We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hosts, average stay - value for money, great for backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HI Hostels Suites Palermo
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed in the Hostel Suites Palermo in 2009. The staff were young, friendly and just everything you would like them to be. More than helpful and going out of their way many times to make things comfortable. Our room was average (but from others in our group staying in other nearby places, we seemed to have the best deal). Great breakfast. The Internet was available in the common area, not in the rooms - possibly the ground floor would have access as well. It was possible to call a taxi as required and the staff were always helpful about it. It is a cheap place and very good value for the money. Location is very good as one can walk around to see nearby places. No cooking or microwave. On a budget - great place to stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms with attached bathrooms. Can ask for that. Lower dormitory has attached bathroom as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonikaAjith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Decent location only 5 mins walk from main street in Palermo. Most of the staff were friendly, one helped book onward bus journey.

Bathroom dirty, bathroom door didn't lock properly, shower terrible/lukewarm, noisy dripping tap, no hand soap in bathroom. Breakfast average to poor (one morning no plates so had to use bowls for toast!), just toast/cereal the usual stuff, cutlery sticky so needed to wash before use. Bedding too small for the bed so comes off in the night, woke up on bare mattress each morning, which certainly didn't appear clean. Wifi didn't work in the dorms for us, so had to use only in communal areas. Very noisy, dorms overlook outside area so lots of shouting/screaming until early hours from some other guests, no attempts from staff to stop this.

Would expect this from a much cheaper hostel, not sure this is worth the money but cheap/value accommodation difficult to find in BA.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I spent five nights in Hostel Suites, Palermo and I enjoyed my stay. I was in an all women's dorm, which had it's own bathroom (which was nice). The room was kept clean, the staff was friendly, so that puts it above average hostels. They had a lot of activities that they could plan, but they were a little expensive. They also helped reserve my shuttle to the airport (with a different company than the one they offer). The area is nice, and I think it's a great place to stay. The rooms themselves were a little expensive, but at least the quality was good.

Room Tip: If you are a women traveler, do the all women's dorms. It's nice that they have their own ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed here 2 nights on two spate occasions due to its relatively close location to the Jorge Newbery Airport. I was able to walk from the airport to the hostel. It was fairly safe, with lots of people around Av Sarmiento and the park. I did the walk when it started to get dark.

The hostel is in a great location near to the night clubs and the Subte and buses. The hostel has good security, with the receptionist having to buzz you in. There is an outdoor area on the bottom floor, with tables and seating fro breakfast, drinks and socialising. There is also an indoor area with a TV, tables and couches as well as couches on the second floor. There is also a kitchen available for guest use. The building has character and is old, but generally well maintained. The dorm rooms have AC and ensuite bathroom. There is free WIFI and it is pretty easy to meet other travellers. I would definitely recommend this hostel and wold stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert_killara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This hostel is well organized and spotless. The rooms are basic, but clean, quiet and felt safe. We stayed here in a private room at the beginning and end of our time around Argentina in March/April. The location is excellent as its close to the main road- Santa Fe and the subway making it easy to explore the rest of BA and only a 10-15 minute walk to the main shopping and nightlife area of Palermo Soho and Palermo Hollywood. The 2nd floor common area up the marble stairs is much more comfortable than downstairs. The one major flaw of this hostel is the lack of hot water in the showers. Our first room had hot water after letting it run for 5 minutes. But on our last 3 nights there, we never had hot water even after leaving it on for 15 minutes (such a waste). We came to BA sooner than expected at the end so we had to stay at another hostel around the corner first. That hostel (Amasoho) was awful and filthy, so it made not having hot water worth it for a clean space. The staff all spoke English and were very helpful and friendly. They also provide you with an excellent map of the city and subway.

Also note, for some reason it's significantly cheaper to book this hostel online. So make sure you book online and don't just walk in. Our friends just walked in and it was nearly 100 pesos more a night.

Autumn and Abe
Asquaredadventures.com

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asquaredadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

We got a private room (which was actually pretty much the same price as a hotel). The room itself was pleasant enough, although on closer inspection it was not particularly well cleaned. The bathroom was very cramped but it did the job.

My main complaint was the bedding... There was no fitted sheet on the mattress... Just a plain old sheet which fell off every time you moved (exposing a very grubby mattress underneath). Like another reviewer, we also ran out of toilet paper and were told there was none. For over 300 pesos per night, I wouldn't expect to have to go out to buy my own toilet roll! Breakfast was also very poor... Some bread, no butter (out of stock) and a scrap of jam (almost out of stock!). Also the kitchen is tiny, poorly stocked with cooking utensils, half of the oven rings don't work, and there is only one fridge for everyone in the hostel to store food.

On the plus side, the staff are lovely and the location is great.

This place may be worth a stopover if you are paying for a dorm room, but if you are looking to get a private room, then it is very poor value for money..... There are so many better options in BA.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My husband and I booked this Hostel after staying in a lovely lodge in the San Telmo area (La Querencia de Buenos Aires). We stayed in a double room with a private bathroom for the same price as our place in San Telmo however we were not impressed. Here are our pros and cons:

Pros:
1) the reception staff are really nice and helpful.
2) the location of the hostel is great.
3) Although there are many people staying at the hostel and during the day there is a bit of noise, in the evening, there is very little noise.
4) the kitchen is clean enough.

Cons:
1) We ran out of toilet paper in our room and when we asked for more we were told that they had run out! Apparently the supplier hadn´t arrived.
2) Breakfast consisted of toast, cereal and tea. When we came down for breakfast there was no jam or butter, we asked for more but were told that there is no more because (again) the supplier had not arrived.
3) The bed sheets on the mattress were not fitted therefore they kept slipping off and we found ourselves sleeping on the stained mattress.
4) In general the room was not clean. There were stains on the towels, sheets & mattress. There was a butter knife left behind the radiator. There was dust in a few places and some hairs!
5) The shower was tiny and we had to keep the shower curtains open just to fit in. The hot tap kept cutting off so we were left with cold water.

If we were staying here for little money a night then it would be fine but we were paying $70 a night so we expected more. I know there are much nicer places around so if I were you I would skip this place and look for a better option, especially as a couple.

Room Tip: go to La Querencia de Buenos Aires instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Eco Pampa Hostel
Eco Pampa Hostel
#46 of 478 in Buenos Aires
184 reviews
Palermo
Art Factory Soho
Art Factory Soho
#19 of 478 in Buenos Aires
144 reviews
Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
#11 of 478 in Buenos Aires
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#5 of 478 in Buenos Aires
688 reviews
Palermo
Caravan BA | Hostel Boutique
Caravan BA | Hostel Boutique
#1 of 478 in Buenos Aires
114 reviews
Palermo
Dogo Hostel
Dogo Hostel
#73 of 478 in Buenos Aires
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Hostels Suites Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Hostels Suites Palermo

Address: Calle Charcas 4752, Buenos Aires C1425BNT, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 478 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £11 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Hostels Suites Palermo 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your HI Hostels Suites Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Hostels Suites Palermo Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing