We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic boutique hotel in the middle of happening Palermo soho”
Review of The Glu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glu Hotel
Ranked #6 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

From the moment we confirmed our stay the staff began what turned out to be some of the best service I've experienced.
They were helpful courteous and went beyond what I could have hoped for.
They arranged our pick up from Ezeiza and on arrival spent time with us giving an idea of the surrounding barrio. They arranged dinner and made helpful suggestions regarding what to do in the surrounding city.
The hotel itself is new, well appointed, and in a great part of Palermo. Within 10 minutes walk there were countless designer shops, bars and restaurants and it would have been very easy not to have left Palermo at all! There are 2 subte stations withinh walking distance and it felt safe walking around at night.
The hotel itself is spread over 4 floors. All rooms have ensure and balcony. They are all decorated to a very high standard indeed. On the roof top there is a sun terrace and jacuzzi.
Breakfast was included and ample. Pastries fruits coffee juices etc all available.
This was my third time in Buenos Aires and I've stayed in other hotels and barrios in the past. Without doubt I would recommend the Glu as a small friendly well located hotel in probably the best barrio for tourists. The staff are multilingual and offer the highest quality service.
I would love the opportunity to stay at the Glu hotel again.
10 out of 10

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmccaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
There are newer reviews for The Glu Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

We have had 3 wonderful nights at this hotel.If you like the Palermo location, it is a close to perfect hotel. The rooms are large and lovely, and they even have a mini kitchen area.However the bathroom is on the small side. The reception staff is wonderful, and value is excellent. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toronto_Princessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I've never been one to care much one way or the other about service at a hotel. My concerns have generally been location, comfortable bed and a good shower. The entire staff at Glu, however, was so exceptional that they changed my mind. They provide the sort of old-fashioned top-notch service I only thought existed at hotels in movies from the 40's - and it's not a case of there being one or two stand-outs. It truly is everyone employed at the hotel. They're friendly and invaluable in making suggestions for places to to see in the neighborhood.

Room-wise, there's no case of false advertising. The rooms are exactly as they appear in the photo's on the website. The decor is sleek without being cold, there's plenty of space and the rain showers are great. We had a room facing the street on the second floor and even in our case, it was tremendously quiet.

The location is great with hundreds of bars, restaurants and shops in Palermo within a short walk, but since Glu is a couple of blocks removed from the center of it all, there's no annoying noise or crowds that spill over onto the front door.

All in all, I can't recommend Glu enough.

Room Tip: The pizza place right down the street has great empanadas and is serves late into the night after mo...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nekoramentaisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is an excellent small boutique hotel, a nice physical property combined with exceptional service. After our stay there, I understand why everyone raves about it – I have never had such consistently outstanding service at any hotel.

The property feels very new, clean and modern. Rooms are spacious, with comfortable beds, hardwood floors, a microwave oven, and balcony overlooking either the street in front of the hotel or the small courtyard in back. The bathroom is a bit small, but adequate, with a great rain shower. There’s a lovely rooftop deck with lounges, chairs, a Jacuzzi tub and showers. The tub is only filled on request which takes about an hour to prepare, and only open til 8 pm, but it was a nice way to relax before dinner. Downstairs is the lobby/breakfast area (you can also take breakfast in your room, or the open-air courtyard in back). Breakfast was simple but adequate – juice, coffee, tea, medialunas, toast, meat & cheese, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, two kinds of cereal, fruit. With only 11 rooms, it’s never crowded. The main floor also has a laptop available for internet access, a sauna, and a bathroom with shower – great if you want to clean up before catching an evening flight, after checking out earlier in the day.

The location (Palermo Soho) is a very trendy area with dozens of restaurants within a few blocks. It is not the most central location, you’ll need to use taxis to explore the city which is very large and spread out. We did walk to Recoleta, but took a cab back.

What really makes the Glu stand out is the staff – every single one of them was so gracious, welcoming and helpful. They offer maps and tips about everything from shopping to ATM’s, will call taxis and make reservations for restaurants and tango shows. They provide coffee, tea and bottled water around the clock, and when a couple checked in early in the day, they asked if they were hungry and would like some breakfast. They have a laundry service, but as we only had a few items it was complimentary. We asked to use an iron, and they offered to do it for us, no charge. One day, we returned around 5pm to find that our room had not been made up; it wasn’t a big deal but we thought it was odd so we asked about it when we called to have the hot tub filled. They took care of it while we were on the roof, and when we returned from dinner we found a bottle of wine with a note of apology!

I would definitely recommend the Glu as an excellent home base for anyone visiting Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Let me just start by saying I agree with all the positive reviews here. We picked this hotel based on the TA feedback and were not disappointed. First and foremost, the staff at The Glu is phenomenal and probably the main thing that sets it apart from other "luxury" hotels. Attentive, informative, friendly and extremely helpful all around they make sure you want for nothing during your stay. For those who don't speak Spanish, they are all fluent in English so it makes planning things like dinner, shows, etc much easier.
Rooms are big, clean, modern minimalist styling. Pics on the site are accurate. Bathrooms are a bit on the "cozy" side and that would be the only real complaint, if I had to give one. The rooms are so big, they could have spared a few feet and given it to the bathroom. Otherwise, no big deal.
If you have a room on the street side of the hotel, there is street noise, but you are in a major city, not a B&B in the middle of nowhere. This was not an issue for us, but if it is for you, see if one of the rear courtyard rooms is available. They may be quieter.
Finally, Palermo is a cool neighborhood. It has a very cool atmosphere and isn't packed with tourists and souvenir shops like in Microcentro. You won't find a McDonalds or Starbucks here, just good neighborhood places.
We will definitely stay here again the next time in BA

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hawkeye1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at the Glu hotel for the 1st 3 days of our honeymoon. The staff were brilliant and so helpful. Their meal recommendations were great and their knowledge and help with our stay was just what we needed. The jacuzzi on the rooftop was lovely and the rooms were spacious and well kitted out. I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliecowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Glu during our tour around Argentina. The staff were very friendly, helpful, and attentive to our needs. The hotel is very clean and is kept in great condition.

We stayed in the Glu suite on the 3rd floor and had a lovely balcony off our room to sit and enjoy the night air. The hotel has been open for 3 years, and some of the staff have been with the hotel since it's opening so they have a wealth of recommendations for local dining & sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,660 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#5 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,867 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#3 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Home Hotel Buenos Aires
Home Hotel Buenos Aires
#2 of 443 in Buenos Aires
734 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,340 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#4 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glu Hotel

Address: Calle Godoy Cruz 1733, Buenos Aires C1414CYK, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#33 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £88 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Glu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glu Hotel is an intimate and serene boutique hotel in the heart of Palermo Soho. The Glu Hotel is a fine attribute of minimalism style and sumptuousness, combining a luxury and tranquil setting. Facilities include The Courtyard and The Terrace where a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines are served within a relaxing scenery located in the heart of the city. A true escape for those in search of tranquility. Amenities & Services: King-sized bed Fine linen Wide rainfall shower 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV DVD player Crockery and glassware Mini-bar Heating (individually controlled in each room) Air conditioning L'Occitane amenities Wireless Internet and high speed internet access Safe deposite box (can accommodate a laptop) Desk Hairdryer Robes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Glu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glu Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing