We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms-quiet room in BA!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Glu Hotel
Ranked #3 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
129 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great rooms-quiet room in BA!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

All has been said- very very helpful staff, especially Marie ( she helped book us a night URGENTLY WHEN WE WERE STRANDED AT THE AIRPORT). The staff helped and booked resturants before we arrived in SA too.
Nice hotel-clean rooms lovely toiletries, good breakfast...I cannot believe the quiet rooms... in such a lively city.
Nice roof to relax after a days walking..
If we return to BA we will stay at the Glu again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    101
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
97
411
50
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed at the Glu for 5 nights on the first leg of our honeymoon. It was the best hotel by far. We had the smallest and cheapest room, but it was bigger than all the other rooms we stayed in during our tour of South America. The rooms are spacious, clean, modern and warm.
A small continental breakfast is served everyday- fresh ingredients but not much variety.
The hotel is well positioned to the subway and there are plenty of restaurants in walking distance. The area is safe.
The amazing thing about this hotel is the service. There was always someone at reception to answer any question we had, from restaurant recommendations to booking taxis.
What really blew me away was that the staff found out there was an ash cloud in Chile the day before we were supposed to leave. We had no idea about this. They monitored our flight during the evening and in the morning they told us our flight to Rio was cancelled.
They spent an hour on the phone with our airline (TAM) and other airlines trying to get us on a new flight. You would never get service like this at a big hotel chain.
They booked a flight for us over the phone with my credit card details and we made it to Rio.
They also found out how we could get a refund from TAM.
I absolutely loved the hotel and cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hasmita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVR
Level Contributor
295 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We found the Glu through reviews on TA and we are so glad we booked it. We stayed in BA a week and because of Johanna, Patricia, Carolina, Maria and all the staff at the Glu, the stay was fantastic.

These ladies knew all the good places to eat, to hear music, to shop, how to get everywhere, and were quick to get on the internet for directions, make sure of the hours and to make reservations. They did all of this cheerfully and were always calm & attentive. With only 11 rooms, they treated us like family coming to visit their city. It is this kind of personalized service you always want, but can never find. Here we found it.

The rooms are fine, the location is excellent for all the shops and restaurants of Palermo Soho and it is always easy to get a cab right in front to go to other neighborhoods of BA.

I can't recommend this hotel enough, we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

The Glu is a paradigm of the old tenet that focus on customer service is a guarantee for business success.
We cannot fail to strongly recommend this boutique hotel in Buenos Aires as we return home and think about our experience in The Glu. Maria, Johanna and Patricia were so polite, knowledgeable and willing to go the extra mile to help that we could not think of any other place to stay during our future trips. We thank them from the bottom of our hearts.
The accommodations are also excellent, roomy and functional. The rooms were fixed on each and every occasion that we left, no matter how many times during the day. this level of service is not common.
Great kudos for The Glu Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Wow, this hotel really is fabulous. We stayed for 3 nights in September after spending 6 adequate nights in the Monserrate/San Telmo area. After a terrifying 30 minute taxi ride across the city we ended up in Palermo and the Glu. We were charmed from the start with the attentive and personal service from the staff. They were genuine and friendly and sat down with us to go over things about the hotel and neighborhood before we went to our rooms, and offered beverages upon our arrival in the bright front lobby. This area has a small front desk, and a small bar where the breakfast is served in the morning, a sofa and some tables and seating. There are only 11 rooms, so the small lobby is perfectly sized for the hotel.

Also on the first floor is a small living room with couch & chairs and laptop with internet for guests to use, plus the sauna & Scottish Shower. There is an outside courtyard that is beautifully decorated. On the roof are chairs for lounging and a hot tub- not open yet in March, springy 70 degree days are great hot tub weather for Americans but not Argentineans, I guess

By the time we had gone through the maps with them marking out a few restaurants to try, someone else had brought our bags upstairs for us, and we were were escorted to our rooms and shown how everything worked, including the 3-way balcony door- open, closed, and open at the top casement style. When we left in the afternoon for a walk around the Palermo neighborhood, we asked about reservations at La Cabrera, the well-known steak restaurant that is a few blocks away and they made a reservation for us for a later night, and one for tonight at an Italian restaurant nearby called La Baita (attentive service, good food). There is a mini-store just a few doors down, so you could purchase some snacks and wine if you like. I always like to try the unusual chip flavors. There are so many restaurants of a variety of styles and price ranges in this neighborhood- so if experimenting with the local cuisine is a priority of your visit, this is a great location.

We liked the breakfast that was laid out- bread and a toaster for toast, medialunas, little biscuits, yogurt, granola, corn flakes, ham, cheese, that white stuff (crema?), jam, butter, dulce de leche, honey, orange juice, water, milk, coffee & tea. Plus, it was served on the sweetest plates with their tulip logo (look for the tulip painted on the post outside the front window!) You could eat at the tables in the lobby or out back on the patio. The patio area was lovely- huge tulips painted on the wall, cushions & nice seating areas. We visited the roof top terrace, very nice with sun loungers and a hot tub, which we didn’t use, as I am not sure is was open for the season yet.

On Sunday we took a radio taxi to the Feria de Mataderos. Driver overcharged us by about 10 pesos, probably because he was annoyed to have to go that far away. We had already visited the San Telmo Sunday street fair last weekend. Despite my worry that we would never get a cab back from there, we did, and when we came back we asked for the spa to be prepared for us. We relaxed in our room while we waited for it to get ready then came down for the sauna & Scottish shower. As much as I could figure out from the instructions in the sauna (in Spanish) , you were supposed to go back and forth from the Sauna to the Scottish Shower -which was a fascinating experience that I would describe as going through a high-powered car wash- 3 times. It was so great after all of our time exploring the city. We were so relaxed afterwards. When we came downstairs later on our way out to dinner, they handed us our reservation code for our dinner at La Cabrera and off we went. I know they helped another guest with football (soccer) tour/tickets, and I imagine that any request you could think of would be accommodated.

The Glu Hotel was so relaxing, and the people were so accommodating, warm and friendly. We had a Glam Suite, which was the regular sized room. The size was generous, but I would suggest going for the next size up to get the larger bathroom. There are a total of 11 rooms- 4 on floors 1 & 2 (American 2nd & 3rd floors) and 3 on floor 3. 2 facing the street and 2 facing the rear courtyard area. Our room was #302. We got a peek into the largest room the Glu Suite one day, and it really is huge- it is a double width room. And it was beautiful. The Glu Suite faces the street. Across the street there is a small open but covered sports area (soccer/play space) that could be noisy if you had your windows open. The neighborhood itself is very vibrant and active. Yes, that means noisy, at all hours. We stayed for 6 nights in Monserrat/San Telmo before moving to The Glu Hotel, and trust me here- that noise and activity at all hours is a good thing. People around at night is much better than deserted streets! With the double paned windows we did not hear the noise at all. I did notice that our bathroom window was not as soundproof and some noise did come through there, so we just shut the bathroom door at night.

Loved the bathrobes in the room, we had to chuckle at the slippers though, the women’s pair was charmingly sized for Argentinean feet, not big ol’ clunky American 8.5s! The l’Occitane products in the bathroom? Fabulous. I loved smelling like a lemon verbena every day. No, seriously! Nice quality wine glasses, reasonably priced mini-bar items, small fridge, bar stools, etc. Oh, and we loved having the room made up twice a day- so after our inevitable afternoon nap, the bed was remade and some small freshening done while we were out for the evening. This was a welcome touch that I really appreciated. The bathroom had a recessed shower with the wood/teak style floors, and the rainfall type shower-head. Our balcony had a seating area and made a lovely spot to enjoy a glass of wine.

There was free wi-fi in all the rooms, and it worked great. They had several routers around the hotel, so you just had to log on to whichever one had a stronger signal for where you happened to be in the hotel. The password was available in the rooms.The lobby was always locked and you were always let in by a staff person. The lobby was all windows and was airy and bright.

On our last day, we did have to check out at the assigned time as the hotel was filled with new guests, but they stored our bags and welcomed us back after lunch as we had to spare time before we were scheduled to have our taxi to the airport. We lounged in the living room, chatted with a few new guests, and our taxi was right on time. The afternoon weekday traffic is slow and the airport was ridiculous- go earlier than you think! We got there about 3 hours before our flight and it was barely enough. The taxi service from the hotel to airport was about $35 US and you paid the taxi driver directly. We paid for our rooms in US$ after an unfortunate pickpocketing incident on the subway earlier in the week required us to cancel our credit card that didn’t have an international transaction fee.

Book The Glu Hotel, even if you have to change your vacation dates in order to get a room! This hotel was amazing. I tend to favor small, interesting boutique hotels when traveling outside the United States, and this is one of the best we have ever stated at anywhere. The level of service is outstanding. I didn’t want to leave!! For the amount of service and luxury you are getting here, the price is certainly reasonable. We did stay at another location for our first nights in Buenos Aires, but The Glu Hotel was certainly our favorite!

Don’t forget the hotel VAT tax in Buenos Aires is 21%. From a location standpoint- this isn’t on a Subte route- probably at least a 20 minute walk to Plaza Italia- but taxis are plentiful and inexpensive. The Palermo neighborhood is great for boutique shopping, nightlife, restaurants and a vibrant neighborhood, but most of your main sightseeing stuff will be a bit farther away- museums, Plaza de Mayo, etc. all are going to take some time to get there, so budget your time accordingly. This is not a ‘morning’ city, so sleep in, get going when you feel like it because you can’t do too much before 11 am anyway (although do try to see the Changing of the Guard in the Cathedral at San Martin’s tomb at 9:30) and they are really serious about eating dinner late.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong, so don't worry. The Luxe Suites have larger bathrooms than the Glam Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OttoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

My husband and I only had a few days in Buenos Aires - 2 days at the start of our South American trip and two days at the end. I booked The Glu after reading Trip Advisor reviews. We loved the fact there were only 11 rooms - we tried both the Glam and Luxe suites - both were spacious and well-appointed. Bed and linen made for an exceptional night's sleep... wish I could have the same at home! The staff and service were excellent - very personal, friendly and more than happy to make recommendations/reservations for us. Perfect location - easy walking distance to the excellent shopping precinct and great restaurants in Palermo Soho. After a day's excursion/retail therapy we were always offered coffee/tea etc. (not added to the bill!) plus a friendly chat... a nice touch. We had booked The Glu for one night at the end of our trip but we decided to fly back from Ecuador a day early and so were hoping to add a second night at The Glu. We were on a standby flight so could not book until the very last minute. Once we were confirmed on the flight, I sent an email somewhere near 9.30pm... asking about an additional night and, if that was available, could they also arrange a transfer from the airport. Within 40 minutes we had a return email, confirming our accommodation and transfer... a load off our minds. We would definitely recommend The Glu and will stay there again if we are lucky enough to visit BA in the future. We have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years... mainly the big chains... and often for a similar price. In our opinion - The Glu is value for money. Boutique and personal... you are one of a few staying in the hotel - not one of many. You will love it.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambergris caye, belize
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

This place really, really rocks. What a great hotel in an ideal part of Buenos Aires. We got consistently great service from many different staff members, especially Johanna (sp?). We really loved the neighborhood, Palermo Soho, which was really great to walk around with bars and restaurants nearby, and a few minutes walk to Palermo Hollywood with a ton of other great restaurants. We traveled around to many parts of BA and Palermo Soho was our favorite.

The room we had was really spacious. After reading a ton of TA reviews of many hotels in BA we were a little worried about small rooms but we were really impressed with our room at The Glu. There was a ton of room, a desk area, awesome bed, flat screen, great rain-style shower, a safe, a balcony, and always very good tasting wine available for purchase at affordable prices in the room. It was great for our daily 2-3 hour siesta.

Was very nice to have daily breakfast as well. We didn't use the pool on the roof. Due to the hotel's location there is no need whatsoever for the hotel to have a full restaurant, as there are many amazing lunch and dinner spots 2-10 minutes walk from the hotel. There is great boutique style shopping on nearby streets and more outlet style shopping as well.

Some great restaurants we checked out in the area were Olsen, Bio, Green Bamboo, Casa Coupage (our favorite), Miranda, Osaka, and Sarkis. M in San Telmo also had terrific sushi.

Overall couldn't recommend this hotel enough--great, moderately price modern style hotel in Palermo Soho with awesome service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#6 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#4 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Palermo
Ilum Experience Home
Ilum Experience Home
#7 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#12 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glu Hotel

Property: The Glu Hotel
Address: Calle Godoy Cruz 1733, Buenos Aires C1414CYK, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#33 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Glu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glu Hotel is an intimate and serene boutique hotel in the heart of Palermo Soho. The Glu Hotel is a fine attribute of minimalism style and sumptuousness, combining a luxury and tranquil setting. Facilities include The Courtyard and The Terrace where a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines are served within a relaxing scenery located in the heart of the city. A true escape for those in search of tranquility. Amenities & Services: King-sized bed Fine linen Wide rainfall shower 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV DVD player Crockery and glassware Mini-bar Heating (individually controlled in each room) Air conditioning L'Occitane amenities Wireless Internet and high speed internet access Safe deposite box (can accommodate a laptop) Desk Hairdryer Robes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Glu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glu Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing