We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First-class all the way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Glu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glu Hotel
Ranked #3 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“First-class all the way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I selected the Glu based on the fantastic reviews on trip advisor and it was the best decision. This was our second trip to Buenos Aires, and we had stayed at the Mine Boutique Hotel on a previous visit, which was wonderful (and I have reviewed it). BUT, after having stayed at the Glu, I cannot imagine staying at another property. I have found our new home in Buenos Aires.

The Glu gets everything right from the time you make your reservation (Johanna was so helpful and was there to greet us when we arrived). The responsiveness of the entire team and the willingness to help with everything from restaurant reservations to any item that is needed is remarkable. We stayed in the Glu Suite, which was simply fantastc! The room is really large (and larger than so many apartments in New York...where we live). It is beautifully designed with a sleeping area, living room, kitchen, plenty of closet space, great sized bathroom (with L'Occitane products) and the most amazing terrace (all for this suite). The terrace has a day bed, two chairs and a table. It was an absolute treat to enjoy our morning coffee and evening wines on this terrace.

The bed is super comfortable (I had the best sleep) and the soundproofing of the room is fantastic. The Glu Suite does face the front of the hotel (street side), but we had absolutely no problems with the sound. In fact, we loved facing this side as it made us feel so much more part of Buenos Aires and the neighborhood. There is a soccer club in front of the hotel and every evening with wine on our balcony we would see various teams practicing soccer.

The place where the Glu just emerges as a gem of a property, beyond its amazing rooms and facility, is the service. The staff is simply exceptional. I cannot say enough about Aixa. She was absolutely a delight to get to know during our stay and so willing to help with anything. The entire team of the hotel gets to know your name while you are there and always greet when you come and go. It was wonderful to return at night and have Diego greet us and ask us about our day and evening. Each member of the team shows genuine interest.

The Glu is family-owned and the owners are on site almost every day to make sure everything is going off smoothly. There is a buffet breakfast every morning, which was perfect for us (cereals, yogurt, juices, breads/croissants, cold cuts, cheese, fruits, and great coffee any way you want it). If you are looking for eggs or a hot breakfast you will need to step out, but there are so many places within a block of the Glu if you so desire.

The courtyard is also a lovely place to just sit back in the morning or in the evening as is the rooftop (which has a jacuzzi). All rooms have free wi-fi as well. Last, the location of the Glu is simply the best. It is in Palermo Soho, which I think is the best neighborhood to stay in Buenos Aires...much more fun then Recoleta! The hotel is in a perfect spot that allows you to enjoy everything in Palermo Soho as well as walk over to Palermo Hollywood. Downtown, Recoleta, the port area and San Telmo are all a taxi ride, but it is extremely easy to get one (and the ride is very reasonable).

Bottom line --- don't look beyond the Glu. Five star properties need to learn about service from this boutique wonder.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barca212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    102
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
99
418
50
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

If you like small hotels, and I do, this one is for you. The Glu is located in the very trendy, very artsy neighborhood of Palermo Soho (and how do Argentines ever come up with the names of their neighborhoods I'll never know). It's a tiny little property, sandwiched between the venue for an alternative theater and a larger residential building.

The place looks brand new, well appointed and very large rooms. It's got everything you'd want to make your life easier (flat screen tv, powerful WiFi, A/C). And then, there's the service. Unbelievably good. Not only was the staff responsive to my every need, they made an extra effort to anticipate what I'd need and took action. It would be difficult to describe how good, how friendly, or how helpful the concierges were, from booking a taxi (easy task) to finding the perfect restaurant for dinner within walking distance (I asked for new Argentinian cuisines-difficult task), they excelled all around.

If I had to find something amiss, I'd say that the breakfast buffet was on the small side. All the food was fresh and the coffee was excellent, but they really could use a little more variety. One more thing, Palermo Soho is not close to Buenos Aires' downtown and Recoleta, not that it bothered me at all, but getting down there and back is not easy.

Room Tip: If available, ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benja764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toron
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Great experience! Booked last minute from Dec 31 - Jan 3, 2012. Nice location - Palermo Soho is funky and fun - good cafes and design stores, great for wandering and people watching. Hotel was clean and nice and boutique cool - great courtyard. But by far and away the best thing was the staff. The receptionists and concierges were AMAZING! Helped us book many parts of the rest of our stay with huge success. Made the trip incredibly easy. Normally, I don't like to get a bunch of help from concierges, preferring instead to learn the city on my own. But they were amazing and only enriched the experience. Recommend strongly. And recommend you tip the staff well too - they deserve it!!!

Room Tip: Rooms that open onto the back courtyard = quieter and have a more pleasant balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulfromCanada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Our family, comprising five persons, stayed at The Glu Hotel, Palermo Soho, from 21-29 December 2011. This hotel falls under the category of a boutique hotel, implying a world away from the stereotypical and impersonal large hotels, especially those with well-known brand names.

I can state categorically, on behalf of my family, that in our extensive worldwide travels and our related wide experience of hotels, The Glu Hotel outshone in many respects. The ambience is modern, minimalist and not overwhelming and yet caters for all one’s needs. Therefore, the first impression one receives when entering the premises is aesthetic and not over-crammed. The staff at reception was very welcoming and helpful, and never failed to answer our queries, meet our requests, and offer us tips on sites to visit and how to reach them. The rooms were superb and well equipped, with a minibar with a useful sink area, and in the deluxe rooms, lounge area, a bar, coffee and tea-making facilities, and all rooms had flat screen TVs, free wireless internet, sofa/couch etc. Here, I need to mention that I can say, without doubt, that we have never stayed in a hotel where the room cleaning was of such a high standard – it was impeccable – and rooms were checked twice daily! Many hotels just make up the beds and clean the bathrooms – The Glu Hotel, ensured that you entered your room to find it as if it had not been lived in. In fact, I once returned to my room on the off chance to find the lady with a hand ironing machine, which ensured that the bedding looked prime each day! Congratulations on this very special feature. A continental breakfast was included and very adequate, and on request, could be served in the room. Again, the staff in charge of the breakfast area was friendly and helpful. At the end of a busy day traipsing around the large city of Buenos Aires, there was the thrill of sitting in the little courtyard in the back of the hotel with drinks and snacks, using the free laptop, or relaxing in the rooftop Jacuzzi or on the comfortable loungers. In true Glu style, one arrived at the Jacuzzi and found the towels at the ready on the loungers, and each guest is provided with a fluffy dressing gown and slippers. Last but not least, is the personal touch that this hotel provides, not only through its staff, but also the owner, Berta and her daughter, Patricia. I went through the reception area, where the management was holding a New Year celebration for its staff, and where the atmosphere was jovial and familial – everything the hotel stands for. As if not enough to treat its staff, we received a knock at our door, with cookies and champagne – on the house! On our departure, the staff came outside, including Berta, to wave us off. For any of you out there wondering where to stay, let me relieve you by telling you to go to The Glu Hotel. It is worth it in every sense of the word, and has converted us to the boutique hotel trend. The only worry is whether the others around the world will live up to this standard! Tremendous thanks and well done to The Glu Hotel crew – your vision and work have paid off, as our stay was truly memorable, gratifying and outstanding! We look forward very much to a return stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhaasmakumbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at the Glu Hotel at the beginning of December and found it to be above and beyond our expectations. The staff : Maria, Johanna, Luciano, Diego, Giuliano and Fiorella were warm, personable and always willing to help with any request. We felt our hotel was like a home away from home. The rooms were modern, clean and very spacious. Also, the location was excellent with hundreds of restaurants, cafes, and stores within walking distance.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Glu Hotel is in a great location and has spacious, comfortable and very clean rooms. The best part was the staff. Everyone was extremely pleasant and eager to be helpful. We highly recommend the hotel and would certainly stay there again if we return to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our stay at the Glu in Palermo Soho was the first time I used Tripadvisor to choose a hotel. It will not be the last. I must admit to being a major hotel snob and typically stay at tried and true properties like the Ritz Carlton and the Four Seasons. This is mainly because I am a worry wort and I don't want to worry when I'm on vacation. I simply presume I will get a high level of service at these types of venues.

So saying, I have to admit that I have NEVER received the high level of service I received at the Glu! The location, while great, was totally overshadowed by the staff and the level of care they provide to patrons of the hotel. Our "concierge" was Johanna and she took every opportunity to enhance our experience in Buenos Aires. Johanna was only the beginning, everyone we met at the Glu, including Patricia, Carolina, Maria, Aixa, Luciano, Fiorela and Guliano were unbelievably helpful. From Johanna taking us through maps of the city and consulting with us and making reservations at every place we went, to Aixa writing instructions in Spanish for the taxi driver, and then calling the restaurant to ensure they got us a reputable taxi on our return, the experience at the Glu was complete. Don't get me started on the cleanliness and beauty of our room - the Glu Suite.

I can't recommend this property enough -- especially for those travelers that want more than a "big-box" experience with a tremendous degree of service. As I shared upon our return from one of our many experiences, coming back to the Glu felt like coming home. Thank you for such a wonderful experience!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnakagawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#6 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#8 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Palermo
Ilum Experience Home
Ilum Experience Home
#5 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#12 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glu Hotel

Property: The Glu Hotel
Address: Calle Godoy Cruz 1733, Buenos Aires C1414CYK, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#33 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Glu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glu Hotel is an intimate and serene boutique hotel in the heart of Palermo Soho. The Glu Hotel is a fine attribute of minimalism style and sumptuousness, combining a luxury and tranquil setting. Facilities include The Courtyard and The Terrace where a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines are served within a relaxing scenery located in the heart of the city. A true escape for those in search of tranquility. Amenities & Services: King-sized bed Fine linen Wide rainfall shower 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV DVD player Crockery and glassware Mini-bar Heating (individually controlled in each room) Air conditioning L'Occitane amenities Wireless Internet and high speed internet access Safe deposite box (can accommodate a laptop) Desk Hairdryer Robes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glu Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing