We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, good service...a revelation”
Review of Cordoba 860

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cordoba 860
Ranked #280 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
home
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great value, good service...a revelation”
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Finally a wonderful deal for a mini suite in great center location in the $ 60 - 100 range all inclusive (breakfast and tax).
We know city well but this cannot be beat.
Do NOT confuse with cheaper EMBASSY suites at same location it is no comparison!
Book on third party websites for best prices.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitylia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    72
    44
    21
    22
See reviews for
51
43
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We booked a 5 night stay here with some trepidation given the reviews about the room size but the current 4 for 3 nights deal tempted us enough...and we were pleasantly surprised.

When we arrived at midday our room wasn't ready but given our long journey they offered to convert a twin into a king room for us so we could get into a room early. This worked out really well for us as the twin rooms appeared a bit bigger than the normal doubles so it's worth asking if they could do this for you. Rooms had safes (big enough for a netbook), a good TV with lots of cable channels and comfy beds with duvets rather than the usual sheets/ blankets.

Unfortunately our first night or two we didn't get great sleep as our room was on the same floor as reception and the kitchen and the breakfast staff were pretty noisy, having conversations in the hallway and swinging open and closed a very squeaky door! When we mentioned this to reception they were really good and said that shouldn't have happened and from then on we noticed much quieter staff...and we're pretty sure we even heard them fixing the hinges one afternoon so the service was pretty good!!

Breakfast - whilst very simple - was great. You simply dial '0' whenever you're ready and they bring juice, milk, rolls/ croissants and spreads. There's a coffee maker in the room. Although I'm sure this was done as the hotel doesn't have restaurant space, it was actually really nice to have breakfast in bed at whatever time of the day you are ready for it!

Other comments: the location was central and on a main road so safety was never an issue; the staff were helpful in booking taxis and restaurants for us; there is a free computer in the reception and free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Based on the rave reviews on Trip Advisor, I booked and paid in advance four nights at Cordoba 860 from 2/5/2010 until 2/09/2010. My new laptop and camera flashlight was stolen from my room. The total estimated value was $1500. The roms are secured with a key card system and there is a small safe in the room which can not accomodate the laptop. Luckily, I had friends from Buenos Aires that sternly pleaded my case to the front desk clerks. They took a defensive posture right away saying its 'never' happened in the hotel before, giving me the impression that they questioned my motives. The manager never identified themselves or took control of the situation and made the front desk clerks deal with the situation. Upon checkout, they offered me $400 USD as compensation but with the condition that I sign a document stating I would not seek further legal action or damages. Based on the lack of leadership from the management and the admission of guilt with offering me a paultry settlement with the condition of signing away any further actions, I would definately not recommend this hotel to any traveler.

Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank RFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We stayed here for 4 days in October and loved it! Excellent hotel - clean hotel, free internet, lovely staff and great location! Would recommend to anyone! Breakfast is included but basic - delivered to your room when you call. Really great stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

I loved this hotel! The staff is so friendly and helpful, and the room was just wonderful. The flat screen t.v.; the comfortable bed; the great shower; the breakfast delivered to the room in the morning; the coffee maker, microwave & fridge in the room; free computer in the lobby; and the location right in the center of the city, about three blocks from the Plaza San Martin. I recommend this hotel totally. I have read other comments that the room & bathrooms are too small, but for a single person, there was plenty of room.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marymary9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2009

I agree wholeheartedly with the previous review from tearose...

Positives:
1. Awesome price, great location in the Microcentro.
2. Really friendly, warm, eager to please and accomodating staff.
3. Brand new renovations, spotless rooms and bathrooms.
4. Room came with microwave + small refridgerator.

Negatives:
1. Rooms are TINY -- our bedroom + bathroom was <200 sq feet.
2. No restaurant or dining room -- breakfast is brought to your room (we left too early so we didn't get a chance to try it)
3. Elevators are also TINY.

We stayed for one night only as part of a stopover, thus the value of the room far outweighed the negatives. If you are a budget conscious traveler who wants to stay in the Microcentro for far less than the going average, in a clean room with friendly speaking staff, this is the place for you -- as long as you are willing to live in a closet-sized room (this coming from a couple who lives in a Manhattan studio and are used to TINY living spaces).

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blr251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2009

We stayed at Cordoba 860 for one night in early January. We had paid for two, but were pleased to move into our apartment in Recoleta when it became available a day earlier (and forfeit the second night's payment).

It's not my intention to contradict the statements of earlier reviewers who liked this hotel so well; however, our overall perspective was quite different.

First, I would agree with the following comments by previous reviewers:

1. The 31 rooms in Cordoba 860 have been substantially renovated, in a generally attractive way.

2. The staff makes a genuine effort to help and to please.

3. There is free internet access in the tiny lobby (which is two floors up from street level).

4. A small but tasty breakfast is served.

However, these four plusses were not sufficient to overcome some innate shortcomings of the property. Specifically:

1. Our renovated room, which staff assured us was "superior" or "deluxe" or some such, was so tiny that we almost literally had no place to put our two suitcases. It was uncomfortably small.

2. The two tiny elevators were tinier than the tiniest ones I have ever ridden on in five or so decades of traveling, and they had interesting minds of their own. For example, if you were on the fifth floor (as we were), and pushed the "down" call button, an elevator might arrive, open its door, and then take you UP to the 14th floor to get two other guests had pushed the call button, even though the elevator could hold two people maximum.

The hotel is narrow, squeezed between two other buildings, and has little inherent attractiveness other than the fact that its rooms have been (or are in the process of being) renovated.

I am somewhat reluctant to state these truths, because it is evident that the hotel's owners really tried hard to renovate their tiny rooms. The new tile work in the bathroom was professional, and the room was clean, with an attempt at modern decoration. However, there comes a point where a room is so small that it is uncomfortable, no matter what the decor.

We stayed in Buenos Aires (in an apartment) for the entire month of January, and saw many attractive hotels which I am certain had rooms more typically standard in size. For a single traveler, with one suitcase, a room at Cordoba 860 might well be sufficient. Its location on a busy and somewhat lackluster major thoroughfare, while not outstanding, is fairly central and adequate. However, given the large number of good and excellent hotels in this world class city, I really can't rate Cordoba 860 much if any above two stars.

  • Liked — The attempt to renovate the tiny rooms, and the friendliness of the front desk staff.
  • Disliked — The tiny, tiny rooms.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tearose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Tanguero Boutique Hotel
Tanguero Boutique Hotel
#137 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Centro Naval
Hotel Centro Naval
#188 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#59 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Carsson Hotel
Carsson Hotel
#240 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
San Nicolas
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#168 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Retiro
Dazzler Maipu
Dazzler Maipu
#93 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordoba 860? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordoba 860

Property: Cordoba 860
Address: Avenida Cordoba 860, Buenos Aires C1054AAU, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cordoba 860 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cordoba 860, we offer the best location in Buenos Aires city with the privacy and comfort of our modern suites. You will enjoy the service of an international hotel with the convenience of a warm and modern apartment and the rate of a low price hotel. Our objective is making your stay unique at a very low cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Cordoba 860 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordoba 860 Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing