We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, small hotel with extremely helpful staff”
Review of Tailor Made Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tailor Made Hotel
Ranked #359 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We were at TMH for 4 nights in Buenos Aires. The neighborhood, Las Canitas, was lovely and welcoming and while at times it felt a tiny bit off the beaten path, this ended up being a very good thing. Great location if you're a runner as it's close to many parks. There is no gym, but there are several gyms nearby which are very cheap to use for the day. The staff is outstanding - very helpful in planning trips, suggesting restaurants etc. We played polo one day and went to El Tigre one day both of which they helped us out with immensely. We stayed at another hotel for 3 nights in the microcentro which was a big, nice, fancy hotel but missed the charm of TMH. I will definitely stay here again and suggest others try it too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BSG_eq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2011

My boyfriend and I just spent four days / three nights at Tailor Made and had a great experience. Looking over the reviews (and having had the opportunity to walk around the city as well as stay in another hotel in BA) makes me want to give put some context on the negative feedback. (For reference, we stayed in room 3 which we loved.) I think the negative feedback is accurate, but it wasn't major enough to impact our enjoyment of our stay.

1) Hot water: our water was really, really hot out of the shower. This was consistent our whole stay. It wasn't a big enough deal to us, however, for us to mention it to the staff until after we left. Just be careful as you adjust the temperature, and turn the cold water faucet up as high as you can!

2) Air conditioning: we used it sparingly, but it was quite hot during our stay, and we found that if you had all the windows closed and turned it on, it was cold enough to make us cold in the night

3) Noise: We faced the back of the hotel and had no issues with noise whatsoever. You face a lovely interior courtyard and have your own deck, which we really enjoyed. Our first two nights we slept with the windows open, and were only awoken once when some louder guests were either in the courtyard or in their own rooms. (But this would not have been a problem if we hadn't left our windows open and used the A/C instead.)

4) Dog poo: This is a reality of any of the more residential neighborhoods in BA and quite beyond the ability of Tailor Made to control. Personally, I'd much rather contend with the dog droppings than stay in the Microcentro (which was really quite congested / commercial and didn't have all the charm of Palermo / Las Canitas).

5) Breakfast: I wonder if this has improved since some of the older posts? It was as good or better than other breakfasts we had at similar or lower price points. Pretty standard fare of bread / medialunas, good selection of yogurt and cereal, great coffee, fruit always available. On our last day they even cooked us eggs! I think this may be a weekend thing?

6) Internet: my boyfriend's iPad worked great in our room -- the internet was fast and without problems. My kindle had issues connecting, but wifi is so ubiquitous that I didn't work hard to fix the issue at the hotel. It did seem like sometimes there are issues with the internet, but the staff was generally quite committed to working it out.

7) Cleanliness: Our room was neat and tidy. We found the maid service to be great.

Overall, we loved the experience. Being such a small hotel, the service is incredibly personalized. The staff is extremely helpful in setting up reservations / activities (either in advance or once you're there). It's nice to have so many things included - just don't be afraid to ask for what you need! It is minimalist and modern in style and aesthetic, so not for everyone. It's also likely a better place for longer term stays -- it did feel a bit like a little home in the city for us. We might not have taken full advantage of the hotel if we hadn't stayed for more than a night or two.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melinanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

As part of our last few days in Argentina, my husband and I wanted to stay in a hotel where we could “live like locals” in Buenos Aires - this hotel was perfect for that! Located in a little sub-neighbourhood of Palermo called Las Canitas, this small 5 room hotel makes you feel like you are staying in a chic apartment rather than an impersonal hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome - the staff knew it was our honeymoon so our room had been decorated with rose petals, a beautiful flower arrangement and a complementary bottle of wine. We stayed in room 5 on the top floor where we had our own private terrace with jacuzzi and lovely plush bench for lounging. What makes this hotel great is the fact that everything is included: mini bar, as much bottled water as you want, breakfast, snacks, coffee, wine, phone calls to 35 countries and free laundry. You also get your own Apple computer in your room which was very handy. The beds are extra comfortable and the linens are scented with vanilla which makes for a very restful sleep! And the closet in Room 5 is fabulous!

Not to take anything away from this hotel I do have to say that it is in need of some maintenance and a few upgrades wouldn't hurt:

1/ It would be a great idea to tile the shower area in the bathroom completely so as to avoid some mould issues. The same can be said for the pull down shade in the shower - it needs to be bleached or changed on a more regular basis.

2/ I would also like to see them adjust the water temperature for the jacuzzi - the water that comes out is scolding hot. Not a huge problem but a bit inconvenient- we would fill up the tub before going out for dinner, let the water cool and either use it that night or in the morning.

3/ Last, the lock on the door of room 5 needs to be fixed - sometimes we had to swipe our key card several times before it would open

While the décor of the rooms is very nice and minimalist it would be a very nice touch if the hotel could add a piece of artwork from the artists they are displaying in the main area – not a must but would definitely add to the overall boutique feel of the hotel.

Overall we did like this hotel and especially the location – Las Canitas is only about 9 blocks or so but you literally never have to leave the area as there is a great shopping mall, many restaurants and bars and lots of other amenities. However you will want to venture out to Palermo Viejo and Soho as they are great areas as well and very cheap to get to by taxi (about $5)

We would stay at Tailor Made again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TOFood-TravelChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

After some initial minor confusion with our booking, we were a little worried about staying here - and rarely have I been happier to be wrong. It's a cute concept, this hotel, with only five rooms. We stayed in room four for seven nights and we were very comfortable. The trend factor is high, though a minor gripe some of the fittings are starting to show a little wear and tear (for instance, the shower head in our room needed a good clean out).

Las Cañitas is a great neighbourhood to base yourself, full of greenery, dogs and great restaurants/bars.

But most of all it was the unbelievable staff (esp. Josefina and Silvina) here that made our stay exceptional. They took a huge interest in helping us find interesting things to do, they very quickly got a sense of the kind of stuff we were interested in and had it not been for their suggestions, I'm not sure our stay in BA would have been half as awesome as it was.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Only five rooms and a small breakfast/reception area but facilities were excellent. The free in-room broadband on Apple Macs was a great touch. Simple but lovely cold or hot breakfast room service.
The real stand-out of this hotel is the young, friendly, English-speaking staff. They were all very helpful with sightseeing, taxis, eating and nightlife advice about Buenos Aires.
Hotel is in Las Canitas which is a very safe, up-market area of BA with a few nice restaurants and bars but you'll want to venture further for a proper night out. Not too far from Palermo Viejo (20 mins walk) but requires a taxi or metro to other barrios like San Telmo or Recoleta. 10 mins walk from the nearest metro station, 15 mins taxi from domestic airport.
Best hotel we used in our two weeks in the country.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonOiseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

This place really knows what guests are looking for. Super amenities, great food and beverages, and nicely appointed rooms. Bedding is to die for. Prices are really fair when you consider it includes breakfast, snacks, and all you can drink beer and wine. Just a really nice place to stay with a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katenlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

If you want a large hotel with all of the bells and whistles..book elsewhere. If you want a great location, attentive staff and a welcome feeling, this is your place! We had a great time and everyone was helpful with sightseeing (went to colonia, UR), dining options (reservations) made to order breakfast (omeletts) and complimentary wine! In addition, free telephone calls anywhere in the world, free internet and Mac computer in each room, flat screen television mounted on the wall which doubles as computer screen. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed BA and much of it was because of Tailor Made Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckeyeDan1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Esplendor Palermo Hollywood
Esplendor Palermo Hollywood
#102 of 444 in Buenos Aires
551 reviews
Palermo
Dazzler Polo
Dazzler Polo
#22 of 444 in Buenos Aires
595 reviews
Palermo
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
#13 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
248 Finisterra
248 Finisterra
#185 of 444 in Buenos Aires
125 reviews
Belgrano
Pampa Plaza Hotel
Pampa Plaza Hotel
#331 of 444 in Buenos Aires
94 reviews
Retiro
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#140 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tailor Made Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tailor Made Hotel

Address: Arce 385 | Palermo, Buenos Aires 1426, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £71 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel in the city of Buenos Aires that suits the functional and aesthetics needs of worlds travelers who apreciate small places with a distinctive charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Tailor Made Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tailor Made Buenos Aires
Hotel Tailor Made

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing