We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE LOVE LOVE The Glu Hotel!”
Review of The Glu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glu Hotel
Ranked #4 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE The Glu Hotel!”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

What a fabulous place to stay - easily one of the best choices I made on my trip through Argentina. The staff was so friendly and accommodating, and knowledgable about the area. I truly felt like I had left with friends in BA! The bed was also very comfortable and the rooms were nice and big. I loved the rooftop jacuzzi at sunset (be warned however - the jets didn't appear to be working and it takes about 1 hour to prepare the jacuzzi). Great location, too - a 24 kiosk a few doors down, bistros on the corner, just 3 blocks (max) from all the Palermo action. I can't wait to come back to BA and stay at the Glu! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    106
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
103
429
53
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in January and cannot recommend highly enough. We originally discovered the hotel on Trip Advisor and it is well worthy of it's 5 stars and high ranking (currently number 1).

From my first contact, the service was exceptional. Several emails were exchanged prior to arrival and the staff organised transfers, restaurant reservations etc in advance - E-mails were always answered immediately.

On arrival at the hotel we were offered a welcome drink and then sat down with Aixa who gave us a lot of useful information on the surrounding area, recommended restaurants etc. During this time our luggage was delivered to our room.

We had a room on the 3rd floor (top) at the back of the hotel (overlooking the courtyard) which I would highly recommend if you like quiet rooms. We didn't hear a sound from outside the room during our entire stay.

The rooms are perfect. A very comfortable bed, good air conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities, complimentary wifi and a TV with a good selection of English language channels. There is also a fridge which is stocked with soft drinks, beer and wine at very reasonable prices (not your usual mini bar rip-off). The bathroom is small but has a good shower.

Rooms are serviced twice daily and are left spotless. Full marks to the housekeeping team.

Breakfast does not have a masive choice but we found it to be perfectly adequate. Fresh Juice, Coffee, Tea, Pastries, Toast, Ham, Cheese etc.

There is a nice roof terrace which we used most afternoons once we got back from sightseeing.

Our only disappointment was the hot tub on the roof terrace. This can only be used up to 7pm - During our stay it was still hot and sunny at this time so not something we wanted to do. It would have been lovely to have used it later in the evening (9pm?), however due to the noise it makes this is not possible. We therefore found it rather redundant.

We had no issue with the location. The hotel is walking distance of lots of good restaurants, cafes etc and a 15 minute walk from the subway. Buenos Aires is a big city so you are always going to be a taxi ride away from somewhere.

Overall, we can highly recommend the Glu Hotel - It is a great boutique hotel with first class staff and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berniejane0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This hotel is clean, modern and well located. A great spot for a trip in buenos aires but beyond that I don't know if I've ever experienced anything like the people that work here... They are so nice and go way over the top to help you in any way during your stay. They booked us ferries to Uruguay, made excellent dinner recommendations, booked me a last minute (great) spa session to get a much needed wax and pedicure before hitting the beaches after a european winter, brought us fresh waters, beer. Really... You call down and ask a question to try and do something yourself and they instantly take it off your plate, handle it for you and free you to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We have been traveling for almost a year now and to stand out amongst the crowd is saying something. This hotel does just that and they do it first and foremost with customer service. We really enjoyed our stay here and sadly got a little homesick after our last morning. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austen824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed here for a week and loved it. The location can't be beat. Easy walk to the hippest restaurants, shops, and bars of Palermo Soho and Palermo Hollywood, and a short cab ride to most everywhere else you'll want to go in the city. The staff is amazing. I happened to celebrate my birthday during my stay, and although I never said a word about it to the staff, they sent up a surprise to my room and had birthday cake waiting for me when I came down to breakfast. I'm guessing they saw my birthdate on my passport. That's the kind of attention you'll get from them. Also, we were afraid that we would miss the NFL game that week, but the hotel staff not only found a bar that was showing the game, but the bar was only blocks from the hotel. Finally, the hotel itself is very modern and immaculately clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank customized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Glu Hotel in Buenos Aires in August 2011. Although its entrance was not very attractive, the lobby area was comfortable. We received a warm welcome upon check-in. The room was spacious, well-designed, clean and cozy. I especially liked its pleasant aroma. The hotel is not close to subway, but restaurants are within walking distance. I think the breakfast could be improved by providing more selection. The staff were very responsive, polite and helpful. We were very pleased with their recommendations on dining and sightseeing. Special thanks to Sol who was so nice and sweet. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Glu!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suewinhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I selected the Glu based on the fantastic reviews on trip advisor and it was the best decision. This was our second trip to Buenos Aires, and we had stayed at the Mine Boutique Hotel on a previous visit, which was wonderful (and I have reviewed it). BUT, after having stayed at the Glu, I cannot imagine staying at another property. I have found our new home in Buenos Aires.

The Glu gets everything right from the time you make your reservation (Johanna was so helpful and was there to greet us when we arrived). The responsiveness of the entire team and the willingness to help with everything from restaurant reservations to any item that is needed is remarkable. We stayed in the Glu Suite, which was simply fantastc! The room is really large (and larger than so many apartments in New York...where we live). It is beautifully designed with a sleeping area, living room, kitchen, plenty of closet space, great sized bathroom (with L'Occitane products) and the most amazing terrace (all for this suite). The terrace has a day bed, two chairs and a table. It was an absolute treat to enjoy our morning coffee and evening wines on this terrace.

The bed is super comfortable (I had the best sleep) and the soundproofing of the room is fantastic. The Glu Suite does face the front of the hotel (street side), but we had absolutely no problems with the sound. In fact, we loved facing this side as it made us feel so much more part of Buenos Aires and the neighborhood. There is a soccer club in front of the hotel and every evening with wine on our balcony we would see various teams practicing soccer.

The place where the Glu just emerges as a gem of a property, beyond its amazing rooms and facility, is the service. The staff is simply exceptional. I cannot say enough about Aixa. She was absolutely a delight to get to know during our stay and so willing to help with anything. The entire team of the hotel gets to know your name while you are there and always greet when you come and go. It was wonderful to return at night and have Diego greet us and ask us about our day and evening. Each member of the team shows genuine interest.

The Glu is family-owned and the owners are on site almost every day to make sure everything is going off smoothly. There is a buffet breakfast every morning, which was perfect for us (cereals, yogurt, juices, breads/croissants, cold cuts, cheese, fruits, and great coffee any way you want it). If you are looking for eggs or a hot breakfast you will need to step out, but there are so many places within a block of the Glu if you so desire.

The courtyard is also a lovely place to just sit back in the morning or in the evening as is the rooftop (which has a jacuzzi). All rooms have free wi-fi as well. Last, the location of the Glu is simply the best. It is in Palermo Soho, which I think is the best neighborhood to stay in Buenos Aires...much more fun then Recoleta! The hotel is in a perfect spot that allows you to enjoy everything in Palermo Soho as well as walk over to Palermo Hollywood. Downtown, Recoleta, the port area and San Telmo are all a taxi ride, but it is extremely easy to get one (and the ride is very reasonable).

Bottom line --- don't look beyond the Glu. Five star properties need to learn about service from this boutique wonder.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barca212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,617 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,830 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 446 in Buenos Aires
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,320 reviews
Palermo
Home Hotel Buenos Aires
Home Hotel Buenos Aires
#3 of 446 in Buenos Aires
722 reviews
Palermo
Ilum Experience Home
Ilum Experience Home
#16 of 446 in Buenos Aires
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glu Hotel

Property: The Glu Hotel
Address: Calle Godoy Cruz 1733, Buenos Aires C1414CYK, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#33 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Glu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glu Hotel is an intimate and serene boutique hotel in the heart of Palermo Soho. The Glu Hotel is a fine attribute of minimalism style and sumptuousness, combining a luxury and tranquil setting. Facilities include The Courtyard and The Terrace where a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines are served within a relaxing scenery located in the heart of the city. A true escape for those in search of tranquility. Amenities & Services: King-sized bed Fine linen Wide rainfall shower 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV DVD player Crockery and glassware Mini-bar Heating (individually controlled in each room) Air conditioning L'Occitane amenities Wireless Internet and high speed internet access Safe deposite box (can accommodate a laptop) Desk Hairdryer Robes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Glu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glu Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing