as fishing, crab hunting, snorkelling, and Flamingo tours. The Waves Restaurant and Bar serves international food, including vegetarian dishes. Dinner buffet is served on the beach, and the café and pool bar has a variety of light snacks and refreshing drinks. Dubai International Airport is a 60-minute drive away. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flamingo by Bin Majid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Umm Al Quwain
Flamingo By Bin Majid Umm Al Quwain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing