We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!”
Review of The Glu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glu Hotel
Ranked #7 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This is an excellent small hotel with very courteous, knowledgeable, helpful, bi-lingual staff. The rooms are spacious and modern and offer every comfort. It is well situated in Palermo, but i would suggest you ask for a rear room if you're a light sleeper. Marvellous recommendations for Tango (we'd been before) and other self directed and organised tour suggestions, great restaurants etc. Really enjoyed the sauna room after a long journey....perfect. Only criticism is that the breakfast is very nice continental but for the price you'd perhaps expect a hot selection (didn't bother us tho). We've stayed twice...a winner.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255097Integrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

Great boutique hotel in excellent location.

From the moment we arrived, the staff could not have been more helpful. A very personal service. Everything just worked....Rooms are spacious and very quiet (noisy rooms are very common in South America).

My only negative is that the bathroom was a little on the small side, but in the overall scheme of things, this is nitpicking an otherwise perfect choice for a personal hotel offering in one of BA's best locations for shopping, restaurants & bars.

Restaurant recommendations were outstanding, as was the tango show they recommended (a wonderful experience not to be missed).

You wont find a better hotel offering in the area in the price range.....and the staff smiles were for free!

If it helps to evaluate these comments, we normally stay in 4-5 star properties.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navigator333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This hotel is charming -clean -great location and the staff are unbelieveable . We were sad to leave . The staff helped us-my adult son and myself with appointments -tours -restaurants etc and all in a very friendly -professional -efficient and thorough manner and very very timely.Thw room was terrific -beds super comfortable -loved the balcony -the bathroom was great with a very good shower. The included continental breakfast is very good -very fresh food etc . There isnt anything we could say that was negative -it was 100 % a positive experience . We were there for 7 nights and would return .We will highly recommend the Glu. prior to arriving -whenever I emailed them about anything I received a very prompt response.

Room Tip: we had a room on the back with a lovely balcony overlooking the lovely courtyard -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank classycanuck2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

The Glu was perfect. The well appointed rooms are spacious, very comfortable, clean and quiet. This is without doubt one of our favourite hotels anywhere in the world. The multi-lingual staff are friendly knowledgable and helpful. They went out of their way to do everything possible to make our stay more comfortable. We liked it so much we went back when unexpectedly in Buenos Aires for a few more nights and the experience was just as good. The location is great for eating out, drinking and shopping, it is a fantastic neighbourhood. Also the well appointed bathrooms have the best showers in South America.

Room Tip: Both of the rooms we had were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth_Mark_and_Hansel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Staying at Glu provided me with the best hotel experience in Buenos Aires so far. Everything was perfect, from the friendly and welcoming staff to the large and well appointed rooms. The location in Palermo Soho is great for dining and nightlife, but the hotel itself is a quiet oasis.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This is an adorable little boutique hotel in Palermo Soho in BA. The area is really nice (and safe) with many boutique shops, street fairs (weekends), a variety of restaurants, and a good nightlife. It is not quite "central" to the tourist sites, but getting around BA via subway or taxi is easy and not expensive. The staff is amazing, very personable and accommodating. They also have a nice breakfast spread and free wi-fi. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Our room had the beds lined up right near the bathroom, which was strange. Not sure if other rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7continents5oceans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Glu last month and generally agree with most comments that the rooms are large and bathrooms are good the staff were very friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to try and make your stay comfortable.
The area in which it is located, is promoted as a bit alternate and has lots of good restaurants. The nearest subway station is Plaza Italia a 20 min walk away or maybe 10 on the buses that go past the front door of the hotel.We liked the area even though it is not close to the main tourist areas such as Recoleta.
Unfortunately this hotel is on a narrow busy street used by regular buses commuter cars and small trucks, and whereas all the back rooms and balconies face on to a relaxing courtyard and the balcony doors can be left open for breeze etc,our balcony on a front room on the first floor was not comfortable or useable , a totally different experience.

The window and doors on the first floor front rooms are quality double glazed but even closed, there was still traffic noise and vibration.If you are happy to sleep with air con on and all windows shut this may not be a problem. On Sunday morning the welcome absence of traffic noise was quickly replaced by drunken patrons exiting the bar across the road at 6.30 am and presumably while taking advantage of the lack of traffic then indulged for a good hour or two in loud partying in the street.
Discussing these issues, the owner tried hard to compensate us and make our stay as enjoyable as she could and because of that I would stay here again, but only if could be guaranteed a back room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ron_cubano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGluHotel, Owner at The Glu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Guest,

How are you?

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us and to appreciate our facilities and services.

We would like to annotate that Buenos Aires is a very big and lively city with a very important public and private transportation network that allows access to every corner of it.

This generates massive traffic in certain times of the day (like in every big city around the world).

For this reason, when we built the hotel, one of our mayor concerns was to assure our guests comfort. To this end the best specialist on the subject were consulted and they recommended the characteristics of the glasses and windows. In this case, there are not only double glasses but also the glass itself has special treatment and is supplementary laminated. This is the german technology that we applied to all of the windows in the hotel.
We obtained an excellent result so we are deeply sorry that this was not your experience.

Palermo Soho is the trendiest neighbourhood in the city right now, with restaurants and boutiques, being as well one of the most do not miss neighbourhoods for tourists that visit Buenos Aires. The hotel is located in the heart of this neighbourhood in a street that has the same size as any other street in the city.

We are glad to know that you noticed that we try - as we do with all our guests - to make your stay at The Glu the most comfortable.

We recall as well that we offered you a room with a view to the back of the hotel for two nights but after a one night experience in the room with the street view you declined this offer.

We apologize again for the inconveniences and we are glad that you would like to stay with us again.

We will be more than happy to accommodate you in your next visit to Buenos Aires!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,777 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#9 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,980 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#5 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#4 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,062 reviews
Palermo
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
#12 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,469 reviews
Palermo
Home Hotel Buenos Aires
Home Hotel Buenos Aires
#2 of 440 in Buenos Aires
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glu Hotel

Address: Calle Godoy Cruz 1733, Buenos Aires C1414CYK, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#31 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £93 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Glu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glu Hotel is an intimate and serene boutique hotel in the heart of Palermo Soho. The Glu Hotel is a fine attribute of minimalism style and sumptuousness, combining a luxury and tranquil setting. Facilities include The Courtyard and The Terrace where a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines are served within a relaxing scenery located in the heart of the city. A true escape for those in search of tranquility. Amenities & Services: King-sized bed Fine linen Wide rainfall shower 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV DVD player Crockery and glassware Mini-bar Heating (individually controlled in each room) Air conditioning L'Occitane amenities Wireless Internet and high speed internet access Safe deposite box (can accommodate a laptop) Desk Hairdryer Robes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Glu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glu Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing