We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh... Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HI Hostels Suites Palermo
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Meh... Not impressed”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My stay was average. This was my second stay at HI Palermo because it happens to be near the US embassy and I had a two-day interview there. Always try to walk on Santamaria de Oro and not Godoy Cruz. The latter feels SO scketchy! Oh, if you ride the subway, getting off at Plaza Italia feels so much safer than Palermo. I didn't actually stayed long: I usually do hostel activities and I used it only as a place to crash this time.

PROS: The hostel cleanliness can be easily seen since I always bumped into someone cleaning, esp. the floors. Reception staff were nice. Location. There seemed to be free access to computers. The WiFi was good near the reception (I used my phone's Internet in the room). Good value: $125 per night in a four female dorm.

MEH: I wish they'd rent locks or lend them. I forgot mine and I had to buy one at the reception.

CONS: breakfast was basic (bread, cream cheese, jam, cereal) but the coffee was HIDEOUS. Worst coffee I've ever had! I used milk and it was full of its skin. Yuck! I need to drink something for breakfast. Orange juice was from that powdery type and it was waaay too dissolved. Overall, I felt breakfast was cheap, like they didn't want to spend money on food. I had to had breakfast elsewhere.
I tried to shower and the water was never hot. I was too tired to get dressed to go and complain, so I showered as fast as I could. It is not pleasant to shower like that when it's 10C/50F! Don't go to room 9!
Mattresses are getting quite slim. Not too bad since I only slept there one night.
People from room 8 tried to unlock their door and the noise was SO loud. I could hear everything that was going on in the hallway. Not soundproofed! I had a terrible night sleep.

Consider it an average hostel. Good for young people who don't expect much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat_a1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    53
    42
    24
    11
See reviews for
6
46
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed in the Hostel Suites Palermo in 2009. The staff were young, friendly and just everything you would like them to be. More than helpful and going out of their way many times to make things comfortable. Our room was average (but from others in our group staying in other nearby places, we seemed to have the best deal). Great breakfast. The Internet was available in the common area, not in the rooms - possibly the ground floor would have access as well. It was possible to call a taxi as required and the staff were always helpful about it. It is a cheap place and very good value for the money. Location is very good as one can walk around to see nearby places. No cooking or microwave. On a budget - great place to stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms with attached bathrooms. Can ask for that. Lower dormitory has attached bathroom as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonikaAjith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Decent location only 5 mins walk from main street in Palermo. Most of the staff were friendly, one helped book onward bus journey.

Bathroom dirty, bathroom door didn't lock properly, shower terrible/lukewarm, noisy dripping tap, no hand soap in bathroom. Breakfast average to poor (one morning no plates so had to use bowls for toast!), just toast/cereal the usual stuff, cutlery sticky so needed to wash before use. Bedding too small for the bed so comes off in the night, woke up on bare mattress each morning, which certainly didn't appear clean. Wifi didn't work in the dorms for us, so had to use only in communal areas. Very noisy, dorms overlook outside area so lots of shouting/screaming until early hours from some other guests, no attempts from staff to stop this.

Would expect this from a much cheaper hostel, not sure this is worth the money but cheap/value accommodation difficult to find in BA.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I spent five nights in Hostel Suites, Palermo and I enjoyed my stay. I was in an all women's dorm, which had it's own bathroom (which was nice). The room was kept clean, the staff was friendly, so that puts it above average hostels. They had a lot of activities that they could plan, but they were a little expensive. They also helped reserve my shuttle to the airport (with a different company than the one they offer). The area is nice, and I think it's a great place to stay. The rooms themselves were a little expensive, but at least the quality was good.

Room Tip: If you are a women traveler, do the all women's dorms. It's nice that they have their own ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed here 2 nights on two spate occasions due to its relatively close location to the Jorge Newbery Airport. I was able to walk from the airport to the hostel. It was fairly safe, with lots of people around Av Sarmiento and the park. I did the walk when it started to get dark.

The hostel is in a great location near to the night clubs and the Subte and buses. The hostel has good security, with the receptionist having to buzz you in. There is an outdoor area on the bottom floor, with tables and seating fro breakfast, drinks and socialising. There is also an indoor area with a TV, tables and couches as well as couches on the second floor. There is also a kitchen available for guest use. The building has character and is old, but generally well maintained. The dorm rooms have AC and ensuite bathroom. There is free WIFI and it is pretty easy to meet other travellers. I would definitely recommend this hostel and wold stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_killara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This hostel is well organized and spotless. The rooms are basic, but clean, quiet and felt safe. We stayed here in a private room at the beginning and end of our time around Argentina in March/April. The location is excellent as its close to the main road- Santa Fe and the subway making it easy to explore the rest of BA and only a 10-15 minute walk to the main shopping and nightlife area of Palermo Soho and Palermo Hollywood. The 2nd floor common area up the marble stairs is much more comfortable than downstairs. The one major flaw of this hostel is the lack of hot water in the showers. Our first room had hot water after letting it run for 5 minutes. But on our last 3 nights there, we never had hot water even after leaving it on for 15 minutes (such a waste). We came to BA sooner than expected at the end so we had to stay at another hostel around the corner first. That hostel (Amasoho) was awful and filthy, so it made not having hot water worth it for a clean space. The staff all spoke English and were very helpful and friendly. They also provide you with an excellent map of the city and subway.

Also note, for some reason it's significantly cheaper to book this hostel online. So make sure you book online and don't just walk in. Our friends just walked in and it was nearly 100 pesos more a night.

Autumn and Abe
Asquaredadventures.com

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asquaredadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

We got a private room (which was actually pretty much the same price as a hotel). The room itself was pleasant enough, although on closer inspection it was not particularly well cleaned. The bathroom was very cramped but it did the job.

My main complaint was the bedding... There was no fitted sheet on the mattress... Just a plain old sheet which fell off every time you moved (exposing a very grubby mattress underneath). Like another reviewer, we also ran out of toilet paper and were told there was none. For over 300 pesos per night, I wouldn't expect to have to go out to buy my own toilet roll! Breakfast was also very poor... Some bread, no butter (out of stock) and a scrap of jam (almost out of stock!). Also the kitchen is tiny, poorly stocked with cooking utensils, half of the oven rings don't work, and there is only one fridge for everyone in the hostel to store food.

On the plus side, the staff are lovely and the location is great.

This place may be worth a stopover if you are paying for a dorm room, but if you are looking to get a private room, then it is very poor value for money..... There are so many better options in BA.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Eco Pampa Hostel
Eco Pampa Hostel
#47 of 454 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Palermo
Play Hostel
Play Hostel
#25 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Palermo
Art Factory Soho
Art Factory Soho
#35 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Meridiano Hostel
Meridiano Hostel
#28 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Palermo
70 30 Hostel
70 30 Hostel
#43 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Palermo
Art Factory Beer Garden
Art Factory Beer Garden
#142 of 454 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Hostels Suites Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Hostels Suites Palermo

Property: HI Hostels Suites Palermo
Address: Calle Charcas 4752, Buenos Aires C1425BNT, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 454 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Hostels Suites Palermo 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your HI Hostels Suites Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Hostels Suites Palermo Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing