We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going away gift for my daughter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Marana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We book this hotel for a going away get away for my daughter and her best friends before we moved to the east coast. This turned up to be the best and unforgetable night for her and her friends. We book 2 rooms for her 4 friends, they just enjoy hanging out together, talking all night long, and swimming, being lazy by the pool side. The negative side is this hotel is in the middle of nowhere. For a high school senior to eat out in the hotel restaurant is a bit to expensive, and in order to go out, there are no restaurant in a walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb-5584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,253 - 1,259 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had an amazing time at the Ritz!!! Beautiful property set in the mountains. The service was top notch from the second we arrived on the property, from the gate guard, to the valet, to the front desk and all of the restaurants! We were upgraded to a canyon view room and found a bottle of champaign and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in the room as we entered. The view was amazing! We hiked the area during our trip and the hiking was really nice as well. No complaints at all! We will return for sure!!!!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank maja651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We booked this trip to Tucson for rest and sun and what seemed like a nice change from our usual Scottsdale getaway. We were drawn to the Ritz as you can usually bank on good service and beautiful grounds. This hotel really is out in the middle of nowhere. This isn't a bad thing if that is the atmosphere you are looking for (which we were).....however, finding a good meal was an issue. I rate the food at this hotel as OK… but just OK only works for a day or two. Other than the hotel food options there were a few strip mall restaurants within close driving distance but they were nothing to brag about. I’d say the lack of access to a good meal while on a ‘fancy’ vacation was our biggest disappointment. In addition, as far as the grounds go I would not put this particular Ritz in the “wow!” category especially compared to some of their other locations. The advantages were a quiet relaxed atmosphere, always a seat at the pool and an exquisite spa. Picture yourself enjoying a fabulous massage then heading up to the spa pool for a glass of champagne, surrounded by nature, reading good book in the sun with no distractions and excellent service. That was a good day. The Pros and Cons leave me at undecided if I will come back since there are so many other places to try!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Overgoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We are constant travelers and enjoyed the beauty of the resort. It is as pretty as the pictures online. You won't be disappointed with the quality of the grounds or the hotel.
Our disappointment was the main pool. All we wanted to do was relax, read a book or even take a cat nap. But, every day there were a group of kids playing marco-polo and other games that included endless shouting. This group knew each other and they were always screaming/screeching, splashing water, arguing & physically fighting. EVERYONE poolside was annoyed and many gave up and left. We asked the pool wait staff, "Why aren't they encouraged to go to the lower pool... ya know, the big KID pool below?" We never got an answer, but the parents were off in the corner purchasing off the menu, so it seemed the Ritz preferred to have them continue.
Then there were multiple, long temper tantrums by little girl named "S" whom had a booming voice. Her mother actually said, "I'm going to sit and pretend she's not my kid." This girl was aiming and shooting a large water gun at people while they lay in their chairs poolside. After feeble attempts to stop "S", a lady was hit directly within the path of the water gun as she lay sunbathing. The woman was visibly upset, only to have the pool management do absolutely NOTHING. The girl's parents didn't take away the water gun or apologize. Although they did order another pitcher of margaritas. This seemed like a pattern, ignore your kids at the expense of everyone... Yet, don't forget to re-fresh your drinks. The pool staff knew exactly what was happening. There was no secret among anyone that was there to witness this exhibition. The parents threatened several times to take "S" back to the room, yet to everyones dismay, that never happened. The only time she wasn't whining, disobeying/talking back to her parents is when she ate her lunch.
We tried to go to the spa pool for some peace, but to our disappointment, you have to be 18+ yrs and my teenagers were underage.
The service was overall slow. Upon our late afternoon arrival, our room was not ready. We had to wait an hour. No big deal, we had our lunch. As a whole, any ordered food seemed to take forever. We had to "ask" for our room service in the late afternoons and request our turndown service. The towels felt like sand paper and the sheets smelled like bleach. Our basic room amenities were not replaced daily. Nor were dirty used beverage glasses or in room coffee packets. We had a staff person call us at night after 10:15pm which woke us up. The call could have waited till the next day. Our in room movie failed mid movie. We were told we didn't need a reservation at Claytons for dinner, only to realize, that we did need one. Then we found out that Claytons was booked for our entire stay. Many mornings, there was only 1 person working the To-Go coffee station, so there was a long wait. The pool staff didn't clear empty glasses/plates, they were left all day, in the sun. There were never enough bikes, so we didn't get to do that. The nature hike guy was sarcastically rude to my teenage son, mocking him. Not sure why, he was quietly listening and following the tour. The manager at the pool was rude when I asked him what time the pool restaurant opened. I had heard 11am, but (clearly) I was mis-informed. He seemed annoyed with my inquiry. Like its my official duty to memorize the hours of all the restaurants...? Wow.
If you are into the desert location, its great. A truly beautiful and remote setting. We've been to several other R.C.'s and have had impeccable service. Some staff tried and were very nice, but this resort has not achieved our 5 star rating. At times it seemed they were understaffed or had new staff that wasn't trained. We ran across several staff that couldn't answer basic questions regarding the resort or its services.
Maybe it was just our experience. I wouldn't discourage anyone from visiting.

Room Tip: Its better to face the mountains to get the view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank beachtraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with the most consistently impeccable service. Food and wines -- beyond outstanding. Property and room appointments -- gorgeous. We came for a weekend and were sad to leave. We'll be back.,

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gailo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is a great location if you want to have a big corporate meeting or if you want to get away from everything. The other reviewers are correct that there is not much in the way of nice restaurants or amenities close to the hotel, and it will take a 15 minute drive to get to even a convenience store or chain restaurant. That said, it is a great place to have a contained business retreat if you want to keep people on-property, and if you are looking for an isolated getaway in a beautiful location.

The facilities are new, beautiful, and well maintained, and take good advantage of the surrounding scenery. Housekeeping was fine. The food I had while there (all banquet style) was very good by banquet food standards. The servers were all helpful and had good attitudes. Some were less attentive and less polished than I would expect from a Ritz-Carlton (slow on clearing plates or refilling water glasses, for example), but many were truly excellent. The front desk and check-in/check-out was decent, but understaffed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel caters to a broad market. Great for families and kids, pool and spa folks, golfers and nature lovers. The location is spectacular but remote. srvice is impeccable. Everyone addressed us as Mr. and Mrs. _______, every request was handled promptly and efficiently, and all the ladies and gentlemen of the Ritz were friendly and helpful, really on their game.

We played golf twice and liked the courses except for the greens. I'm a little surprised that a big PGA Tour event is played on a course with such contrived greens. The condition of the courses was A+. Cayton's restaurant in the clubhouse was very nice for lunch after a round of golf and very enjoyable for dinner on the one occasion we dined there in the evening. Covered outdoor seating with an abundance of fireplaces and other fire features makes for a stunning setting. The food was good and reasonably priced.
The hotel itself, despite lavish pools and beautiful common areas, was disappointing. Our room was smallish with a terrible lounging chair and ottoman that was simply uncomfortable. We are, unfortunately, not comfortable in beds with very firm mattresses. The Ritz's mattresses are very firm and we did not sleep well during our 3 night stay. The balcony, which overlooked the pools, was too small for the small table and 2 chairs on it. So for more than $500/n we didn't sleep well, couldn't sit and read comfortably in the room or enjoy the undersized balcony.
Lastly, dinner in the hotel's upscale restaurant, The Core, was a disappointment as well. The menu was limited, the food was terribly average and outrageously expensive. We usually enjoy a good bottle of wine with dinner. Our private cellar has about 800 bottles in it right now, hence I know the prices of many wines. Some wines on The Core's wine list were marked up 400%. That is simply absurd. It doesn't matter if you are the Ritz, a rip off is a rip off. Charge 250% for your less expensive wines and 150-200% for your better wines. You'll sell more and aggravate fewer guests.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marana
8.6 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
819 reviews
14.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
18.6 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
18.3 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain

Address: 15000 N Secret Springs Dr, Marana, AZ 85658-4813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Marana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Marana
Price Range: £277 - £602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain is Tucson's finest luxury resort, nestled in the high Sonoran Desert against the Tortolita Mountains. Featuring a destination spa, adventure programs that can restore your soul, world class hiking, Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf, indoor and outdoor dining including True American Cuisine at CORE Kitchen and Wine Bar, and richly appointed accommodations in a striking canyon setting, this resort is a place where adventure and a gracious spirit come to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Dove Mountain Hotel Marana
The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain Marana, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing