We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different perspective”
Review of Cordoba 860

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cordoba 860
Ranked #275 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 11 February 2009

We stayed at Cordoba 860 for one night in early January. We had paid for two, but were pleased to move into our apartment in Recoleta when it became available a day earlier (and forfeit the second night's payment).

It's not my intention to contradict the statements of earlier reviewers who liked this hotel so well; however, our overall perspective was quite different.

First, I would agree with the following comments by previous reviewers:

1. The 31 rooms in Cordoba 860 have been substantially renovated, in a generally attractive way.

2. The staff makes a genuine effort to help and to please.

3. There is free internet access in the tiny lobby (which is two floors up from street level).

4. A small but tasty breakfast is served.

However, these four plusses were not sufficient to overcome some innate shortcomings of the property. Specifically:

1. Our renovated room, which staff assured us was "superior" or "deluxe" or some such, was so tiny that we almost literally had no place to put our two suitcases. It was uncomfortably small.

2. The two tiny elevators were tinier than the tiniest ones I have ever ridden on in five or so decades of traveling, and they had interesting minds of their own. For example, if you were on the fifth floor (as we were), and pushed the "down" call button, an elevator might arrive, open its door, and then take you UP to the 14th floor to get two other guests had pushed the call button, even though the elevator could hold two people maximum.

The hotel is narrow, squeezed between two other buildings, and has little inherent attractiveness other than the fact that its rooms have been (or are in the process of being) renovated.

I am somewhat reluctant to state these truths, because it is evident that the hotel's owners really tried hard to renovate their tiny rooms. The new tile work in the bathroom was professional, and the room was clean, with an attempt at modern decoration. However, there comes a point where a room is so small that it is uncomfortable, no matter what the decor.

We stayed in Buenos Aires (in an apartment) for the entire month of January, and saw many attractive hotels which I am certain had rooms more typically standard in size. For a single traveler, with one suitcase, a room at Cordoba 860 might well be sufficient. Its location on a busy and somewhat lackluster major thoroughfare, while not outstanding, is fairly central and adequate. However, given the large number of good and excellent hotels in this world class city, I really can't rate Cordoba 860 much if any above two stars.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tearose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2009

From the street, the hotel looked a little bit scary (old exterior, seedy lobby which actually belonged to the other hotel in the same building--the Cordoba 860 lobby is upstairs) and if I had not prepaid the reservation I probably would have looked elsewhere. But once inside, the place was so nice and accomodating it was a great deal for the price. Our room (a "studio") was small, but nice and newly renovated. The hotel is centrally located in the Microcentro area of town, near a lot of popular tourist destinations. Best of all was the staff, who went out of their way to be as helpful as possible. Example: when I got to the room, I realized I didn't have an adapter to use the Argentine electrical outlets. I called the front desk and barely had finished telling them the problem before they responded, "We will be right there." A minute later, the clerk was at my door with a free adapter for my use.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Plato99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

My dad had visited BA as a young merchant seaman and always wanted to go back. Now both in their 70's, I travelled there with my parents for 11 nights.

My travel agent had told me about this property, but was not able to book us a room through her wholesaler. I contacted the hotel by email and was able to get a better rate on a larger room. We had the 'Grand Suite' which was a one-bedroom apartment style room. My folks had a double bed in the bedroom, and I had a single bed in the living room, which doubled as the sofa to watch tv. It was a proper bed however, not a pullout sofabed, and was very comfortable for me for the entire stay. I believe it also functioned as a trundle bed so if you had two kids they could be accomodated there comfortably. We had a small kitchen with fridge, coffeemaker, microwave and sink which was useful. The rooms are not really soundproofed, plus they have wood floors so we did occasionally hear people walking upstairs. We didn't really hear any voice sounds or tv though there are a lot of night time creaks in the building!

They provided breakfast everyday, you just had to phone the reception desk and someone came up with cartons of orange juice and a basket of medialunas and rolls with butter, jam and dulce de leche. The housekeeping came every day to make the beds, change the towels and sweep the floors.

The location on Cordoba was very quiet as this hotel occupies the back half of the building. The front half of the building is the Embassy Apart Hotel which are older suites. The entrance to the hotel is shared with the Embassy Apart Hotel, which also has the most obvious sign over the sidewalk. The two hotels share the elevators, stairs and have half the rooms on each floor. It was a little confusing initially but worked out just fine. The elevators are very small - only three good friends could fit in one at a time! If you are on a lower floor, the stairs are the way to go as it can take a while to wait for an elevator. We were on the 4th floor and I used the stairs all the time. They had an internet kiosk in the reception area which was free of charge and available 24 hours.

The front desk staff all spoke English and were very helpful in all cases. This was a very nice place to stay for our trip. The rooms were modern and clean, the location was central and the staff were great. All this for $125 US a night couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Vancouver_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Staid at this hotel during a recent visit to Buenos Aires and found it to be a great value for the money ($105 + tax a night). It was a little hard to find when we first arrived at the address...turns out it shares an entrance with another hotel (Embassy Suites). The rooms were recently renovated and converted into stylish modern lofts with a kitchen, fridge, flat screen TV, and a bar table with stools. Management was warm and friendly and the location very convenient (just blocks away from Florida St, 9 de Julio Ave, and other major attractions). I would recommend it to anyone traveling for business or leisure and looking for a midrange or budget hotel. Book in advance, though...the place seemed to be full the entire week.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank interflights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Franciellerocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofía R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todos os quartos possuem microondas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carololiveira512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#48 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,527 reviews
Pampa Hostel
#275 of 478 in Buenos Aires
40 reviews
San Nicolás
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#318 of 440 in Buenos Aires
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Cascada Townhouse Hotel
#163 of 260 in Buenos Aires
8 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#47 of 440 in Buenos Aires
3,549 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordoba 860? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordoba 860

Address: Avenida Cordoba 860, Buenos Aires C1054AAU, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £61 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cordoba 860 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cordoba 860, we offer the best location in Buenos Aires city with the privacy and comfort of our modern suites. You will enjoy the service of an international hotel with the convenience of a warm and modern apartment and the rate of a low price hotel. Our objective is making your stay unique at a very low cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cordoba 860 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordoba 860 Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing